Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Weekend On One With Brendan O'Connor

• Registered Users Posts: 4,800 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Typical.. The only good part of the show, the Bennett-Winehouse duet to finish, they cut to adds after the first few bars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,753 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Crazy stuff Mr F, nearly a qtr. of a mill to present a ‘show’ with fours airtime a week.

Time the govt.got stuck into this lot.

This is their chance….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

It's good to see he's back to his pre covid quota of trips abroad for holidays/ work

He's very fond of his trips abroad to high end resorts, I remember in one year he did 4 to 5 articles in the Sunday Independent.

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭amlinopta

Last heard on the radio on 2 July. Nice work if you can get it. Must average around 40-42 weeks per annum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭head82

Had this playing in the background this morning.. Saturday.. and as expected, there were a number of tributes paid to Sinead O'Connor.

Andrea Corr shared her fondly remembered encounters with Sinead in recent years. Neil Jordan recounted his association with her over a lengthy period of time.

And then there was Dave Fanning.. who was quite emotional in his reminiscing. In fact, it was very untypical of Dave to be so emotional.. struggled and broke down occasionally throughout the course of the few minutes of soundbite.

A stark comparison to his comments on the recently departed Christy Dignam (another Irish 'icon', albeit more local and less international) which were generally regarded to be cold and aloof.

Is there something amiss with this Fanning lad?

y

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,041 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

He knew Sinead O’Connor quite well, personally. I believe he stated at the beginning of his, now infamous, Dignam interview that he didn’t really know him.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Bressie and Hazel Chu suddenly mental elf experts.... get up the garden you spoofers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

"Bressie" has been on the circuit for a few years now.

Bona fide easy answer merchant.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

I know this is an old article. But I just saw it. How is Brendan O’Connor on our national airwaves and earning a fortune with views like this. This is just straight misogyny and open creepiness:

I first saw them as I left the office on Talbot Street. They were an odd sight. It wasn't an incredibly sunny day, but yet there they were, swarms of them, what I can only describe as young ones in their knickers. As I walked home, I was assailed at all turns by arse cheeks, many of them unsightly. Indeed, when you're walking around a city, any arse cheeks are unsightly. In context, you can ignore an arse cheek. At the beach, you become immune to them. But in town, it's different. They are just wrong. Arse cheeks in town just don't sit right.

At this point I remembered that Rihanna, a former singer who now acts largely like a porn star, was playing at the Aviva. Exactly in the direction I was headed. I was walking into arse cheek ground zero. And instead of enjoying the festive air, I found myself tut-tutting. What kind of a role model was this Rihanna tramp? And here was proof positive that the continuing sexualisation of popular culture was having a direct affect on our young women. They were all emulating Rihanna. They wanted to be her, in all her half-dressed glory. Now I know that some feminists would accuse me of slut-shaming right now. And would argue that these young women are empowered, that they are owning their erotic capital. To which I would respond by questioning the erotic capital of a 12-year-old with badly applied streaks of fake tan, walking around town dressed like a sex worker. And I would argue that by the looks of them, many of these young ones would have been better off going for a run or playing a game of football or something. (Go on so, add fat-shaming to my list of crimes).

As I got closer to the epicentre of it, I realised that there was a competitiveness to the slutty dressing. It was a peer pressure thing. They were all trying to outdo each other by being more Ri-Ri than the next one. And I saw all the boys too, delighted boys, who possibly wouldn't be able to believe, if indeed they thought about it, that this was the gift feminism had bequeathed them. These young ones had the freedom to parade their booties down the road. It was female empowerment.

I was on the phone to my mother as I walked, giving her a running commentary on it all. I may have used the phrase, "It's like a junior prostitutes' convention". My mother, always delighted to hear me getting my own back for the torment I inflicted on everyone as a youth, laughed as she told me how mine would be there in just a few short years. I assured her mine would not be let out the door dressed like that. She laughed knowingly.

A short while later at home, out the window, I saw a girl and her mum park up and head off for Rihanna. It was sweet, her heading off to Rihanna with her mum. Glimpses of innocence have always killed me. I have this thing burnt on my brain that I saw on a tube near Golders Green in London once. It was a grandad, a Hassidic Jew, and his grandson. And as the train went along the grandson kept asking his grandad questions about things, about the world, and everything around them. And the grandad told the kid how it was, gently and with such love. And the boy believed everything the grandad told him. He looked at him with such adoration, such hero-worship, such dependence and such innocence. It kills me now even to recount it.

And this girl, dressed in her smartest gear, with her handbag over her shoulder, killed me too, her and mum heading off, just the girls. And a little part of me was sad that she wasn't with all her pals, half naked and drinking alcopops. And I hoped that at the Aviva, none of them would stare, or comment about her, and I hoped that she wouldn't feel self-conscious, or left out.

But you know what? I like to hope that she didn't. Because walking through the crowds, there was no nastiness in the air, and all shapes and sizes and types were rubbing along together. So, hopefully no one was mean to that girl just because she had Down syndrome.

I suppose mine will be there soon enough. And part of me wants them to be there having a sneaky drink with their pals half naked, and part of me wants them to be with me or Sarah, dressed in their smartest gear, and not caring what anyone thinks, innocent. Life's funny isn't it? And you never know what to wish for really.

^^^^^^^^^^^

Jaysus!!???

Anyway, Ballsy obviously delighted that RTE are off the front page.

Mentioned that some body or other could do with coming up before ‘charade that was the PAC, now not his exact

words but he obviously wasn’t too enamored with the RTE treatment by these guys.

Shure Ballsy, shure , not surprised you would back up a bunch of stults who horsed out €240k for four hours airtime.

Only one hour of which requires any effort.

I'm no B o'C fan but I wouldn't entirely disagree with him here, young teenagers going out dressed like corner street hookers is not a good look Imv, the stuff some of them are wearing nowadays is off the scale of decency but then again I'm a bit old school, that mixed with the raging hormones of their male peers is not a good mix..... "oh danger here" as George Hamilton might say onetime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭RINO87

Sinead had real talent, convictions and bravery. Christy now on the other hand.........I'll just say I agreed with Dave on that one .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Ballsy is back but apparently he is a wuss and wouldn't drive over the Conor Pass.... I suppose in fairness he wouldn't get much practice as on his inflated talent income, he can just ask his chauffeur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,004 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

The mental health section will surface in a minute to analyse the effect the weather is having on us all. Then we will be told to get out and about and EXERCISE in the wind, rain and cold to preserve our mental health. Then we'll be told to eat well and avoid Teddy's 99s. And then we'll be told that even though the sun ain't shining we must continue to wear Factor 50.

Now I don't listen to RTE anymore, but when I did, it was like being at an involuntary stay at a health farm/psych course when listening to this show.

Is it any cheerier these days or what?

How does Ballsy get away with €240k for this stuff?

Thought he might have been sweating a bit during the poem there.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Like poor Brendan(Courtney)? yesterday when Wendy dropped the f- bomb after winning the big prize?

Haha, I didn’t hear that. An understandable reaction, Courtney seems like the type who’d be able to laugh it off and provide a “disclaimer” apology handy enough.

Still, I’m sure they’ll get letters about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

That was after she told him she does everything in her salon except happy endings. He was morto 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

Ray Darcy's. He's taking over Tub's slot on Tuesday.

I might go back and give it a listen. Wonder where Kaythrn Thomas is. Isn't she normally Ryans replacement.

She'll be in rehearsals for the rose of tralee shows, seems they've decided they need two hosts for that craic now 💶💶💶💶💶😉

Should be three really if they want to cover their arses for wokeness so to speak.

Arry sure make it four, spread the 💶💶💶s😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,363 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

It's usually Brendan Courtney or Oliver Callan, Callan has been presenting since Tubridy's reluctance to correct public record was noted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

BO'C back to normal with disclaimers for everything this morning. Nearly shat himself when one of the panel criticized our Minister for Tweets & Tik Tok Justice whilst talking about an article in the papers which criticized Ms. McEntee's performance in office. Bizarre stuff, why have a panel at all if you won't let them comment?

He's probably afraid he'll be locked up for hate speech under Ms. McEntee's widely criticized proposals.

Lol, just as I type it he's out with another disclaimer about pensioners and a comment made earlier in the show. 🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

I don’t even listen to him any more. Toothless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Time he was renamed Noballsy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

Radio on.

-Oh, Bally has finally re-joined the workforce.

-Amanda Brunker...ICK

-Amanda Brunker's dead brother...DOUBLE ICK.

Radio off.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

RTÉ won’t be happy this guys saying masks don’t work, does anyone care about covid anymore? (Outside of those very vulnerable/immuno compromised)

Why the fuuherke does Ballsy say after about 30 mins after an ad break

”XX and X are still with us”… Jeez they hardly come in for half an hour surely!!!

Quite strange I would think..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭boardise

Tuned in this morning -first 'topic' was about female ( can I say that?) air stewards' high heels. Quickly tuned out and tried George Hamilton on Lyric. Found a nice sequence of soothing and tuneful music. Much better for my mentle elf.

I really must cut down on listening to 'experts' / chancers/ spoofers babbling about trivia. Modern media has become a desert of stultifying banality where one encounters the odd oasis of sanity all too rarely.

Post edited by boardise on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Does anyone know who the guests were this morning? I know Brenda Power was one. There was another guy who seemed to be in denial about the housing issues.

Ballsy of course being one of the most vocal trumpeteers of the celtic bubble wouldn't see a problem either. I'm alright jack could be his catchphrase.

Certainly he didn’t see a problem talking to Weckler on touring the USA.

Mad for road he was after the interview.

Cost!!!!

Cost…what cost, last thing on Ballsy’s mind it seems to be.

And why would it , given the wedge he is on.

And we are paying for all this…… sorry for the bad news there….. eh Nooze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

You tuned out in time, next topic was Covid, that's when I stopped listening.

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭72sheep

Three British 20-somethings hospitalised after another attack in "safe" Dublin city centre by 15 feral teens. Instead Brendan's panel dive into Covid fear-mongering based on a random email from a rogue rural school teacher. I suppose the Covid years were the last time RTE came anywhere close to a profit!

Just had a listen back to the panel discussion.

Jaysus that was some "prostitutes laugh" from one of the panellists.

A very loud and inappropriate laugh from a lady in polite company.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

A bit ironic that Louis Walsh , one of todays guests professes to be a great music lover , considering he’s inflicted woeful shite on us for years…..

O great Louis has another band ready to go called Next in line, just what the world needs.. Brenda nearly had a canary when he mentioned Willie Nelson smoking a bit a dope

• Registered Users Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

As usual big ignorant Brendan jumps in saying how they’re not advocating the use of dope. God he’s a yellow bad€&d

Procession of grifters one after the other this morning……in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

Louis Walsh is a bit odd.

Despite all the years Louis has spent involved in the Irish (and UK) music industry, he added nothing of note during his interview today.... it was so bland.

About Roy Orbison: "I think he was an albino"..... I would have thought that he'd have known for sure that Roy was an albino because most people would know that. It was like Louis couldn't commit to a thought or an opinion.

He's all about promotion, his knowledge of music isn't very deep, even the last song there by Sinead Lohan he couldn't resist putting out a plea for her to "get in touch"(I wonder was that why he chose it) , his eye always on the next dollar. Sinead has been off the scene for years with far too much entegrity to bother with Walshe... I heard him once on one of those reality shows saying Leonard Cohen brought out a version of Hallelujah, he wrote the damn thing, at the time one of the crowds he was mentoring was in the process of butchering the song, cutting certain lyrics etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,499 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Brenny was very clear that dope is “NOT good”, so that put all the hippies in their place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Ballsy's panel all over the shop this morning as regards RTE and Tubridy - no coherency at all. John Halligan was the surprise, the supposedly socialist former TD worrying about his friend Ryan and defending the high fees paid to RTE presenters. Is Halligan so out of touch? Had his snout in the trough too many years? He then demonstrated his ignorance of the subject he was commenting on - misquoting figures and lauding RTE's programme called 'Live at Five'!!!! He came across as an empty vessel making a lot of noise.

Halligan came across as a total idiot, even Ballsy had to correct him.

I missed the show yesterday. Who did they have on?