Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick improvement projects

• Registered Users Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭pigtown

How on earth could you say An Taisce are friends with the LDA? and what kind of interest has the LDA expressed in the building?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,317 ✭✭✭✭phog

How on earth could you say An Taisce are friends with the LDA?

I didn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭source

The LDA master plan for the area was to use state owned land wasn't it?

Mostly state owned with some consideration of other lands like Jackman Park. The Railway Hotel wasn't really considered

• Registered Users Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Glenomra

From Limerick Leader ' LANDMARK building in Limerick city centre is to become a theatre rehearsal space. Council members have agreed for the Gaff theatre performance hub to move into the old Tait Clothing Factory in Lord Edward Street in the city centre. Now, the voluntary group taking over the facility has signalled its intention to seek planning permission from the local authority to fit out the protected structure to allow for space for performers to practice.The former Tait clothing factory has been on the group’s radar since 2021.Since then, significant funding has been raised by the company with supports coming from the council’s Social Intervention Fund alongside a significant pledge from College Players, Limerick’s oldest theatre company. A recent award from the JP McManus Benevolent Fund helped move the project along, with Gaff board member Padhraic Hastings describing it as a “game-changer” in terms of its progress.' Good news...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

The developers of the long stalled Printworks site on Catherine Street have applied to convert the granted office space in their development into a medical center. The apartment section is unchanged.

It looks like they may have a tenant lined up and that may explain the stalling of the project. Then again, with the history of this site it may just be more stalling tactics to keep the site out of the councils hands.

Are they still proposing apartments?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Vanquished

Hilariously they mention in the planning docs that the Georgian townhouses fronting Catherine Street are 'currently being renovated' The Council Conservation Officer and Planning Department told the applicants back in the summer of 2021 that the stabilisation and rehabilitation works to these derelict buildings had to be prioritised. The applicants stated that they were waiting on a specialist firm to become available so that they could engage their services.

Extensive scaffolding was erected in March 2022 but absolutely nothing has happened since. There hasn't even been a worker on site. I know this as I'm in that area every single day. Pack of spoofers!

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭dickface

• Registered Users Posts: 4,848 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

They look nice but 11k for 4 of them, that's a happy contractor right there

• Registered Users Posts: 26,054 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Comes out of the active travel budget so the council don't give a shte about the price. All they need is to be able to say Limerick spent X amount on active travel this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭adaminho

Fair point

€127,816.65 on more than 550 orders from Bobby Byrnes, or roughly 5 times a week in the space of 2 years to the tune of €230 per order, they must really like that place and I'm sure it has absolutely nothing to do with Maria Byrne being a politician

An article in the Times yesterday said that funding is being provided for the construction of oncampus student accommodation which already has planning permission including over 300 beds in UL.

I know they applied to convert the top floors of the Park Point building to apartments bur does anyone know where the other rooms are permitted?

Park Point wouldn't be considered "On Campus" to my knowledge. I'm thinking they're gonna build a new apartment block somewhere in there

Still plenty of room on campus to do it. Haven't heard of anything been planned though.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,409 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

I had heard before about a plan for a new student village behind Kilmurry village near the old Milford GAA pitch. Would be a quick walk to the main building. Possibly this?

I did some googling and there were 202 student beds granted on the Okd Dublin Road earlier this year. It's possible UL bought it.

They have also sought permission to convert the top 4 floors of ParkPoint to 50 twin student rooms. This has gone to further information.

I vaguely recall a student apartment block that would double as tourist accommodation in the summer being talked about on the main campus but I can't find anything about it online

Kearock Investments are the name of the company behind the old Dublin road student village, they sound like a crowd that would run it afterwards, also the location would suggest they're targeting art college students, not UL students

No this is a different one just up from Park Point. Definitely targeting UL students

Only noticed the other day there's a scrambler bike lane after going in on the Hyde Road... Interesting development

Are you by any chance this idiot of a councillor. Supports safety measures but is against bike lanes. What an absolute idiot.

I can honestly say I am not and have never been Councillor Catherine Slattery or ever had even the slightest affiliation with Fianna Fail. I am also pro-cycle lanes and with a few exceptions pro anything that separates bikes (of all kinds) from cars.

These lanes may have been meant for cyclist but they currently have the effect of taking scramblers off the road. I approve but I wouldn't cycle that lane as a result

But thanks for the personal attack

Someone who is "pro cycle lane" would understand the importance of a cycle lane on that road. Funny enough you are always "pro cycle lane but" like many other NIMBYs.

I have bad news for you and that moron councillor too. Those illegal bikes are not going to bother with the cycle lanes. They are still gonna be on the path,road,green area and anywhere else they like. I see it in Moyross plenty of times.

If this useless councillor has a problem with scrambler bikes it's the Gardai she needs to call out.

Btw I didn't call you anything so stop the victim crap.

Are you by any chance this idiot of a councillor. Supports safety measures but is against bike lanes. What an absolute idiot.

It looked like you called me an "absolute idiot" above, but ok...

Those scrambler bikes aren't illegal at the moment and were on the cycle lanes yesterday as I was passing, in my car, so it seems you are wrong about your "bad news." Maybe they are on the roads, grass etc as well

The Gardaí really don't give a shite anymore, if you ever tried calling them out you'd have a very very long wait on your hands.

If I was an elected official in a party that forms a coalition on both the council and the Dail, I'd be legislating in some way to get rid of something I or my voters don't want rather than giving lip service to a newspaper

• Registered Users Posts: 702 ✭✭✭LeoD

"Cllr Slattery believes what should have happened is a letter from the Council should have been posted to each house on Hyde Road and Hyde Avenue advising people on how to object to the Section 38". Incredible, especially when she was briefed on this project beforehand so not sure why she didn't walk up and down Hyde Rd herself afterwards and explain what was happening to the residents. As it happens, I would agree with the view that this design will suit the scobes on scramblers potentially making it unsafe for cycling - I think a safer and more pleasant solution for cycling would have been to utilise the access roads running next to Hyde road but the never ending calls for segregated cycle lanes has blinded designers to alternative approaches to providing safe, comfortable and attractive cycle routes.

"Cllr Slattery believes what should have happened is a letter from the Council should have been posted to each house on Hyde Road and Hyde Avenue advising people on how to object to the Section 38".

Firstly that's the job of a residents association or a community grouping etc etc, not the council. Secondly, setting aside the environmental impact that such an action would have on the construction of a cycle lane, if the council did that they'd have to do it for every job surely which would cost the council millions a year!

Thirdly her party is in power in both the council and the Dail so stopping it shouldn't have been difficult

Don't get me wrong, I'm all for people objecting but they need to stand on their own feet to do it

Post edited by Red Silurian on

• Registered Users Posts: 967 ✭✭✭boetstark

Take no notice Red Silurian.

That posters only contribution to this forum is cycle lanes , cycle lanes and more cycle lanes. You are correct they are a joy for scramblers as they definitely are not being used by all these cyclists.

He is an expert at insulting people or calling them liars with no basis.

The entire housing estate being built beside Chawkes has been bought for social and cost rental housing.

I thought this was prohibited by government? It's a lot if cost rental units though which is a positive I suppose