Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newstalk: Off The Ball

• Registered Users Posts: 6,626 ✭✭✭bren2001

If €110k is an average wage to you, sign me up to a job in your company.

This thread is about OTB anyway, it doesn't matter what people present, you'll shift your argument. I'll stay on topic from here.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,340 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

How does this work with their sponsors who presumably will be seeing a massive drop in the number of ears and eyes on their products?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

It’s good to see they are doing so well after being shafted at Newstalk.

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭Conovski

Pushed the not govt funded line for sure but also said at one point they don't seek any either.

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭Conovski

I agree. A few recent recruits are only so-so. Arthur is good. He is considered on what he says. Mick on the other hand......awful.

Joe Molloy is the most skilled broadcaster they have. He talks the least when guests are in, and is judicious with his questioning and interruptions.

• Registered Users Posts: 43 mrkr

Just launched a new partnership with William Hill today by the looks of it, lol.

Find this decision odd in general - there's definitely a way to offer subscriptions on certain areas at a cheap enough rate (2.99 per month for football and sunday paper talk I would probably pay) but 10 when so much of what they put out is filler and barely distinguishable from pub talk, that does not help the argument (slight tangent-type stuff really wears thin and would put you off listening). When Gilroy says about the amount of "content" they put out, sometimes quality matters too.

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭Coolcormack1979

I see you can’t listen back to the radio show now either on the website.all behind the paywall.good luck otb and goodbye.was nice knowing ye for last 15 odd years

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭scrubs33

This has always bugged me. The hand wringing that they do about gambling but yet there’s this and that infernal cash machine on their station. Would dip in and out of the show on occasion but not enough to justify a tenner a month.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,628 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I would describe myself as a long time casual listener of OTB.

I’d flick over to OTB in the car most evenings and would have it on on weekend afternoons in the house.

As others have said, a LOT of their output is “ladz Bantz” type filler.

I am not going to pay a tenner a month to listen to the boys winding each other up and “having the craic”.

Most of it is fake anyway - fake laughter etc.

Yes they do have good guests on occasion but as others have said, a lot of the analysis is in the pub high stool level quality.

“Jasus, what’s klopp at these days lads?....”

Again, I’d be slow to throw out a tenner a month for it.

I will watch this development with interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭cudsy1

You can on official nt go loud app

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭cudsy1

• Registered Users Posts: 10,953 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Just checked youtube, looks like nothing except a few clips to watch now as of yesterday. Except Coygig podcast, but I saw that this is not included in the subscription model.

It's bizarre how poorly communicated this has been and how unclear it still is as to what exactly will or won't be available.

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭robbe

Can you say how? I took a look at the goloud app and didn't see any listen back option for (say) last night's (Wednesday) Football Show, which is really the only content that I would be bothered listening to, the rest as many have said is forced banter with less insight than I could muster on most subjects.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,377 ✭✭✭McGrath5

Pity they have gotten ahead of the themselves at OTB towers charging €10 per month, €5 per month is fair in my view. Always enjoyed listening to Joe on the football show but that's me out after 10 years of listening.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Not a huge Off the Ball man, but listened to it a fair bit over the last few months, some of the guests and analysts were good.

I think one of the problems for me were too many sports being covered. I'd like hurling and boxing, but wouldn't tune in for very long spells for rugby or soccer. They are sometimes a small bit too 'right on' and sometimes the forced banter doesn't hit the spot. So I definitely won't be signing up, but I would wish them good luck with it.

With so many outlets now I think sports coverage is becoming fragmented. GAA fans have their go-tos, soccer likewise, rugby likewise, even more minority sports like athletics and boxing. It's a pity in a way. Back when Man Utd won a treble everyone knew all about their team and who all the players were, but now only soccer fans would know much about the Man City treble winners. Likewise I think the rugby team with O'Gara, O'Connell etc was better known across wider society than the current, probably more talented, team.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Article is paywalled but you get the idea from the headline, good luck to them with that target.

https://www.businesspost.ie/news/off-the-ball-aims-to-convert-25-of-listeners-to-paid-subscription-model/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,375 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

Thats insane, 25% is not happening. OFTB dont have any big character/host/analyst for their football coverage that people would be willing to pay for. Second captians have Ken Early, Talk Sport have Simon Jordan, The stand has Dunphy etc. As a previous poster said, their hosts just sound like lads talking down the pub, nothing unique about them.

I respect the fact that OFTB are trying to move forward but i dont think they will be successful. It will be interesting f their subscription numbers will be made public ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Paddigol

• Registered Users Posts: 15,628 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Will the subscription numbers be made public on an ongoing basis I wonder?

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭FazyLucker

I am a long term OTB listener and even remember the night the Second Captains guys abandoned the ship. I thought it was like the end of the world at the time but developed an affinity for the new OTB team, or some of them.

I like Will O'Callaghan (the only one of the whole team with a deep interest in hurling), Joe Molloy and Adrian Barry. I can't stand Ger Gilroy (arrogant, "its only a tenner a month", smug, thank god they shipped him off to the AM show), Nathan Murphy (the big obnoxious thicko from Mayo thinks he's some hero and everybody shut up and listen about life growing up in Ballyhaunis), Dave McIntyre (guy who threw his kids scooter over a ditch in a park according to an episode of the Dadcast....) and don't really like Shane Hannon very much (for the 40,000th time I'm from Monaghan) even though I liked how he pushed Kellie Harrington for an answer that time. Arthur is good and considered and doesn't speak much until he thinks, Mick McCarthy is like the guy whose good craic in the pub. The weekenders like Dan McDonnell are good.

Some of the shows on Spotify are good - Hurling Pod is excellent, Sunday Papers is great depending on who is doing it and I like the Newsround for the wrap-up of everything and a bit of craic sometimes. A Slight Tangent is great for the variety and that you don't know where the discussion will go. But all are dependent on Joe Molloy or Will O'Callaghan presenting them because the others are not very good. I think they know their limitations too because they didn't even have A Slight Tangent when Joe was off recently.

So in summary, on no planet am I paying a tenner a month for it. There's enough good free content out there and I'll find something else to listen to - its a saturated market already. If they can't make money out of it with advertisement revenue then its time to scale it back and go for quality over quantity. I'd never want to listen to a sports show at 7am in the morning and only listen back if there's something on Spotify that piques my interest.

My main sport is GAA anyway so its season over until April really as far as podcasts are concerned. I do like the individual interview with a sports star now and then but can get plenty of them elsewhere. I'm not big in to rugby, golf or football so can take or leave them so that's 80+% of the show for the next 8 months anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭left_hander

I like Off The Ball but won't be paying a tenner a month for the privilege either.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭Gusser09

How Shane Hannon is given a lost on anything is beyond tragic.

Mick McCarthy is like the annoying lad you went to school with who's opinion is the be all and end all of the debate.

It's decent enough to listen to for free but paying for it? It'd be like paying for tap water to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,709 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

They should have gone for two tiers: 5e a month for one sport, but 10e a month for everything. A fiver is standard for a specialist podcast, the tenner would seem like good value for all the other content then

• Registered Users Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Mr Disco

It’s amazing how they keep pushing women’s sports down everyone’s throats for free and now charge for everything else. Dopes

• Registered Users Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Their dismissal of the allegations made against Vera Pauw in an official report from the US also tells you a lot about them. Obviously they realise that their is a serious dearth of interest in womens sport so aren't bothering to paywall that.

Second Captains must be rubbing there hands together. They will surely eat into the market share now further as their prices are far more competitive. The narrow vision they have is incredible the more you think about it. Trying to pedal the line that they have a massive amount of content for the tenner a month. Surely those lads must realise that people are only interest in probably 20 or 30 percent of their content. Why no come up with a model to focus on that.

I'd have paid 5 a month for football and GAA. I don't want Rugby or anything else.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Joe was very forceful in saying that the allegations made towards Vera warranted a suitable response from the FAI in suggesting that they were going to look in to the allegations appropriately.

He was very critical that the FAI came out with PR type statements very quickly to respond to the various breaking stories from the US. And he said the show reached out to the FAI asking detailed questions. I really don't think they could have done any more on that story to show that they felt Pauw had questions to answer.

Also, 50% of the people on the planet are women, dismissing that as something people have no interest in only once again makes me feel sorry for any daughters any of you may have.

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭FazyLucker

Yep I would have gone

€3 a month for your chosen sport (i.e. GAA, football, rugby, golf, whatever),

€5 a month for your chosen sport + Daily (e.g. Newsround, Lunchtime Wrap, A Slight Tangent, etc)

€5 a month for 2 sports

€6 a month for everything.

The fact that they think their content is worth more than Netflix, Prime, Disney, etc is quite frankly laughable and delusional in equal measure.

I wonder if Ger "Its only a tenner a month" was the genius behind it or if it was foisted upon them by their overlords? I think he was so confident on the show the other night, it is more likely to be the former.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭YabaDabaDooley

Caught the tail end of the opening segment of the show tonight and the lads banter was in full flow. I have no idea what that McCarthy lad adds to anything but he has an incredibly annoying laugh and seems to find everything hilarious.

Anyway 'lads bants' aside good to hear John Giles weekly words of wisdom. I really hope his Thursday night slot doesn't go behind a paywall. But even if it does i have decided i won't be spending any money on a subscription.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Why do you feel the need to defend everything OTB do? I'm not even in the thread very often but every time I am you are in it defending the OTB lads against any perceived criticism.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,626 ✭✭✭bren2001

Infairness, Joe did ask questions and was slammed online for "preaching".