Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigration to Ireland - policies, challenges, and solutions *Read OP before posting*

• Registered Users Posts: 38,373 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Well next year the ETIAS comes into operation but it's a joke.

You are supposed to declare if you have a criminal history but you'll most likely get away with it if you don't. It's unlikely there'll be many, if any, investigations.

It's a cheapskate idea to try and trick some EU residents into thinking they are being protected.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Most of the people living in hotels are single men or women ,family's living in hotels have nowhere else to go they may have been evicted from rental units

We have obligations under treatys to take n some immigrants and also Ukrainian refugees I don't know is Ireland worse than other EU country's in terms of taking in immigrants

It takes years to train a carpenter or bricklayer I don't think most immigrants would help much in the building trade due to lack of skills

Most restaurants cafes rely on immigrants to staff the business

• Registered Users Posts: 4,910 ✭✭✭enricoh

85k came here last year on work visa n educational visa , something similar for refugees and asylum seekers. Anyone got the numbers for net EU citizens last year? Could it be an extra 200k in one year?!

https://www.irishexaminer.com/business/economy/arid-41199286.html

• Registered Users Posts: 13,437 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

CSO ....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Hamachi

Quite extraordinary numbers against the backdrop of a population of 5M.

Of course, nothing to see here in the minds of the usual suspects..

To contextualise these figures, it would represent a migration-driven increase of 5.9M in the US and 1.2M in the UK in a single year. That is truly anomalous and really highlights the scale of migration currently being experienced by this country. Is it any wonder there is increasing angst around this issue?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,612 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

It is a big news story for sure and we have one of the highest net immigration rates in Europe. But how would propose stopping or curtailing said immigration.....leaving the EU? The state cannot opt out of EU freedom of movement rules or physically prevent people coming here for work.

That's for the 12 months to April 22, pretty sure there was still COVID restrictions etc on international travel during those 12 months. 85k work + educational visas last year seems crazy high, the language school farce needs curtailing for a start.

We just need to build more apparently, n it'll all be grand!

52% of the immigrant intake were non-EU / non-UK. That’s the majority.

Are you suggesting that non-EU migration is a fait accompli and that there are no instruments available to the state to moderate this intake?

Whilst we’re on the topic, why are you conflating EU with non-EU migration? This tactic is becoming a little tired, no?

Indeed. These figures are insanely high. However, see the usual tactics being wheeled out to try normalise something that is truly extraordinary.

Disingenuous beyond belief to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,437 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Yes. The highest net immigration since 2008 apparently in the year up to April 22.

58% of those immigrants had third level qualifications.

Thousands of work and student visa applications to Ireland are refused every year. I'm not certain what criteria is used for refusal, but clearly there is no 'free for all' in terms of non-EU immigration.

Relative, to the tens of thousands that are approved, it’s a drop in the ocean. The volume of inward migration is extraordinarily high. That’s unquestionable.

You’ve already been educated that the majority of that migration is extra-EU / extra-UK. This is set against the backdrop of an acute housing crisis, a heavily squeezed education sector, and a crumbling health service.

If visas are being refused, the volume is nominal at best. How do you think Americans would react to almost 6 million immigrants arriving in their country in a single year?

How do you think Americans would react to almost 6 million immigrants arriving in their country in a single year?

That's the issue in a nutshell.

Some people are so invested in the idea that anyone critical of border controls is "racist" that they refuse to acknowledge the obvious. They're invested in the ideology so much that common sense gets thrown out the window.

What's worse is that most of these people understand perfectly well they're talking nonsense; defending an ideology for the sake of the duty of it; not because they really, really believe in what they're saying.

It becomes cheap point-scoring, not about the reality of the situation.

The left on the one hand want mass migration but, at the same time, complain about the government not doing enough on accommodation. Look, you cannot have it both ways. Make up your mind, realistically, and act. Don't pretend to be realistic. You will fail.

But what are you proposing? That the government should stop issuing visas to workers and students from non-EU states, as the country is "full"?

One wonders if a right wing / far right Irish government could get such legislation through the Dáil, never mind the current coalition.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Ahwell

Whose exactly the left here? It's a FF/FG Government that issued that record number of residence permits.

Refugees from a war in mainland Europe accounts for a large chunk of the increase in immigration last year. I assume you don't have an issue with that. I think you've said as much on the thread

There was a spike in international protection applications in 2022, but we've had a significant fall in numbers in the past 5 months. Contrary to popular belief, our number of asylum seekers has nearly always been well below the EU average.

We currently have a severe labour shortage. We actually need immigrants to fill these vacancies. Hence the increase in work permits.

The 146% increase in education permits is inexplicable. That I don't get.

This "housing crisis" has been going on for well over a decade now. Successive Governments have done feck all to solve it. It's not just the left whose complaining about this.

Post edited by Ahwell on

I like the way you set up the false equivalence of far right and sensible, sustainable immigration control. It once again demonstrates that you aren’t capable of any nuanced thinking and how deeply entrenched you are in your ideology.

As for what I would do, firstly I’d very closely examine the thousands of education visas handed out for non-degree courses. Those courses are frequently delivered by sham operators. It would be very easy to moderate that migration stream by making nationals, particularly Brazilians, visa-required and eliminating the right to work part time. Secondly, I would also seriously question why a labour force of less than 2.5 million cannot source the labour it requires from an economic block of 450M people. There is simply no way that the necessary steps are being taken to prioritise local / EU candidates to fill roles. I see this in my own industry where the default has now become to recruit from the Indian sub-continent rather than training local candidates.

Two fairly straightforward methods that would almost immediately moderate the influx. There is nothing ‘far right’ or ‘Ireland is full’ about any of this. That’s a figment of your over-active imagination. Instead, it’s an approach to reduce immigration to sensible, sustainable levels that are in the best interest of Ireland. Something that most Irish people care about.

They continue to deliberately conflate two different very attitudes toward the immigration debate..

• There's a racial political basis, such as the BNP in the UK and their white nationalist agenda / shut the door / we're full etc.
    • Then there's the middle ground who say that we need to control both the quantity and quality of people who enter the country.

We can all agree that arguing that immigration should be controlled on racial / white supremacist grounds is absurd, extreme, and stupid. Let's park that there.

Almost everyone else is interested in talking about reducing immigration numbers to sustainable levels. Not to stop all immigration, because sustained immigration is important for the economy and we need immigrants and they're welcome and contribute to society and culture. But you cannot have unlimited numbers entering the country. Like a house, there's only so many resources you can tailor to the number of people in the home. There are limited numbers of GP places, school places, houses etc. -- and you cannot magic additional places into existence. It just doesn't work. Pressures will show, and they are showing. This country cannot plan ahead if it doesn't know how many extra people will enter the country. If you cannot plan, you'll fail.

So yes, we can all agree that there are two forms of the debate; the racial-white supremacist grounds and the moderate grounds. We can all reject the former, whilst amicably and reasonably discussing the latter, which is a wholly legitimate debate to be had.

Anyone who lumps both forms of the debate together under the banner of "far right" has lost the argument straight away. That's because they don't want the debate to be even had in the first place, so the position is about discrediting the debate, that it shouldn't take place, and the best way to do that is to smear anyone critical of immigration numbers as "far right". It's a rather derisory tactic, and one that always, always fails.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,858 ✭✭✭growleaves

For decades and longer Irish people have had a pleasant, uncrowded, affordable existence. This was partly bought with emigration, which nobody has claimed to be a good thing. Nonetheless the remaining people after emigration benefited in part from a low population even if they haven't given it much thought.

A few thoughts:

NIMBYism is totally incompatible with stuffing Ireland with new immigrants year after year. The lightly populated urban villages in Dublin postcodes that local people would like to see preserved as is - like Clontarf, Stoneybatter, Dundrum, Milltown, Pimlico etc., etc. - is totally at odds with juicing the population numbers constantly. So will we eventually give in and build Singapore-style apartment blocks? Something has to give on this front. It is a contradiction that will be resolved somehow.

The double-negative justification for immigration is "You're a racist if you don't want immigration." Or some other double-negative logic to do with Irish people having been immigrants somewhere. Since these are not positive proposals or statements in themselves they do not explain: 1) why we should accept immigration; 2) why the speaker wants immigration personally and/or politically. They also don't allow for common sense limitations of scale or duration of immigration since open-ended demagoguery - 'you are a bad person!' - is an emotional tactic to disarm others.

It is so difficult to oppose these policies because the people in favour are a grand coalition of Chamber of Commerce business-types with ties to politicians and aggressive leftist cultural radicals. The left-wing radicals agree to act as shock troops for this coalition, handing out demagogic accusations of racism while the real movers and shakers sit back and give the occasional warning against the "far-right". I consider both groups dishonest, short-termist and lacking in foresight.

Ireland, after all, is a historic country with a national people. It isn't just a vehicle for novel leftist ideas. Nor is it solely a financial entity or collection of assets to be manipulated in the way that yields the highest returns for asset owners.

What was unsustainable about our immigration levels before the war in Ukraine?

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭keynes

Immigrations is being championed by business lobbyists seeking cheap labour and their useful idiots on the left, who don't understand the implications of what they're doing (decimating working class communities.)

The open border policy is also wildly at odds with our environmental strategy, when you think that hundreds of thousands of these "refugees" will be driving round in 20 year-old bangers in six months time. It'll take a lot of electric vehicles to counter that. So current immigration "policy" flies in the face of pretty much every other government objective.

We don't have an open door policy. In fact, Irish immigration authorities turned away over 9,000 non-EU nationals last year. Which was the fourth highest number of refusals in Europe.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/irish-immigration-authorities-turned-away-29946949

We have a complete open door to southern and Eastern Europe through our membership of the EU; that's up to 500 million people who have unfettered access to live and work in our country.

That's an open door policy in all but name.

We voted for that in the 1992 Maastricht Treaty referendum, 69.05% for and 30.95% against. The number of EU nationals immigrating to Ireland has been declining for a number of years now.

"In decline" is relative. A number can still be high even if it's lower than a higher number. Both are high, and that's what people are reflecting on.

Second, we did not vote for mass immigration from Southern and Eastern Europe in 1992 when it was in 2004 that this significant wave of expansion took place.

And even then, it says nothing about what many people are saying today. It's possible to change your mind when what was voted for meets the brick wall of reality.

What you seem to be saying is, "In 1992 we voted for a pre-cursor of the EU, so people in 2023 can't complain about mass immigration; it's just tough luck".

That's a dreadful argument.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,434 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

It is so difficult to oppose these policies

It's not difficult to oppose them through the ballot box. All you have to do is go in and tick the box beside the candidate(s) proposing the kind of immigration policy you would like to see. A slew of elections coming up over the next couple of years, plent of opportunities for 'controlled immigration' advocates to make their voice heard...

Whose reflecting on freedom movement in the EU? Any polls I've see on should Ireland remain a member of the EU, those in favour are between 80% and 90%. Everybody knows you can't opt out of freedom of movement and stay in the EU.

BTW, you still haven't answered, What was unsustainable about our immigration levels before the war in Ukraine?

Yet again you're conflating two completely separate things.

It's possible to be both in favour of the EU as well as express concerns about mass immigration.

It's not one or the other.

Discussing meaningful reform is possible.

What mass immigration? Prior to the Ukraine war, in the past 12 years, annual net migration has only been above 20,000 three times.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,795 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Unless we can build guards, nurses, teachers and doctors etc it makes no difference.

It was only two years ago where we had to lockdown for sustained periods of time to save the health service from collapsing and the advice about social distancing.

But now they are shoving dozens of men into old buildings where social distancing is not possible, we don't know the vaccination status of them and we are increasing the population that was overwhelmed with the population level during Covid.

Let's hope Covid doesn't come back because we are in some trouble if it does, it seems the goverment have forgot about it already.