Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTÉ admits paying Tubridy €345,000 more than declared

• Registered Users Posts: 9,171 ✭✭✭limnam

TV license fee renewals dropped 27 per cent in the first week of July, according to new figures.

What's that in Champions league tickets.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,479 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

But the 'government' bailout is ultimately coming from the taxpayer, just like the licence fee.

Yeah they're rolling out the 'options' now on Radio 1.

Reducing salaries was not one of the options.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,788 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Yes, really.

Seriously, how do you decide what they are worth? Presenters here may or may not be overpaid. I don't know. What's the logic though for coming up with the 'they are overpaid' other than you've been saying it for years? I'm not saying you are wrong by the way, I just don't know what criteria is used to come up with a figure. I personally think in or around €200k - €250k is pretty near the mark for a top presenter here in Ireland. What figure had you in mind?

Our top staff aren't paid the equivalent of the top stars in the UK or the US. Tubs was the best paid presenter in RTE on about €500k. Lineker is on nearly triple that. The top US presenters are paid considerably more. I agree with you that we are a very small country and I'd also agree our presenters shouldn't be paid the same as the top UK or US presenters. But where do you come up with an appropriate figure? You can't really do it on size. The UK has more than 10 times our population so are you suggesting that our presenters should be paid 10 times less than them? So, if a BBC presenter is on £200k, then our presenter should be on the equivalent of £20k? I don't think so.

I agree with you that the slots are more important than the presenter. No issue there. They would generate revenue no matter who was presenting. But how do you determine what portion of the advertising revenue is attributable to the 'talent' and pay them accordingly for the advertising revenue? Is any portion attributable to the presenter? I think that's a calculation that can't be made. And if it can't be made, then how do you argue that someone is overpaid? And if advertising slots in the middle of the night generate fcukall revenue, do you pay the night time presenters fcukall?

Regarding your last paragraph, that's subjective. Well, the part about not being able to do a basic interview is subjective.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,225 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

You surely can't be serious when you say Kevin Bakhurst is off on holidays when he's hardly in a 'wet week'????

That can't be true, is it?? It sounds unbelievable.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

They can't and won't prosecute everybody, it's simply not practical.

Despite the reservations and complaints I have voiced about RTE for years I have always paid my licence, but come this November when it's due, I won't. And if that means a court appearance, fine. I'm willing to make them jump through hoops to get my money.

• Registered Users Posts: 988 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

Ooooffffffffff

I need a cigarette after reading that!

Here we go again.

Lineker is underpaid compared to Tubs on a pro-rata basis if we're going to use your audience figures as a barometer. The island of Ireland has a population of approx. 5 million. Approx. 4 million of that are in the Republic. The UK has approx 70 million.

Average Match of the Day audience figures are 2.6million people in the UK*. Average Late late Show Figures are 680,000.

You really are not comparing like with like.

I previously said no one in RTE should be paid more than €240,000 - and that's for all his/anyone's work - that's not €240k for radio and another €240K for TV. And that's through the books as a PAYE employee, no more of this independent contractor/one man or woman company bullsh*t. That's still an enormous amount of money for what is in effect a part-time job.

I don't disagree with your thesis on "how do we know what X generates over Y?" - I'm paraphrasing here. But now we have a chance to do so. We can compare audience figures of an extended Oliver Callan run v Turbidy. And let's say it's down 10%....which I don't think t will be btw but let's say it is. Is is not immeasurably better value then to keep Callan on as his costs will definitely be significantly less than 90% of Tubs' fees? And that's before we allow some settling in time and time for Callan to build an audience?

The fact is RTE have never been willing to try alternatives. Even when Tubridy tanked Gerry Ryan's 2FM audience he was parachuted into the safety of RTE. He wasn't penalised for tanking the show/slot, he was effectively promoted. Serious questions need to be asked about that. It was part of Kelly's defence last week that if the audience tanked his talent could be forced out - it's never happened.

*I say UK figures as - and I have pointed this out previously - I have stayed in Hotels as far away as Hawaii and Hong Kong that have been showing MOTD on BBC World Service TV. MOTD is not a UK only broadcast, it's effectively global. There's a lot more than 2.6million people watching MOTD every week.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

They said exactly the same about water charges, people would make a stand and then pay it. When enough people refused to pay, they backed down. I think the days of the tv licence are numbered after this, especially if the likes of Tubridy are allowed return to the air without ditching Kelly and paying back a couple hundred thousand to RTE.

Exactly. All this blather about needing to pay "top talent" like Tubridy in case he might shoot off to a competitor or the idea that some reduction in listenership figures would accrue some real world penalty to him, like getting demoted to a graveyard slot on a third of the salary, is utter utter nonsense.

NK loves to use the parlance of the private sector when RTE is actually far far removed from those realities and is in fact like most if not all other state run bodies in Ireland. Jobs for the boys. Waste of public money on a monumental scale. Incompetent individuals left in post til retirement and often promoted and on and on and on.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Fully aware of that. You'd hope if the government is directly handing over the money, the government would take a much closer interest in RTE. At the moment the government can claim some sort of distance from the shambles that is RTE, as the money comes from commerial revenue, TV licence and a couple other sources.

But when RTE are heavily dependent on the government, you'd expect a more serious approach. You'd also want to see at least half the board made up of appointments by government, not friends of politicians, but experts in corporate governance and finance, a couple of outsiders, etc. More accountability. That and a more progressive funding structure.

Funnily enough Dee Forbes had no problem in potentially losing staff moving lyric to Dublin.

Ironiclly the vast majority of "top talent" in my eyes is on Lyric.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Northernlily

🤣🤣, A straw poll around some local watering holes and cafes on Merrion Road isn't good about the shenanigans. There is real anger. A lot of people would be acquainted with the RTE execs. A taxpayer heist.

It was alluded to above - I think the anger is the same level as the water charges. The Irish population let a huge amount of stuff slide but a tipping point was crossed here and I don't think RTE will recover licence fee money to the same extent as previously EVEN with the threat of court. Logic takes over and FFFG are hardly going to like 10s of thousands generally law abiding citizens hauled before the courts as they have taken a stance on the use of their money.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

That's a great laugh. I knew nothing about TTTM but Kirsty Blake-Knox did a good job of describing the evening and the bizarre story line.

A musical based around a depressed widower and his 2 kids!

What a bunch of utter gowls.

Jaysus........

I refuse to believe Tubs didn't have anything to do with that show. Sounds like he wrote the thing!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Northernlily

That storyline has all the hallmarks of that misery merchant!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,225 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Ours is due as well and I've always paid on time.

But not this year, it'll just sit there for several months. Doubtless will pay it eventually but will make it as hard as possible.

Unless there is evidence of real change at RTE, addressing all the concerns that have been raised recently and other matters that will likely be uncovered.

That's what the government need to be concerned about - mass objection and withholding of licence fee.

It doesn't look like Bakhurst is off on holliers this week, but proposes to go at end of July.

It was widely discussed at the time that the storyline revolved around a widower and is kids coming together to watch The Toy Show, with the dead mother appearing throughout the show holding the LLS owl - it sounds like a horror more than an uplifting story! You really have to ask does anyone say "no" in there, or are they all just sipping the Kool Aid because until recently there clearly have been no consequences for failure. Who in their right mind thought this was a good premise?!!!!

I won't be able to listen to that podcast until my drive home, sounds promising though!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,194 ✭✭✭squonk

I think there’s this narrative doing the rounds that all RT has to do is ditch NK, pay back the Renault gig money and everything will be fine for him and we can all feel better about having him back on air and all that.

There’s a big problem with this however. The elephant in the room is that other NK talent in RTE have declared their reported remuneration as being accurate. In the absence of any other evidence I don’t doubt them.

RT is the only NK client with inaccurate salary reporting. That came from somewhere. Either

(a). RT pushed like hell to resist a pay cut and NK, DF enabled it or

(b). NK thought this one client he had was extra special and didn’t deserve the pay cut treatment all his other RTE clients were receiving. He went out on a limb and cooked up a dodgy deal with DF and RT was told he’d be grand, just don’t ask where the money is coming from.

Which one sounds more plausible? I suspect option a which makes RT look entitled, greedy and a total mé féiner. There is no scenario I can think of where it’s ok to have him back.

Post edited by squonk on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Agree what you’re saying, how many people watch MOD on a Saturday and Sunday nights in Ireland alone, It’s being watched in our house from a small boy in the 1970s. Rte needs the government to cut the purse strings and sell it off, we have sky Tv, tik tok, YouTube, Facebook etc, Rte is the past,

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭creedp

Ah thats the stupid socialist told off yet again. The record must be pretty worn out at this stage. Unfettered capitalism is the holy grail. Simples.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,463 ✭✭✭HBC08

Aren't you the poster who somehow managed to shoehorn your alleged wages (140k) into this debate.

Aren't you the poster who then deleted that post because even by your own standards it was truly embarrassing.

Aren't you the same poster who fires out insults all day long on boards and yet reported my post when I pointed out some of your hypocrisy?

I've been very careful not to say anything here that might warrant another reporting.

Feel free to respond if any of this isn't true.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Joseph Schumpeter

Your attempt at condescension comes across as a Ross O Caroll Kelly reader who doesn’t understand fully the reasoning behind capitalism or privatisation. You write superficial criticisms of people who advocate privatisation as if it is about social status or financial altruism. It’s not.

It has nothing to do with putting your hand in your pockets. Privatisation leads to two kinds of innovation. Innovation of existing goods and services and innovation of new kinds of goods and services. Privatisation also increases productivity and increased productivity leads to the increased prosperity of a country’s citizens. Privatisation provides returns on your input investment and thus gives incentive for results.

I hear howls of laughter at my arguments as if to say there is nothing that stops that occurring in nationalised companies however history has proven otherwise. The truth is the nationalisers have been caught out with RTE’s financial failure and resort to arguments of we need a public service broadcaster. That public ownership via the licence fee is better than casino capitalism. Capitalism wins hands down every time and history has shown boom and bust is better than decay and death.

What I will say to caveat all of my points so far is that there are some socialists who are honourable and adept politicians in this country and they all are from the Labour Party. Latterly, Gilmore, Rabbitte, Howlin, and more recently Bacic are genuine union people or academics not trying to disrupt the apple cart but defend rights. In other parties like FF there exists faux socialists who  delight in the downfall of England and thus position themselves on the side of Russia. De Velera was the arch proponent of this strategy. He was a sinister man. This is not the case with most Labour politicians.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭ZookeeperDub

RTE are running at a loss of millions every year, even with all of the TV license money

You don't spend big money on presenters if you are not getting big money from advertisement.

If RTE can make a profit each year then use the profit to top up presenters

FYI BBC had a surplus of over 200mUKP each year.

So yes TV presenters in RTE are overpaid.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭Expunge

You'd think that RTE would have the good grace to take down the identities of the poor f**kers who created Toy Show the Moosikal

Some of these will find it hard to get work again. Unless they're already warm and safe in the RTE tent.

Creative Team (rte.ie)

Many people in RTÉ, past and present, have been responsible for making the Late Late Toy Show the special TV programme and night that it is today. Retaining all that magic and at same time creating a new original musical required that RTÉ add the best experience and talent it could find from the music and theatre world. Led by RTÉ producers Katherine Drohan and Jane Murphy, we were delighted to able to assemble such a talented and experienced team from across Ireland and the UK, see below:

Created & Produced by Jane Murphy & Katherine Drohan

Book by Lisa Tierney-Keogh and Jamie Beamish

Composer - Ruth Anne Cunningham & Harry Blake

Director - Séimí Campbell

Choreographer - James Cousins

Musical Supervisor & Orchestrator – Sarah Travis

Set & Costume Design – Colin Richmond

Casting Director – Maureen Hughes

Creative Producer – Sarah Lynch

Consultant Producer – Julian Erskine

Production Manager - Eamonn Fox

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭head82

I always thought it a little strange that Tubridy actively distanced himself from Toy show: The Musical. Apart from the odd reference to it on his radio show and LLS, his support from it was noticeably absent from the get-go. A little unusual considering he was partly the inspiration for it.

He was even asked about this lack of support at the PAC hearings. His reply was something along the lines of " I wished the creators all the best in their endeavors".

It's been alluded to recently that he may have had his own Toy Show themed project in the works. Hence the reluctant support for a rival project.

A Toy Show theme park anyone?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭ZookeeperDub

He mentioned it in the meeting, more or less taking the toy show studio and putting it into somewhere that kids could go and play in it....it was rejected and he seems to have the hump

Spoilt brat seems to be the best description for his reaction to been told no

• Registered Users Posts: 9,194 ✭✭✭squonk

I see RuthAnne involved in the music. The sage RuthAnne who range Joe Duffy a few times. Not sure what she was complaining about but she’s worked with artists in tge states etc so ° might be ok. It kind of smells of a jobs for the clique effort though.

I didn’t delete my post about my salary. I realise it didn’t land well in some parts, but all I was saying is that a salary between 100k and 200k isn’t unusual these days, and for that we don’t get the abuse online that politicians and media sorts get. My nephew makes more than a TD and he’s 3 years out of university.

I didn’t report your post. I haven’t a Ronnie Drew who you are tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭techman1

Hi ButtersSuki you said you were offered some of these trips in your time but you personally weren't interested in golf or football events.

Just say you were a big media buying agency on Geraldine O learys books and she offered one of those sporting trips, you declined because not interested in those ,however I am interested in a Jazz or Blues concert in a foreign capital. Would Geraldine o leary accommodate you ?, I doubt it

The only reason these specific events were chosen was because Geraldine o leary herself wished to travel to them. I doubt she would act as host at for example the montreux jazz festival. I would love to be a fly on the wall though if a major advertising buyer was trying to steer her in that direction