Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

COYGIG - Women’s Football World Cup 23 **Mod Warning in Post #58**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭TheProudHighway

Do they look likely to get to another any time soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

Ooof Spain are running away with this 2-0 so far 23 minutes gone.

3-0

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,223 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Shades of the men's game last November.

• This is a fantastic result for us!

Can a separate thread be set up for those who want to moan about the Women's World Cup? Keep this one for those of us who want to engage with it for what it is and, dare I say, enjoy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,873 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Go to the Soccer Group, you'll find one there, but you have to request access to Soccer.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• The most streamed live event on RTE so far... must be some interest in it so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Neither my wife or daughters have the slightest interest in watching it or even following the result. They would sit down though and watch womens tennis & athletics for hours. So it's not that women playing sport doesn't interest them. Maybe it's just tradition as women have been playing and competing in tennis & athletics for yonks, so there is a sense of reality there. I don't know.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,223 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

It's a dirty auld night in Wellington

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

I'm in kakadu national park in the northern territory. absolutely no mention of it no chance of watching it on a TV. however the only thing they seem to get interested in up here is the state of origin series.

I imagine sydney is different though.

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭BlueEyeGleams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Will_I_Amnt

Yeah, get a draw against Canada, beat Nigeria and hope Australia get at least a draw against Canada and Ireland are thru.

Trouble is, Australia, if they beat Nigeria in game 2 will put out mostly their reserves against Canada.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,705 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Kick-off times are a bit of a mess, and not just because we are in the wrong time-zone.

Women's World Cup 2023 On TV Schedule UK (live-footballontv.com)

Like there's absolutely no logical shape to this at all. First game veers between 1am, 2am, 6am. Last game today is over by 10.30am, whereas other days it doesn't start until 1pm. I think a lunch-time GMT/CET game each day should have been a no-brainer.

I understand there's multiple time-zones in the 2 host countries but this hasn't been an issue in the Mens World Cup. i.e., Russia has different time-zones but the kick-off times were always 1pm, 4pm, 7pm for us, so clearly the host adapted around the time zones.

I think a consistent schedule would help with getting people to tune in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭cms88

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Look like they will be hard to beat but have little to nothing going forward,

Real lack of confidence from our attacking player on the ball

Feels like they missed a huge chance to get a result v the Ozzies ,

All in all we look a very limited outfit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,338 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Seems a bit all over the place. From what I remember of the 2002 Men's WC (Japan/Korea) there was more a pattern to the televised times.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I think we along with other countries miss a big trick in women's football, There is one huge glaring difference between the men's game & the women game that people seem to overlook & pretend that isn't there & its that the goal keeper's are absolutely awful in comparison to the outfield players , The outfield players can play football no question about it but keepers don't have the same size & physical attributes to get across the goal like men do ,

Its like the game doesn't want to ever mention or address it, They coaches all set up to play the game in the same way with the same tactics that you see men's football , It boggles my mind why they wouldn't take a slightly different approach & set up tactically to provide more chances for long shots and take advantage of weakness.

In all the games so far you can see its more difficult to create clear cut chance's in the box due to the lower skill levels & speed compared to the men's game, They need to set up and take advantage of the goal keepers by getting more shots off even if they are at range, ,

It wouldn't be pretty but it would be effective ,

l

You are not the only one who thought of this. To be honest I was afraid to say it. You are far braver than I am.

The women keepers seem to really flap at the football just from watching women's sports soccer/Gaelic football etc over the years. It has improved a bit to what it was, but it is still very dodgy which always surprises me given the fact that many sporty girls would have played netball/basketball etc.

For example that 'Matildas' keeper v Ireland yesterday (Mackenzie Arnold) seemed very suspect when put under the slightest pressure. Arnold could hardly be called 'commanding' IMO. And the ref seemed to be overprotective of her, there was one in particular where Stephanie Zambra (on commentary) was amazed that the ref called a foul on the keeper, for nothing obvious whatsoever.

It is cultural I suppose, slowly changing though - at least interested young girls will now have the role models from the Soccer and can get their own kids interested etc. But it could be a real slow burner.

I was thinking it could take 50 -100 years for Women's soccer to reach the popularity levels/viewing levels of women's tennis/women's athletics. Even though in Ireland there the name recognition of Kelly Harrington/Katie Taylor in boxing how many Irish women/girls would know female boxers names beyond that?

I remember watching a programme on the RTE player by Anna Geary about women in sport - one of things said why young girls are not interested in team sports - is because they look messy etc in front of their peers. Hopefully, the Women's soccer on now will help make some girls less self conscious, and have a bit of confidence in themselves at the very least.

Its not even a skill thing its simply to do males being more explosive or bigger framed,

In the mans game the best keepers are massive guys like Donnaramma , Courtois, Becker or have unreal reflexs, Its harder for a women to get across the goal as quickly & make themselves as big , For example our very own Courtney Brosnan is 5'9 which is tall enough for a women but very small in comparison to a male goal keeper ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,009 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

It seems to mainly be a hand to eye coordination issue, rather than a height issue.

Most of them seem to look clumsy trying to save the ball.

Oh I see why you mean now. I just remembered Peter Schmeichel playing against Ireland years ago - and he managed to make the goal look small, just by standing there.

The smaller female keepers should make it easier to score goals against, compared to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,778 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

On the news yesterday they felt the need to keep mentioning the attendance of 75,000 at the Irish match. But it's like comparing apples and oranges, when looking at the price of the tickets for the mens and womens world cup.

A ticket for the men's World Cup final category 1 cost roughly €1,440. A ticket for the women's world cup final category 1 costs roughly €74, a child's ticket is half price. So you can imagine how much all the other stages below that cost by comparison. A category 1 women's group game costs €25, a child's ticket costs half that. A men's group game cost roughly €200, there's no child option.

The tickets for the women's final are 20 times cheaper than the men's. 40 times if you include the children and from the pictures I seen on the news, there's at least as many children there as there are adults attending. Category 1 by the way is the most expensive option. Category 3 women's group game tickets are €18 for an adult and €9 for children. The cheapest Category 3 group game ticket for the men's World Cup was €62.

Post edited by sligeach on

7.30 am, 10 am and 12.30 pm if my memory is correct.

Was watching the highlights this evening and the refs were announcing the VAR decisions to the crowd, is that coming into the men's game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,433 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Have they called the Irish team the cailíns yet. Media can't stop calling the Australian team the Matildas. Or English the loinesses

It looks that way.

According to the link above - the VAR announcements were already trialled - at the Club World Cup and u20 World Cup.

Bit strange RTE are showing this game on the player only, given it's the dead of the night and Euronews is on RTE Two.

Love the big Irish head on Rose Lavelle.

Is there no live game?

The random timings are a nuisance.

edit: don’t mind me if was half time 😂

Damn, haiti should be one up on England

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

What a pity Haiti couldn't manage to get a point in the end, that would have been something special

It sure does.

Two games on today on RTE in late morning/early afternoon.

And just two comments on this thread.

Nothing going on in the Soccer forum either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,968 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

From driving around there’s feck all flags or bunting out. Even the likes of outside pubs and social venues.

Cmon women (in particular) of Ireland where’s your national pride!!??

Damn all interest in the real world yet RTE are gone completely gaga with their coverage. So wierd.

Post edited by Beechwoodspark on

Damn all interest in the real world yet RTE are gone completely gaga with their coverage. So wierd.

It's hardly weird that a national broadcaster with rights to the competition would give extensive coverage to the competition with Ireland in it for the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

This Netherlands v Portugal match is atrociously poor quality.Surprising to be honest as I would have expected the dutch in particular to be better. They've some very good players on their team.

Standard in this tournament so far appears to be a lot lower than the last euros and the last world cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,009 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

There is very little interest in this tournament, its a simple fact.

Don't let the rte hype fool you. Womens football isn't as big as they want you to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭StevenToast

All the women in my life have absolutely ZERO interest in this World Cup.....they are far more interested in the All Ireland Final today....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

I think that's a reflection of the interest women have in GAA compared to soccer overall.

Go to any mens intercounty GAA game and you will find a sizeable proportion of the attendance are female from young girls to elderly ladies.

But go to a high profile mens soccer game (international, big LOI game) and there are going to be relatively few females there, and nothing like the age spread you would find at GAA.

Soccer just doesn't endere itself to female support the way GAA does.

It's probably due to the very local nature of GAA. Kids, both girls and boys start going to games with their families at an early age, mainly local club games, and then maintain that as they get older.

You don't have that in soccer. Most kids introduction to soccer is in the media and they rearly go to live games.

I believe AFL in Australia also has the same wide range of support from females.

Don't let the rte hype fool you. Womens football isn't as big as they want you to believe.

I still don't get the accusations of hype from RTE.

They are giving it as much attention as any national broadcaster with a team in it would.

When Ireland are not playing it's not superseding hurling or the Open golf championship in the sports headlines.

Shaw is the best player on the field by a mile. It’s a pity she has no back up as she’s created plenty of chances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,041 ✭✭✭griffin100

There’s a lot of guff in the media (especially RTE and OTB) about the numbers of fans who have travelled from Ireland. Seriously, how many fans have travelled from Ireland to Australia to watch? Fair play to anyone who has but the cost must be horrendous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,165 ✭✭✭hayrabit

"Which brand of a plug socket to buy?" , "Working remotely in Berlin" , and "Cancelling a bank draft" , are all topics that seem to be of more interest to the general boards.ie viewing public, than the Women's Football World Cup 23

#NotTrending

Bigger stronger hands & wrist also help ,

Goal keeping between men & women is night & day , that why i think teams should approach scoring goals differently,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭TheProudHighway

Great to see the lads who have NO interest in this posting so much in here!

Nah I’m all for it. Only problem I have with the women’s game is the USA dismissing a game that isn’t theirs as for girls and thus dominating, same token I watch the men’s but hoping against hope that Spain or Japan can stamp their own unique idenity on the trophy

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

There's one fella there who's so insistent on tearing the cup and the team down, that you'd almost think he feels a little.. threatened by the whole thing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,454 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I have to say I found this weird. I’m no expert on broadcast technology but I am sure if you can show something on a player, live, that it can be shown easily enough on TV ? it’s all satellite / digital technology so…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭cms88

The way the media are reporting you'd think Ireland actually won the game. The clutching at straws from the media to try and pretend it was anything other than a loss is something else.

Great header to win the game for Italy.

Big win for Germany.I'd like to see them win the whole thing and especially for Alexandra Popp she's been a great player but she's missed out on a lot of big games over the years due to injury (last years Euro's final for example) and she was by far the best player in that tournament and her injury during the warm up may have been the difference between Germany winning or losing that final.