Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No Reduction in USC in Budget - Mod warning post #261

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,346 ✭✭✭Gusser09

There's thousands of people who are fraudulently claiming. I think the guy is talking BS to be honest but I wouldn't be making moral judgements either. The dept. are very happy to let long time scroungers and wasters take the piss based on their address or family history but they aren't as quick or accepting of people who are genuinely on hard times.

It's off topic but I have always wondered how so many first time applications for entitlements are rejected only to be allowed on appeal. A policy of putting a pencil through them wouldn't be far fetched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭DownByTheGarden

Yes and im going to make my first collection next week (hopefully, assuming this birth cert is the last thing they ask for and they start giving me collection dates) and then im off on holidays during dates i will know are going to be collection days (thats if you and others here are correct and there is a chance of them refusing. Im pretty sure you are wrong tbh). So I already asked and they said it will be fine. When I actually get all sorted out and given actual collection dates and the money is flowing and then I say, i wont make the next few collection dates, im off on holiday for those dates, can you give an alternative - i'll know for absolute sure at that point wont i?

I really dont understand why you are grasping at straws here. I was pretty clear I thought. Do I have to spell everything out in minute detail in case I put a wrong word in somewhere? God help me on my spelling mistakes in that case. But sure if thats all you have, go for it. Pretty sad for you though that you go through sentences typed in that detail and thats your lot. You have a desperate top be right here dont you? Sad.

You have it in one. There are many lifetime customers of the DSP who are not touched.

I also find it incredible that DSP means tests for the likes of carers allowance is carried out on the partners gross salary. Not net salary. Again though it's only really working families and working people who get crucified by the Revenue and DSP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭Ezeoul

I haven't made any moral judgements other than I don't condone welfare fraud.

I believe this guy is a spoofer, pure and simple, and he is definitely not the mastermind he thinks he is.

He has tripped himself up more than once, but it's quite entertaining to read how he keeps trying to keep the pretense going.

This is where your complete lack of research shows you up yet again.

The details on the rules around holidays (max two weeks per year) and also on collections (in person, within 3 days of issue at the post office) are very specific.

The information has been posted and linked for you on the thread if you are in any doubt of it's validity, and the civil servants in DSP do not have discretion to work outside these rules.

I don't need to "prove I'm right" about what is clearly stated on the DSP website and in the Operational Guidelines for jobseekers payments.

The only person grasping at straws here, is yourself.

Maybe you should consider taking up writing, once you do something about your grammar and spelling. I'd say you could write some fabulous fairytales. 🧚‍♂️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,580 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

You don't need to fly in every week to get it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Blut2

Yes, you do. You have to collect your money in the post office in person, with your PSC card that shows its you doing the collecting, every week. If you don't collect the money within 3 days of it being issued to the post office its returned to the DSP, the money doesn't wait for you.

As DownByTheGarden is going to rather hilariously find out, despite his claimed months of planning.

Exactly why I dont expect much of a problem. Im sure Ezeoul here is probably calling the police and everything they are so upset and grasping at anything. Probably not happy that an enabler is leaving the tax tap and they might have to get a job or something. Keeps spouting on about how smart the DSP are and how they are going to throw me in jail etc. Keeps looking up rules on the internet that the CAB are going to come after me with. Probaly thinks they are going to break down my door. Sure they arent even interested in ctahing the people walking into their offices in work clothes or in people they got hot tips about where they work and so on. Probably taking home 50k in all sorts of benefits. Why would they be coming after me? Sure im a net contributor. And what major crime am i breaking. Im going on the dole when i am not working. Woopeee, im terrified of getting caught. Im more scared that Ezeoul is going to pull me up on a bad spelling and camp in my garden to punish me tbh.

Ezeoul can kill me with links on the internet. Imagine the amount of people getting away with murder and on the scratcher their entire lives while dealing drugs etc and Ezeoul has solved it all. He will send them to prison by posting links on a web page. Its genius really. He should go to the gardai and show them his skills at crime prevention.

You really don't pay attention to details, so you?

30+ years career civil servant here, and earning enough that if I wanted to flitter about taking loads of holidays, I could retire legitimately and do so, without having to scam the State in order to pay for it.

But sure, throw all the personal insults you want, it's water of a duck's back to me. Your descent into such childish behaviour merely demonstrates you're losing your carefully fabricated facade. Nor did I mention your spelling or grammar until you did.

I have definitely touched a nerve!

Thats even better than I thought people were saying it was earlier. Sure if what you are saying is true the money comes in on a Tuesday I can collect it that day, then go away to Nice or Malaga or wherever on the Tuesday and not have to come back until the Friday after next? More if collection day was a Wednesday? I dont think id last that long in one place before id have to come home for a while anyway. Usually one 3 week holiday a year is plenty, then shorter breaks for the rest of the year. Imagine how handy it would be if I wanted to go on traveling every few weeks too.

But as I said. Assuming they give me a collection day next week, i'll be telling them im off for a few weeks. Lets see if what they say. Somehow i dont think they are going to wag the finger like the posters here and go, sorry cancel your holidays, but sure you never know.

30+ years career civil servant here. That explains a lot :)

No wonder you are the only one who thinks the civil service are efficient. All the while living off the the disgraceful taxes we have to pay to fund your wages. I knew you were overly triggered at the prospect of the tax take taking a hit. Now I see why. Sure its less to go into your pocket for doing SFA all day. Have you got much done the last few days while you were furiously looking up links on the web to frighten me with?

Am I seriously the only one who is sick of the amount of taxes I pay and it being wasted on master investigators like you? Surely not.

As I said earlier. I think people thnk im going to be flying away every day on dole day and back in on the next dole day 365 days a year. That I would say is impossible alright. But what I intend to do im pretty sure is easily done. Plenty of people doing it already. I seriously cant see it being as difficult as people here are making it out, but i havent done it yet, so theres always a chance i cant. No matter how much tax money has been spend paying Ezeoul while they furiously post links and look for spelling mistakes, I honestly dont believe i'll be the only JB recipient who ever missed a few collection days.

Unlike you, I am not going to descend to your level by making this personal.

I have merely posted easily verified facts, as per the DSP operational guidelines on jobseekers payments.

You have a nice rest of your day now, and be sure to send us all a postcard from all your fantasy travels. 🤣

Ah yes Malaga, where the cheapest return flights to Dublin over the next month are 180euro. Plus the costs of getting to and from airports four times which will be at least another 20-30euro. That will certainly be financially worthwhile paying every week to come home and claim 220euro. 10euro of pure profit for circa 12hours spent traveling, you'd make more money per hour begging on the street.

You seem to be rather desperate to justify this poorly thought out plan, you've posted thousands of words in 20+ posts in this thread. You could probably invest all that time and effort into a rather more lucrative money making scheme if you applied yourself a bit better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

Hello Mods!!!

This thread has not seriously off topic....

If the scamming the dole scheme guy wants to start his own thread then go ahead, but this is about No reduction in USC....

Again with the not reading. Jesus you even cherry picked the most expensive flights of the 3 examples off the top of my head i picked of places i could go if i felt like it. Thats grasping. I dont know how many times ive said here where im going to in a few weeks. It wasnt Malaga. Scroll up. If I was going to Malaga it wouldnt be during the summer or shoulder months. I'll pick when i want to go. And only 2 posts above your post i explained how often i'll be going, which isnt near as long as people are still assuming i'll be away. I really dont understand why I have to explain to you over and over again what you can read in reply to your own questions. Even if I wanted to go to Malaga next month for €180 I could. I can afford it. The point of getting JB is for us to get €20k tax free into our hands. It doesnt mean we cant afford to live just because we get an extra €20k tax free instead of having to earn €40k out at work to get that money.

Anyway this is what im doing. The reason? I am not happy with the taxes I was paying. Totally relevant to the thread, but it got derailed by people not being able to read and making wild assumptions and posting web search rules and gotchas etc. "oh no you cant do that. Its impossible because Malaga flights are €180 a month next month" blah blah. The flights there are only less than €30 in November, maybe i'll go to Malaga for a few days then if I feel like it. Ive a friend living there that I havent visited in a few years. Maybe i'll give him a shout. Maybe i'll go somewhere else. I already have my next holiday booked so it wont be Malaga. Its really not that hard to do what im doing, even though you seem to think it is.

Coming on and Saying that im not going to be able to get JB because your reason is that I wont be able to collect my JB if I go on the holiday i have had booked for months or you give a specific example that I have to collect it in the post office on a Tuesday and then if i fly to Malaga that day for €180 and back the next Tuesday it would scupper my plans to get JB. Come on, use the noggin. Well sure i'll fly somewhere with a cheaper flight on a different day if I even am going away that week at all. And I doubt very much that they will prevent me going on my already booked holiday either. How many times do I have to explain to you that I am doing this and its not exactly rocket science to do it - there are 10s of thousands if not more doing it.

If they had of even dropped the USC like they promised I might still be working, but fat chance of that. So im moving to the other end of the tax tit now and going to suck it instead of fill it up. I doubt im the only one who feels that way.

So maybe the poster above is correct that we should just get back to the topic of how people feel about no reduction in the USC in the budget. And i'll do my thing and you can go on assuming its impossible for me to do.

You are right. Was just explaining how im reacting to the broken promises and high taxes. So I got taken off topic with all the armchair experts telling me its impossible to have a good life while collecting taxes instead of supplying them. Im one of 10s of thousands. and the number is growing. why? Because people are sick of being bled for tax in this country. Ive lots of friends and colleagues eager to see how i get on and all ready to join me once I prove its doable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,768 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

If you're only on 20k after tax working full time then going on the dole kind of make sense.

Most mortgage owners/households would be on significantly more that that which is why it would not be a viable option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭Sconsey

Still posting your nonsense even after promising to leave the thread alone and focus on your imaginary private messages of congratulations instead!

Still claiming that you are not doing anything wrong or not committing a crime when you have described in detail how you plan to defraud the social welfare system and also hide income from the revenue system....ehhh that is wrong and is a crime.

Still playing the martyr 'net contributor' angle, you know there are hundreds of thousands (maybe millions?) of us who are net contributors? there would not be any public services otherwise.

Deluded.

Folks just remember when FG/FF are doing the rounds for the next election to remind them that the USC was an emergency tax brought in as a temporary measure and that you won't be voting for them again until they get rid of it.

Email them too.

The working person will get shafted here as usual. Probably be another 8 quid a week better off all in all.

Economic boom my hole.

Jesus lads have no brains to engage between you.

At the end of the I am finished with paying tax. years of hard work and earning have put me in a position where I can now choose how I live my life, be it working or not. I feel I am owed a lot of tax back as what i got in return for it over the years is a pittance compared to what other people get, yet I seem to me paying another tax each year and promises of abolishing of the USC never were kept.

So what have I done. I have engineered a situation where we can get €20k a year or our tax back and use the already taxed money weve saved and put away over the years to live on and not have to give up 45 hours each a week for only half of what we earn. Its not like im the first person in the country to get JB and have other hidden means now is it. More like the 100,000th

So keep sitting there on the ditch sniping all you like but the simple fact is Ive left the work force. I no longer will be paying tax (well ill be paying a little, but not much compared to what I was).

What I am doing is the result of failed promises to help those who get up in the morning yada yada yada. Now im not getting up in the morning anymore. Enough.

Pretty sure im not the only person who feels they have been rode as a tax payer either. Im sure you are all delighted with the taxes you pay and what you get for it and feel free to keep giving up half of any bonus, overtime etc.

So yes, i am finishing explaining how im doing it since you keep coming back and picking holes in it. If you have half a braincell and just read my posts, everything is there for you to understand how it is being arranged. Im not the only one who can explain to you how to reverse your tax paying either. There are lterally hndreds of thousands of people you can ask ho wits possible.

So Sconsey, if you really want to go back on topic then just read all my previous posts, get any info you need from there (its all there) and stop answering me with stupid posts, and just post what you think or what you are doing about no reduction in USC in the Budget. Ive posted whet im doing. What are you doing?

There will not be large increases in most people's Nett Pay if USC is removed. It also includes the Health Levy which was previously in PRSI. The Health Levy will just move back into PRSI.

Sure it's ok. I'd miss not having a full A4 page as my payslip with all of the taxes.

"I have engineered a situation"

You're deluded, you can't even admit to yourself that the solution you have 'engineered' is to rob the social welfare system and hide income from the revenue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭I see sheep

🤣 Christ

I still think your whole story is made up but anyway just to play along -

'sitting there on the ditch sniping all you like...'

Every single post you make is you 'sniping' about the unfair system 😥

A system that has allowed you to accumulate a load of money from a cushy civil service job, yet you're still raging about how working life has been unfair to you.

You probably got that job straight out of college and have been on the civil service gravy train straight away, never lost your job during recessions, never had to struggle.

You probably bought a house when they were cheap in the early 90s but consider yourself a real estate guru because your house has quadrupled in value.

You've had an easy life and instead of being thankful you just whinge non-stop about people on the dole 🤣 while planning to scam the dole yourself.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

See making assumptions again. All of which are wrong, every single assumption in that post.

You can read the facts from my posts. Ive had to repeat them often enough for people who cant read. Its all there for you to scroll up and read. I really cant add anymore or make it easier to understand for you. But you cant help it can you. If you really want to get back on the topic then get back on it. Tell us why we should be happy with how our taxes are used?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭I see sheep

I didn't say anything about getting back on topic. I couldn't care less about the USC.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

Hilarious, a 600 word reply! You seem very triggered. Its not our fault that your plan is going to fail at the first hurdle, I'm sorry people have broken it to you.

Just wait until you hear about how the DSP monitor flights at airports, that'll really get you worked up...

DBTG is most definitely not a civil servant.

If he was, he'd be much better informed on the conditions of Jobseekers payments and he'd also know how to read the operational guidelines - or even Citizens Information which has the basics.

He wouldn't be here freaking out and word vomiting because the many flaws in his "engineered situation" are being pointed out to him.

The guy actually thinks he will be able to swan off on as many trips as he likes, and that DSP will be happy to work around his jaunts and arrange alternative collection dates to suit him.

That is not how it works. The limit is two weeks max absence is permitted from the State, in any 12 month period. So while he may be allowed one trip, he will not be allowed multiple absences from the State while collecting JSB.

As someone else phrased it above "that annoying must be available for, and seeking full time work" condition.

So many holes in his plan. He better hope he does not piss-off any neighbors with his AirBnB scam either, it is very easy to report someone to the revenue. All it will take is some tourist to park their rental car in front of a neighbors drive once or twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭relax carry on

What a car crash of a thread. Is there a fantasy writers section on boards it could be moved to?

They only think im a civil servant because i can post here all day.

Look, I dont care whether people believe im able to do what ive described for you all in great detail. I dont really care if they think im a civil servant or a zoo keeper. I dont care if they think i was born lucky or unlucky. You lot sure seem very interested in me.

It matters not to me if you believe that im doing it or not. Doesnt change my life in any way. none whatsoever.

The main thing here is that you dont seem to think that people can get JB and not be looking for work or available for work or cant travel while they are on it. If you believe that its impossible to do that then you clearly are living in cuckoo land. A nice life (well much better than working for 45 years anyway) can be had while drawing the amount of social welfare we can get in Ireland.

And what makes people do this (lets just assume for a minute that you have been convinced that its possible to get JB and not be looking for work)? What makes people do this is that it pays better to be a tax taker than a tax giver nowadays for a lot of people.

So lets imagine you are right and its impossible for me to do. Do you really think its not happening all over the place? There comes a point when the tax burden is just not worth the return. Its kinda like with landlords at the moment giving it up when people think they are creaming it. The effort/return is upside down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,156 ✭✭✭Allinall

Landlords leaving the market are not deliberately defrauding the state.

that's the difference.

Would you listen to yourself. First you cant read, then you think the DSP are monitoring airports for me. Sure i'll be showing them my ticket to ask them "can i please go on holidays mr dsp man, becaue Blut2 on boards says i cant and you are waiting for me at the airport." Have you even been to school because it doesnt sound like it. Next you'll be talking about contrails and spy sats.

Im not doing anything hundreds of thousands arent doing. And the higher the taxes in this country the more will do the same.

Tell me what the neighbors are going to report that is illegal? They all know we are doing airbnb. One of them is even doing the cleaning and meeting in return for the cleaning fee if we arent home. Sure we are already doing airbnb.

You're not declaring the income. You are lieing to the social welfare saying you have no savings and no income. You have both. If revenue or social welfare get a sniff of it they could audit you, and then your house of toilet paper collapses.

DSP officers are able to check airplane passenger manifests against social welfare claimant lists, and are regularly at airports doing so. Prosecutions ensue.

As someone who had actually spent weeks researching this plan like yourself should presumably know 😂

I have no income from it. Have you not been reading above either. How would my neighbors know how much saving i do or dont have? your post above about how my neighbors are going to report me. Your statement. Stay on the subject. The question was "Tell me what the neighbors are going to report that is illegal?".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,629 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

What happens when JSB ends? Can both married people claim full benefits each? Or are you planning on working for over 13 weeks each year to keep claiming?

Oh Please. You are the type of person who was probably posting this before 2018 if you heard some say something you didnt like

"Impious or profane speaking of God or sacred things'' as banned by the second of the Ten Commandments and the Irish Constitution under Article 40.6.1.i. The Article bans "the publication or utterance of blasphemous, seditious, or indecent matter", offences "which shall be punishable in accordance with law".

Ill be shaking going on my holidays as im sure hundreds of thousands of people are who go through the airports who dont work. Get over yourself.

There's actually a recent thread about someone doing exactly that and reporting illegally parked cars outside an Airbnb on the Motoring forum. (I think it's the motoring forum...)

"Dear Revenue, my neighbor DBTG is earning income renting out his house (I believe he is also claiming social welfare), you should investigate this to make sure he is declaring the rental income. Thanks for making it so easy for me to report."

...from there you are screwed, they see a bank account with savings moved out (where is that money? have you not paid DIRT? or worse you paid DIRT which would immediately hi-light your means-test lies, etc?), they see transactions for purchasing flights, paying bills that far exceeds the dole money, how are you paying for groceries? with cash? what cash? etc etc. If (and it is an 'if') they get a sniff of you, then you are screwed, they pay external accounting/auditing firms to investigate, and they are not fools.

Well if I dont get arrested by Blut and Sconsey in the next 9 months I have a plan (a robust one I believe) there too which I have partly explained already, but I really dont want to trigger them anymore on it in the thread. they need to get back about how they feel about the USC or how others might feel about it and what they might do.

But if you are interested in discussing my plan we can do it by PM. Saves people posting quotes from websites and thinking that im like the pink panther going on my holidays trying to avoid inspector clueso.

So please explain how that applies to me. There will be cars parked on my drive. There are two there now as we speak. One a Hertz hire car. What are the neighbors going to report that is going to get me in trouble? Lets assume they know its an airbnb guest, because they actually do know. So what is a random neighbor going to say that will get me in trouble?

Hello Mr Revenue, Yes my FIL and MIL are doing Airbnb in my house. I hope thats ok with you as i am on JB and am unemployed at the moment. My FIL and MIL are declaring their airbnb income and are taxed accordingly as im sure you know as you are revenue. Do you want to see my bank account? I have some savings there. not much, but i believe i am allowed to have this much according to the social welfare rules. Is that OK too? Sorry some idiot wasted your time, but sure they probably just were annoyed at the hertz car parked outside. hope thats ok too. It looks like my neighbor here thinks that you are the detectives from Line of duty and want to forensically check my spending and holidays etc. Do you really do that on the say so of a curtain twitcher?

Wait, isn't that what the relatives you were getting to move in were supposed to be doing?

Now the neighbours are going to be complicit in your little schemes?

This is the story that just keeps growing more and more legs....🤣

Is the tax payer really paying for your level of intelligence in the civil service? you have uncovered a big secret that a neighbor is doing the cleaning when im not able to, a big secret that I told you about in post number 41. Hint:its not a secret - you just cant read and prefer jumping to conclusions instead of keeping up, as it makes you feel smarter than you actually are.