Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings and threadbans - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭seenitall

I’m shocked!! :o

What has now started happening, and will accelerate in future no doubt, is that the EU’s newly minted (was it May? when they came to an agreement together and congratulated themselves silly on finding the long awaited solution to the influx) “burden sharing” agreement will start rapidly sinking under the weight of sheer numbers arriving. It will be every country for themselves before you can say “border controls”.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭TokTik

Ooh, the EU will no doubt fine them. Bold Belgium.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,470 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

If you read the article though, it's not because they are identifying single male asylum seekers as a 'problem', but simply because they don't want the even worse alternative of women and children refugees left homeless and sleeping on the streets i.e. they think single male refugees would at least be able to cope better with having to sleep rough.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

I read the article thank you.

The “problem” is that they don’t have enough accommodation for everyone arriving. Which is exactly what’s happening here.

I don’t understand how there are people still calling for the continuation of our policies when it will end with people sleeping on our winter streets.

We’re in the midst of our worst homelessness crisis ever, with the record number of homeless being broken every week. And then you have the people who laud themselves humanitarians wanting more and more of it. Import more people to be homeless.

Beggars belief

Asylum seekers and homeless people are not accommodated in the same places by the State, so it's very unclear how homeless people could benefit, no matter whether the numbers of asylum seekers arriving were low or high.

I didn’t say anything about our homeless benefitting - I’m talking of the amount of people that are going to be sleeping rough on our streets. If there’s no accommodation, that’s what’s going to happen, homeless or asylum seeker. That’s not something I want to see coming into winter.

Even the Ukrainians, who have received the best treatment of all up to now are going to be put up in tents. Families of people out in tents living in the pissings of rain and cold.

All because some people are unable to face reality and just say “Sorry we’d love to take you, but we’ve nowhere suitable to put you at the moment, it’s not possible”.

• Registered Users Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Emblematic

However, from a virtue signalling perspective, the unprecedented homeless crisis is the best time to advocate for a continuation of policies. The more extreme the housing shortage the better.

But as I said, asylum seekers and homeless people are accommodated in different places, it's difficult to see how one could impact on the other. Asylum seekers are usually housed in direct provision centres, disused buildings and schools, hotels, army barracks, tented areas etc. Homeless people are accommodated in hostels, homeless shelters, specialised residential units, sometimes bed and breakfasts and so on. Completely different agencies deal with the two sets of people (as their needs are clearly very different).

Okay you’re still completely ignoring what I said.

The upside of not having any accommodation and people continuing to arrive is that they will end up sleeping on the streets. In winter. That’s no help to anyone.

We should just say sorry we can’t take anymore, we’ve nowhere to put them.

That is true.

If you’re one of these high on their own farts types, the type of person that would film themselves giving a homeless person a 5er to post on social media, yeah I can see why you’d like to see our current policies continued.

Sure who cares if they’ll end up on the streets, it’s grand, can still get that warm fuzzy feeling of perceived moral superiority - the reality for the people out there arriving with nowhere to go, that doesn’t matter

• Registered Users Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Emblematic

Yes, if there were loads of available housing going cheap, there would not be the same feeling of moral superiority for them. They feed off the misfortune of local people trying to find accommodation. The current situation has never been better for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,022 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Where are you and the other fella going with this complete and utter drivel ??

What do you think of Belgium’s new policy?

Would you prefer to see the singles lads sleeping rough in the winter here or?

There is no accommodation left. Saying we can continue as we have is total head in the sand stuff and I refuse to believe you don’t realise that too.

• Registered Users Posts: 426 ✭✭grumpyperson

Asylum seekers and Ukrainian refugees are being put up in hotels. Homeless families needing emergency accommodation get put in hotels too, at least our friends did.

I wish your lies were true.

That was last July, it doesn't seem to get talked about anymore.

Just drop the misinformation, it's not helping and it's just just gaslighting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭greenpilot

This post has been deleted...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Bobtheman

The government has slowed down the asylum population but is not making publicity about it incase the far right see it as a victory.

It would be good if the government gave some indication of reform of the immigration system overall. We now have one of the highest percentages of non nationals in the EU

Nothing wrong with that so long as we work towards integration.

Furthermore we need to keep our age demographics low as we are living longer

Personally I think a lot of anti asylum seeker anger is misdirected anger over the housing crisis

• Registered Users Posts: 698 ✭✭✭TedBundysDriver

Why should we be saying sorry? It's our own country. Just tell them we aren't taking anymore end of story.

• Registered Users Posts: 192 ✭✭Freneys Treasure

Where was it claimed that "500 Roma families" moved into the town?

Former UCD residence halls and now 5 star boutique hotel bought for 23 million will be used to house refugees - obviously a lot more money in it than actually operating as a hotel.

Another boon for our tourism sector

• Registered Users Posts: 28,839 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Normally I wouldn't bother and had to take you off ignore to read this, but your response was pretty much as expected - bluster and indignant which is a bit much when the poster completely dismantled your previous post which frankly, was a bit desperate if you had to resort to trawling through their post history to make whatever "point" you were trying to score and refer to them as "Walter Mitty".

Such juvenile behaviour adds nothing (nor does your first line here for that matter which is just childish), but fair play to greenpilot for indulging you and correcting your assertions in so comprehensive a manner.

As for the last line, I believe that probably suggests that if it's good enough for you to engage in such behaviour, someone else may do the same to you. Don't worry - it won't be me.. I have better things to be doing than playing "guess the poster/rereg", and besides your posts here certainly do enough to undermine whatever point you may be trying to make.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,538 ✭✭✭suvigirl

The poster felt the need to come on and write a life story, that's his issue. There is no need to tell anyone about your life, just post actual facts, which he didnt.

He did nothing at all to back up the one (anecdotal) fact he stated in his post. The rest of his post meant nothing. Just rising fear and anger.

Oh, and anyone can trawl through my posts if they like, presume that's the point of having the function.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭rgossip30

The funding comes from the same Government its how the money for these supports is allocated . Less asylum seekers or Ukrainians equals more money allocated to Irish citizens .

• Registered Users Posts: 28,839 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I haven't seen many facts in your posts to be honest - just attacks on others, unsubstantiated hearsay, and dismissal of anything that doesn't fit with your view on this.

However, the reality is that the "fear and anger" you refer to is nothing of the sort but is instead completely justifiable concern and frustration over measures being taken and negative impacts occurring as a result in communities whose questions and concerns are being flatly ignored by those who are imposing it on them.

You and others like you would have us believe that we live in a backwards insular society, fearful of change or foreigners - when again the reality is anything but as even a cursory look at our history and societal changes over the last 40 years will prove. Ireland has changed massively in that time - mostly for the better - and become an international hub for employment and investment whose people have gladly thrown off the legacy of Catholic oppression and embraced all that has brought with it.

Now yes, the last bit may be a little flamboyant but true nonetheless. Our country has transformed from a poor, agricultural backwater on the edge of Europe, where most of our young had to emigrate for work and prospects (but not handouts I must add!), to where we have welcomed many tens of thousands of migrants who are living and working here for years and decades, and in the course of that have become an attractive destination for many.

But we can never lose sight of the fact that for all our progress, we still have a lot of fundamental structural issues within our country too - healthcare, housing, the rural/urban divide, costs of living, abysmal mental health services or services for those in most need etc etc etc. In other words, our resources are not infinite and we can only do so much because all things have limits. Limits which have been hit and blown through by the current Government and NGOs when it comes to immigration - whether it be refugees, economic migrants who aren't arriving with a job/accommodation already lined up, or any others who arrive at our door.

Virtue signalling, misplaced white or first-world guilt, some sort of unwarranted sense of responsibility or culpability, contrarianism, or whatever other reason(s) that may be behind it will not change that reality.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,538 ✭✭✭suvigirl

I don't believe we live in a backwards society, and I don't know why you would think that. I agree with everything you posted btw

except for your last paragraph that has nothing to do with me. I merely believe in the law, human rights and treating people with dignity and respect. We have issues with our services, however that's at the door of the government and it is up to them to sort them out. If we the people are not happy with what they are doing, then we need to do something about it. Change government, change policies, protest and make it known if there are issues. Look at what the pensioners did a few years ago when they were going to lose their medical cards? People can make a difference, if they want policies changed.

This thread however is just an excuse for foreigner bashing, and really mostly asylum seekers and refugees. There are a few posters who have some good well thought out ideas. Posters coming on staying that people are afraid to walk down their streets because foreigners are on them? stop🙄

I don't see people out protesting at government's door about services or lack of them, the only protests I see are outside old buildings where asylum seekers are being housed. What's the explanation for that?

Jesus it feels like we’re stuck in a rotating door on a roundabout on a waltzer here, you’re just repeating the same points over and over again despite the fact numerous people have addressed them numerous times.

YES the problems with our services are the responsibility of our government NOBODY is denying that or blaming refugees as the root cause of these issues. HOWEVER, adding tens of thousands of people to our already overburdened service systems only makes things worse for everybody, I don’t see how you can possibly deny that.

Trying to dismiss this thread as just “foreigner bashing” is a weak, disingenuous argument, even for you. I can say with a good degree of certainty that the vast majority of people in this thread (and in the country) have absolutely no problem with foreign people or them immigrating to Ireland. I am delighted to see skilled and educated people come to our country happy to work and make it all a more vibrant place. If someone has nothing to offer though and wants to just turn up and avail of one of those free houses they’ve heard about I’m not interested - it doesn’t matter where they’re from. Likewise I can’t just pitch up in Canada or New Zealand or Japan and expect all and sundry. I’d be sent packing and that’s fair enough. We need to get our own shop in order before we try to fix the world.

Finally your conflating of the racist fringe loons protesting outside AS accommodation with the rest of the population is once again disingenuous at best. Numerous public polls have shown the majority of the Irish public are in agreement we are taking too many in beyond our capacity. The reason they aren’t publicly protesting this at government is because of people like you that try to muddy the waters and imply their rather moderate and reasonable views are actually racist and fascist hatred. Nobody wants to be labelled unfairly. Public discourse on the topic has been poisoned hence you only get the shameless loudmouths at either end shouting while the vast bulk have to silently look on.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,131 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

suvigirl threadbanned

• Registered Users Posts: 1 pinky pie

Also it seems they are allowed to do that at only 19000 but we have as of 2022 81,256.00, a 748.98% increase from 2021. Ireland refugee statistics for 2021 was 9,571.00, a 5.93% increase from 2020 go figure 🤔

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Yeah imagine that. A big increase because of Ukraine 😶

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 662 ✭✭✭creeper1

Somebody please tell me this is a wind up.

And to think this is the same government that won't fully compensate those affected by Mica.

Absolutely sickening.

Well this is going great, tents camps of up to 5000 people coming into the winter.

All because some people are too high on their own sense of moral superiority to admit that we have reached and indeed surpassed the limits of our capacity.

I don’t think there would be any shame whatsoever in us stating we can no longer accept any more due to these capacity issues. We’ve already done a huge amount, a good deal more than many other larger EU countries, and that’s something to be proud of. But ultimately there’s no value in offering help that you are in no position to actually provide - it ends poorly for everyone in that scenario.