Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish car registration plates - who hates or loves them?

• 07-07-2022 3:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Juran

I'll start with saying I hate them.

Hate how you are drawn to the car age before you notice the model.

Hate that you can't change the number if you buy an out of county 2nd hand car (should you wish to change).

I don't like how a Cork or Longford reg doesnt mean you are from Cork or Longford. If you are driving abroad and you see an Irish reg car, the plate doesnt reflect current owner county in 80% of the cases (i made up that statistic). But you know what I mean.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I've never really thought about it. My current car has a Galway reg and a previous car I've owned had a Kildare reg. It's essentially just an asset tag that's easier to read and remember than the VIN. It has no real bearing on the vehicle at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭[Steve]

Not too bothered about the reg system - if anything the year is more a 'keeping up' thing for those who need to be seen as better off than neighbours, etc.

If I had any preference at all it would be to aim for either W or D as the county, or most other single letter counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,710 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I like it in that the year, county then serial makes it relatively easy to remember.

I don't like the split year since 131 and I think since the 20s came in those split year plates are downright confusing.

It doesn't jump.out at you like it should and therefore makes it quite difficult to remember a reg in case of emergency etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

It just looks odd having three digits for the year on plates with a reg number less than 100.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,424 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

I loved the simplicty of the new plate system when it was first introduced, year, county & sequence number registered. I don't think many other countries had anything that straight forward?

I absolutely hate them since the motor industry forced the Government to allow them to split up the year into two halves. That was the greatest con they ever pulled off and caused a very simple identification system to be screwed up. i.e 19-D-456 became 191 or 192-D-***. I seriously believe it was simply a brain washing exercise so the garages could have two bumper seasons in the one year. Then of course you have the look at me, my car is 222 and your old yoke is 221...

Personally, the split year thing has no baring whatsoever on my decission making when it comes to buying a secondhand veichle.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Speaking of single letter counties, I've asked this question many times but never really go a satisfactory answer. I'll ask here in case someone actually knows.

Why is Sligo "SO" when there is no other county beginning with S in the the republic? That would be like having "GY" for a Galway Reg.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,856 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Originally the single letter counties were only to be used for counties which were also cities so Cork, Dublin, Galway, Limerick, Waterford.

Tipperary was originally TN and TS depending if it was north or south region/council, it's now T which is the exception as it's not a city. Kilkenny seems to be a city and then not a city but was not a city when the plates came out in 1987.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,047 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

It had nothing to do with having two bumper seasons. It was to spread the sales over a longer period to help with obtaining stock and to provide a more stable working year for staff in the motor industry. I doubt that it made any difference to actual sales. It they increased, they may have increased anyway regardless to 2 plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,856 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,106 ✭✭✭bmc58

Doesn't bother me at all.I do a nice bit of driving to my daughters in Cork and Kerry with my wife and she often says " wheres that car from?Reg could be MO,G,LT etc and I'd tell her the county.She'd say there a long way from home.Then I'd explain to her the person driving could be from Cork or Kerry.The reg only means where the car was registered first.That's our system and it's here to stay.I also like the dates on the car plates.

Don't like the split year gimmic myself.It was only a a sales rouse thought up by motor dealers and ably abetted by the government to boost sales after mid year when sales slow down.Salesman told me eg, 211,212 mean the same thing.Car has no extra value with a 212 plate.It's still classed the same as a 211 car.One year old.

That's a very good question.Some civil servent probably has an answer somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭WishUWereHere

But why, if it isn’t broken, would you want to fix it? Personally I have no problem with the way the plates are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

I really like the system, so i can tell at a glance how old a car is. I don't care about the county but sometimes that can let you spot an out-of-towner.

The year is also handy for other obscure stuff - e.g. if the year is before 05 then the speedo will be miles per hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭WishUWereHere

I’m not going to get into an argument with you. I personally have no problem with the way they are. What’s wrong with having a county on the number plate?

Im also ok with buying a 2nd hand car and knowing the year it was put on the road.

Anyhow, that’s my tuppence worth. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭User1998

I much rather the plates in the UK. Seeing private plates worth hundreds of thousands fitted to super cars is something you’d never see here.

It wouldn’t interest most people but as a car person its really cool to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Juran

Good question ... and thanks A. DAWN for explaining !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,047 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Not all 'car' people are into personalised plates. Some of us think they are just tacky. I'd much rather see a super car with a normal non-descript plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Sir Galahad

What about the way Irish people get illegal plates made up. . . . . . colours . . . . fonts . . . . .car brands . . . . . ? If you got caught doing it in Europe you'd be nailed up on a cross.

Not as many now, but back in the late 90's and 2000's, plates around my home town were nearly all customized for anyone under 30 years old.

Donegal folk love their customized plates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭cml387

I saw a comment once that a long series of numbers (esp D plates) are more difficult to memorise than a series of letters and numbers like UK plates, and hence more difficult for the Gardai to recall.

I suppose since ANPR its doesn't really matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

The UK has 30 million vehicles and can identify them with 7 characters. An outsider looking at our system could ask if it was designed in a competition for 12 year olds.

Why is the county on the plate? It hasn’t been relevant since the 70’s when Road Tax paid to the County Council was abolished.

Why do we need 3 digits to identify a 2 digit year?

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭micah537

Limerick had both L and LK if I remember correctly. Do you know why? Considering Cork and Galway are bigger counties and Cork also having a bigger city, it didn't seem to make much since to have a limerick city plate and limerick County plate.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

It was to do with the council the registration was done with. We've since moved from that, to county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭cml387

The W/WD L/LK etc. was because there was a city tax office and a second one at the other end of the county (Waterford and Limerick both have the administrative capital at the extreme end of the county so for convenience they added another office).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,978 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Bring back TN & TS !

Never mind water charges, this was the worst thing Phil Hogan ever did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

That was due to Limerick having a city and council county

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭Allinall

No riding in Tipperary any more.

Who would have thought?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,903 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

They should just drop the first "2" now - and bring it back to just yearly plates. They should also allow customised plates at a cost to the person registering the car - would bring in a bit more revenue. And you could move the plate with you when you buy a new car. The technology is there now that would make this so easy to achieve.

If they still wanted to split the year they could have a small symbol in the corner of the plate denoting whether its the first or second six months of that particular year - another thing quite easily done.

As you can gather Ive always hated the 3 digits at the start of the Irish plates - it just looks off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,710 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

What do you mean by drip the first 2?

A small symbol denoting first or 2nd half of year would be neat but it won't happen as it would make the plate change even less important and that wouldn't suit the trade.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,903 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Instead of just "222" why not just 22-d-12345 - we dont need 3 digits for another 78 years :)

But youre right the trade would be well against it. but maybe with a small symbol denoting which half of the year its registered "might" persuade them.

I vote drop the year and the county on the Irish reg and apply random numbers and letters. Ireland is too small for county plates .. its not like the states where you have state plates, which are cool looking I think we have to admit.

In germany the first letter (max 2 letters) is the registration office location, eg. M for Munich, S for Stuggart, HE for Heidleberg. If you relocate, you re-register your car. If you sell your cars, you remove the plates and bring them back to the registry office .. no lie. Its a pain of a system. The only good part of it, if you wish,they allow you to pick the rest of the reg which has to be letters and numbers eg Bart Simpson born in 1980, living in Munich could pick M:BS1980 as his plate, unless anyone else in Munich has already picked that reg. You can also request a random number & letter than means nothing.

Up until around 15 years ago, france used to have reg number per district (like county), you had to change car reg everytime you moved county. Now you get a random number which stays with the car forever, but at the side of the plate, you can chose to add your county in small print, like the dealer name, but I dont believe its part of the official car reg number.

Back in the mid 80's, county councils were saying they were running out of numbers/letters, right? Is that why we changed in 1987?

What would make the Dept Transport change to another system at this stage ? A European plate system ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭Miscreant

I think the current system is great. Easy to understand the year, county and number of vehicles registered up to that point. There has to be some sort of registration system in place, so why not this one?

If the EU come out with a common system, it would probably have the Country of Origin and some sequence of numbers in it anyway, so what difference would that make?

This is a circular debate anyway. Each country is free to choose whatever way they register vehicles and show that registration (within a defined set of rules, I imagine). Ours is year, county and number. I don't see that changing for the foreseeable future as it works very well and there is no wider public debate, petition or movement to have it changed, like it or not. People have more to worry about than the characters on a piece of plastic or metal on the rear and/or front of their vehicle.

Yep, originally that was perfect, simple as you said, but then they had to go and change it from

The year, county, and number of vehicles registered up to that point.

To

The year, part of the year, county, and number of vehicles registered up to that point.

Anyone who believes it wasn't done to boost the coffers of both the motor industry and the government is either involved in either or both or they are simply delusional.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

There is no doubt the change was made in order to benefit the motor industry - this was made quite explicit at the time.

Because you can tell how old an Irish car is from the reg number, Irish people mostly bought new cars at the start of the year. The 1 and 2 were added in order to split the demand between January and July. No conspiracy here, it makes a lot of sense.

Explainer here for the old pre-1987 system here. Total mess IMHO.

Note that re-reges of pre-87 cars sometimes grandfathered in the new system so in the 80s/90s I remember occasionally seeing 84-D, 86-D etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

They are still using the old (original) registration system in the North. They never changed over. The rest of the UK left it in 1962-ish.

With the lower population in the North never ran out of regs.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

This I don't understand. I never see in Italy a germany style plate, only ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mcburns07

Whatever about the number plates, the fact we’re forced to display a couple of pieces of circular paper on the windscreen to prove we’ve paid for something is beyond archaic. Wish they’d scrap that and move to electronic like the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭spuddy

The plate is a unique identifier for the vehicle, it doesn't need to be anything more.

The reason we have the year on ours is because of successful lobbying by the SIMI over the years, seen again when the YY1/2 format was adopted. It's good for their members, encouraging people to buy for the new plate, which you frequently see them advertising about.

Ireland doesn't manufacture cars, so why we're incentivising sales with our current system is highly questionable. The vast majority of that spend leaves the country. If the concern genuinely was about the spike of sales in January, removing the year is the obvious solution, as sales would be spread across the year.

One thing drilled into me when I first started working is that you shouldn't criticise something unless you have an alternative proposal, so here it is. Other European countries have adopted a XX-###-XX format, Italy and France are two that spring to mind. I've noticed the same system in use on the Ukrianian cars too we see around these days.

I hope we do something similar but wouldn't hold my breath. Perhaps an EU wide system may come one day. For now, well done SIMI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭spuddy

...and imagine how much is spent administering the whole operation, notifying owners, designing new discs every year, printing them, posting them out etc. Wonder if there are any stats for how much of what's collected goes in collecting the tax?

An even simpler solution, would be to simply abolish the need for motor tax, no technology even needed. Highly unlikely in the current environment though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭WJL

In 1991 when the European flag was added I thought it looked the business!! I was 15.

"An even simpler solution, would be to simply abolish the need for motor tax, no technology even needed. "

Why would you do that, how would the roads be maintained? "Abolish taxes" is a fun idea in theory but the practice is horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,601 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I hate them. I hate the fact they've the year on them. It's the first thing anyone ever looks at and a huge deal is made out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭brokenangel

It’s a number plate, that’s it. A way to identify a car

Bigger issues in ireland to resolve than a number plate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭adaminho

Interesting video on the US system

Ask my mother what type of car was he/she driving, she will reply '09 reg' ... but no idea of make, model or colour!

Exactly why I hate them, your attention is drawn mainly to the year.

That's proof they're a good system, it's really easy to remember the reg number compared to other countries

I think we have the best system in the world.

3 digits for the year do look gaudy though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

If the reg year wasn't so obvious maybe sales would be more spread out over the year with higher specs and options purchased instead of just buying for the new reg.

🙈🙉🙊