Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTÉ admits paying Tubridy €345,000 more than declared

• Registered Users Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭RoTelly

I would point to his stint on 2FM for five years, and that Radio 1 itself has a loyal audience.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

Unless some of these people have made REALLY bad investments (a la Anglo Shares/Russell Murphy), to keep going for as long as they do, is only putting money in their grandkids' pockets.

Super wealthy top tier personalities (such as Paul McCartney and Neil Young) are no different. They or their representatives are merching aggressively into their eighties (as opposed to continuing to perform-which I understand), and at that level they're probably ensuring their great grandchildren will never need to work a day in their lives..

It makes no sense to me. You only get one go on the merry go round.

(By those standards, Tubridy is positively a spring chicken.)

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Was there not some crossover? I thought Baz was on Wanderlust before “How Low Can you Go?” and his “star” performance on W got him the recurring role in HLCYG?

It’s so long ago now I honestly can’t remember and Baz’s Wikipedia is not something I’m going to visit voluntarily! It would take an RTE contractor level fee to persuade me to do that.

If I’m wrong, hands up….no issue with being corrected.

Retain? He’d have been delighted to retain the numbers; Tubridy LOST audience when he was on 2FM.

Not that I remember, I thought both shows were airing around the same time, Wanderlust being a year earlier or so (around 2001) with HLCYG coming in around 2002, but both having a series or 2 on at the same time. HLCYG had 3 lads traveling around the world on the cheap, BAZ and 2 others, but he was there from the beginning, I don't remember the cast changing.

Baz could easily have been one of the contestants on Wanderlust, it wouldn't surprise me in the least.

Either way can you think of any RTÉ2 programme from 2006, 2012, 2018 or 2023 that could provide some experience for a new "talent" that could replace RT and Ray D'Arcy? for that matter can you name a children's presenter from any of those years that have their own radio show on any radio station, or will in the future have such a programme?

Yes, I as usual for got the word "not" which is important.

______

Yesterday

And he used to come back every year (particularly to the TV show), "refreshed", "recharges", re-invigorated", ready for a "reboot", "a new direction" etc. etc.

The NKM puff pieces, many of us calling them out at the time, are almost comedic now to look back on, as he tightened his grip on misery porn year on year, and the currency and quality of his guests and his output steadily diminished.

He didn't just get greedy, he got lazy too.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,802 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭jmcc

Think that one year he claimed he was "going to be himself". That went down well. The misery vampire stuff really dragged the LLS down. Even Pat Kenny's version was better than the Tubridy version. the fact that Tubridy was left in place for so long is an indication of major flaws in RTE management.

Regards...jmcc

From what I remember he was on Wanderlust first for an episode and that’s how he ended up with the HLCYG gig - yes, he was there from the beginning but I have a vague recollection of him being on Wanderlust first and only for one episode. I could be wrong though, as I said it was a long time ago.

As for the other two regulars on HLCYG - one of them was in an ad production company (I was actually in a meeting with him), and the other popped up on Fair City as Carol’s girlfriend so I assume he is or was an actor.

I wonder when Baz joined the NKM stable? His run on 2FM was a disaster - can’t remember did his and Lucy’s show follow from Tubs’ show or was there something in between? Actually now that I think of it Tubs moved before the Baz and Lucy show……I think, I’m too tired for this today!

I remember the big announcement one year was that he was going to lose the tie for TLLS, as it was a symbol of the patriarchy. I’m not sure how long that lasted but it wasn’t very long.

Funnily enough, when I looked just now for a press release about it Evoke.ie’s website had this photo of Mr.Tubridy announcing changes to the format for that year - including ditching the tie:

I know it’s hard to believe that isn’t photoshopped given what’s happened recently, but the link is here:

One of the three big changes that year in addition to the ditching of the tie was a new chair - I promise I’m not making this up!

Revealing the change he was most animated about Ryan said: 'We have a new chair and I think it's going to be a classy affair.'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Karppi

• Registered Users Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭hawley

In a post shared on Instagram on Wednesday, the popular presenter revealed the programme will be back on RTÉ One from next week.

He wrote: “Back to school with The Late Late Show. Friday week, 2nd September."

Was this a recent post? Has anyone told the person who handles his Social Media presence that he is no longer presenting the LLS (or the radio show)? :) Perhap his friends in RTE management want him on the first new LLS as a guest?

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭hawley

From your article;

And Tubs has the connections to hit the big time as US chat show host Conan O’Brien - who owns American podcast network Team Coco - is a fan of the RTE star after guesting on the Late Late, and has already mentioned Tubs on his own podcast.

An insider said: “Ryan has a huge interest in American politics and would have plenty to say to US listeners. “What’s even more exciting is, unlike RTE, Ryan could say whatever the hell he likes on a podcast.

“You could get Ryan unleashed. After decades on RTE airwaves, that kind of freedom would appeal to Ryan”.

Just another load of guff from NKM. They knew what was coming, so he's trying to big up Tubs and put pressure on RTE. Now is his chance to run off to Conan in America and air lots of controversial opinions, instead he's desperate to get back into RTE, no matter the terms.

More unnamed insider quotes. Conan O'Brien is famous. Tubridy is just an inhabitant of the Dublin media village. Eamon Dunphy can hold his own with a podcast. Don't think that Tubridy would be capable because he is intrinsically boring.

Take away the production team and researchers and what exactly is interesting about Tubridy? His opinions on what he read in the newspapers? His opinions on US politics? Big deal! Look at the US politics threads here for the same pro-Democrat soundbites. Why would anyone bother listening to his podcast? Would any company want to sponsor it?

Regards...jmcc

Post edited by jmcc on

Fun fact: Conan was a guest at a wedding I attended in the US many moons ago (2006), he was a gent.

To use a football analogy, Conan O’Brien would be Messi compared to League of Ireland Tubridy.

”an insider” 🙄

• Registered Users Posts: 30,137 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

If Tubridy wants to go... who are we to limit his talents to a small island when the US beckons... it would be wrong of us to expect that.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 988 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

In this era of carbon footprint awareness and the need to #BeKind to the planet, might I suggest an alternative mode of transport to the US, for Tubs...

An insider said: “Ryan has a huge interest in American politics and would have plenty to say to US listeners. “What’s even more exciting is, unlike RTE, Ryan could say whatever the hell he likes on a podcast.

I'd never have guessed that Tubs had a big interest in US politics.

His show was utter propaganda, a presenter is supposed to be some bit objective when it comes to politics but Tubs was like a cheerleader, it was embarrassing.

Take away the production team and researchers and what exactly is interesting about Tubridy? His opinions on what he read in the newspapers? His opinions on US politics? Big deal! Look at the US politics threads here for the same pro-Democrat soundbites

Maybe Tubs posts in those threads, wouldnt surprise me one bit.

The morning after the Trump victory in 2016 was the some of the best comedy that RTE ever produced. :) Tubridy's "Patrick and the President" is obviously required reading in US Political Science classes.

Watching CNN and reading a few US newspapers doesn't really equate to indepth knowledge of US politics. Thanks to satellite and cable TV and the Internet, people can watch CNN and other US channels. They can also read US newspapers. Above all, they can make up their own minds.

Regards...jmcc

Unfortunately I'm not sure people can make up their own minds, when they are bombarded with such ferocity by the Irish media.

Between Tubs, Matt Cooper etc and the Clintons pal Denis O Brien's Communicorp, its 24/7 propaganda.

True. I’m no Trump fan, but the man’s coverage and commentary in this country while then US President was anything but neutral and unbiased. Tubridy, a man who presented a holier than thou persona and constantly talked about kindness, frequently made comments about Trump’s appearance, hair, weight, complexion etc. He also frequently imitated and mocked his accent and vocabulary with a complete lack of irony or self-awareness.

I can only imagine the reaction from these journalists and broadcasters of our own President or Taoiseach was treated in a similar fashion by a foreign country.

There has been a major shift in the Irish media landscape since 2016 and that makes it less likely for Tubridy to end up on a commerical broadcaster on the same money. O'Brien was forced to sell his shares in IN&M for around 45 million Euro (he spent about 500 million acquiring them) to Mediahuis (the Belgian company that now owns the Sindo/Indo). He also sold his Communicorp stations to a German company, Bauer. Those stations might not want to pay RTE rates for Tubridy especially given his track record of losing advertising sponsors for his shows. Broadcasters that don't have the licence fee or government bailouts tend to be more careful with presenter salaries.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭Orange-Coca-Cola

They were not small numbers that he lost either, it was almost half of the listeners that tuned out of that show.

A lot of the papers today and yesterday have big articles about Tubs and RTÉ. This story is not going to go anywhere soon, not without a few people being held accountable for squandering the publics money anyway.

The four that I find most accountable after Forbes and Jennings [maybe] are O'leary, O'Keeffe, Kelly and Tubridy. I would not consider it a coincidence that all four have tried to play the victim either. O'Leary citing mental health. O'Keeffe texting in during a meeting she opted not to attend, to give her version of things. Kelly announcing within the first minute of his opening statement how his and Tubs life have been made hell. Forbes and Jennings pulling sick card.

Whatever about Collins ineptness being brought up and however he was made out in the media or how he came across in the meetings, he sat there throughout and took it all. Maybe it was arrogance or naivety I am not sure, but I still have more respect for him than any of that lot mentioned above.

It’s hard to polish a turd, but NKM and their pet hacks make every effort, I’ll give them that.

(A new chair? Jesus wept).

If all else fails, he can leverage his encyclopaedic knowledge of US politics and become a journalist in Washington.

Post edited by Pelvis Parsley on

• Registered Users Posts: 11,225 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Has anyone knowledge of/ an opinion on the frequent comedy adverts heard on RTE radio?

I haven't counted but it often seems there is some advert for a comedy act for every other advert.

Is there a heap of money to be made in comedy gigs?

Or is RTE somehow involved commercially in comedy gigs?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Like lots of things, it depends.

If you’re playing The International Bar, no.

Now if you take that same show to the 3 Arena? Yes.

There’s not much by way of increased overheads from one to the other. Kevin Hart reportedly made more than $80million on the US leg of his last tour alone, selling out places like Madison Square Garden etc.

In the UK Michael McIntyre sold out God knows how many shows in Wembley Arena.

I did the math once on Mrs. Brown’s Boys UK and Ireland Christmas Tour by looking at average ticket prices x venue size x no. of shows and for an approx 3 week run in the weeks up to Christmas they were grossing over €20million. Now admittedly they’d have more overheads and it’s also not comedy (!) but it shows you the money that can be made. Then there’s “merch” etc. on top of that.

I hadnt been aware of this literary juggernaut till now.

"Deserves to be read by every Irish and American child for generations to come" 😂🤣