Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forest Fest - Emo, Co. Laois - July 21-23 2023

• Registered Users Posts: 737 ✭✭✭techman1

Because they did not want them also turning to muck, it takes ages for ground to recover from that, didn't glastonbury pause the festival in 2019 to allow the site recover, unfortunately they didn't foresee the cocid lockdowns and the stopping of live festivals for the following 2 years

• Registered Users Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

It gets a lot of rainy years. That's what i've heard from UK mates anyway.

Big on the all mouth and trousers scene

• Registered Users Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

My wife was working early today so we came away yesterday evening after Paul Brady, so i missed a few i wanted to see but hey ho.

Overall we had a great weekend, aside from the weather. The park n ride buses were due to start at 9am yesterday morning but still none there by after 10, so we walked it . 35 minutes, so all of Saturday nights beer was sweated out!

There were several carparks by Sunday evening so they mustn't have planned appropriately.

Good food, drinks, music, small manageable site, sound staff and people made it a very enjoyable experience.

We'd probably get tickets for next year but unless there's a loyalty discount, I'd be waiting to see the lineup.

They need to either utilise Emo court next year, or seriously up their game organisation wise, but I'd definitely recommend it.

One of the great certainties of life - Suede putting on a brilliant show and converting people who weren’t previously a fan.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

Glastonbury regularly has ‘fallow years’ to give the land a break, usually every 5/6 years. 2018 was the last one and there was a festival in 2019 (Stormzy, Cure, Kylie, etc). After the two years of lockdown cancellation I’d not expect another pause til circa 2027/28.

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭rockterrain

Fantastic few days and Suede were definitely up for the grand finale. Looking forward to next year already.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Well yeah, sure. And they would have taken a pounding this year with the terrible weather. But I mean that's the chance taken by everywhere that hosts anything this size, Ballinlough for Body and Soul, Curraghmore for ATN, Stradbally for EP etc. And Glasto has what? 140,000 odd? We're only talking 10,000 max here. 9 times out if 10, the weather's grand and there's minimal effect on the ground bar in a couple of hot spots. It would bring in a nice little cash injection which ALL of these estates badly need and show it off to a wider public, get some great publicity. Seems a no brainer for this particular fest.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭SteM

Yeah, but we have family fairly close by so could abandon the camping and stay with them if things got too bad. That's the thinking anyway.

Anyway, overall a an enjoyable weekend down in Emo. Our lad's first festival and he loved it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Sound was shite for ash with blown out bass and very washy high end, quite muddy too for Suzanne Vega (who needs absolute clarity, she was lovely though). Very wild swings in quality during the weekend which points to the issue not being with the audio setup they had.

in the main tent, when it was quiet, you’d clearly hear the main stage but once the in tent act started, it completely drowned it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,589 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Well that was a bit of time out again with Boards, when can we expect the Rubick review. :)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭BlueEyeGleams

Can’t paywall the pic. Suede are consummate professionals, still givin it socks wherever the weather you won’t see oases gettin down and dirty on a gaa field in Laois .

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭Bruce2008

So how did people fair out getting out of the caravan site this morning? Had to bail out last night, missed suede but managed to maneuver around campervans and caravans under instruction of a Sligo man on the gate and got out no problem. Main way down to metal plates was well dug up with tyre tracks. Memories of last weekend at Forever Young and a new sport of tractor racing across the field pulling caravans and campervans tied on behind!

• Registered Users Posts: 384 ✭✭thebusher

Our camper was rented so I didn't want to risk it this morning, ended up moving out yesterday through the gate at the top.

Needed a push from a fella walking past as the wheels started to spin. Even then it was tricky enough.

The bottom gate was already cut up early morning . Still a great weekend though and we'll be back

*edit - we were in the original campervan field

• Registered Users Posts: 11,360 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Overall a fantastic weekend. To sum up one guy I saw interviewed where else in Ireland could you see a founding member of Joy Division/New Order and 50 yards away James within minutes of each other....

Obviously the weather especially on Saturday was a negative but the arena grounds held up very well though I doubt there will be any matches on the main GAA pitch any time soon!

Access to the venue was fantastic. I have been to smaller festivals where far more walking was required just from the entrance to the stages. Toilets had no queues next Fleadh stage at all, food stalls were quick and excellent quality. Beer prices was decent at €7, I only tried the craft beer.

I think 11pm/11.30pm should probably be cut off on main stage. Most people head home after that. However I do think there should be something in the smaller tents after 1am. We went into the circus tent after Suede and within 5 minutes it was packed and rocking so there is demand there for something later for the mad crew :)

Every band (that i saw) appeared exactly at their advertised time too which itself shows the incredible organisation involved by the team setting up this event.

We stayed in Mountmellick. Martleys bus was a bit hit and miss it must be said. Only every 2 hours and Saturday one we waited for left 15 minutes before scheduled time. Next time I will stay in Portlaoise (hourly buses) if the weather is predicted to be as bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 246 ✭✭Dibble

We were in a campervan but luckily got down early on Friday so didn't experience any problems. Also didn't experience any sound issues over the weekend. Suede, Paul Brady and Kila & Brass were all incredible. Definitely going back next year!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,592 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Was there a Boardsie at FF wearing a KLF T-shirt by any chance?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭rockterrain

Agree with a few comments. Slightly earlier finish on main stage would be better with smaller stages going longer to stagger the leaving crowds a bit. I thought Martlets shuttle service was great but 8euro each way a bit steep. You'd think a better deal could be struck if organisers weighed in.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,589 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Post edited by bodhrandude on

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Big on the all mouth and trousers scene

Astonishing number of errors in that review. Possibly a new reporter.

Im almost certain that The Proclaimers never played the Picnic. Happy to stand corrected, I’ve been to all but one and never seen their name there. No evidence online either.

Peter Hook doing a song called Don’t Walk Away?? Jesus wept. On a par with Hot Press previously referring to Mary Coughlan doing a cover of Elvis’ Ever So Lonely.

And several more. I stopped reading.

Y'see...I didn't. I had this niggling feeling that I'd read that description of a Boardsie on last years EP thread. I didn't have enough drink on board at that stage just to go up and ask. I happened to be passing again later when I had enough drink but he was deep in conversation with someone at the front of an ice cream van (rather aptly).

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭mp3ireland2

Getting onto this late as I was travelling to Hungary on holiday today so a busy few days.

I really enjoyed the festival, lineup was very good and I didn't notice any filler. Bell x 1 Vs kila and brass was my worst clash. Caught the walkelalies on a tiny tent in behind circus tent, 35 of them playing ukuleles and really enjoying themselves. Only about 20 audience could fit in.

Glamping site wasn't too mucky considering the rain, I was fearful of the weather being a lot worse. It agree with the post above about all the bands being punctual. Good laugh in the campsite on the Friday and Sunday, was sensible on the Saturday and went to sleep when I got back. Sister sledge really dragged add others said, we only came for the end of it, can't remember what we were looking at prior. I can't complain about the lineup caught some random stuff I'd normally not listen to. It was easy enough to bring drink into the venue too.... So I hear 😉

• Registered Users Posts: 38 yannanevotna

Had an amazing weekend, superb lineup, right up our street (all mid to late 40s!), but Suede, omg, what a show, what a band, what a front man in Brett. Still buzzing, what a finale to a rocking, if a little wet weekend. It may well be the best festival set I've ever seen (well joint best with the Viagra Boys a few weeks ago :)) 🤘

Snarky Snark Snark

also note "The Proclaimers declared it was their second time in Laois, having played Electric Picnic just down the road in their early days."

The Proclaimers early days were the late 80s, their early singles were almost old enough to vote by the time EP started so yeah, writer is a muppet.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭rubick

Long-sleeve black one?

That'll be me.

It's my regular Evening Wear at every festival I go to, but had to stick it on a bit early because we were in the middle of The Poseidon Adventure.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭RINO87

The Poseidon Adventure! Gene Hackman plays a priest!!!

.....sorry.

Snarky Snark Snark

He was pretending to be Shelly Winters though.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 sam_boooko

Hey, I would be interested to hear how the tent camping worked out. Seems there were shuttle buses from the park and ride to the Campsite. I can't imagine how people hauled all their camping gear on an off the buses, was there some other way to get your stuff to and from the Campsite?