Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigration to Ireland - policies, challenges, and solutions *Read OP before posting*

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,274 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Even funnier is that the people who come out with this stuff are also the ones that would should the loudest about how they should be given priority to such facilities and we are wasting money etc... these are people who no matter how things are done will complain, so it best to just ignore them because not matter what we do they will complain in any case.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,274 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

you can always bus in a couple of hundred people from anywhere, I would be interested to see a profile of these people, if they arent affluent virtue signalers , then they probably dont have kids so no skin in the game or they actually work for NGO's are making money off this.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Marcos

It wouldn't have anything to do with him positioning himself to replace Von Der Leyen as President of the European Commission when she moves off to head NATO now would it?

https://extra.ie/2023/07/09/news/irish-news/micheal-martin-eu-commission

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,461 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Indeed.. it is the antiimmigration protests have had people bussed in as you say and are notably smaller . Less locals .

The welcome marches, as they are being called to differentiate, are very much larger and a more diverse age group . Local people.

It has been reported widely who is orchestrating these anti protests and they post their own vitriol on X/Twitter about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,614 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The idea that it is middle class lefties who are in favour of immigration is a bit of a cliché.

Something else that is ignored that those engaged in anti-refugee protests tend to be much older, often over the age of 40 or 50. Being anti-immigration is not really a young person's game (perhaps because younger people didn't grow up in the monoculture version of Ireland and feel no need to hark back to it).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Near all the main proponents of said ideology, especially those will power, as literally middle class lefties. It's as factual as anything can be, yet once again you deny reality, without explanation.

You are right about "anti immigration" people though, very few are young, not those protesting at least. Young people of a certain age often like to consider themselves enlightened, more wise than their elders, but most grow out of it, I know I did. The saddest cases though, are those who never do, and hold onto their childish beliefs until their deaths.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 7,858 ✭✭✭growleaves

The 'welcome' march in Dun Laoghaire included IADT students, many of whom only travel to Dun Laoghaire by day for study.

So they are not allowed join in ? Many would be from the surrounding areas

There were plenty of locals too

But it's ok for rent-a- thug s from God knows where to attend the other protests ,is it ?

Well its a specialist art college so people come from all around. Just pointing out there's plenty of non-locals in the mix.

I am not going to counter this by publicising those anti immigration thugs but the ones that have been leading at Sandwith St and in Ballybrack are very middleaged men .

• Registered Users Posts: 9,781 ✭✭✭hynesie08

The not welcome marches constantly feature gobshites like lahive, heaseman and Dwyer, along with Dee wall and her merry gang of Muppets, I'd be confident betting the rent on which side has more locals

'The idea that it is middle class lefties who are in favour of immigration is a bit of a cliché.'

Many people in middle class professions cannot be easily swapped out for foreign replacements.

There was a joke in the Simpsons about this. When Mr. Burns couldn't hire Steven Spielberg to make a film biopic, he got hold of his Mexican non-union equivalent Senor Spielbergo.

Of course these middle-class people do not benefit from any kind of formal protectionism. But if they are in jobs which require high verbal IQ then non-English speakers can't touch them.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,780 ✭✭✭buried

A recent Red C poll taken back in May of 2023 found that 75% of the Irish population, that's three out of four, believed that Ireland has taken in too many refugees. So what is this loud consensus up in here that the vast majority agree with what is going on and want even more numbers?

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

But look at the numbers there , very large, so yes , would have a mix of people from all over Dublin .

Not disagreeing with your point . Was merely pointing out to another previously that there are people bussed in to the anti immigrant protests which he was implying was only to the welcome marches .

The numbers at the antimmmigrant protests have been getting smaller and less representative of the local community in direct proportion to the scale of violence .

What is it that I've said that you're responding to exactly? I literally said most of them were older.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

Many replaced in tech industry over the last 10 years or more by those from abroad . India, Croatia , Serbia , to name a few all competing for those middle class jobs .

The numbers at the antimmmigrant protests have been getting smaller and less representative of the local community in direct proportion to the scale of violence .

I really think that certain posters on here are somewhat sheltered, somehow living in real world ideological bubbles as I don't think any of that matters in the long run, when more and more people are starting to have issues with the problem. You'll find posts from me on here from years ago where I spoke of few people in my life speaking about immigration issues, yet I can't say that anymore. More and more people talk about it, and they do it in public. I really think you're seriously underestimating how many people are not happy.

To be fair I don't think that people are saying they " want more "... just don't want the message of " go back where you came from " going out to every refugee or foreign national that is in the country .

A lot of the calls at those marches were to the government, to step up and get the finger out providing housing and services to everyone , so that there was no vacuum for an anti immigration hate message to fill .

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Seem to be more a case for years people warned this was coming,but no we want more ,we can take more ,it will be great for the country,

Now it's oh it's the far right,it's not happening,it's the far right,

No it's a simple case people are getting more and more fed up with the whole situation, tens of thousands to hundreds of thousands coming in and how many have be removed over 30 years 1500 ,

I remember one particular poster telling he's going to be happy to see Irish people becoming a minority in our own country,

• Registered Users Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭suvigirl

Had been quoted in here many times. A poll of 1000 people may not be a real reflection of the general public, in fairness.

I have never been asked to partake in a Red C poll, nor has anyone I know.

I know the polls before the last general election were way off. Who knows

Yeah but Fine Gael have been in power for well over a decade now, and have provided no housing services to anyone, their constant excuse is that it is out of their control, that they couldn't implement it, so how is inviting an unlimited number of extras going to solve that problem?

People trying to claim this is all about people holding the government to account would do well to remember this government has never even looked after the very people who foolishly elected them, never mind anybody else. They're not going to look after anybody, only themselves, so be wide of any agenda they seek to push, because it won't benefit US. They had 12 years and from the talk they spew nowadays you'd swear they were the ones in opposition.

I've been rang three times, not about this but I was contacted. The Irish media makes a lot about a Red C poll anytime one is conducted so it must hold some weight within what is going on in any zeitgeist. Holds more weight than what is plastered on here I'd imagine.

Weight where though? Who knows. Polls are just that, a poll of a certain amount of people. As pointed out, way off before the last general election.

They are what they are, not always a good reflection I believe.

Well why do they bother taking them and reporting on them at all if it makes no difference? It obviously does as they know their business on how to judge a current zeitgeist. Just because you don't agree with it doesn't make it defunct. The Irish media doesn't seem to share your view, if it did it would ignore all Red C polls.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

1000 people is a very common standard for polls. By and large it's quite reliable, provided there's a range of people polled (age, gender, area of the country, etc), though there's always exceptions.

Whether or not you have personally been polled has no real relevance.

You find old people of a certain age believing that they know better, purely because of their age, they tend to look back with rose tinted glasses, maybe become anti everything modern.

Not all of course, I know many older people who are delighted with the changes in Ireland in the last 35 or so years, real relaxed after living life. Seeing many things, a live and let live attitude.

You would wonder what kind of childish beliefs those young people could have though.......

I don't disagree. But nobody I know are coming out with the type of language that I have read here or the other threads .

I would not consider myself very sheltered, neither in my work previously or what I now do . Am not in an NGO btw .

I live and mix in an area that is settled working to middle class , with a few large centres and many areas populated by foreign nationals .

At a so called local protest in our area there were some very normal people who walked away because the most vocal protestors were Ben Gilroy and his thugs who were trying to make it more violent and screaming abuse at a few local councillors and the guards that arrived . Totally misdirection what was going on and they lost the room .

Even the usual suspects locally , who might be happy to get involved in any catfight , were standing well back , and there has been nothing since that and a new centre opened and everything is peaceful .

Some of the local teens were there watching like ourselves , and they laughed at them and walked away. I was glad to see my own walk away and we talked about it later .

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

It's becoming a big issue and getting bigger month by month, the majority are fed up and the excuse is the far right to shut people down ,the far right was the excuse 10 years ago,and now it's the blame for everything,we were told we are welcoming Ukrainians,but it seems now the majority arriving lately are young men from everywhere from Pakistan to Nigeria to Syria,

We have no where to put them ,we have a massive housing shortage,we have a health care crisis,we have more and more crisis coming,and all some people can say bring in more it's going to be good for us ,they were saying that 10 + years ago and yet time and time again people are getting proven wrong, while using the bogey man the far right to explain it all away,