Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enough is enough? Dublin north inner city crime

• Registered Users Posts: 17,198 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

"American obsession"? 🤔 That was my first post in this thread and I didn't say anything about nationality. I just said he was a tourist. Where have I obsessed about America before, if not here? It's not good for the tourist industry though when you hear about life changing unprovoked attacks on a person in their late 50's by a group of delinquent youths right in the heart of our capital, and right around the corner from one of the biggest Garda stations in the country.

Post edited by sligeach on

• Registered Users Posts: 5,930 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

I don't know why none of the main parties are latching onto it.

SF and PBP cannot, for obvious reasons.

Politicians from other parties are probably acutely aware that any real attempt to get to grips with it is likely to backfire in accusations of victim blaming, elitism and targeting the most vulnerable in society with draconian measures Joe.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,073 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

thankfully civil liberties and human rights can't be thrown out for anyone and are non-negotiable.

throwing more people into over-crowded prisons makes the job of those working in the prisons harder and more dangerous.

which is why existing prisons should only be holding their actual capacity and then if we need more space, build it.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Sugar_Rush

Norwegian prison systems which focus on rehabilitation.

Hasn't Ireland looked in that at all?

Rates of recidivism are encouraging low.

In physics we trust....... (as insanely difficult to decipher as it may be)

• Registered Users Posts: 32,717 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

It is bad no doubt but you are basing that Dublin being the most dangerous capital city in EU on what exactly?

Paris still the capital of France as far as I know.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,717 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

The gardai who have become desensitized given there experiences should not be in the job any longer, if they can't treat ordinary decent people they encounter with a modicum of kindness.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

I am not sure if a change of government will do anything to help.

Not when plenty on the Left refuse to even acknowledge these attacks.

Some of them won't have any empathy when they hear it's an American tourist.

Here's a recent example - the wrong type of immigrant....

• Registered Users Posts: 16,544 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The man has life changing injuries according to reports so its a bit more serious than someone who got a black eye or a busted nose.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Northernlily

Exactly, you'd have to assume from the headlines and detail in the articles there is an eye lost. Ffs

• Registered Users Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The bang them up and throw away the key brigade wouldn't stand for that. What, spending money on prisoners so they don't do bad stuff after they are released?? What sorcery is this?

No, we'll do the bare cheap ass minimum, muddle along and hope for the best in "shur Twill be grand Land".

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Leo Varadkar almost dismissed it on 6.1

Granted he is just back home

Hopefully he has a rethink overnight after a rest and gets something done about this

• Registered Users Posts: 23,676 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Quite astonishing given the location that no one has been arrested yet. There must be CCTV everywhere there.

Did they arrest anyone for the Ukranian victim in the same area?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,571 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

I have no doubt that an overhaul of the legal system in this country would improve a huge amount of areas like crime, housing, immigration, personal injury, planning permission etc etc and im equally certain that the snouts in the troff would never allow it but the gardai numbers have dwindled while populations have increased and the garda job has been made more and more difficult through many reasons.

The first thing the garda need is numbers, then you can decide how best to allocate them.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,171 ✭✭✭saabsaab

What about moving those families involved in repeat criminal behaviour out of their area?

• Registered Users Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

McEntee's brief is as Minister for Justice. She could, and should, be looking to address this issue. If there are issues related to morale amongst the guards or a lack of recruitment, she should be looking to address those issues with Drew Harris.

If there are issues around sentencing? Look to reform the sentencing guidelines by tightening them and increasing the minimum sentences for heinous crimes. Not arguing about increasing the age from 18 to 24 where the Guards can grant cautions instead of pursuing custodial sentences for crimes where they are needed.

McEntee speaks with a forked tongue. That is why mud is being slung her way by "bots".

• Registered Users Posts: 835 ✭✭✭mazdamiatamx5

Sounds like the kind of rubbish a PBP type would come out with but on googling him he's Social Dems. Obviously he prefers immigrants from countries whose cultures have nothing in common with our own. Hes obviously been brainwashed into thinking that the West is the source of all evil. If he hates Europe so much let him go live in Iran or China. I hear Afghanistan is nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭downtheroad

We should strike a deal with Thailand or Indonesia, ask them to take our lowlife scum to one of their prisons and pay them to do so.

Our hard lads wouldn't last 10 minutes.

Highly recommend reading Hotel K. There's no Playstations for the scum in there.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,676 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Moving them out? They should have their safety net that we provide removed.

Should be a 3 strike rule for welfare dependents then you'll see parenting skills sprout sharpish

• Registered Users Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Long Sean Silver

to which a Baghdadi citizen replies "ah please, have we not suffered enough?"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭rogber

The problem is nearly always toxic masculinity. Men convicted of any kind of violence should not be allowed out on the streets so that women and also decent men can go out and about safely. Tag them, lock them up, sterilise them, whatever. Remove violent men, remove 98 percent of the problem

And the junkie scumbags on the Northside are a pestilence of their own. Ideally should all be herded up and kept in an enclosed environment in the middle of nowhere

• Registered Users Posts: 29,073 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,171 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Have to agree they are mostly beyond that. Anyway there is a limit that can be taken off the welfare payments. Better to just move thme to a less expensive location with far less opportunities for trouble.

• It’s not doing anything of the sort. However, we’ve ludicrous and laughably poorly designed local government which has no control over anything. Cities like Dublin, Cork etc should be able to drive aspects of their own policing, transport system development, be properly financed and so on, instead this stuff is left to be a political football at national level in the Dail.

We are grossly over centralised in terms of administration and that does not mean that because the government sits in Dublin doesn’t mean very much for it as a city. It has the same weak and powerless administration as Cork - a ceremonial mayor with a big chain and a pompous title, a merry go round that changes them every year. It’s all about a golden coach and having the power to cut a ribbon or grant celebrities the right to graze their sheep on Stephen’s Green. Absolute joke shop rather than effective local government.

They’re also not maintaining cities properly. Both Dublin and Cork are full of derelict buildings, badly maintained facilities, crap public transport, ridiculous traffic management systems that don’t work, and they seem to have some kind of fetish for cluttering the place with endless signs and utility boxes in Dublin in particular.

There’s no local accountability and it’s all a big amorphous mess.

Is there a particular reason we put up with these dysfunctional messes? Getting this stuff sorted should be a massive election issue, but it’s not. We just drift on and on and on …

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

I wonder how much our infantilisation of our lower rungs of society feeds into this total abrogation of personal responsibility or any expectation thereof.

Any legitimate criticism is met with “Nooo you’re punching down!! Can’t do that, they’re not to blame for anything they do”

The bleeding hearts think they’re doing well by the scum by protecting them in this manner, but really they’re just denying them their agency in any acts they commit.

I think we need to stop all this beating around the bush placating. Utter permissiveness in the face of these people’s behaviour, violence, contempt of education and the law. Drains on society.

“Oh you don’t want to go to school or work (or court) that’s okay, yeah no worries just wear your pyjamas out to the shops that’s grand, yeah blow the cigarette smoke in your babies face while swearing at the other one, here have some more free money and a free apartment in the centre of one of the most expensive cities in the world, oh you’ve spat in my face thanks very much, you make our city so vibrant!”

What has happened to social standards?

• Registered Users Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

We're working against some strong forces here. Particularly the concentration of social housing in the area due to some weird consensus that non-working welfare classes should be housed right in the central tourist and business districts of the city. Utterly bizarre policy when you step back and think for a second.

The ONLY policy change that would ever improve Dublin city would be a policy of no new social housing leases between the canals. Gradually over time this would at least move the young of child bearing age out of the city. Each year, the existing social housing population would get older and older. And when they die off that housing unit would be used for affordable purchase or cost rental. This is the only policy which will actually improve things over time.

• You can see it with the agressive thuggish protests from the far right loons too. The policing is totally inadequate. It’s basically “careful now lads!! Calm down there now…”

There’s an absolute unwillingness to accept that we need policing and we need a justice system that actually convicts people for violent crimes.

It has become far too soft and it’s grossly under-resourced.

• Registered Users Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

The reason why there is no local accountability? It is not wanted. A centralised, amorphous blob means accountability is a nebulous concept.

If you decentralised accountability to a local level, it would scare the **** out of most Civil Servants.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Zero interest from Govt on this outside of sound bites today.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,165 ✭✭✭hayrabit

what's with the "Why would you bother?" (Gardaí not arresting scummers, well , because.... 😪) refrain on here 😕

cos it's dere fukkin jerb, that's the why...

how is this not obvious!!?... they're the entry point / front-line (supposedly) of the judicial/lawful/legal, whatever, merry-go-round system that we have... their only job is policing, NOT sentencing, FFS 😒

• Registered Users Posts: 7,363 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

We have made life too easy for these parasites.

Free house, free money, free this, free that.

Ireland is facing a bleak future. Scrotes contributing nothing are multiplying at a massive rate.

The word entitled has destroyed this country, all egged on by most political parties.