Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Criminal Justice (Incitement to Violence or Hatred and Hate Offences) Bill 2022 - Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 6,235 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Is a teenager with special needs except from investigation? Should they be allowed to do and say things others aren’t?

We are talking about a teenager who was out socialising and drinking, not someone who is under constant parental care.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Should they be allowed to do and say things others aren’t?

What exactly are we not allowed to say? We should be free to say pretty much what we want in a free society, obviously we're not living in free societies anymore though. Even in this case, it seems to not be a case of "homophobia", yet even if it were it should be legally tolerable. The mental state of the accused isn't that relevant to me in a legal sense, even if they were perfectly sane and competent this should not have happened.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 6,235 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

I find the bill as ridiculous as you do. But I don’t get the absolute hysteria people have over this incident just because she has “special needs”. For all we know she might have been a pain in the ass being escorted back home and that comment was the straw that broke the camel’s back, but nobody is even interested in the full picture before forming an opinion.

The lesbian nan officer did the right thing by not touching the girl getting arrested.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

obviously we're not living in free societies anymore though

I don’t know where people get the impression that we were ever living in a free society where people could say what they like. The right to freedom of expression has always been limited by way of acknowledgement that an absolute right to freedom of expression means it infringes upon the States obligation to protect all persons from unlawful discrimination, prejudice and so on.

Rather than suggesting it shouldn’t have happened, you can’t form a conclusion like that without an investigation into why it happened, and that investigation won’t be based solely upon a single source or sources which publish articles based solely upon the evidence presented by that single source.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,780 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

I was asking someone who jumps to outrage at every opportunity why they want context when a teenager with special needs Is a victim.

If you want downplay the action of the police because a child with special needs was drinking then best of luck

• Registered Users Posts: 33,330 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Justin Barret tisn't populist, he's a fascist - and people don't vote for fascists if they want freedom of speech.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Yep. As I have said all along there's no context here.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭lmao10

It's mostly just scummy far right people scared that the guards will do them over their social media posts if the bill gets passed from what I'm seeing online.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

She looks like a daughter Benny Hill might have had

• Registered Users Posts: 8,780 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

• Registered Users Posts: 8,430 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

First they came for the scummy far right people...

• Registered Users Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

People with “far right” opinions are entitled to their views the same as anyone else, be that right, left, far left or centre.

... and we said "you can have them."

And they never came back.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭lmao10

Maybe if they weren't doing things like knowingly making up fake stories about specific races and groups of people which they've been caught out doing time and time again there wouldn't be a need for the hate speech legislation. The good thing about their conduct is they are paving the way for them and others like them to have their devices seized and prosecutions going ahead which is great to see. I enjoy reading cases in the UK where you see those types getting done under their hate speech legislation.

How wide would you like to see the definition? , does “ misgendering “ warrant prosecution?

say a person living alone ,sick of having travellers call to their door offering “ services “, told them to “ fcuk off you bunch of tinkers “ , should that elderly person be prosecuted?

you said you “ enjoy reading cases “ so tell us what you hope to read about here ? , don’t be shy now

• Registered Users Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭political analyst

If a person is found to be in possession of material likely to incite hatred, that person may be presumed under the new legislation to be about to use it to incite hatred. Does this mean that bookshops in this country will have to destroy their copies of "Mein Kampf"?

No it doesn’t. You’re referring to section 10 of the proposed legislation? That’s no different than the already existing section 4 of current legislation regarding incitement to hatred:

https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1989/act/19/enacted/en/print#sec4

Mein Kampf has been available in Easons for years, there’s nothing new in it that interests the average garden variety racist, plenty of new material online to validate their persecution complex.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,839 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

That's an ironic statement to end with considering this entire piece of legislation is designed to "protect" those with persecution complexes/hurt feelings.

Sure, I can see how it might be perceived as an ironic statement to make if I agreed with you as to the intent of the legislation.

I don’t agree that is the intent of the legislation though, but I’m not going to suggest it’s ironic that you chose to point that out, because that’s just silly 😒

Or maybe people with hurt feelings should grow thicker skins, and Gardai should be out patrolling the streets dealing with real, actual crimes.

No, sorry - that doesn't give you the right to tell lies about marginalised groups simply because you're scared.

Making **** up and pretending it's true and then blaming someone else for being hurt when they call you out on it, is still making **** up. Crybullying doesn't change that.

And it's also defamation, which is already illegal.

Who are the people you’re referring to with hurt feelings who should grow thicker skins? It’s probably not the idiots who take their frustrations out on others because of whatever issues they have themselves that they want everyone to know about. They’re the people who are wasting Garda resources with Gardaí having to investigate incident reports caused by their behaviour, not the behaviour of the people who are the targets of their behaviour.

That’s how legislation functions, what makes something an offence is that it’s written in legislation. There’s no such distinction as you’re attempting to make between crime and ‘real, actual’ crime. Gardaí as it happens in any case are perfectly capable of doing both - patrolling the streets, AND preventing crime, but for what it’s worth, here’s just a sample of the kind of shìt they have to deal with, caused by idiots with hurt feels who choose to commit crimes by taking their frustrations out on other people:

A total of 617 (483 in 2021) discriminatory motives were recorded (some incidents have more than one discriminatory motive). The most prevalent discriminatory motive was race (32%), followed by Sexual Orientation (22%) and Nationality (21%). Incidents were recorded across all 9 Discriminatory motives.

https://www.garda.ie/en/about-us/our-departments/office-of-corporate-communications/press-releases/2023/march/an-garda-siochana-2022-hate-crime-data-and-related-discriminatory-motives.html

The legislation wouldn’t be necessary in the first place if it weren’t for thin-skinned idiots who think it’s their right to take their frustrations out on others. They’re the people who should be told keep their feelings to themselves, exercise self-control, grow up and stop expecting to be cosseted by the law when everyone really, not just Gardaí, have better things to be doing than having to endure their bullshìt.

Sorry, but people have the right to tell lies, even if we don't like them. Lies that damage the reputation of another are already on the statute books i.e. defamation, libel etc.

The religious have been telling harmful lies for decades, but we don't seek to censor or imprison them.

I would rather have a resilient generation, who are taught to rise above others, rather than have a generation of weaklings who actively go out of their way to seek offense. We are encouraging offense-seeking. Look at what happened in the UK with that demonic police officer, how she felt emboldened by hate speech legislation.

I can assure you that if that legislation were not on the statute books, the officer wouldn't even have thought of arresting her.

The term “ marginalised group “ is a politically and ideologically loaded one , many groups which progressives deem “ marginalised “ are not disadvantaged at all , on the contrary, they have immunity from the law

I'm gay and I shudder with embarrassment when a third-party, who is probably not gay, describes me as "part of a marginalized group".

I don't feel marginalized at all! I feel like a full and equal member of society, and I wish to hell that other people wouldn't constantly refer to us as "marginalized". I'm not part of a "group" either; I'm an individual in society, no different or special than anyone else.

Go to Saudi Arabia if you want to see what actual marginalization of gay people looks like.

Don't apply it here, where we're free and fair and tolerant.

This hate speech legislation, as I say, is only for the perpetually offended -- and for people who want to be offended on my behalf, without my permission.

No one has the right to tell defamatory lies and you know that. Religion is a terrible anaology and you know this too, so how about we stop wasting each other's time with blatantly false analogies* we both know don't hold water, eh?

And this is nothing to do with taking offense - this just being bloody honest and respectful.

*in case it needs stating: religion puts forward theories based on faith that they believe ARE true, this is not lying. Nor dis it do this to disparage anyone else.

No they're not as well you know - and coming from a poster who tried to claim that transgender topics for teenage school students included "scat" and "fisting", you're a prime example of one of the people I'm talking about.

Claiming "oh don't be so offended" is just a sidescreen to hide the fact that you got caught telling lies and are too arrogant to accept it.

Nobody has to defer to you specifically or ask your permission before they refer to any marginalised group in Irish society. Nobody has to go to Saudi Arabia either to see what marginalisation of gay people looks like, it happens here in Ireland already, in spite of legislation which recognises some rights of gay people.

It doesn’t treat gay people as equals, regardless of how you feel like you are a full and equal member of Irish society. The fact is, you’re not treated as a full and equal member of society entitled to the same rights as other men who are not gay, but I’m guessing your poor knowledge of Irish law means you’re not even aware of the fact.

Hate speech legislation isn’t for the perpetually offended, it’s to protect people from the perpetually offended types who imagine it is their right to inflict harm upon other people, marginalised groups in society in particular, and I’ve already given you the stats on that, completely unrelated to your own perception that anyone should care that you see yourself as an individual. The fact is that there are people in Irish society who don’t see you as an individual, but as a member of a minority group who as the poster above suggests - aren’t disadvantaged at all, and are immune from the law!

It’s not true of course, and like you said - people are entitled to lie. At least while it’s not a crime, it’s still shìtty behaviour, particularly if you’re expecting other people to be treated in accordance with your lies.

Oh but religious people are also the target of this legislation too (and I'm not religious at all, by the way).

Take the example in the UK last year, where a Christian misgendered a trans person on the street -- and was subsequently arrested:

Dave McConnell, 42, was convicted in August under section 4A Public Order Act 1986 after he referred to a biological male who presented as a female by addressing the individual as "he" during a conversation with a police officer, according to his legal counsel at the London-based Christian Legal Centre.

McConnell was detained for 14 hours at the local police station, which flies an LGBTQ flag outside its building. A local judge convicted him in August and sentenced him to pay costs of £620 and perform 80 hours of community service. The Probation Service also reported McConnell to Prevent, which polices allegations of terrorism in the U.K.

McConnell won on appeal.

Now you dismissed the Christian analogy by saying that they, "put forward theories based on faith that they believe ARE true". Well many people in society believe that self-identification is based on "faith", too, which its adherents believe are true, too.

So no, your point fails utterly.

Oh but religious people are also the target of this legislation too

They’re not, so your point doesn’t even get off the starting block 😒

Excellent post but the bill is not just for the easily offended, it’s for victim industry hustlers who earn a living portraying certain groups as inherent victims of society

it’s utterly divisive and threatens social cohesion by politicising everything