Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTÉ admits paying Tubridy €345,000 more than declared

• Registered Users Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭Ciano35

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭ZookeeperDub

They let Lottie in every day and nobody in the public wants her in. People will tell you she is "talent"

RTE haven't a f**king clue what is a star or not, once you are related to someone that means you are it seems

• Registered Users Posts: 11,788 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Feck. I thought I was in with a shout there. 🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭riddles

It's like she just showed up like the annoying bosses kid and bullied her way in to a garbage slot and no one told her to go away. I cant go near 2fm as a result.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭Field east

It depends what the contract says in association with what RT told the committee about RTE and RTE’s staff current attitude towards RT as a working partner

• Registered Users Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

Lotti is taking over the morning show from Jennifer zapperillerillie from august. She’ll be broadcasting from “the Gerry suite” The one her late father worked from and is hoping her fathers spirit will join her.

Really does milk his name.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,632 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

In the land of broadcasters, tall and thin,

There lived a man, deceitful within.

He preached from his pulpit, oh so high,

His sanctimonious speeches reaching the sky.

With a demeanor so righteous, he'd proudly proclaim,

His moral compass was never to blame.

But little did we know, behind the scenes,

This man was caught up in dubious schemes.

His suits were pressed, his tie so neat,

His public persona, hard to beat.

He spoke of integrity, of kindness and truth,

But underneath it all, he hid a dark sleuth.

In secret rooms, he'd plot and scheme,

Dodgy dealings, like a twisted dream.

He juggled the numbers, moved funds with ease,

A wolf in sheep's clothing, eager to please.

Oh, the irony of this broadcaster's tale,

As he wore his mask, his charade set sail.

The viewers were captivated, unaware,

That their trusted host was entangled in a snare.

But as karma dictates, the truth found its way,

His clandestine dealings brought judgment that day.

Exposed for his actions, his empire did fall,

And the sanctimonious preacher lost it all.

Now his voice is silenced, his pedestal crumbled,

As the public learned they had been humbled.

So let this be a lesson, a cautionary jest,

Beware of those who claim to be the best.

For behind the façade, there may lie a trick,

A tall, thin man with secrets so slick.

So laugh at the irony, relish the tale,

Of the broadcaster who thought he couldn't fail.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,898 ✭✭✭gifted

It seems to be losing importance with the media now....unless some other big revelation happens then this will just fade into the background until the reports come out ....whenever that will be.

I also noticed that Ciaran Mullooly and Emma O Kelly have not been heard for a while now....

• Registered Users Posts: 15,632 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

In the realm of showbiz, a talent agent appeared,

With slicked-back hair and a silver tongue revered.

He strutted into the committee, oozing with charm,

Ready to spin his tales, causing alarm.

With a twinkle in his eye and a smug, toothy grin,

He weaved his words, dancing with sin.

Dodgy contracts and strange dealings were his game,

But he thought he could fool us all, all the same.

"Oh, dear committee, let me set the stage,

These contracts, they're misunderstood in this age.

Sure, they may seem peculiar, quite bizarre,

But trust me, they'll take you oh so far."

He spun his tales, oh so grand,

About endorsements from a distant land.

But as he spoke, the committee grew wise,

They saw through his charade, his deceptive guise.

No amount of spin or smoke and mirrors could hide,

The fact that this agent was taking them for a ride.

His strange business dealings, now laid bare,

Left the committee gasping, with a collective stare.

From pyramid schemes to a circus of clowns,

His world of illusion came crashing down.

The talent agent squirmed, his confidence cracked,

As the committee called out his acts that lacked.

He tried to defend, to wriggle away,

But his deceitful web had no more sway.

With a flick of their pens, the committee decreed,

No more shady dealings, no more trickery to feed.

The talent agent's empire began to crumble,

Leaving him humbled, ready to stumble.

So let this be a lesson, a cautionary tale,

To beware of agents with schemes that derail.

For in the world of showbiz, where deals are made,

Not all that glitters is gold, nor should trust be swayed.

Laugh at the agent's folly, relish his demise,

As his deceitful web unraveled before our eyes.

No longer could he spin, deceive, or persist,

A talent agent exposed, no longer on the A-list.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Karppi

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Not....sure.....if......this.......is......real?

At least she doesn't think she will be host of the Late Late. Her and Jen ruled themselves out. Talk about headless chickens

• Registered Users Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭SteM

Ah Lottie Ryan, who recently described herself as 'self-employed contractor for RTÉ'. In most other industries you would be a contractor and work for various companies at different times in your career but she's a contractor for just one company it seems. Except when she'd promoting brands on social media.

fyi

I can only find reference to her taking over in 2020. Not now.

I wonder how bad the ratings ended up for those few weeks

• Registered Users Posts: 9,194 ✭✭✭squonk

A bit like those politicians doing election posters with INDEPENDENT <insert_party_name> e.g. INDEPENDENT FIANNS FAIL, INDEPENDENT FINE GAEL etc.

Gerry and the boyos started the contractor business so Im sure she is at the same crack. You have to wonder why RTE would have her setup as a contractor when she hasn't even got a show on the station and does some showbiz? F**K me do they think she is "top talent"?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

My humblest apologies. That’s from a few years ago.

I sincerely apologise to Miss Ryan for any upset caused.

Don’t sue me.

PK out batting for Tubs strongly again this morning, and hinting at legal action by Tubs.

In a few days PK has wiped away decades of admiration I had for him as a broadcaster and his on-air professionalism. Sad really, but he's shown he cannot be objective or impartial on this.

I doubt very much that Tubs reads Boards.ie so I’d say you’re safe enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Northernlily

I think the initial anger from people in RTE when all this came out has been replaced by - ooh Fook, we have a good gig here that we would get nowhere else in Ireland and better protect our station.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Some very good questioning yesterday, some poor, Verona Murphy and Imelda Munster in the latter category. No doubt all the extra payments and roadshow was kicked off by NK throwing a hissy fit. DF buckled, he should have been told, go whistle. Their is an investigation warranted in the money transfers, false invoices, may be a matter for the Gardai.

Other things are issues of governance and transparency along with good practice. These can be corrected. The Media committee needs regular 3 monthly reports on progress. This is the single way to keep the foot on the pedal.

I guess Pat Kenny? if so did you expect him to do anything else?

They are all part of the same group of twonkers and of course will protect the other. That is to make sure if anything Pat does Tubs will cover up for him.

If we actually had any real TV presenters etc that are not all friends you would have revelations all the time on what these people are up to. Plenty of goss on Tubs which would be very easy to verify. But we are in Ireland so people won't print/discuss. Instead its a little group of people who won't rat out the other.

Too busy reading all the letters from the public

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭TruthorBust

Verona Murphy has shown herself to be a motormouth with no substance. Asking questions but not allowing answers

I was hoping Bakhurst would say; if you would kindly shut that hole in your face for one minute I will answer your question

• Registered Users Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭StevenToast

You are right......sure in Tubs/NK fantasy land, Ryan Tubridy is the most trusted man in Ireland and loved by all the children....

.....except of course for the few minority rascals who call him a cùnt when he is on his little jaunt for ice creams and merriment...

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users Posts: 30,137 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Im sure it was such a huge success she has never been allowed to do it again

So that's another box ticked off for Lottie to suck at. Stand in presenter for a few weeks. Tick....never do that again

So what exactly have they tried with Lottie that has worked?????