Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another random person hospitalized after unprovoked attack in Dublin city center

• Registered Users Posts: 7,064 ✭✭✭Jeff2

On the news tonight to reassure the public the camera crew filmed Garda walking down Grafton street.

Garda seemed to be wearing bullet proof vest or anti stab vest.

Yeah, all is good and safe if the Garda won't walk the street with out anti stab or bullet proof vest.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,745 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Gardai have been wearing stab vests since 2006.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭salonfire

The pay scale I quoted is the basic Garda pay. That's the Garda on the ground, on the front line.

So for those younger members, all they need to do is wait and bide their time to become among the highest 20% of income earners in the entire country. And not even halfway through their career.

That's it, no further education or having to work towards promotion or additional management responsibilities.

Seems fair enough to me.

The rate of resignations in the Gardai is about 3%. Any organisation would love to have staff attrition that low. Across the economy, the rate is 18%.

Last year, 11000 people applied to the Gardai

Post edited by salonfire on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭mikethecop

Are you reading the links or just posting them ?

"New figures provided by the Minister for Justice, Simon Harris TD confirm that the recent Garda recruitment campaign attracted 4,973 applicants.

This compares to 11,075 applicants for the 2022 recruitment campaign."

i think some where around 400 were deemed acceptable to start training from that 5000

Again i ll reference the ever lowering standards resulting in increased washouts early leavers etc . as well as the under reported numbers leaving for better jobs or emigrating well above the actual 3 % reported

As for no further education do you count stuff like driving courses, firearms, first aid, scenes of crime, public order, search, child or specialist interview or other various courses necessary for prosecution of course such as intoxilyser and drager courses ? (none done in initial training or attracting any additional pay)

Amazing numbers at a time of full employment. Many roles have no applicants at all and have to recruit overseas.

The Gardai still a very attractive job it seems, despite the propaganda you're trying to push.

There are gaps in the numbers due to the low retirement age, pauses in recruitment during the crash and pandamic years. Templemore needs to be expanded which I believe that they are going to do.

As for linking on the job training as "further education", that's a bit of a stretch.

Further education means an additional qualification, degree, masters or PhD.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭DownByTheGarden

Lived in a fair few of them. You know what i noticed in all the tourist or city center areas. Lots of police. Ever been to one yourself. Event the center of London. very well policed, all the time. Dublin is not well policed.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Are the government going to provide us all with free stab vests upon entry to DCC? They could set up little stalls at the train and bus stations. What department would I speak to about this?

Most people will make it home fine. One or two will probably be assaulted. Luck of the draw really.

Thats the only street where you MIGHT have a decent chance of seeing a garda (i actually havent seen one anywhere near Grafton street the last 20 times i walked up or down it.), more chance than anywhere else in Dublin at least. Wonder how long the camera crew had to wait to film a garda there?

having to recruit from abroad . like this you mean ?

Gardaí aim to entice Irish abroad to return home and join force in new €550k recruitment campaign | Independent.ie

Im posting links that directly contradict stuff you are saying , is that propaganda ??

They are not attracting suitable people in suitable numbers. that is the point I've clearly made 3 or 4 times already.

the vast majority of candidates already have degrees at least, or they used to , I know of at least two with two doctorates and a good few more with one.

The qualifications I listed are specific to policing i would have though that was obvious, and regardless of difficulty or recognition outside AGS are of no financial benefit.

30 years of shift work in a often physically demanding job and an ever increasing retirement age with a frankly offensive pension for new candidates does not draw the cream of the crop

• Registered Users Posts: 7,846 ✭✭✭growleaves

In the 90s there was a family of burglars in a part of south county Dublin (I won't name them but perhaps some posters know who I'm talking about?) and when they were all locked up burglaries went down to nothing.

But when one or two members of this family got out of prison there would be spates of burglaries again. This went on for years...

Crime can be extremely localised in Dublin. It is the opposite of "random".

In fact I reckon if you could somehow neutralise four or five gangs of teenagers - two in D2, one in D1 and one in D8, and maybe one or two others - the problem would be three quarters-solved. I guess I'd better not name these gangs..? Though many posters can probably guess who I mean. (I had a bicycle vandalised by one of these gangs recently.)

Its a bit like this scene in The Untouchables. "Mr. Ness everyone knows where the criminal gangs in Dublin are. The problem isn't finding them. The problem is who wants to cross Caponethe scrotes" 😅

• Registered Users Posts: 5,716 ✭✭✭Augme

It is the problem. Too many people on this thread are soft and scared. My post had nothing yo do with responding to scrotes because you'll rarely if ever have to deal with them. Not only that, it's clearly most people.kn this thread would shitbtheir pants if one scrotes even looked at then ffs. Embarrassing. In the last page of posts we've have one person say they are too afraid yo go Christmas shopping on Grafton and one needing a stab proof vest to go into DCC.

I'm sure there's lost of things you fantasise about.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Sugar_Rush

I want to believe.

If we're following the example set in the film, then competent leadership is again, the primary systemic issue in need of correction.

Dear Lord just get McEntee out of there (I know she's not law enforcement, "per se", but for a justice position she's unsuitable).

Didn't Harris do some good work with organized crime gangs already?

If what you say is true, why isn't he following up on the example initially laid down by himself?

In physics we trust....... (as insanely difficult to decipher as it may be)

I think the abuses committed in the juvenile detention centre system, physical and sexual abuse, has led to something of an over-correction in the balance of crime and punishment towards leniency.

We became reluctant to incarcerate teenagers but it wasn't foreseen that this would lead to teenage gangs acting violently with a sense of impunity.

I have some sympathy for politicians and judges because they are trying to thread a needle in a way. I would think though that now its on everyone's radar there might be some kind of action taken.

More proactive policing in the street would preclude the necessity to lock up wrong do'ers, as it would prevent the wrong doing in the first place.

What everyone is crying out for;

More police on active, visible duty, in the locale.

Initial sentence - you'd certainly have to imagine that abuses would be perpetrated in such institutions.

Flanagan during his term as justice minister commented repeatedly on the cramped, over crowded conditions of Mt Joy; one would imagine other detention institutions aren't much better.

And yes that seems to be largely the reason for leniency of sentencing, there's simply not place to hold offenders.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,102 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

are women and the elderly really being targeted by "scrotes"? i haven't seen any reports of elderly or women being randomly attacked by feral youths in the news that I can think of

A 50+ year old slender defenseless tourist being set upon by a gang of scum doesn't count?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,102 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I wouldn't call someone in their 50s elderly no, I would imagine they'd be pretty offended

• Registered Users Posts: 34,801 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I don't think I've heard anyone use the word 'soft' like that since I was in secondary school.

Sigh. So we've moved from low pay as being the issue after I schooled you with the facts on how the pay compares to the rest of income earners.

Now it's the "physically demanding" , "shift work" and the "poor pension". Which is all bollox. Just because it's not the gravy train of the old pension does not make it poor. Unless you can back up your claim with some figures and comparisons?

Ironic really complaining of unsuitable candidates now when it was in 2001 the minimum height was abolished..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

sigh away to your self lad it must be though hauling those goal posts all over the place

it was you claimed low pay, i asked how much it is worth .

you are preaching long and loud on a subject you know almost nothing apart from media shite and preconceptions

explain what exactly is bollox, you've been caught out again and again so its not clear this time ,

what exactly is it you want here ? you think there is a well trained and well motivated police force in Ireland ? do you think there should be one ? or just a cheap bargain basement effort that we do have

I think it ought raise a few red flags when 'liberal progressive' posters say things like "It was no different in 1970/1980/1990".

On what other issue would this be considered a valid defence? Women's rights, perhaps?

In truth, we are beholden to a large edifice of pseudo-knowledge - in this case the sociological explanation of crime which say that the criminals are themselves victims of economic circumstances, adverse psychology or even boredom.

It seems to me that liberals institutions mostly lack self-correcting feedback mechanisms. There is no obvious way to reverse mistakes - because the ideology that produced those mistakes must be defended at all costs and not subjected to critique.

Thus you have posters telling people that multiple stabbings are no big deal, stop being a big scaredy cat etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭L.Ball

I think anyone logging on to shame people for not being as imaginarily tough as they project themselves to be has serious issues with how they need to be perceived.

As opposed to people using horrible terminology about posters kids?

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭L.Ball

Well I could just post baiting comments over and over then feign outrage when people respond. But if you'd like to point to what "horrible" terminology I supposedly used I'd be more than happy to address it.

getting away with it ? lol

trying your best to make it personal on boards 😆😆😆

sure lad you were begging for some occasion to get out raged and feel hard done by ,

as I already said the attitude that you can do no wrong and are always in the right that is passed on to the little darlings is par of the problem.

if you want to take it as a personal attack feel free and report away but obviously it was a general attach on the attitude that sees no issue with groups hanging around places like temple bar. the headlines day after day prove what the issue with that is , you and one or two others choosing to ignore it is why this thread is still going

get all upset if you like but every one else here knows the reality 😉😉

Tell me what you think about my son?

Don't expect you to be honest.

I've done plenty wrong in my. I'm capable of admitting it. Now back to my son. It was malicious and I've gotten a lot of laughing emoji after not nice comments.

I've been honest as possible on this thread.

Now, how about you? Liberating.