Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Under-20's 2023

• Registered Users Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

Any idea of hosts or 2024 ?

Edit its Sth Africa again

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Cateym

Ireland need to ensure they hit their man in the line out

• Registered Users Posts: 2,336 ✭✭✭theVersatile

Mistakes the only thing keeping France in the game right now. Got away with Osbourne's poor exit but a second lost lineout lead to that. Soft tackling after a great Gleeson turnover.

Bit of French magic too ofcourse, which is part for the course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

• Registered Users Posts: 2,336 ✭✭✭theVersatile

We really need to lock down at #12, he looks very lively

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

We are not kicking well out of hand and not kicking when we should be.

The wingers have been caught in possession a few times when they should have put boot to ball.

The french are getting away with plenty of side entries at the breakdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,545 ✭✭✭irishgeo

That music at every break is **** annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Looked a knock on....... we'll take it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,331 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

No try... Awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭PGE1970

That PA system f f s ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

They're playing shite Irish pub music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,545 ✭✭✭irishgeo

All from the knock on from a simple catch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,605 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

French 12 Costas (?) is causing all kinds of problems

• Registered Users Posts: 13,276 ✭✭✭✭JRant

That's a harsh call. He barely had hands on the ball before being cleared out.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,466 ✭✭✭✭phog

France getting scores much easier than Ireland, we seem to have to work harder to get into the red zones, our kicking game is allowing France run wild back against us.

This could get very very messy

Ah here, they've given away more penalties in the red zone. Stupid decision to pull that one down though after just getting warned.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

That is clearly obstruction from France.

French fucked up there, should've called for a scrum, have us down to 13

This will be chalked off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,015 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Blatant obstruction from Tuilagi there.

Referee no interest in the laws there

chalked off and a penalty to ireland. no idea what they were thinking.

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭MaddChris

Shouted obstuction the second it happend, either this referee is short sighted or doesn't know the laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

We'll refereed, gonna be hanging on here til 15 v 15

It's definitely much harder work for us, hopefully that will pay off by tiring out the French

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭omerin

Could they not have played it tight to run down the 10 min sin bin, why kick it out?

We got to their line twice and scored twice.

We have kept them out a number of times.

All to play for just need to stay within a score of them all the time. Cant let them get more than 10/12 points up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

We wouldn't be going to 13. We have a LH on the bench.

Well in their own half and have given away a couple breakdown penalties to France. Would have been risky enough. Sometimes best to just get the chance to reset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,757 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Any ref that can't pick that up in real time terrifies me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,877 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

Enjoyed the 1st half. Fair play to Ireland for taking the game to the French.

Just drop Prendergast off on the Snugborough Road when he comes back please!

Jauneau. How do France keep producing all these 9s?

It was very obvious at the time. No idea why the ref didn't call it, he was 4 yards away from it.

Fiona Hayes tough to listen to.

No way, get into the dressing room and reset for the second half. We were all over the place there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,251 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

There needs to be a material gain of the infringement for the penalty to be called, which didn't really happen. To be fair, the placing and passing of the ball at the psuedo ruck was made quickly enough to not be picked up immediately. And once viewed, the referee immediately reversed his call and relieved our defence. Although the Blue 5 was clear and obviously offside and it really should have been picked up.

An added bonus of it was the additional minute or two that it'a taken out of Paddy's yellow card; every cloud and all of that.

I think we'll see a slight readjustment this half. We are fanning out too quickly and leaving gaps around the rucks which the French are exploiting. Tighten up around there and make them work harder if they want to go wide.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭randomname2005

Tualagi likes playing on the edge. I would like to see the yellow card again, looked like he was holding or at least tugged an Irish player who was trying to rejoin the maul. Then he was obstructing at the disallowed try. Master of the dark arts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,015 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Tuilagi was offside and obstructing the nearest potential tackler for the “scoring” act as well.

That the referee needed the TMO to step in there is a very poor reflection on him

If that is offside I expect everything like that called every time

Be grand if this lad took the whistle out of his mouth while we are defending.

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭Inforapenny

Earlier in that phase of play Osborne had to make the tackle, really doesnt like tackling.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,230 ✭✭✭A-Train

France look like they have this in the bag, much stronger.

Ireland seem to be constantly on the wrong side of this ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,757 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

McErlean played on the ground there

Tackler never released there. How did that not get called by him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,466 ✭✭✭✭phog

Ref taking no sh1t from the players talking to him. Fair play to him

French 4 was never inside. Where was the call?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,230 ✭✭✭A-Train

The French tackler never let the Ireland 15 back up and blocked him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,066 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

balls but tbf that was coming

France are just too good and physical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

That's the game. Really is starting to look like professionals against sub-academy players now. Which is what it is, of course.