Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PSNI officer suspended over incident at massacre commemoration.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,616 ✭✭✭✭downcow

psni leadership will only support officers letting uvf force people from their houses......while arresting relatives for laying flowers at scene of a massacre,serious qs need asking about its priorities and ethos

Here we go. Same old same old.
    East Belfast did not look good. But the 6 Psni did prevent the attack on the family by 50 Uvf men that was imminent.
    They did not attempt to arrest them and I think anyone with a brain cell could understand why.
    The Psni have been carrying out major action in recent time’s against east Belfast Uvf including many house raids.

So you statement is rediculous

bubblypop wrote: »
    A police officer doing his job, without political bias or influence should be encouraged and supported.

from what i can see,the entire service is biased anyway

Uvf and uda, following customs people home from work and issueing death threats....nothing can be done,it seems

Relatives commerating a massacre,blaggard and arrest em on spurious charges......i dont think,they are a police force,worth supporting anyway

McMurphy wrote: »
    You do know what I mean, you're passing hearsay from your own narrow-minded echo chamber off as factual and refusing to provide source's.

Let's start with the concussion claim, I watched the video, and am very familiar with the area, I spent almost 3 years there (Curzon Street) as a student.

Why was he treated for concussion downcow? Did he get a clout on the head?

I don’t know why and therefore didn’t say.
    I told you a bbc journalist said he was concussed. Here is the link https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m000s739

Relatives commerating a massacre,blaggard and arrest em on spurious charges

You do, of course, have proof of this......

Theres literally video footage of it?

Well since you have access to the Psni body cameras, you might share some more detail for us.

And your educated opinion is that he was arrested on spurious charges?
    Having seen the footage yourself yes?

• Registered Users Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

Shield wrote: »
    I can't think of a way the optics could be worse! I really do pity people signing up for this job, particularly those from the nationalist/Catholic community. The organisation has become rotten to the core with incompetence, selective enforcement and political bias. Everyone knows it, but nobody has the balls to say it for fear of essentially ending their career.
    then why sign up for it. I can never understand why southerners sign up to it, are they not good enough or too dumb for the gardai or do they want want to harass the catholics up there because they certainly don't harass any loyalist scum.
    Will always be the RUC to me

there is footage of this all over youtube, no need to arrest a victim who was laying some flowers. Officer should be sackedand he came from the republic, he should be ashamed of himseld aiding loyalists harass nationlists. You clearly saw the difference in their treatment of the loyalist scum, probably their friends.

• Registered Users Posts: 959 ✭✭✭Green Peter

UDAWINNER wrote: »
    there is footage of this all over youtube, no need to arrest a victim who was laying some flowers. Officer should be sackedand he came from the republic, he should be ashamed of himseld aiding loyalists harass nationlists. You clearly saw the difference in their treatment of the loyalist scum, probably their friends.

Hopefully they follow through and bring the arrested man to court and give evidence of his behaviour and show the body cam evidence that the police don't upload to you tube after heavily editing it.

Yep because people that upload videos to you tube never edit them....

then why sign up for it. I can never understand why southerners sign up to it, are they not good enough or too dumb for the gardai or do they want want to harass the catholics up there because they certainly don't harass any loyalist scum.

Do you have a problem with any southerners living or working in Northern Ireland.
    Two southerners I know in the PSNI are married to people from northern Ireland. Nothing to do with AGS.

Patience of a saint Bubblypop, patience of a saint

• Registered Users Posts: 27,753 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Shield wrote: »
    I can't think of a way the optics could be worse! I really do pity people signing up for this job, particularly those from the nationalist/Catholic community. The organisation has become rotten to the core with incompetence, selective enforcement and political bias. Everyone knows it, but nobody has the balls to say it for fear of essentially ending their career.

You are absolutely right. Not a single police officer has lost their job over the repeated failure to police republican funerals in accordance with the Covid-19 regulations.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Feisar

Personally, my condemnation would come from the opposite direction. Again having not seen the video, assuming excessive force wasn't used, I would argue that the cop who arrested this guy likely didn't do anything wrong and shouldn't be punished. However, everyone who was present at the aforementioned loyalist march and did not intervene should 100% be disciplined for that. It's the earlier march and the policing thereof which is the problem here, not the arrest at this event.

This is the crux of it. We are creating a situation where Police and for ourselves Gardaí are better off doing noting. Being ineffectual doesn't land one in hot water, doing yer job does.

Note the optics on this one aren't good, however maybe they just didn't have the numbers to deal with the loyalist march, might be nothing to do with double standards. Often police will let things proceed, it can be better than cracking skulls. This isn't just an Irish thing, it's world over. Except China, them lads so not fúck about!

Just be glad I'm not in charge it'd be Blackhawks and M60's for any gathering.

First they came for the socialists...

Yes good point. The video is careful not to pan and show extent of the crowd

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,813 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Looks like someone got a hold of my application form. I knew this day would come.
    Q61: Why do you want to join the PSNI? (Please select all that apply)

[✓] not good enough/too dumb for the gardai
    [✓] to harass the catholics
    [ ] to harass the protestants
    [✓] to make sure loyalists aren't harassed
    [ ] for the craic

blanch152 wrote: »
    You are absolutely right. Not a single police officer has lost their job over the repeated failure to police republican funerals in accordance with the Covid-19 regulations.
    I'd be more worried about the large group loyalist scum allowed free reignwhile the PSNI looked on and then arrest an actual nationalist victim. The police officers in both instances should be sacked. But you're worried about a funeral, priorities and political point scoring come to mind

Compare and contrast last week

Belfast
    Psni assaulted by crowd after a memorial concluded. Officer struck in face
    Psni make one arrest
    Psni officer who made arrest is suspended

Dublin
    Attempted assault on guadai.
    Guards beat innocent bystander on head with batton
    No suspensions

downcow wrote: »

Belfast
    Psni make one arrest

Dublin
    No suspensions

Innocent my arse!

Belfast
    Psni make one arrest

Dublin
    No suspensions

Innocent my arse! You fly with the crows you get shot with the crows!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭political analyst

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-56238528
    The Police Federation is planning to take a legal case against the PSNI chief constable over the decision to suspend an officer in February.

The action followed the PSNI's handling of a commemoration event for victims of the 1992 Sean Graham bookmakers attack in south Belfast.

After reviewing footage from the event, Chief Constable Simon Byrne apologised for what had happened.

The federation is also to challenge the "re-positioning" of a second officer.

It said "pre-action" legal papers will be served later this week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

Belfast
    Psni make one arrest

Dublin
    No suspensions

that's one hell of a description of what happened in Dublin ,
    there are no innocent bystanders in a riot and any one who got a slap that day earned it many times over .

so take your bs story elsewhere

that's one hell of a description of what happened in Dublin ,
    there are no innocent bystanders in a riot and any one who got a slap that day earned it many times over .

so take your bs story elsewhere

Thanks folks. It’s the very point I am making. There was law breaking at both events. I personally did not see the guy that got the crack on the head do anything but maybe he did. I also did not hear about any police officer getting hit in the face and concussed. Tbh I don’t know much about the events in Dublin and just saw a brief video on Twitter.

I do know that a police officer got hit in the face and concussed on ormeau road and that the person arrested had swore several times at the police and continued after he was told to stop.

Just asking you to apply some consistency

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

Thanks folks. It’s the very point I am making. There was law breaking at both events. I personally did not see the guy that got the crack on the head do anything but maybe he did. I also did not hear about any police officer getting hit in the face and concussed. Tbh I don’t know much about the events in Dublin and just saw a brief video on Twitter.

I do know that a police officer got hit in the face and concussed on ormeau road and that the person arrested had swore several times at the police and continued after he was told to stop.

Just asking you to apply some consistency

that much is obvious from your post , and yet you felt qualified to make the comment you did

Plenty on heat didn’t know much about the Belfast case but yet felt qualified to condemn a whole police service because of it. So I thought it would be fair for me to compare and contrast Dublin.

You are right though, none of us know enough to draw any significant conclusions

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

The 'damning truth' is those two eejits shouldn't be allowed out unsupervised ever again incase they make another f##k up like that, legal or not

what would you think if the DUP had threatened the Garda to discipline two officers or they with throw the toys out of the pram, and the Garda Commissioner complied?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭political analyst

Why is Simon Byrne considering an appeal against the High Court's ruling after originally saying that he accepted the ruling? What has triggered this U-turn?