Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Murder of Joe Deacy

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭MaccaTacca

I see this scum bag and his family/friends/Mayo GAA bogtrotting cronies were back out defacing another Justice For Joe mural the other day.

This case really boils my blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,886 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

I pass these justice signs frequently on my travels and I'm shocked at how quickly the reminders are "lawfully" dismantled by the county council (while similar ones aren't). I'm further more shocked at how quickly they are vandalised, defaced & destroyed in the darkness of night.

It's not a good look, it stinks and it's contemptible, reprehensible & pure cowardly. All it takes is one good person to stand up, be brave & expose the rats & vermin that bully the weaklings in to silent submission & obedience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Probably not the best idea in the world to ask for identifying content on here.

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭sonnyblack

Has anyone heard a rumour that a fatal car crash involving 2 individuals had alleged significant links to the Deacy murder case. If it had I hope the truth comes out in public

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭drserious4

No but can you elaborate?

I'm not sure how much I'm allowed to say on boards but the 2 people killed were meant to be as close as you could possibly get to the case .i.e directly involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

^^^ What month was the car crash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭sugarman20

That's interesting but I'm not aware of any crash in Mayo recently where 2 people died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭crusd

There was, right near the end of the road on which the house in question is located. Quite high profile. I think it may possibly be a case of 1 + 1 =1,000,000

edit: only one killed in that crash

FYI it wasnt recently but earlier this year and 2 people were killed

No I don't think there is any connection.

The individuals killed were well known to the Guards for other matters. That information was found out talking to a stranger in a casual conversation in a fleeting visit to the county. It just illustrates what everyone on the ground knows. The guards know exactly who was/is involved but cant prove it. What's needed now is for some newspaper editor with a bit of backbone to name the 2 individuals publically and link them to the murder of Joe Deacy so that their live accomplices can be tracked down and charged.

How many were in the house on the night in question?

I dont know that. The owners of the house and their son have been publically named on a comment made on a facebook page. I think the parents were away on the night in question.

Wow. That might explain why every effort has been made to brush this murder under the carpet for so long. RIP Joe. Didnt deserve the sad end you got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭crusd

Those two lads in that one were local enough to the area involved alright.

What I have heard is that they were “known to the gardai”, one of them at least anyway, however haven’t heard any rumours connecting them to the murder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

There are a few high profile cases in Ireland - all murder cases- where the investigation has stalled, simply because witnesses refuse to come forward.

It’s obvious from the annual updates at anniversary time from the Gardai that they know certain people have certain information and are unwilling to come forward- these aren’t just information fishing expeditions which happen too, it’s clear they know who they’re waiting on to walk into their station.

Without cooperation from the key witnesses, it’s unlikely this case will ever see the inside of the courtroom.

Someone mentioned newspapers being “brave” in naming people- I think that’s a terrible idea as it goes against our justice system- flawed as it might be, it’s all we got between us and anarchy.

If these people are still young enough, and if Gardai have determined a level of clarity around what happened that might based on evidence, then time is the only thing that might help solve this case/ but it could be 40 years from now or longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭ZookeeperDub

Newspaper can't print the name of someone based on whispers and gossip. You didn't even get right the number of people killed in the crash so not sure why you think they should print something

Nobody made an effort to brush it under the carpet. The evidence is not available based on reports

If everyone was arrested because of comments on facebook we would all be in jail.

People gossip. People make up stories to impress people. It certainly sounds like that in this case. As posted I would expect the Gardai know who it was but without evidence they can't do anything.

Plenty of Irish got threw into UK jails with no evidence or corrupt evidence over the years. Sorry we don't need the Gardai following the corrupt English legal system

People defacing murals creating awareness of a murder/asking for assistance... can only be two types: psychopaths, or involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭Gael85

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭monty_python

Someone pm me his name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭Xander10

Sad listening to his father on the radio today. Shame on the people staying silent. Also feels like the gardai only made a half hearted effort to solve.

Maybe one day, justice will be done.

As was suggested, the local guards need to be told to step down and hand over all their information to a new team to begin again. It's totally unacceptable. The people of that town should hang their heads in shame. Someone knows what happened that night and should have the decency to come forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,482 ✭✭✭AllForIt

This is bizarre. Why would anyone approach a councilor to withdraw support for pressuing the guards to do more?

A Mayo elected representative has revealed he has been subjected to intimidation since becoming involved in the campaign to seek justice for Joe Deacy who was murdered while holidaying in Mayo on August, 2017.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,035 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Probably the same person that "advised" a member of his family to "drop it" in the months after the killing.

And the same people involved in having the memorial removed from the side of the road along with damaging the sign. The pressure is on.

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭MaccaTacca

One of the suspets is a specialised agricultural professional that has a lot of dealings with Mayo Co Council.

In fairness, it must be a living hell waking up every day knowing that someday, you are likely to get arrested and charged with this crime. I am amazed no one has cracked yet, it is only a matter of time with the pressure being applied.

Not with the current plods on it. They've had long enough. Time to up the ante and appoint a new team in as very public manner. That would really put the pressure on.

Recent radio interview on RTE1 with the family and friends.

Part 1 - https://www.rte.ie/radio/radio1/clips/22286270/

Part 2 - https://www.rte.ie/radio/radio1/clips/22286826/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭ZookeeperDub

You keep repeating this

The Gardai or "plods" can do nothing without evidence. The people who know are not providing it.

That's how the law works....you can't just throw people in jail because you think they committed a crime.

And I will keep repeating it despite what you think or say because this 'Let the local guards do their work' attitude has resolved nothing. It's been 6 years since the murder. The local garda team have not made any progress. They should be replaced with another team from outside the county to start again. You read about Councillor Brendan Mulroy being asked by persons unknown to drop his support for the family. The whole thing stinks from start to finish. If you were living outside the country and read about this murder, you would be given the impression that because Joe was english, it doesn't matter as much. The people of that town should hang their heads in shame. They're a disgrace.

Doesn't have to even be a conscience but there should be a real fear of consequences. To my mind, the pressure is enormous and growing and I would be surprised if there weren't arrests soon.

Speaking of the Gardai.

Could the known person(s) who are intimidating the TD etc not be charged with this offence? At least it would put the bullies in the spotlight?

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭ascophyllum

I haven't heard anything about that car crash and people involved with the murder killed in crash. Who was killed? The son in the family? Parents? Friends of son?

Also the councillor story is bizarre, it should be easy to identify who is intimidating him and that could then tell a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Presumably it's being done more subtly than 'drop it or your house gets petrol-bombed'. Even the councillor in question just said 'he was approached indirectly to withdraw his support for the Deacy family'. So whilst he was probably correct to read intimidation into it, it's probably not enough to actually stand up to legal scrutiny if it was done without overt threats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,035 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Unfortunately those lacking a conscience often don't fear consequences. With this in mind I can't see any of those involved in the cover up cracking. It's up to the guards to make a break through in this case but without physical evidence it's going to be hard.

Even commenting on this thread is no harm. The more people that see the name 'Joe Deacy' the more that will take an interest in it. Fair play to the family for keeping it going, the pressure is on.

Full page on the case in the Irish Independent today.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 mr torchlight

So just to refresh.. There was three people in the house with joe..

Mother and father asleep and the lad who was out drinking with Joe..

Am I right with that?

If they depening on one of them to talk now its hard see how case can be solved.. joe and his family deserve justice

I genuinely don't know for sure but the son was definitely in the house.

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭ascophyllum

A lot of it goes back to the Gardai who initially showed up on the scene; a guy dying of serious head injuries, a family who show indifference and don't even want to travel in the ambulance with him and the Gardai just decide he must have fallen down the stairs and leave it at that. Crazy. No attempt to collect evidence or preserve the scene. Vital blood and hair evidence etc. which would show where and who murdered him wasn't collected. They have a lot to answer for.

It is likely that they didn't want to ruffle the feathers of a family whose son played football for Mayo and the dad who works in a high level public service job with Mayo CoCo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭suvigirl

Do you think those people that currently won't assist the local Gardai are suddenly going to start confessing everything to new out of town Gardai??

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Upthepubs

I often read people asking 'how can those responsible sleep at night'

They sleep easy as they are embraced by many in the local community, made welcome in the local shop(s), pubs, church and of course the GAA club, where the 'supposed' suspects are still coaching kids and actually playing, which is obviously a disgrace. A massive own goal by the club, who often get so much right in the community.

Recent Indo article with Joe's mother - https://imgur.com/a/qgzdCWe

One of the recent radio pieces, mentioned that a roadside memorial was removed by the Co Co. Only case I've ever heard of where this has happened, presume citing some planning permission rule.