Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enough is enough? Dublin north inner city crime

• Registered Users Posts: 9,488 ✭✭✭cgcsb

Norway exports it's problems. If you say you are an alcoholic you are classed as disabled, their social welfare then encourages you to locate yourself in a warm climate to tackle your depression, so they go to Spain and get paid a generous disability allowance by Norway ontop of their healthcare, making them better off than the average Spaniard. Every country has these problems but they find creative solutions.

That's a regressive step. The public spaces, including laneways, are ours. Scrotes should be aggressively moved on or locked up.

An 18 to 24 year old with no job or college course should be signed up to the Navy. We don't have enough navy recruits to man the existing fleet, this can shore up numbers. There should be no dole before 24. The money should be redirected towards 18-24 year olds who are in college (in real courses, not gender studies and traditional Peruvian music) and going hungry to pay rents.

• Registered Users Posts: 698 ✭✭✭TedBundysDriver

Lol. People holding America up as some sort of beacon of how to handle crime. Dublin is a tea party company to some major American cities. Locking people up and throwing away the key is not an an answer.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,819 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

who grew up in south county Dublin (Glenageary or Dalkey IIRC), very comfortable middle class background

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth Randomer

To clarify my earlier post, I wasn't advocating we adopt such a system, merely pointing out the contrast and that we've perhaps gone a little too far the other way. There needs to be real lasting life changing punishments for any and all violent crime. Violence should be met with long sentencing in a punishing environment with the most basic of food and water, no entertainment and engagement with the victims (should the victims wish it so)

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭hymenelectra

There were always bad parts around the country but I don't think anyone would argue that its getting much worse.

The couple of years before the pandemic you could see it developing, and the pandemic itself was the nail in the coffin for dublin city center. Anyone going through the city at the time could see the difference, all sorts of yokes just hanging around everywhere. They didn't go away, and with a lot of people having abandoned going into the city now, it's just worse again. It's like a death spiral.

Not nearly enough gardai. Who'd want to sign up to that?

Everything wrong in the country is connected. The housing situation, the crime situation, the healthcare situation, the migration situation, transport, social mobility, it's all connected. And the flood of money is also connected.

It's a free for all.

Housing is the poisonous beating heart of it. There is next to no possibility of a young person, or the majority of anyone else, being able to "move". It's unaffordable, it's unavailable, it's unobtainable, the idea of being an independent adult has been destroyed. Doesn't matter if you work or don't work. It has gotten so bad the idea of even travelling in the country is essentially disappearing.

Less and less people want to be on the frontline of defending the indefensible direction of our country, be they guards or nurses. There's nothing in it for them, even the pride of it is gone, never mind the practicality.

So when you take the likes of someone from an already deprived background and put such a bleak future in front of them, you get gangs. Bigger and badder than ever. It's a free for all mentality. To lesser or greater extents with everyone.

Maybe the penny hasn't dropped for a lot that this free for all mentality is setting in, maybe your haven't noticed it yet. But your brain has. Somewhere in the back of your brain there's a recognition of this demoralisation across society.

You won't build enough prisons or have enough gardai ever.

They wanted to pump up house prices at all costs, and we're getting all the costs now.

So yes, I can draw the connection between some american lying in a hospital and the housing "policies" of the criminals masquerading as a government.

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭bluedex

We need more police but who would want to be a member of the Gardai? They are constantly undermined by the authorities. GSOC raising charges against the Garda that was pursuing those scumbags who crashed and killed themselves on the M50 being a good example.

Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭downtheroad

My idea earlier in this thread is to send our 100+ convictions scum (and in reality it should be 3 strikes and you're out) to a Thai or South American prison. There is a real deterrent that might knock some sense into these scumbags.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,138 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

rogber threadbanned

• Registered Users Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭suvigirl

• Registered Users Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

People like you are one of the main reasons that man was attacked.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

We definitely should listen to progressives on how to implement policy in this area for the next thirty years, it’s worked so well doing it their way for the past few decades

Garda members are not leaving because of the justice minister.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

That area has been bad for hundreds of years. This is nothing new. It was always a kip. Railway St, Buckingham St, Marlborugh St, Cumberland St, Summerhill, Sean McDermott St, Sheriff St.

There shouldnt be people living there in the spaces they're living in.

And now we're at the stage where people are being randomly murdered or close to being murdered, and we've to start closing off streets (which should be thriving little back streets) right beside the countrys capital street, beside the river in the city centre.

We've being throwing these scrotes in jail for hundreds of years too. Doesn't work.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dmakc

The country is far too nice to these people, and the scrotes act in turn. Need to come down much harder. F**k sake the country punished the garda who caught the 3 thieves on the motorway. I know of a garda who let a criminal get away rather than chase them in vehicle as a result of this case.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,317 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

The do gooders have their soup kitchen and other services based on O'Connell Street and other prime locations in the city.

Why is this nonsense allowed to continue? Many of those receiving these services are the most common law breakers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Northernlily

In this day and age, why are they allowed turn down housing offers.

We need a take it or leave it approach. If you don't like it, go to the streets.

The systems are too soft.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

I have an idea - literally pay the Spanish government to allow us to replace the entire operation at Store Street with Guardia Civil. Call it a foreign exchange programme or something. Watch how quickly the problem gets solved then - I lived in Spain, those lads do NOT mess around. Anto the skanger would find himself with a baton wrapped around his face for as much as a funny look in the direction of one of those lads.

I'm only slightly joking at this stage...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Northernlily

Yeah and **** them 3 thieves. They are where they belong.

Crime stats in Leinster went significantly down after they were killed. 3 yokes that uses the motorway network to rob and terrify our elderly

Yet a Guard gets punished for it. It's actually sums it all up. Depressing.

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭thegetawaycar

That would be ideal, no/minimal welfare if refused.

Same should be the case for most of the crap that goes on, the problem isn't helped when a large number of NGOs, quangos etc... make most their money from these people. It benefits them to not have these lads locked up.

Guardia civil would find themselves before the courts fairly quickly

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭hymenelectra

Taking a balanced view of things, it's only reasonable to see that garda numbers are going to continue to decrease going forward.

Now, put yourself in the shoes of a government. The natives don't want to police. They will likely ignore any reasons behind it and look for the shortest, stupidest bandage to put over it.

They'll start a huge recruitment drive of foreigners from abroad.

It's the answer to everything, fook up everything so badly, then try to import cheaper more expendable labour to shore it up for an election cycle.

It'll work out just as well as you'd predict. Mark it.

Criminality in Ireland is going one direction from here on out.

A 14-year-old teenage boy has been identified as one of the chief suspects for the violent assault on an American tourist on a Dublin street which left him with life-altering injuries.

Ffs. We already know he won't go to jail, only a minor, poor little fella had a tough upbringing etc.

And the poor victim?

The 57-year-old victim remains in a serious but stable condition in hospital after being punched and kicked in the head after being knocked to the ground near Talbot Street on Wednesday night.

The victim has suffered serious eye and head injuries, while doctors at Beaumont Hospital were yesterday continuing to assess if there are any long-term brain injuries.

If a 14 year old is old enough to inflict this damage he is old enough to be locked in a prison cell. Scumbag.

The article I quote from - https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/us-tourist-attack-14-year-old-boy-identified-as-one-of-chief-suspects-in-brutal-city-centre-assault/a1262614764.html?fbclid=PAAabv4Mh2oYHpTnvFFrVVSUeH3_8tIzmGvjQHJkU5z5H349LElWYUhYCo_R4

And from the same article:

There are fears that the US tourist will lose an eye and doctors had to perform emergency surgery to reduce swelling to his brain.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

The French transport police are similar.. they are properly tooled-up, more like military.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,529 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Absolute despicable what happened here. It’s what happens when citizens (particularly nasty ones) have no respect and no fear of a justice and law and order system.

• Registered Users Posts: 698 ✭✭✭TedBundysDriver

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭thegetawaycar

I agree with the points but it doesn't match the cluprits.

These aren't young middle class lads acting out as they won't afford a home.

These are in general, generational state housed families and so, like the rest will expect to be housed, fed, given money by the state. Those who can't afford to get a home are the ones leaving the state to better themselves, work and improve their lot.

These are the ones that will end up getting housed (the squeaky wheel and all that) in the centre of Dublin, no jobs because they don't want one, spawn offspring just like themselves and keep the cycle going.