Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No Reduction in USC in Budget - Mod warning post #261

• 10-08-2023 11:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Pascal Donohue saying this morning that there wont be any reductions in USC in the October Budget. More of a cost of Living Budget targetting the vunerable whatever that means.

To be fair the USC is a good thing from the point of view that anyone earning over 70,044 which is a decent salary these days pays 8% USC on anything over 70K . It hits those earning most & can afford to pay more tax rather than increasing the normal 40% income tax rate.

So someone on 200K pays 8% USC on income over 70K which they can probably afford to.

Mod warning post #261

Mod:

The topic of the thread is USC; if you all wish to discuss other topics I suggest you start a new thread(s) on those topics.

Post edited by Nody on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 g g murpho

Single mothers, travellers, junkies and ukrainians to get a bonanza.

Hard working middle class people to take it up the bum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭DownByTheGarden

Myself and the wife just retired last week. I wont say our ages but we are around a couple of decades away from getting the OAP. Sorting out the dole etc now this week and then off traveling. AirBnbing the rooms in the house while we are away. Decided better to be a tax taker than a tax payer at this point. Hard work doesnt pay in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭sameoldname

If €220 p/w + Fuel allowance + Medical card (maybe) sounds like a great offer to you compared to what you made a living at, I question your assertion that you were working hard. Hidden assets not withstanding. Also, you collect your dole in person so I doubt your holidays will be very long.

Its all in hand. Already been through all of the finger wagging and telling me what im doing is wrong and impossible and not worth it etc etc in another thread. It suits us. We will be fine. We have it all figured out and have been planning it for some time. Now its happening and we will just get on with the plan. 90 hours a week back to ourselves between us. Thats the main thing. Pensions sorted, house sorted. Airbnb sorted. Get the dole for 9 months or so, sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭sameoldname

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Dslatt

Now that is a job I would never in a million years apply for, nor any public sector job for that matter. It doesnt really matter what I work at or what im doing. Just pointing out that its the high taxes that have pushed me over the edge. Its a time versus reward calculation for me now. Its funny though, as you can see from other posts ive made about it and questions ive asked while preparing for my plan, how it gets up some peoples backs when I mention that im done being a tax slave, but sure there you go, we live in Ireland I suppose. Someone always p!ssed off when they think someone else is happy with what they are doing.

The only way really to explain it is that both myself and my wife have reached the point where we are no longer happy with what we take home, what we pay in taxes and what we get for our taxes. So over a good few years now we have been putting money away where it cant be tied back to us for means testing if it comes to means testing, paid off the mortgage, got the kids set up, moved house and will now go on the dole for as long as we can get away with it and do airbnb on the rooms in the house and do plenty of traveling. Take back our time, so to speak (90 hours or so between us a week that we now have for ourselves instead of half for ourselves and half for the tax man). If we run out of money we will then hit our pensions which should keep us going until the OAP age. Its not rocket science but it does seem to get some peoples backs up. Pretty sure that anyone, if they spent a few years in their 40s planning, could do exactly the same by the time they are 50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭techman1

I thought you have to collect in person at the post office every week in cash unless they changed it since covid?

I'll tell you next week. I havent collected anything yet. I have documents to get for them at the moment that they never told me about when i checked it out before. Even if I do have to collect in person I believe i can tell them I will be away that week or for a couple of weeks. Perhaps looking for jobs abroad :) I know people who do that already. Doesnt seem to interfere with their travels at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Tell them your a traveller and they wont ever bother you !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭Sconsey

Don't worry, this guy has his scam all worked out. He complains about paying too much tax and then proceeds to defraud the system....loves to talk about it too. Half of Boards know he is planning to rob the social welfare system at this stage, what a hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭HBC08

Look,I'd like to believe you story but you spent years planning it and didn't figure out that you have to collect the dole in person?

That's a bit of an oversight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Meeoow

What about hard working middle class single mothers and deadbeat dole head dads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

If you tell them that you are out of the country then the dole gets paused for the dates you claim to be away. That pesky "have to be available for work" thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,379 ✭✭✭✭zell12

The USC is an excellent progressive tax. I'd actually extend it to all income inclusive of social transfers, no minimum threshold.

I know exactly when i'll have to collect the dole. But the rules might have changed because people here seem to think it has to be collected every week now. I wont be away every week anyway and im pretty sure I can take holidays while on the dole especially if I say they are booked already. I know a few people who are actually collecting the dole and they seem to be away whenever they like, so we'll see.

I can come home for a day if needed. It wont be expensive from September. Be just like work when flying out in the morning and home at night every couple of weeks. If needed i can get covid etc. I can have an interview in another country and so on. There are many options I believe. As I said, i'll know for sure next week when i have to collect because as soon as i make my first collection i'll be telling them im off on holidays for a few weeks in September. Dont let it worry you. My plans are flexible.

Ive paid in more every week for the last 20 years or more than i'll be getting in a month. I'll even be paying tax on my JB. Noone has been defrauded here except me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,260 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

DBTG's plan sounds more and more credible with every post he makes.

You are deluded, trying to convince yourself that is OK to defraud the welfare system because you have paid taxes in the past. If every tax payer had your attitude there would be no dole available for you to scam. You can't justify what you are doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭touts

If they keep throwing money at the "vunerable" to level the finances between those in the squeezed middle who get up early every morning and work hard all day and those "vunerable" who get up at noon in time to watch Judge Judy then you have wonder why bother your arse getting up every morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭doc22

The gov are extending benefits for votes rather taxes. It's easier to bribe someone with free stuff rather than giving someone their own money back. A Pensioner couple pulling 50k(state pension 27k) a year with mortgage paid get medical card, fuel allowance, tax exempt on first 36k and pay reduced usc. The divide between generations is amazing and unsustainable as we all age...

I can see this is really bothering you. Forget about it. Its what im doing myself. It has no wider impact on you. Relax and you do you. Im working on getting my well deserved reward now for getting up in the morning. It doesnt effect you, but you sure are triggered by it. Really dont see why you should be bothered. Ive contributed a princely sum over the years. Now im putting some effort into benefiting from all I have paid. Time to cash out and take back my time. If you spent more time on your own life than moaning about someone elses plans (which might even not work out by the way, but im sure going to put some effort into making it work) then your life would be much richer and you wouldnt have to spend your life looking for someone to moan about.

If every tax payer had my attitude then maybe the hard working tax payer might be treated properly in this country. As it is its the non tax payers and lazy who seem to get the most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,156 ✭✭✭Allinall

If they pay tax, then your illegal actions most certainly do effect them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,095 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

You must be living on a self sustaining farm off grid away from society if you haven't benefitted from the tax you have paid over the years.

If not and you live in a housing estate / built up area like most folks, then how do you think the infrastructure that you have used throughout your whole life around you was paid for? The hospitals you've used? The education system you went through? Emergency Services?

If every tax payer had your attitude, there would be no money to pay for the above things and no money to pay out your little fraud scheme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭Ezeoul

Jobseekers payments must be collected weekly at Post Offices and within 3 days of issue, or the funds will be returned to Social Welfare and the claim paused.

JS payments to bank accounts was only allowed during the pandemic, and reverted back to post office collections in January 2022.

Maximum of 2 weeks holidays are allowed per year.

Not that I actually believe a word of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭touts

For my business I'm in the post office sending stuff twice a week. The rest of the queue will always be welfare people. One Friday this wan moaned about me taking up too much time at the counter when I had about 20 packages and letters to send. "Jasus! We'll be here ALL day". I turned around and said "Well someone has to put money into the system for you to take it out". Apparently she made a formal complaint about it to the manager of the post office. He raised it the following week and asked if I could avoid posting on Fridays as that is the busy day. I told him to tell her to **** off from me and if he didn't like it I could always use DHL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,457 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

And there is no wonder why we are jam packed with refugees.

Look you cannot keep posting about your social welfare scam and expect people to applaud you. If you post nonsense trying to justify it, you can't lose your sh1t when people point out you are wrong.

If you don't want to be criticized for your fraudulent behavior then don't post about on a public forum! You seem like you are desperate for approval.

I believe his intent, however, I also believe, as is heard on Liveline practically every day, insufficient research has been done by the poster. If I was going to AirBnB my entire house I'd want to be living down the road. Even using an AirBnB 'agency' that does the cleaning afterwards, isn't enough. Cleaning they can do, repairing holes in walls, they can not. Where will he store his valuables? His lifetime collection of books, furniture etc?

Aside from the fact it anoys me what AirBnB has become. Entire homes being rented out was never its intent.

All I'm saying is for someone who claims to have been plotting this grand scheme in detail for years, the issues of collection of welfare payments and holidays / absence from the State seem to be pretty significant details to have overlooked.

Also the small matter of engaging with JobPath activation for new claimants which hasn't been mentioned and possibly also overlooked.

Hence my skepticism.

• This trolling poster still at it?

“Look at me, I’m taking your money and getting away with it”. Sonny boy, life has a way of catching up on fraudsters, in the end there’s always a consequence that won’t be avoided.

But I feel he is merely attention seeking. Let this be my last post in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,499 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Lads, DBTG is either a WUM or is woefully misinformed about how jobseekers works. As Ezeoul has very correctly pointed out, JS has to be collected in person, in the post office, every single week bar the two holiday weeks permitted in any 12 month period. Either way, he's not worth engaging with.

Back on topic, USC is never, ever going to be abolished completely because it simply generates far too much money for the state. It will be tweaked, possibly more bands introduced, revised upwards or downwards depending on economic circumstances around each budget, it may even be renamed, but anyone who thinks it's ever going anywhere is optimistic to the point of foolishness.

Hanlon's Razor:

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."

He's either saying these things to troll us(your belief), or he's not done his homework and is thicker than a bucket of jelly(my belief). Either way, to stop him hijacking the discussion I have put him on my ignore list.

"Thicker than a bucket of jelly...."

I've never heard that one before! I may use that... 🤣

You are the one who is triggered. Dont let it bother you. It has not effect on your life whatsoever. Deep breaths, and relax. You are mentioning my plans more than I am. Time to get a life for you now.

Yes, I paid a vast sum of money for these things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,046 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Seems close to 1 million people don’t pay any PRSI, the USC is the only way of getting anything off these workers.

It needs to stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Maybe thats why DBTG and many others have decided its a mugs game. Couple with no dependants, no mortgage, each on JB, RaR and occasional Airbnb, could probably get by for the nine months no problem. I knew someone years ago who only worked for the bare number of weeks needed to re-qualify for job-seekers. He took temporary and seasonal jobs, it suited him because he just didnt like working. No idea what the rules are now, maybe that wouldn't be possible today but it seems the % of people on welfare benefits has gone mad compared to previous generations.

The squeezed middle will keep the wheel turning like always. We are dopes really that we keep putting up with the high personal taxes while governments of every hue throw us breadcrumbs every year.

Sure the airbnb was the easiest to sort out. Relatives living in sort of self contained granny apartment divided off the hall. Used to be 2 bedrooms with ensuite. Was easy to convert to a living room and room with small kitchen and bathroom. The money is going to them and going into their account which I have a card for and can draw the money as needed. 2 rooms will be let out to airbnb. Our room and living room and kitchen at the other side of the house wont be used . A neighbor who does airbnb in their own house and gave us the idea (instead of originally going to rent the rooms) going to come in and do the cleaning gets the cleaning fee. It couldnt be simpler. Already been doing airbnb for 3 months now already and its a doddle. Just take people with plenty of 5 start reviews and you shouldnt get the torags.

Look if this is clearly triggering people, so i'll stop posting about it. Anyone curious can PM me and i'll answer your questions there. Im curious to know as well how this JB goes with how often you actually have to be around to collect, because people here are saying the rules have changed, so pm me and as soon as i verify I will let you know how it went. Worst case scenario i stay around for 9 months or travel within a cheap flight of Dublin for the time im on JB and go further afield after that. Cant see it being the game ender people hope it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

I don't know why anonymous people try to play the hero on boards about money. You're not retiring, you're taking a career break and a bit of travel and that's fine, loads of people do that.

If you're not happy with what you're taking home then you couldn't afford to retire. And you couldn't afford to clear your mortgage and get the kids set up and all the other nonsense you said you did. All in your 40s.....just delusional really rather than any fact here

If I wanted to go back to work I guess I could, but the plan is not to have to. I think its a sturdy plan. Though I an see how people might not think it is or not want it to be. People sure seem interested though, and im happy to explain anyting they want if they PM me. Sure posting here only brings out the begrudgers.

Posts on a public forum boasting about his plans to defraud the welfare and revenue system, encourages others to commit the same fraud, sh1ts the bed and claims anyone criticizing him is 'triggered' 👍️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,580 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Never mind reducing the USC….. the USC was implemented as a temporary measure back in 2011….

Last year Paschal Donohoe said that the USC can’t and won’t be abolished… he also flat out denied that it had been introduced as a temporary measure….

so my guess is that the next change in USC will be to increase it not reduce it.

you can’t have all these increasing and limitless demands on our services and resources and then see taxes being reduced.

also FG talk lie and spin and change their positions to suit…

then…… 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Not really following this. Loads of people leave jobs they dont like and claim JB. Some find new jobs after a few weeks, others take months, some never get new jobs. Some go abroad, some travel, some go back to state funded community jobs or education schemes which cost more money from the public purse.

In fact, some people never work at all after they leave education and are long time takers from the system in terms of dole money, rent and medical supports, income supplements etc etc. (I'm not including people with a disability here)

People who have worked and paid taxes for 10, 20 or more years have already contributed and may do so again after their nine months JB expires.

Are you saying anybody who works should never avail of short-term supports?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Quitelife

If one goes back to work after 9 months JB , how long do you have to work in new job before your entitled to 9 months JB again ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snugbugrug28

They could at least ditch the 8 year deemed disposal palava. If the middle class are going to be carrying everyone then at least make it easier for them to do the fun stuff I.e. investing.

There's nothing in this country for the 'rich not yet wealthy'.

I wouldn't mind USC if I could just have a fuppin ISA account.

Availing of supports, no matter how short-term, comes with conditions attached.

Being available for and seeking full time work is one of the qualifying conditions required to qualify for a Jobseekers Payment. Including Jobseekers Benefit.

If someone leaves a job with no intention of looking for another job for some time (it doesn't matter how long) then they are not entitled to claim a jobseekers payment until they do meet the above criteria - no matter how long or how much they have been paying in contributions.

Claiming a jobseekers payment while not being available for and not seeking full time work is fraudulent.

Do you follow now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭relax carry on

Will your relatives be declaring the income from Airbnb as it's going to them? You do realise that Airbnb report the income to Revenue.

Sure everyone is entitled to do as you describe. They are not entitled to scam the system, to defraud the welfare out of money they are not entitled to. He has documented how he has hidden away money and plans to lie when he is means tested. He is going to make income from other sources and not declare it while continuing to claim welfare he is not entitled to. His 'hidden' money will be liable for DIRT or capital gains, he will not be paying that (he will have some fun trying to 'unhide' that money when he actually needs it!).

Who knows what other scams he has lined up. He seems to think that just because he has paid some income tax in the past he is entitled to steal from the system now. If you do not agree with him you are 'triggered'.