Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭dobman88

• Registered Users Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭YabaDabaDooley

Tickets on sale tomorrow on ticketmaster.

• Registered Users Posts: 510 ✭✭✭AerLingus747

just goes to show Dubs respect the hill, other counties don't... Dub match days should be Dublin fans only in the hill

• Registered Users Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭YabaDabaDooley

The Hill is a lot different last two decades than it was in late 70s and 80s. It was a pretty tough place back then. It's safe for kids and families to go these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 510 ✭✭✭AerLingus747

• Registered Users Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭rolling boh

This has mentioned before but the age of the Dubs on the hill now is a bit older than years back .I don't see as many groups of young fellas together on the hill as much as years ago .It's mostly young guys drunk and on other substances now from other counties that act the maggot. Most are up for the match early so obviously have plenty of time to get wasted before they enter the ground. Not saying all the Dubs are saints but I haven't come across them giving much grief in quite a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭dobman88

Some of our best days in CP were on the hill with the dubs fans. Even 2011 when we ended up around 10 rows down at the end just to sheer pandemonium. Never had an issue before during or after with em bar 1 gobshite who was definitely a fair weather fan after the 5 in a row.

These days I prefer the comfort of the cusack tho. Must be age catching up to me.

7 arrested after the incident on Saturday thankfully. Hopefully they're all banned too.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Big news I guess, Dublin GAA appoints it's new CEO.

I don't know enough about him to have an opinion, but I wish him the best of luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,075 ✭✭✭✭JRant

He has a job on his hands sorting out the senior hurling team structures and pipelines.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,919 ✭✭✭billyhead

How did you manage that when it doesn't open until 10 for general sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

I’d say he got a link from his club.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

One of my friends sent the link last night, didn't realise it was from a club.

Apologies for the misinformation.

• Registered Users Posts: 374 ✭✭VONSHIRACH

Got season tickets online this morning. Section 305. Lwr Cusack. Nice to have them so far in advance.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭PressRun

Very late, but warm congratulations on the QF win. I live in the capital and have some great Dublin GAA heads as colleagues and have always enjoyed the conversation. Thought ye looked very impressive against us in the 2nd half. Our midfield were sitting ducks all season waiting to be exposed and ye did it. Basquel had a brilliant game and McCarthy - what can I say, a freak of nature and an absolute leader, a true great of the game. He brought the game to Kerry last year almost single handedly and did the same last weekend. He knows what it takes and doesn't shirk responsibility.

No complaints on my end from a Mayo perspective - I felt it was coming and once we met a good, fit team, they'd do a job on us. We have an awful lot of work to do and short players in key, specialist positions and kick out strategy sorely needed. Idk what the future is there, we'll see

Hope ye go and finish the job now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,377 ✭✭✭Gael85

Dublin 2023 Championship & League Stats

• Registered Users Posts: 635 ✭✭✭Tomaldo

Rain forecast for Saturday which usually means a low-scoring game, will that help or hinder us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭mobby

• Registered Users Posts: 635 ✭✭✭Tomaldo

Unfortunately you may be right, I hope not. The bookies have us (minus 7 pts) evens, Dublin to score a goal in each half 9/4 might be value, we don't even have to win.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

Going Dublin 10-12 points at 9/2. Don't think a bit of rain will make much difference to the outcome here to be honest. Dublin just need to come through with no injuries and more game time into Kilkenny and Caffrey and its job done.

Going to be a wet day by the looks of things but as regards to the game I expect to win and really if we hope to beat most likely Kerry in the final we should win well.I respect Monaghan but they are a decent side nothing more or less than that .

• Registered Users Posts: 13,075 ✭✭✭✭JRant

It's not just the rain today, it's a horrible gusty dirty day out there and will make for a slog. Expect lots of soft frees for Monaghan today with lads slipping and not as many for ourselves. Getting the footwear right for today will be important. The pitch is going to be tricky as it drains so quickly yet has gotten a lot of rain of the last few days.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Horrible day for a game. Hope it doesn't ruin the match and make things sloppy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭MFPM

Bugler out..blow for him, he's been playing well. Interesting Mc Manus is starting, probably right decision for Monaghan.

The weather could be a bit of a leveller here, still expecting a Dublin win..

Dublin really poor, game played on Monaghan terms...Dublin too slow.

Dublin poor enough.

Played with a man less for 10mins.

Still lead by a point.

I expect a huge improvement in the 2nd half.

Not at all worried........yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,060 ✭✭✭Xander10

Scrappy stuff but the wind in our favour second half. Wouldn't want it too tight going into the last 5 mins or so

Dublin giving Monaghan far too much respect but so many off their game, Fenton, O'Callaghan, Basquel, McCarthy.

Just out not quite the performance I was hoping for seven points definitely flattered us .We took the wrong option so many times when coming forward .I know plenty say semi finals are for winning and that is right but maybe the reaction to our last win was a bit overboard .We will need one big push for the final which will most likely signal the end of the road for a lot of great players who have given us wonderful memories.One thing is certain you can't win the final if you are not in it so here's hoping we can pull it off .