Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Uneasy about neighbour

• 26-07-2023 3:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

So basically there's a bloke who's in his 50's who lives on my road who was recently released from prison ,

He did a two year stretch for touching up an older lady at a bus stop ,this wasn't the first time he came to the Garda attention for stuff like this,

He is basically the local odd ball & for years he's up to odd stuff , Following girls home, making lude comments , lying on the green with his pants & trouser down, pissing in his front garden with his trouser around his ankles in the middle of the day , all kinds of odd stuff,

Now its a nice area & a quite road so he really stands out, he minds his old mother & i think its a reason he isn't in for longer,

Since his out he is constantly out on the path in front of his & seems to be ranting & raving to himself & commenting to people who walks past ,Seems either drugged up or drunk , He's a big tall fella about 6'4 & looks like a stero type for this kind of behaviour if you could picture him , Any times he walks by the house or myself with the kids he just stop's and stares, He seems to be far more erratic than he was before prison

I don't want to react because if i do I'll either end up getting myself in trouble or come to his attention as in he'll see me as being in a situation with him if you get me,

My question is there anything you can do about him or do you literally have to wait till he makes another offence,

Iv have young kids who want to play out front of the house & i can't let them because i don't trust him ,My wife if pregnant won't go for a walk up that way because she afraid of running into him,

To me it only seems like a matter of time before he does something to someone again , Do you just have to keep living & hope nothing ever happens or am i over thinking the whole thing,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Who looked after the house when he was in prison?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

I know the mother was there, but not sure who helped her out ,

The house is in bits & stand out on the road, Have you ever see the movie The Burbs its like that, You know when you pass the house there is something sinister behind the walls ,

It sounds as if it won't be long until he comes to Garda attention again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭DAngelo Bailey

Very little you can do I'm afraid do they own the gaf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Go and take a piss with him in his front garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Could you try calling the HSE mental health helpline and see if they have any suggestions about a welfare check for him? Presumably he was assessed while in prison, so it may "just" be drink or drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭TheWonderLlama

pissing in his front garden with his trouser around his ankles 

Report him for indecent exposure. Gets it on the garda radar. Especially if he has done time for that type of thing. He might be on probation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭nachouser

"Ah, hello Garda. Johnny in number 45 seems to be a bit distressed again. Maybe you could send someone over to check on him? I'd hate for something to happen to him. Terrible situation altogether."

Each and every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,294 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Move.

Why should they move? Do you always run away from problems?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

This, especially if kids can see him, exposing himself is bad enough but is a lot more serious if minors can see him.

Get a ring doorbell and record him standing outside staring in.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

To me it only seems like a matter of time before he does something to someone again , Do you just have to keep living & hope nothing ever happens or am i over thinking the whole thing

We can't lock people up just because we think they might someday commit a crime, otherwise we'd have to lock you as well in case you might assault him....

Do you follow him when he is following girls to their homes? Or how did you find out what sort of lewd comments he is making to the girls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,294 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Hang on. Have you actually witnessed the more serious stuff (exposing himself, following girls home) or is this local gossip or happened way back in the past? Because it sounds a lot like the usual type of gossip that spreads when someone is an “oddball”.

The muttering and talking to himself sounds like he is quite unwell but that he is keeping his distance from people.

What no why would i follow him, Where we live is a nice community & very settled so most are there long time so every one speaks to each other , Word of someone acting the p*ck gets around quick ,

He's had plenty of incidents from following girls of secondary school age, to the women in her 60's at a bus stop (which he did time) to comments to older women on the church grounds,

Trust me on this, the fella is an absolute creep , I could almost write a book about the odd stuff he gets up to,

He lives about 10 houses up the road from me for nearly 20 year's , I have other family member's who have lived on the road for 40 years, & know him since he was a young lad,

Iv personally witnessed him lying on the green with his pants & trouser around his ankle, standing in his own garden with nothing on below the waste pissing in the middle of the day , Came out one night to my next door neighbour chasing him up the road as he followed his daughter home, He is literally only out of prison for the incident at the bus stop which is opposite my house,

He was once a "normal "bloke who worked & had a normal life he, was engaged & when that broke down he seemed to lose the plot, Lots of talk that he turned to heroin i cant say if that's true or not but he is certainly unwell & needs help ,he can be quite aggressive in his manner ,

He's basically a pest ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,951 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Is there some reason you don't report him when he is exposing himself?

You're worried about his behaviour but yet haven't done anything about the behaviour.

Being odd isn't a crime, exposing your genitals or harassing people are. So why is no-one doing anything?

He has been reported numerous time by myself & others, By the time the Garda come he's back in the house or fully clothed & they say they can't do anything,

Let not forget he was jailed for one of these incidents ,

A quick google of his name & the first thing that come up is of him missing in 2001 ,

Then charged of sexual assault in 2006 for incidents in 2004 & 2005 where he got a suspended sentence because he had a psychiatric illness,

Then charged & jailed again in 2022 ( i thought it was 2021) for sexual assault

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

If he is exposing himself surely someone can obtain footage of same as proof for the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭AlanG

If he is exposing himself in public he is probably breaking his probation. If you report him there is a slim chance he may get send back for a couple of months but you will have to deal with it when he gets out again. Most Guards are parents so if he is a threat they are likely to be happy to try and catch him and keep you out of it. Perhaps speak to them if you feel really intimidated.

If he did 2 years inside he likely got sentenced to around 4 so that is a bit more than touching up someone at a bus stop. Try to find out what he actually did and if he is on the offenders register. it may help if he is intimidating your kids.

Unfortunately it is a difficult situation but try to get facts and if appropriate talk to him.

Obviously he’s got a very serious psychotic condition, has a track record, and is a threat to the safety of the community as well as themselves. Have known such cases in the vicinity of my last home, and growing up. Mostly people like this suffer from schizophrenia and their health tends to deteriorate to such an extent that they often pass away naturally & prematurely from physical causes. All the cases I knew died prematurely, in their 50s or 60s. Way back in the day a lot of such people were afforded residence and shelter in St Brendan’s Grangegorman and St. Ita’s in Portrane, but of course now there is this notion of “care in the community” which simply doesn’t work out well for the more severe cases.

Something not right there. If you reported someone you saw robbing a shop could the Guards do nothing just because the robber went home? Of if you saw an assault on the street, could the Guards do nothing if the attacker went home? You and the numerous other neighbours have evidence that could be used in court cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,431 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

These days they’d probably use GDPR to get out of doing anything.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

This is going on years ,even before his last arrest he had numerous complaints made against him ,

I think as someone mentioned footage seems like it would be the only way to get him dealt with ,

I guess when these things occur people are just too busy getting out of dodge or don't want him to see them recording , as he may target you then ,

I know last two times iv seen him up to strangeness , one i was driving past him lying on the green with is pants down & another time i was out for a run & laterally ran past him with no clothing on his lower half in his garden ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,437 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

...he clearly needs serious professional help and support, he probably needs to be cared for by specialised social services, as he clearly has serous psychological problems, without these supports, he more than likely will reoffend, might be an idea to contact your local representatives, to see what can be done. tis an awful situation for a community, be on guard until you get some sort of resolution, and best of luck....

Law enforcement should not have to rely on having footage. You and the neighbours have clear evidence of indecent exposure and sexual harrassment of young females. If he is on Probation and on the Sex Offenders Register, your evidence will be credible.

yup, community support is critical, try get more neighbors onboard here, you ll have a stronger voice together, and keep hounding all....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

The fact that he does this type of behaviour so publicly and regularly, I think it’s a psychiatric unit not a prison that he needs. A pest, yes. Someone that needs close watching, yes. Someone who’s fundamentally evil and underhanded- doesn’t sound like it. If you released certain people from a psychiatric hospital tomorrow morning, who never had a criminal record, it’s likely that some would be picked up fairly quickly for committing similar crimes- he needs help but our medical services are over stretched- I’d expect a lot more of these type of people on our streets in years to come - we don’t have the services in place to deal with them

yup, thats exactly where we re at, our mental health services are effectively collapsing so....

...unfortunately our prisons have always been a default for people with complex psychological problems, and thats probably slowly collapsing also, so.....

I’ve read a few posts from an ex guard here who left due feeling deflated in their role- especially when they escorted prisoners to jail only to see them heading for the train station back home a few hours later due to over crowding.

I know you could argue many prisoners have mental health difficulties, and they do- but this guy is obviously on the high end of requiring proper medical care, given his very public behaviour and lack of any type of “filter” - we seem to have only 1 stick in this country- criminal prosecution - it’s not always the most appropriate solution or route to take.

The evidence (from the thread) on the other side, is that he is not in a chaotic lifestyle. Because he is able to maintain a house, and did so even when in prison for two years. Garda intervention, just like happened before he went to jail would be appropriate in the first instance. Especially as he must be on the Sex Offenders Register.

I agree with what you say but when you read the incidents that got him in court its very hard not to call him evil ,

He's got done twice for 3 separate incidents touching up Older women & teenage girls , once while touching himself & some of the comment he made are disgusting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,401 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

You're almost guaranteed to give the worse advice in these threads. Attention seeking?

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Esho

Do the guards still go straight to the complainant's door to give an update?

Maintaining a house is a stretch , You'd ant to see the state of it, the windows haven't been washed in about 10 years, front garden over grown

I often wonder how his mother survives, or how he can look after her,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,538 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

OP should talk to the community garda, he got a problem sorted out for us which the 'normal' gardai just wanted to ignore and move on, if they didn't see it happen it didn't happen was their attitude.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

...you ll probably find many if not most countries default to criminal prosecution, for whatever reasons, and im sure they are for complex reasons, but at some stage we must accept its failures to, even though im sure they are 'successes' to.....

there is evidence, i.e. research that suggests, most if not all inmates have underlying psychological issues, some from childhood, i.e. genetic, and some developed environmentally, we have gained sufficient knowledge that as early detection and treatment as possible is critical, but by the time it gets to imprisonment, the issues are far more complex, require far more complex and long term treatments, many life long, which in many cases, simply doesnt happen, i have spoken to mental health professionals that have worked within the system, explaining this very well....

these accumulating state failures ultimately leads to a merry-go-round situation, while even more sh1t attaches itself to each case....

They put him in prison before, and according to the OP his behaviour is much more erratic now than before that court case. So there must be something seriously wrong at that Garda Station these days.

Thanks for the advice folks

i think the best course of actions is to speak with people who live on the road & try obtain footage of the strange behaviours & also to make sure everyone is watching out for each other, Also if as many people asp possible get in touch with the Garda so its something they can't just ignore,

The worst part is thinking this could go on until someone is a victim of him again

The newspapers love stories like this, about sexual offenders. You could go that direction if you wanted. On that topic, have you a link to newspaper reports of the court case where he went to prison?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Fantastic advice, folks should be paying you for your input. 🙄

This 100%. Only way you can get anything done about it. Might be worth trying to figure out who the community Garda is for the area and to reach out to them directly.

Yes i do but if i post it then I'm naming him which probably isn't right on public forum i'd also be giving away my own address in the process ,

I understand- I’m not familiar with his history in fairness so only going on what was observed in this thread- it’s obvious he needs psychiatric care in a secure location - maybe he needs prison also for past crimes- he’s presenting now though as a serious psychiatric case at the very least - I’m not advocating avoidance of criminal charges either though- only that in certain cases it may not be the best approach but it appears to be our only approach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭easygoing39

Please don't post this persons name,some vigilante might use the info to beat him up or damage the house,which his mother still lives in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,431 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I, personally, would be more concerned about people online identifying where the user lives.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

There are people diagnosing him as being mentally ill, including specific conditions like psychosis and schizophrenia. But the OP only has knowledge of his criminal past, and never mentioned anything about psychiatric treatment.

I would not take on even in real life to diagnose people, never mind going on second hand reports on the internet. The OP has detailed knowledge of the individual's past and present, so they would be aware of any interaction he had with psychiatric services.