Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why does the rest of the country dislike Dublin so much?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,292 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

so you think most people would rather visit say, Tipperary town, rather than Dublin?

you realise that doesn't happen to 99.99% of the hundreds of thousands of people moving around Dublin every day?

right, well i wouldn't tell a tourist to avoid a city because 2 tourists have been attacked out of the millions that visit every year

I never once said nuclear is unsafe, can you show me where I said that? Anyway you're going a bit off topic there horsey, and of course you'll tell them to go elsewhere, you hate Dublin, personally I've nothing against any other part of Ireland and try and enjoy anywhere I end up in the country.

You're wrong too, there's no other town or city as interesting or fun or with more to do than in Dublin, whether you like it or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,385 ✭✭✭corner of hells

You could probably meet them at the airport and direct them to Drogheda for the feuds or Leitrim , just remind them to listen out for the banjo music from Deliverance.

I love the way you pretend there aren't options like West Cork, Kerry, Clare, Galway, Westport, Sligo, Adare, East Cork, the southeast coast... 😊

I'm not a Dublin hater at all but your comment is most disingenuous.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,707 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Lot of tourists would have arts & cultural interests like shows, museums, galleries and the like. There's not a chance they're going to miss the capital, that would be like touring around England and not visiting London. That's why Dublin is one of Europe's most popular destinations for tourists, I spend yesterday working in the city centre and this morning in Howth. Thousands of tourists, and they love the city.

And nobody gets mugged, beaten up & threatened by a junkie with a needle every time they visit the city, that's just stupid & making light of problems, what if I was to advise tourists not to visit rural Ireland because they'd be killed on the roads, raped, become suicidal or ran over by their nephew in a teleporter. See, it's not nice.

I was responding to someone who said they'd send them absolutely anywhere but Dublin. You're mostly mentioning counties too, you can't really compare Kerry or West Cork to Dublin. It's chalk and cheese.

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭Haddonfield

I lived in Dublin years ago and never had any issues. Loved it actually.

But, I must admit I got suckered in by the chatter in recent years about how it has become so deathly dangerous. I usually visit relatives directly in a nice part of the south side, but when it came to the city centre last year, I was nervous. My bus stopped near O'Connell Bridge on a sunny Saturday afternoon (surely the hordes would be out in force) and I was clutching my bag for dear life walking to the Luas by Trinity. It was grand. 😊

Getting the bus home, no issues at all on the quay.

This summer - all exactly the same, plus a DART trip north.

I'm a woman, I was alone for all of this. Definitely keep your wits about you - not saying there aren't some right scummers - but the social media talk is gross exaggeration and scaremongering.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

It reminds me of people who chime in any time rugby is mentioned to say how shite they think it is and how it isn't really popular around the world etc. I don't understand the mentality to be honest. You don't like it, fair enough, why do they feel the need to put it down. Lots of people like Dublin, it has it's problems of course, it isn't as grand as other European cities (mostly in places that plundered the world), it has a grubby look to it, but I still like it.

And it's not like the rest of Ireland is perfect either. Compare Cork to a city of a similar size like Montpellier, if you've ever been to Montpellier you'll know that it's an absolute paradise compared to Cork, with amazing tram systems, streets you could eat your dinner off, and a really beautiful public realm. Or compare Galway to Aix-en-Provence, etc. etc. Or compare our ravaged countryside and rural villages to even the English countryside and villages. Dublin is just a representation of what's going on in the country as a whole. Lots of bad planning, poor management, undesirable people, but plenty of good stuff too.

As I suspected, they didn't say "absolutely" anywhere. 😆

Not chalk and cheese - just places in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Leitrim 

Leitrim has far more beauty than Dublin, and far more humble natives.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

he said "anywhere but Dublin". Tipperary town and other such places you wouldn't really want to visit fall into that category.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,385 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I tip my hat in apology to you sir and your humble ways , I am very aware of the scenic beauty of the mountains and valleys in Leitrim along with the many lakes .

• Registered Users Posts: 27 Tell it to me arse

Real satire is used to remove people from power. The Ross O’Carroll Kelly author wants to see the perpetuation of these people in power because he’s sold out and is commercial and wants to make money off these people. It’s a symbiotic relationship. 

He’s good friends with many of the real rugby professionals also. That’s why I don’t see it as satire rather as commercial advertisement pieces for rugby pros and FF Rock boys and passing it off as as satire.

Paul Howard is from a fairly humble background and has made a success of himself. I don't read his books, it isn't my world and I don't really find the concept particularly funny. Of course he wants to make money, he needs to provide for himself. It could be worse, he could be sitting around helplessly waiting for the council to sort him out, like plenty of people in the housing estate he grew up in.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,135 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

LOL "Real satire is used to remove people from power"..... what in the ever loving fvck are you talking about? More and more your posts read like a 1st year arts student whos just discovered Marx

For your information, degrading me as being a student who has just discovered Marx, spoken like a true socialist.

Defend the theory don’t attack the poster. The above Google search backs my theory that satire is used to remove people from power.

You’ve been found out with nothing but personal attacks in repsonse. I’ll take it you can’t defend your position theoretically and resort to personal attacks due to lack of ability to defend said position.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

The rest of the country should be proud of Dublin considering Dublin generates over 60% of the country's revenue.

Same oul Irish - they complain about Dublin but happy to take our money..

Perhaps revenue generated in Dublin should only be spent in Dublin?

No its used to critique as your screenshot says, there is no mention of removing people from power which lets be honest is a pretty militant view of a form of comedy. But lets rehash your original claim "Real satire is used to remove people from power" which equates to you trying to define any form of satire you don't agree with or dislike as being not "real". Are there other art forms you attempt to gate keep as not being "real" based on your personal opinion?

I made no personal attacks I commented on the style and content of your post being in my opinion juvenile and naive.

In Ancient Greece and Rome it was used to remove people from power. Or at least instigate that process. That’s not militant. In short the Paul Howard has clearly sold out in this process by being commercialised and aiming to gain readers from the very people he is critiquing. He has become captured by the very people he was aiming at in the first place. He’s sold out and become one of the cogs that lauds that way of life. It’s not a critique, I would say it’s an obscure form of worship. He speaks at Blackrock College. He’s become captured by the very system he started out to critique.

Looking forward to my staycation weekend in Dublin. Won't let the weather get me down.

Coastal Parkrun in Sandymount tomorrow. Then into town for some of the best quality pastries you will find anywhere at Bread 41. Then onto EPIC Irish emigration museum. After that a steak dinner at tomohawk followed by checking out some up and coming musicians at Whelan's.

On Sunday will take the short drive into the Dublin/Wicklow mountains for some hiking. Home and back into town for stew at Boxty house and some more live music washed down with good plain.

Monday morning to seapoint for a swim. Great city for variety when you look beyond all the bad stuff that happens in a small concentrated area! There's so much more I could do but that's my itinerary.

Sounds like a good weekend, if you make it out alive!

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭saabsaab

That is because Dublin is overdeveloped. The Dublincentric policy means most industry/business gets located there. What about water, electricity food ect. being for use only by counties outside Dublin? Doesn't make sense either.

Outside Dublin the population is too spread out, people insist on building one off houses in the middle of nowhere on their parents land, then complain about the lack of broadband.

It seems to me you simply dont like the kind of people he is lampooning and it angers you even further that not only do they find the jokes about themselves funny they actively encourage him to continue making fun of them and for some reason you cant stand that fact. Also you seem to have some weird obsession with power, yes the people he is writing about are very privileged but that mostly stems from the amount of money they have so short of his writing somehow robbing or removing their wealth i don't understand how you would expect him to in your own words "remove them from power".

I think you have inadvertently stumbled on a solution, he could raise the prices of his books, massively so. 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Unrealistic

Not another one who thinks Dublin is the only city in Ireland and the rest of the country is just one never-ending horizon of rural ribbon development...

As already pointed out above, more than half of the urban population of Ireland lives outside of Dublin.