Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another random person hospitalized after unprovoked attack in Dublin city center

• Registered Users Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Tourism chiefs will be delighted with the BBC highlighting Dublin's shortcomings to a key market. Fully deserved.

The damage now being done to our capital city's reputation has been coming for a long time.

Just unfortunate people have to be beaten within an inch of their lives and we have to take the hit to get literally anything done.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,117 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

But look at uk cities... nothing to see here, move along... media blowing this out of proportion etc etc

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭mikethecop

I wonder if you remember when you all angry if it was you who keeps trying to insert you son into a thread

do you remember that the thread is about the massive anti social problem in the city center area primarily involving young males hanging around the area in little gangs ?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Hmm. I do. So abusing my son is allowed not while I mentioned him hanging around town.

You maybe need to remember what you posted about my son. If you say I started it, post your comments in one post. Won't be pretty.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭nachouser

A bit of a cheeky headline there by the sub-editor.

"Parts of Dublin are unsafe at certain times during the day and night and I think that's a problem," Mr O'Callaghan said.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,717 ✭✭✭Augme

It's nothing to do with toughness. Teenage girls manage to make it into grafton Street, do some shopping and make it out alive. They don't manage it because they are incredible tough. They manage to do it because they aren't ridiculously soft.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,130 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

A number of posts deleted

If you really cannot post in a civil manner then please do not post at all

And there is to be no discussion of any cases where charges have been laid

• Registered Users Posts: 4,299 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

It doesn’t matter how tough you are when you are jumped by a group of ten teenagers. This problem has been growing for a long time and there were plenty of warning signs. Remember the cleaner stabbed in the IFSC and the deliveroo drivers being attacked?

There needs to be more police in the city centre and for them to be more visible. They all but disappeared from the city centre during Covid and never returned. The most gardai I’ve seen has been the day after something happens then they all disappear again. Also if these scrots act up then a few slaps of the baton will do them the world of good.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

That's a great idea mate. As well as the stab vests, the government should also provide us softies with nappies as we enter the limits of Hades. Sorry, Dublin.

Internet hard man alert. I'd love to see you getting mugged and unleashing a can of whup ass on them Mr Chan.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,102 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

To be fair he's just saying lots and lots of people of all ages and creeds go into the city daily and aren't afraid. I mean there are private secondary schools around St Stephen's Green and O'Connell St and nearly all the students take public transport in and out every day. Some of the hand wringing going on is ridiculous, people saying the city centre is a no go area etc.

Yep I was one and so is my son.

Gated schools though. Snipers on the towers.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,625 ✭✭✭Floppybits

There is a lot of hand wringing going on. Dublin is not bad during the daylight hours when it is busy, yes you get the usual annoying crap like people roaring up and down the street, gangs of people hanging around mainly talking amongst themselves and the usual beggars or irritants looking for change or cigarettes or a light and then get mouthy when they don't get what they are looking for. Most people ignore this and just move on with their own business. Like I said before I work around Talbot street and yes it is run down but during the day its grand, I've walked up to O'Connell street and not had a problem, not saying it doesn't happen but it is less during the day.

In saying all that the problems do start in the evenings, when the shops close and people leave the city to head home and the streets become quieter that's when the gangs come out to hang around the streets or looking to see what trouble they can cause. It hasn't always been like that, I have read some comments saying it was worse in the 70's, 80's and 90's but was it. There were clubs/pubs like Fibbers, McGraths and Rumours at the top of O'Connell street that were popular and the only hassle you would hear about is someone skipping the taxi queue. I am sure there are others like me that had the pleasure of having to walk from Temple bar out to Fairview when looking for a taxi and there was never any bother basically there was no one around and that was walking out along Amiens street out by the 5 lamps hoping to get a taxi. It has gotten more dangerous now, no way I would do it now.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,102 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Remember the Backgate? You couldn't pass that place without seeing a fight. There were killings back then, one thing I have always said is that it was way rougher back in the day when the pubs/clubs closed. Of course most of the time it was fine, just like now.

The North Inner City is a far nicer place than it used to be thanks to investment and an element of gentrification. I used to have to walk to Fairview too, but still often walk/cycle out of the city centre at night and it's fine.

I'm not saying Dublin doesn't have problems, but people are going way OTT.

I agree with you. Most weekends in Town you would see fights usually between two gobsh1tes who have had too many drinks but that was it and usually that just pulling and dragging out of each other. Nowadays it has got more violent not like 2 lads scrapping but with these gangs knocking lumps out of anyone who is unfortunate to cross their path and standing on peoples heads. I don't know the ins and outs of these attacks were they just random or were words had prior and it got out of control but maybe it is the violence of the attacks nowadays that is making look like it is more dangerous. Still though I wouldn't fancy walking around Parnell street, Talbot street or Amiens street after dark.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,703 ✭✭✭creedp

What an epic fail...pure propganda. Its rather pathetic from a Gardai resourcing perspective that it takes a specialist deployment of Gardai on overtime to provide basic policing in the capital city centre. The very fact that 'on overtime' has to be explicitly referenced in the PR header says it all. Its like a badge of honour these days, an acceptance that the Gardai are unable to do their job unless they are on OT.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭nachouser

Armed gardaí, dog units and public order officers to be deployed in Dublin city centre

is every one ready for the inevitable half edited video of some ones little darling getting arrested?

the cry's of he was only hanging around, didnt do nothing, harassment, abuse of authority, unnecessary roughness, police state , its only young lads having the craic, just a bit of weed , sure it was way worse in the 80s ad 90s ??

• Registered Users Posts: 82,330 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Can't have too many half edited encounters with bodycameras. They should probably have those.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭AllForIt

There is a lot of hand wringing going on. Dublin is not bad during the daylight hours when it is busy, yes you get the usual annoying crap like people roaring up and down the street, gangs of people hanging around mainly talking amongst themselves and the usual beggars or irritants looking for change or cigarettes or a light and then get mouthy when they don't get what they are looking for. Most people ignore this and just move on with their own business.

I can't belive you say that as if that's just life. I saw a group of teengers 'talking amounst themselves' as I locked my bike to a lampost near the haypenny bridge while I nipped into a convenince store to get a takeaway drink. I was in the shop for less than 5 minutes and when I returned both the group of teenagers and my bike were gone.

People look away because they don't want to experience that ugh feeling when you suddenly happen across them without warning. It's more a 'blank that image out of my mind' thing than a 'didn't notice that' thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

It's something so credit where due but this overtime thing smacks of "temporary" and it will be back to normal sooner rather than later. Just provide enough resourced police and I think it will make a difference.

The "justice system" is another matter.

• Registered Users Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

You take that back about my little angel!!!!

/s

Bikes being robbed and petty crime like that is just life though. It won't matter the amount of patrols there are on the streets it will not prevent bikes being stolen or or shop lifting. Sure my mother had her weekly shopping stolen in town from the boot of my dads car, they did leave the cabbage though, took all the meat, but that is no different than you get in most other cities.

We do still need a more visible police presence and also DCC need to step up as well and start looking after the area's to make them more appealing. Like I said I work around Talbot Street and I walk up to O'Connell Street and Henry Street as do many other of 100's of people every day and they are not being attacked. Like I said it is when the city empties out and the shops close that these gangs start to appear. The main problems are that there is not enough Gardai, we all know this and there are no consequences for those committing the crimes especially anyone under 18. That is where this needs to be tackled and not with pussy footing around them, make a show of them by putting them to work cleaning the p1ss and sh1t on the streets or scrubbing graffiti off the walls. As I said there is no consequences for them and having so many number of convictions seems to be a right of passage.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Northernlily

You can almost enough guarantee if you lock up a nice bike or a motorbike in the city centre someone will help themselves to it.

These guys spend all day rambling around looking for the opportunity. It should not be near accepted as it currently is.

agreed ,

a cop on every corner solution that is used and works in many city centers is a numerical and physical impossibility here though ,

it would be seen as oppressive and harassment by one or two posters here anyway as well as some of our more vocal political noise makers

the "system" is a bigger problem

• Unregistered / Not Logged In Posts: 276 ✭✭Jazz Hands

"Armed gardaí are to be deployed in the city centre if required as part of a high-visibility policing plan for the city, An Garda Síochána has said."

I for one am delighted. this is an area within the Gardai that needs increases budget and headcount.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Northernlily

And I hope it stays. They might put the fear into that gang of drug dealing young scrotes outside McDonald's in Temple Bar.

Let them scurry off back to Dublin 7 to their dopey parents.

That happens anyway. Its not new.

It's just a soundbite

Smacks of the usual sticking plaster "day of action" temporary measure until the hue and cry dies down.