Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTÉ admits paying Tubridy €345,000 more than declared

• Registered Users Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

I think its a bit different to some of ye. Sure, a lot of people have stopped paying the licence fee. And no doubt that's partly related to the controversy.

But if RTE had moved quickly, apologised for the mistakes made and put Ryan back on the radio immediately it'd have blown over very quickly. Keeping their top presenter off the radio isn't going to encourage people to stump up. Obviously. And it's just drawing more heat to the unfortunate affair.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,568 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Perhaps you might rephrase that. The top paid presenter is not the same as "top presenter.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,137 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Sure, in this alternate universe where people aren't paying the licence fee cos "top presenter" Tubridy is off air, let us know how RTE's licence fee revenue is holding up.

Did your version of Tubridy actually apologise and return his ill gotten gains or donate them to some suitable charity?

Because your post doesn't connect to this universe in any way shape or form.

You probably undersold yourself there.

I mean is Tubridy only "their top presenter"? Not the country's foremost broadcaster???

Most beloved broadcaster???

No, won't someone please think of the children comment???

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,788 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

What 'ill gotten' gains did Tubs get? He got what he was contracted to get.

He is the country's most beloved broadcaster, that's just a fact. And taking him off the air is not going to help anything.

Come on, he doesn't have any 'ill gotten gains', Ryan got paid the amount RTE agreed to pay him, he didn't steal it from anyone. Perspective seems to be sadly lacking in the whole discussion.

I'd like to think that RTE can come out of this a more settled place, the nation doesn't need this very cross sniping at the national broadcaster. Ryan's return is an important step in moving forward, and it's upsetting that it has been so drawn out.

He got payment for services he didn't perform. Some of the Renault events never happened and on top of that, he invoiced for time when he wasn't on air.

It was a unique method of payment, and unfortunate for sure, but RTE management wanted it to be so. Ryan just got the money. He'd have been happy enough to be paid in a much more straightforward way.

And you know well Ryan would love to be back on the air, RTE have decided not to put him on even though he has done nothing wrong, it's up to them, and it would make far more sense to pay him to do what he is best at rather than sitting at home wishing he was there. It's actually crazy stuff from RTE, paying Ryan to do nothing while at the same time increasing the risk of him going to England. Taking him off the air won't look so smart if that happens.

Beloved by whom? Many couldn't stand him long before this controversy. Just because he was foisted on us by Rté doesn't mean that he was wanted or even tolerated. I still don't understand how those Nielsen numbers are calculated. Given the significant percentage who no longer watch broadcast media, the percentages who are asleep or out socialising at 9:30pm on a Friday night and the various other competing options available, I'm always astonished at how high the alleged viewership that the likes of the LLS get.

They were ill gotten because they were paid by necessity as under the counter payments. By necessity to shield them from proper scrutiny within RTE. For work not even done. For sham work specifically set up to enable him to be paid off the books.

They were ill gotten as they were invoiced under false pretences.

They were ill gotten because he lied (by omission) about them in public, and to his colleagues.

So yes, ill gotten gains obtained by improper means.

It is astonishing, genuinely.

In such cynical times it doesn't pay to say this, but Ryan's personality and professionalism have managed to sustain an old style format through the most challenging era since the opening of RTE. I doubt anyone else could have kept it going at a time when streaming rose so dramatically.

Of course there are people who don't like Ryan, and I hope he never reads this thread, but he is beloved by the Irish people. There can be no doubt about that. As well as being a popular phenomenon his work has been judged very positively by multiple critics also. And taking him off the air, opening up the possibility of him being poached by a station in England or the US, is real own goal stuff from RTE.

Crazy statement. Ryan wasn't the one looking to be paid in this way, RTE management wanted to do it like this. It would have been better for everyone if they had done it in a more transparent way. Ryan facilitated them, and all he has gotten is abuse.

I don't wish to insult anyone but the country has a lot of begrudgers who seem to just not like Ryan. They're actually glad to have a chance to complain about him. It's awful and I hope he isn't too upset by it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,225 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

If RTE try to bring Tubs back, they'll harden public attitudes to paying licence fees. And you can be sure that advertisers seen to support his output will be badmouthed. He's toxic.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,495 ✭✭✭Damien360

I cannot believe this whole thread is just focusing on Tubs. He is just the tip of the iceberg of all that is wrong in RTE. Making him the story makes the public forget about the rest of the mess. He will be back and RTE will be delighted that the story focuses only on him. It can be pushed aside in time on the basis of mental health issues having to deal with this and it will all be forgotten.

A plank of wood could have easily sustained the format during the last decade. Nothing changed, zero evolution. The same dwindling grey haired community and a few traditionally minded enthusiasts tuned in by default. No one cared that the presenter had a rigid personality and couldn't cope if the conversation went off piste or deviated in the slightest from his cue cards.

Your last line shows that you are clearly taking the proverbial and are just winding us up. An own goal? This is the same presenter that is begging for his old job back because no one wants him in the UK, US or even local radio here.

Abuse wasn't 'all' Tubridy got was it?

There's the small matter of the hundreds of thousands of euros resting in his account for which he did no work.

Nice work if you can't get it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Let him go to England, or the US. How many people have been forced abroad to work, due to endemic corruption and cure-hoorism at govt and semi-state organisations, much like tubridy and rte? Is he not a man of the people? Has he not said he feels the pain and "we are all in this together"? A few years abroad in solidarity will do him the world of good.

Claire Byrne getting first dibs on the new report released a few minutes ago. The official cover up and muddying of waters moves into a new phase.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭hawley

Anyone else have trouble believing that Tubs just decided to waive e120,000? NK harassed Dee Forbes to ensure that Tubridy’s pay didn't decrease but we're meant to believe that he forgoed that money. Something very funny going on he. Just seems like they're doing every to get him back on board. I don't believe the story being portrayed here.

Ball of smoke as explained so far - Tubs was getting €500K plus in 2017-2019 and knew it. But RTE were able to claim he took a cut and Tubs was able to bask in his virtuous modesty.

Dishonesty to the public on both sides, from RTE and Tubs.

Imagine paying €500K for the clown :(

The idea Ryan would struggle to get another job is very flawed, he already did some work for the BBC and they were delighted with him. He is perhaps the greatest presenter in the English speaking world over the last 20 years. Some people won't acknowledge that, but facts are facts and objective people in broadcasting will acknowledge his brilliance.

While some negative and jealous people in the press would love to see Ryan gated, have no doubt the top people in RTE know how talented he is and so they are trying to assuage the haters while stringing Ryan along, which is very unfair to him.

I understand people are angry and feel there has been a breach of trust, but Ryan simply isn't the one responsible.

It would have been much better if he had been paid conventionally, of course. But he facilitated RTE, he has a loyalty to the station, and he's paying for that now. It is grossly unfair, anyone can see that.

• Registered Users Posts: 869 ✭✭✭fplfan12345

It’s very interesting that RTE didn’t just throw him under the bus.

They could have protected themselves and all their cushy jobs but they didn’t.

Why ? What is it and how deep does it go ?

He has been vindicated. He actually waived a six figure payment, but hardly a word about it. But Kevin Backhurst wants him to return money that RTE opted to pay him.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Doc07

You’ve made it obvious in fairness to a reasonable observer on a couple of occasions that you are just taking the absolute mick but it might be worth stating as a reminder in this thread : there has been no evidence presented from anyone , anywhere about any offers to RT from anywhere, fromother Irish stations or abroad. No reasonable adult would think he would get anything near his RTE pay from anyone else.

The article in the Sun about RT and NK meeting execs in UK was just desperate PR nonsense and again didn’t even happen.

The RT pay is just a bad example from a larger issue of poor governance in RTÉ . The headlines should really be all about the former DG who has resigned in disgrace and some of the other execs but it’s natural for the media to focus on the ‘celebrity’ involved.

However, IMO no reasonable adult could come out with this line unless they are spoofing or distracting:

‘It was a unique method of payment, and unfortunate for sure, but RTE management wanted it to be so. Ryan just got the money. He'd have been happy enough to be paid in a much more straightforward way.’

It is clear to anyone of an average reading age now that RT was far from ‘happy enough to be paid in a more much straightforward way’. Because that would have meant a pay cut like all the other top paid presenters took, including those represented by NK.

RT and NK arranged a unique deaL with the now disgraced DF (former DG) to keep the same pay while allowing RTÉ to pretend all top presenters including RT took a paycut. Why it is so obvious to anyone but a small child/spoofer/feeble minded that RT was not completely naive to all this is that NK (nor DF) did not arrange this for anyone else except RT.

It’s not crime of the century and he’s entitled to some due process and make a stake at keeping his lucrative career but that doesn’t mean reality has to be denied or facts changed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭tom23

You are possibly right. But so pessimistic on how this country works…

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭hollypink

He is perhaps the greatest presenter in the English speaking world over the last 20 years.

I thought the poster was being genuine and just really liked RT until I read this 😄

I went for lunch with 3 friends a few days ago and out of us four, one liked Ryan Tubridy, listened to his show and wanted him back on RTE. So I've no doubt there would be plenty more people who want him back on the air. I have severe doubts that RTE will be able to build public confidence anyway so the license fee losses will continue. I think the government will be forced to introduce a broadcasting charge, collected by Revenue I suppose.

Ryan has already done some work for the BBC, they'd be delighted to get him. I've no doubt those meetings did happen, people with Ryan's talent don't go on trees and there certainly would be more opportunities for him in the UK.

One thing I will agree with you on is that the focus should be on the executives who decided to pay Ryan in this way. It would have been better if they had come out and said 'we're not cutting Ryan's pay because he is too valuable, and we can't risk losing him'. Everyone would have understood and at this stage I'm sure Ryan feels he should have insisted on doing that. But he is being punished now for a poor management decision even though he has broken no regulations himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭tom23

In fairness, the most trusted man in Ireland, the man with the most sunny disposition and kindness knows no limits. He is vindicated and so say we all.

I'm not saying he is definitely the greatest, but he is certainly in that conversation. The UK certainly has no one like him, none of the Americans I'd be familiar with could lace his boots either, no offence to them.