Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enough is enough? Dublin north inner city crime

• Registered Users Posts: 9,488 ✭✭✭cgcsb

Think you've over done it here. 14 year olds who live in a free house aren't attacking people on the street because of a lack of affordable housing for the middle classes.

Just stop. The squeezed middle is paying for the new A+++ energy rated 3 bed homes on Dominick Street which is where these scrotes will be placed when they reach reproductive age. They aren't attacking people due to the existential stress of other people being unable to pay half a million euro to buy similar properties that they are destined to live in for free.

And they were allowed birth and raise children.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭tastyt

I wonder will Dublin ever have a Batman type character that could roam Talbot street and the likes at night kicking the **** out of some of the scrotes , shine the signal off the top of the spire

We already have the baddies assembled , the monk , the penguin , Mr Flashy , Fat Freddie .

We just need our own eccentric billionaire to work from his mansion in Dalkey or Killiney to sort this out

• Registered Users Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

There were vigilante groups in Tallaght in the early and mid 90s. You'd regularly see low end drug dealers and junkies outside the Square with broken legs.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭BlueEyeGleams

With crack becoming now evermore popular a good deal of these tweakers is it are now indulging in their very public “excercise routine” with no fear of being carted off to the looney bin. Hong Kong has Tai Chi in the public square we get this sh!t

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

https://youtu.be/nPwPgQDyt_0

unfortuately im on my yacht in monte carlo at the moment but will be available for an impossible task soon 😁

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

ps wheres my free,fancy rte flip-flops...?

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭hymenelectra

This is it, it's the truth of the matter. People aren't stupid, they can see the practically intraversible mountain before them.

Lots pointing out that people can work themselves out of it. That certainly applied in the past, but everyone has to recognise that the probability of that scenario is rapidly shrinking.

It's not that it's a new phenomenon, it's that it's a drastically worse version.

There's no point talking about something you did 20, 30, 40 years ago. It's a different game now.

There's so much to say about the impoverishment of opportunity. Yes, there is access to education. But if a teenager wants to, and can, attend the likes of trinity, how do they afford accommodation?

Equally, there's not much point talking about "good" jobs, because that's ignoring the scale of "average" and "not so good" jobs. How do you afford average housing on an average job? You can't. That's that.

And you certainly can't say they have free houses for life so they should be happy. Nobody ever thinks like that, least of all teenagers or other young people. They want to better themselves, they want to have freedom. Someone stuck in the same place cradle to grave is no good proposition.

Housing is intrinsically linked to relationships, family, opportunity. With housing gone up the chimney, so does the rest go.

Again, nothing new under the sun here, its the new extent to which this social immobility has grown, that's what I'm highlighting as a reason for more and more people just giving two fingers to society. Not an excuse, a reason.

Look at a what an average job is paying in Dublin, look at the rental costs of the filthiest overcrowded place to rent in Dublin. Doesn't work out.

And it's growing across the country. And crime is going to grow with it because its a near hopeless situation to get out of if you play by the rules.

I'm not surprised in the least. And I won't be surprised either when this problem grows out of the bottom of society and into the middle too.

I have no solutions to offer, it's rotten to the core. But I'm not going to pretend that some average young person has a lot of opportunity. That's the root, and no amount of guards or judicial changes or prisons is going to make it disappear.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,289 ✭✭✭mikethecop

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭beastfromtheEast

I started reading on the first page and skipped to the this one.

I notice there are a number of people Thread Banned as this is a very emotional subject.

I am Irish myself and have the knowledge to stay away from the inner city.

Not going to rant and rave or think too hard about this issue as it is depressing and sad.

However I think it's time we warned people entering this country about the dangers even if it damages tourism.

If we cannot keep visitors safe I don't think we deserve them or their business.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,742 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Is it time we brought in City cops like they do in Spain and other countries,

An entity separate to the Garda to police the City centre ,

Lately i wanted to become a Garda but I'm to old maybe this could pave the way for me ,

• Registered Users Posts: 19,431 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

There was a photo of the location where it happened in the paper.

I recognise it as the small road/laneway between Talbot Street if you were going to Busaras.

It is literally a stone's throw from the back of Store Street Garda Station. As in the photo was taken less than 40 metres from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭Blarney_man

Why is housing an issue? I moved to Ireland 7 years ago, knew couple of people, started on €18500 yearly wage, I bought a house with almost an acre of land. Let's stop making excuses, Ireland is in top 3 richest countries in the world!

Ireland has an issue with housing because all the forderners came in and took the handy plum €18k+ jobs and robbed all our houses leaving the poor inner city lads even more deprived. Thus giving the natives no choice but to try to support themselves against dangerous middle aged and elderly tourists. Forced them like.

(/sarcasm)

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭Blarney_man

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,141 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Blarney_man threadbanned

• Registered Users Posts: 6,989 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Kids in Dublin and especially city center Dublin have the best access to third level education in Ireland. Can walk, cycle, bus to all of the main 3rd level places without having to pay huge rents or commute huge distances.

And there are tons of courses and options and grants ... And there are loads of job opportunities and chances to get on in life. It has never been so good.

There are kids living with mental health issues, eating disorders, down syndrome, twisted backs, kids in wheelchairs ... who mange to get on with their lives and don't make life hell for others.

We're talking in circle's at this point.

Correct, it's generally not the squeezed middle causing these problems.

Correct, it's the bottom of the working/not working class that generally cause these problems.

I'm not arguing about that.

What I'm saying, and I don't think I can say it any clearer, is that the opportunity to improve your standing in life is dramatically lower than it was. I'm not saying it was ever easy, I'm saying it is now near impossible.

Young people are not stupid. They recognise the situation before them. Moreover those with little opportunity with which to begin.

Social mobility is the root behind all this, and Ireland has done just about everything it can to erode it over the last decade.

Even going by the example I have earlier, someone with less opportunity in a non-university town breaks their balls to get accepted into Galway or trinity, but then they can't afford to literally live there. The family can't afford it. And they see the likes of the government giving over what little there is of purpose built student accommodation, already unaffordable, to house migrants. It's one hell of a message that's being sent to young people and I really don't think older people have a grasp on the mental effect it has. Now what? What's the plan now that your efforts have been undermined? "Why try at all?", you can bet your life that sentiment is echoing across the younger generations in Ireland.

Society has all but abandoned younger people, and those at the bottom for lack of any purposeful direction are becoming increasingly hostile to society. It's a perfectly explainable situation.

I agree with you about the government needing to provide different and better hosuinh solutions, but you might as well be wishing for unicorns to rain. This is the same crowd that has created this monster.

Accommodation costs need to be dramatically lower so as people have choice and freedom and opportunity and something to REALISTICALLY work toward. Nobody wants to be shuffled around into pretermined, severely limited choices. That's not social mobility. But, well, it's unicorn rain.

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

i hear the minister for justice visited talbot street today...im guessing every garda in dublin had the place surrounded?

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

ps wheres my free,fancy rte flip-flops...?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,676 ✭✭✭suvigirl

I came from that background myself and me and my siblings have all good jobs and live in private housing.

I think the difference is those that do well from those areas have family who care, who encourage and want the best for their kids, teach the value of hard work etc.

it's much harder for those kids from families who just don't care about education, hard work or society, they actively discourage their kids from doing better, it is harder for those kids

Yeah she didn’t know what all the fuss is about 😂😂

Well I'd love to know how someone from a poor background intends to pay for accommodation for the students these days.

That's if they can find a place to rent.

Yesterday is far, far gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Don't worry lads, Drew Harris has reacted to the breakdown of law and order in this State!

By increasing the Garda deployment around Leinster House.

I wish I was joking.

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭thegetawaycar

You can be damn sure she won't walk around unescorted after dark

• Registered Users Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Jizique

Well, the govt handing accommodation previously used by students to "international protection applicants" doesn't help - and a surprising number of the kids seem to be all for it

I suppose it beats the usual visit via telescope from a thousand miles away.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,676 ✭✭✭suvigirl

It has never been easy for those from a poor background to go to third level, myself included. Grants and part time jobs helped, but also massive sacrifices at home.

Some kids don't have family that are willing to help or push or encourage them.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Our precious ministers must be kept safe whatever about the general public, tourists etc.

"Leinster House security to be beefed up after garda chief Drew Harris hears of politicians’ safety fears"

• Registered Users Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock