Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ex-top defense official expects bombshell details of Pentagon UFO recovery

• Registered Users Posts: 25,820 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

This idea that it's more credible because it's members of the US military is hilarious.

Have you ever met the US military. Thick as sht half of them and that's before you get into details like how they apparently can't tell the difference between a school and a weapons factory when drone striking people.

Sorry but I'm gonna need more than just the same old blurry dots we have been getting for 30+ years. It's funny how camera tech has improved so much but when it comes to aliens all the footage still looks like 1990.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Remembering again, how the Americans started a decades long conflict ending the lives of over a million people after presenting evidence of non existent mobile WMD labs to the UN

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭j2

Members of the US military targeted the wrong building with a drone strike, therefore all US military personal, including those trained at Top Gun and those holding degrees in engineering along with decades of experience, are "thick as ****". And you're on the logical sceptical side here right? Just confirming that.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

But so far it's all "I saw something , but I have no photos and I can't give you any tangible proof" because.....

And just because they are "professionals" doesn't mean they can't go off the deep-end.

Endless examples of that.

And fundamentally - We are expected to believe that all these aliens only landed in the US or alternatively that every single Government on earth from tin-pot dictators on up have ALL come to an agreement to keep quiet about this stuff forever.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭weisses

I

The chances of anything coming from Mars are a million to one" he said

"The chances of anything coming from Mars are a million to one"

But still they come!

Thanks for making the point😉😉

What I got from the snippets I saw is that the US are worried that this phenomenon is from earth (China, Russia) because its something they have no defence against.

I'm not saying them being US military personnel discredits the claim.

I'm just saying it cannot be used as positive evidence of the claim.

What they do for a living has no bearing on whether or not their claims are true. Only evidence can do that regardless of the person being a Top Gun or a 3 tooth farmer.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,317 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

America is a nation of crackpots.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,837 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

'Person or people A claim that X is true.

Person or people A are experts.

Therefore, X should be believed'

Be very careful of falling for argument from authority fallacies. Just because someone is an expert in a field does not mean you can then use that to make massive leaps to conclusions that are (quite literally) out of this world.

By all means, listen with an open mind to a degree. But once folks start citing extra terrestrial life for objects and sighting that are 99.9999(I could probably add an almost infinite amount more 9s here)% likely to be of earthly origin then you can happily stop listening.

The universe is beyond measure when it comes to size. It's also beyond our comprehension of time when it comes to it's age.

Even if by some freak chance a single, tiny grain of sand made it's way the whole way along Curracloe beach to a tiny grain of sand on the other end, what about time? Maybe they missed each other by a billion years.

It's not positive evidence of a claim, it's something which lends more credibility to their perspective.

Boy racer in a civic: "I saw this thing on the motorway accelerate like nothing I've ever seen", my response, yeah ok buddy great, whatever.

F1 driver: "I saw a car accelerate faster than anything I've seen during my time in F1", my response, tell me everything you saw, that sounds amazing.

Neither proves or disproves anything, but when it comes to UFO reports people have a blanket response of the former kind due to the subject matter when in reality these witnesses are unlike anything which has come before and are worthy of a more open minded response, regardless of what exactly it is they saw.

I'm well aware of the argument from authority logical fallacy, but I haven't made it nor have any of the witnesses. What I said is that they are worthy of a more open minded response than the standard guffaws of laughter which appear to be the conditioned response to the subject of UFOs regardless of where the information comes from. Authority on a subject isn't proof, but it is certainly more interesting than the aforementioned drunk hick rambling about lights int he sky.

Fortunately your explanation works both ways.... We simply don't know what is out there, with our very limited knowledge it's even silly to put a percentage on anything regarding this subject IMHO.

Last week they spotted an asteroid the size of a skyscraper 2 days after it skimmed past earth.

No it doesn't lend credibility. I work in a hospital but that doesn't lend credibility to me telling you your mole is skin cancer. Only evidence does that.

And the Civic driver is just as much able to judge the fastest thing he has ever seen. The only difference is it's slower than the fastest thing the F1 driver saw.

By the way I am very open minded and have desperately wanted aliens to be true my whole life. But I have been looking at these blurry lights that love visiting America and Russia for years now and I believe neither them or the bipedal, flying saucer driving Roswell aliens.

But I do 100% believe in extraterrestrial life. Even that it may exist within the solar system.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,192 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

He is such a shite bag! Only in it for the fame and money.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭francois

Amazing that these aliens can travel across spacetime, move at 100g, yet still crash...

You're languishing in semantic subtleties really and there's no point in drilling down into this any further because it's just annoying and your 20k plus posts suggest you have more stamina for this form of discussion than I ever would. "More credibility" was my phrase, which implies a spectrum of believability, whereas you framed it as a binary credible/not credible situation and decided that I have irrationally jumped to one side. Also working in a hospital is intentionally vague, once again to frame this in a way which was never the intent of anything I said. This situation involving highly trained and experienced pilots is more akin to working as an oncologist and lending an opinion rather than potentially working as a janitor, something which also comes under your chosen umbrella of "working in a hospital", and weighing in on whether or not a mole is cancerous. I guess you don't believe them, that's fine, all I've ever said is that they merit a more open minded response than the ridicule and laughter which is the one size fits all reaction to the subject of UFOs.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,279 ✭✭✭Gusser09

It's utter bollix. Has this guy got a book coming out or anything? If he has no proof then her shouldn't be given air time.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

I'm perfectly willing to accept that they might crash , I'm also perfectly willing to accept the premise that we are "not alone" as it were.

What I'm not willing to accept is that they've been here already and multiple successive Governments all across the world have all managed to not talk about it or leak hard evidence for many decades.

Governments that can't keep any other secrets and who all hate each other , but for this they can all be tighter than a drum and all agree on the story??

What I don't believe is the evidence produced so far. I'll take lots of things on the word of an expert but not something like this. Especially when the "evidence" is just the same old stuff I have been seeing and hearing for years.

There are claims to be more but with suspect sounding reasons for not coming to light so I won't believe these stories until I see evidence either.

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭wpd

they must think ukraine war is near over so this load of crap is next anything to keep military spending high

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭raspberrypi67

I don't feel one way or the other. But I don't disbelieve the accounts of the the 3 people....

well, I'm inclined to agree ok. Its a bit of joke. I wise they'd just come out with concrete evidence and be done..idiots.

Fair Play to the Alien....lol, He'd probably win the race using thought control...ha ha

VERY TRUE. They suit themselves and use the word 'Democracy' to justify some incredible atrocities they have carried out of the decades,

Vietnam, gulf war, the 2 atom bombs on Japan...Its just collateral damage though...

Yeah, I thought that was very odd, either he's wanting to tell or he's not. But god forgive he might upset the national security of the USA,

I mean the whole thing was a bit of a joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,547 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

It was a bit of a joke tbh. Some of the senators sending shout outs to their wives for their wedding anniversary and all this...

Yer man the witness saying he can’t elaborate on any details but “trust him”. FFS

Then to top it all off “alien bro” Jeremy Corbell in the front row itching to start yahooing as if it was a UFC fight.

Was half expecting Bob Lazar to arrive in spouting his particular brand of bull sheeeit!!

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

They are already spending close to 900 billion in the US alone and none of that has anything to with the war in Ukraine,

One new long range Stealth Bomber

2 New Stealth Fighters ,

And that's only whats known in public

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I'll provide an update soon but I'll add this post. It's irrelevant that RTE is or isn't covering this and by this I mean yesterday's whistle-blower hearing involving pilots and David Grusch, the former intelligence officer.

Time Magazine feature this story.

Witness Tells Congress 'Nonhuman Biologics' Were Found at Alleged UFO Crash Sites

Aformer intelligence official claimed the U.S. government has been covering up a longstanding defense program that collects and reverse engineers unidentified flying objects (UFOs), and has found "nonhuman biologics" at alleged UFO crash sites.

The highly anticipated testimony from David Grusch, a former member of a U.S. Air Force panel on unidentified anomalous phenomena—also known as unidentified aerial phenomena—(UAP), was part of an effort by Congress to pressure intelligence agencies for more transparency into the existence of UFOs, a subject of heightened scrutiny following an increase in reported sightings by military personnel and pilots in recent years. Although extraterrestrial life has long been shrouded in stigma, confusion, and secrecy, lawmakers on both sides of the political spectrum have been rallying around the push for more research on the topic as a national security matter.

“UAPs, whatever they may be, may pose a serious threat to our military and our civilian aircraft, and that must be understood,” Democratic Rep. Robert Garcia of California said. “We should encourage more reporting, not less on UAPs. The more we understand, the safer we will be.”

Testifying under oath at a House subcommittee hearing on Wednesday, Grusch told lawmakers he believes the U.S. government is in possession of UAPs based on his interviews with 40 witnesses over four years, claiming that he was informed of "a multi-decade UAP crash retrieval and reverse-engineering program" during the course of his work examining classified programs. He said he was denied access to those programs when he requested it, and accused the military of misappropriating funds to shield these operations from congressional oversight.

Now we cannot say "ah good proof there's aliens" or "of course it's not aliens because there's no such thing as aliens".

Neither examples are how science works. The facts are:

1. we're observing a phenomenon that has failed to correlate with mundane explanations
    2. That several former whistleblowers are coming forward with testimony of illegal special access programs (SAPs) which are being withheld from the normal Congressional oversight.

We lack the ability to ascertain the nature of the aerial phenomenon now. However, Congress should soon be getting access to the radar data, classified video data associated with these events. In yesterday's pilot testimony they described radar data that would give more accurate Kinemetrics of these objects. We need that. That won't tell us what these are but what the capabilities are.

The second claim is easier to prove. Why? It's because a matter of put up or shut up. The whistleblower claims here are a lot easier to verify. In the Congressional hearing Dave Grusch agreed to provide the exact names of people involved in these programs. He intimated that witnesses can be described as hostile or willing. He stated that he has received reprisals, both of a personal nature and against his career. He has provided documentation, the names of other witnesses, program names and locations to the inspector general of the intelligence community and adequately cleared Congress members. Finally, the whistleblower went through the recent whistleblower legislation and approached the intelligence community inspector general with the complaint that he has been the subject of reprisals for his complaint and that the US military and defense contractors are running SAPs from Congress without legal oversight. Here's a copy of his complaint.

Another poster earlier stated that the inspector general didn't find this credible like previously stated but that is erroneous. Compass Rose Legal Group, the lawyers who represented Mr Grusch made this statement:

“The ICIG found Mr. Grusch’s assertion that information was inappropriately concealed from Congress to be urgent and credible in response to the filed disclosure. Compass Rose brought this matter to the ICIG’s attention through lawful channels and successfully defended Mr. Grusch against retaliation.

David's complaint was found to be urgent and credible. Compass Rose Legal Group represent active service members. This no longer includes Mr. Grusch as he has left the intelligence community. However, Charles McCullough, Esq, the attorney who represented Dave when he was employed by the intelligence community has resigned from Compass Rose Legal Group to represent Grusch as a whistleblower complainant. What's more interesting is that McCullough is the former inspector general of the intelligence community. Referring to this as "just stories" is ridiculous and shows a lack of understanding of how government works.

Indeed. It amazes me that people can't understand that the same incident reported by military pilots, along with radar operators and squadron leaders recorded by multiple radar is reduced to "WeLL PiLOTs are wrong TOO".

Of course they can be, but the convergence of multiple testimonies from the same event by different specialists reduces the chances of that. The testimony yesterday was also under oath. Another thing that adds veracity. Furthermore, we heard yesterday that Ryan Graves, a former pilot involved representing pilots in terms of air safety described huge amounts of similar stories from pilots.

Of course we don't jump to it's aliens but it's equally stupid to dismiss the possibility that something new is going on.

I think you're writing from a different planet. Have you heard the hearing? How does the testimony of four pilots from one incident, coupled with testimony from the radar operators equate to your very incomparable story?