Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women and Mens Dating Preferences **Mod Note in Post #9**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,318 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Yeah I get that, but if the guy himself says he’s an incel, that’s what I mean by it’s how they identify themselves. Obviously if they say they’re an incel, they’re indicating that they meet the criteria. Plenty of lads aren’t getting the ride and they don’t feel a need to apply a label to themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭Honey50000

• Registered Users Posts: 7,955 ✭✭✭YellowLead

New? You don’t get out much 🤪 Or online much I should say 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,604 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Ah, you misunderstand. If you listen to any interviews with them, they start off talking about sex but they then talk about the intimacy of romantic relationships.

So yes, when I said the ride, I meant relationships. I said getting the ride in the first post. To be fair I clarified loads of times that it's also about intimate romantic relationships.

What's your response to the actual thrust of the post that autistic people are less likely to be in a relationship than non-autistic people. They're as interested in relationships as anyone else but they have additional challenges in starting and maintaining relationships, arrising directly from autism such as difficulty with reading social cues. And that's why they're disproportionately represented in the incel group.

Never offline I am afraid am I an incel hard to keep up

No but I am not afraid of women or to talk to them

I understand alright - inability to get the ride, involuntarily celibate, as opposed to voluntarily celibate. It’s not difficult like?

One minute you’re saying you think I mean relationships, and I said no, I understand what getting the ride means, now you’re telling me it’s about relationships and asking me how many I’ve listened to being interviewed. Not that many, and I’ll freely admit it’s likely to be far less than you’ve listened to, but I’m not sure it would matter how many anyone listens to when they’re all saying the same thing - can’t get the ride, for whatever justification they offer by way of explanation.

EDIT: I gave my response to your proposition already - I think it’s ridiculous. You’re quantifying it incorrectly. The proper way to measure what you’re looking for is to quantify of the number of people who are autistic, how many are involuntarily celibate? Not that many, and certainly nothing even remotely close to 40% of people who are autistic, or even 40% of men who are autistic.

Post edited by One eyed Jack on

2 points on that.

1. I said 'get the ride in the first post. But I also clarified that the ride is the superficial part and intimate romantic relationships are the rest of it. It's not hard to understand, im sure the basis of your own relationship is both sexual and, romantic and emotional closeness. It's colloquially summed up as 'getting the ride' or similar but it's obviously about the lack of emotional intimacy as well.

Point 2. You're totally misunderstanding the Venn diagram of autistic people and incels.

Fact 1. More more autistic people are incels than the average population.

Fact 2 autistic people are less likely to be in romantic relationships than the aberage population because they tend to find it more difficult to form and maintain romantic relationships because of the additional challenges that are associated with autism.

That doesn't mean all autistic people are incels, nor dies it mean most autistic people are incels. I haven't even attempted to quantify the number of people who are autistic and how many of them are incels be abuse that's beside the point. The relavant stat is the proportion of incels who are autistic. I

've given you research on that but you didn't like it. I gave you research that shows autistic people are less likely to be in relationships than the average population, but you didn't like that either. And without any evidence or even listening to what the incels have to say, you make pronouncements on the stats.

It must feel like a very weak position to defend given you don't have any evidence and you just dismiss the research given to you. How did you get yourself into defending a position you acknowledge you don't know much about?

Who cares nothing to do with the thread boards.ie employees must be asleep

Whatever they are why do the work for free then

I haven't even attempted to quantify the number of people who are autistic and how many of them are incels be abuse that's beside the point.

That’s entirely the point - you haven’t attempted to quantify the number of people who are autistic and how many of them claim to be incels. You’re offering evidence of how many incels claim to be autistic. I haven’t commented on your evidence either way, it’s entirely your own presumption that I don’t like it, just like you asked me earlier did I want it, and then before I’d even a chance to respond, you presented it anyway.

I don’t make assumptions either way when you didn’t address the evidence I presented earlier to support my opinion, but having read what you’ve just written, I’m assuming you just missed it, which is fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭nachouser

Go work on your inevitable new account.

The OP isn't interested in discussing the topic in the opening post.

I assumed your research is sound. I presumed you read it and understood it and did the due diligence before you presented it in good faith. You did read it before you posted it, right? It said that autistic people in relationships report being happy in their relationships. And furthermore, they have higher rates of being happy in relationships than the general population, right? I accepted your point in the response to your post because I don't pretend to know enough to dispute it. And it didn't impact the point I was making.

What's your point?

My point couldn’t be easier to understand - there is no causal relationship between involuntary celibacy and autism.

Sure. To state my opinion accurately, the direction of the causal relationship is from autism to involuntary celibacy.

I'm only basing my opinion on the research i presented and stuff I've learned looking into the topic. I can't compete with the confidence you have having neither research on your side nor looked into the topic. I can't defeat the Dunning Kreuger effect. The less you know the greater your confidence. You win. Good night.

You came nowhere near even addressing it, other than to present evidence which confirmed your own biases about the relationship between involuntary celibacy and autism, which I pointed out could easily be similarly attributed to any number of other conditions in exactly the same manner by way of explaining the reasons for their inability to form relationships with the opposite sex.

That was the point where you claimed I misunderstood, you were referring to getting the ride, then when I confirmed that I was referring to getting the ride because that’s what you referred to, which is what defines involuntary celibacy, you claimed I misunderstood and you were referring to relationships.

I ignored the snarkiness which did nothing to strengthen your argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

Nonsense , people with autism invariably struggle more to make friends and form relationships

Incels believe that too about autism, it’s why so many of them self-diagnose themselves as being autistic, by way of justifying their attitudes and behaviour towards other people -

But the study, like all research, includes some limitations. For example, the mental health challenges and diagnoses were self-reported by the participants, not measured through validated assessments.

“The major caveat is that all of these symptoms and disorders were self-reported by the respondents, not measured using psychometrically validated scales,” Ellenberg explained. “So, none of the results should be considered prevalence rates of actual symptoms, but rather a reflection of what the respondents feel that they are experiencing, based on their own understanding of what those symptoms are.”

https://www.psypost.org/2023/06/incels-experience-a-complex-combination-of-psychiatric-symptoms-but-feel-they-cannot-be-helped-by-mental-health-professionals-165960

That’s not to suggest that people who are autistic don’t struggle to make friends and form relationships, nor does it imply that people who are autistic are more likely than anyone else to be involuntarily celibate and experience depression as a result of being incapable of finding anyone who wants to have sex with them without being paid. Relationships are a two-way street, which incels understand too, but they just don’t care, they care more about the validation they get from other incels.

For those reasons, and many, many more, it’s simply a mistake to conflate incels with people who are autistic or draw any inferences from a correlation based solely upon self-reported diagnoses by incels themselves. Their lack of success in being able to relate to anyone, never mind members of the opposite sex, is nothing whatsoever to do with autism. They claim society doesn’t understand them; it’s precisely because society does understand them perfectly well, that almost nobody wants anything to do with them. Hell when James Damore can manage to maintain a relationship after the crap he wrote about the differences between the sexes, you know it’s nothing to do even with being an asshole. It’s the fact that most people see incels as just being too much like hard work to be worth the trouble:

https://amp.theguardian.com/technology/2017/nov/16/james-damore-google-memo-interview-autism-regrets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,338 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Don't discuss assumed promiscuous women, but feel free to go to town on incels and autism... Great thread.

I have no knowledge of “ incels “ or how predisposed they are to autism? , I’m merely challenging you’re assertion that autistic people are no more likely to find it difficult to form relationships

that is patent nonsense

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭PaoloGotti

Men and Women’s dating preferences can generally be tied back to the mutually shared objective of having children.

Men like child bearing physical traits, and don’t have to be too selective (will ride most).

Women like strength and security, due to the vulnerability of pregnancy, and they should thus be very selective.

Exactly like every other animal. You may think you are intellectually above that, but your every instinct is to reproduce. Otherwise you wouldn’t be here.

It's one of the obvious, well know asprcts of autism (among many other traits, of course).

I've noifea why this became an argument. One side of the argument is the fairly well-known fact you said in the post above, plus tons of research. On the other side of the argument: nuh-uh

That might well be part of it on a primal level. But it's bound to be only one of many factors. Otherwise, men who don't offer much strength and security wouldn't really ever have relationships. Where does having similar values and just the basic element of having good craic together come into it?

People are complex and don't really lend themselves to being summed up in one or 2 sentiments. There are tendencies and some people are more likely to behave in certain ways, often based on both nature and nurture. People, as a whole, are complex.

Yeah I'm really surprised this thread didn't turn into sh1tting on women too.

Why don't you start us off. What about promiscuous women makes you cross?

Post edited by El_Duderino 09 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Some basic instruction in the fundamentals of set theory mightn't go amiss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,543 ✭✭✭pgj2015

What about men and women who dont want kids?

I dont, so im not looking for women who have good "child bearing traits"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

My experience is that such assumptions are correct and often verifiable. And such assumptions make sense repeatedly and from different angles of analysis.

Romance is just business in a wig. All the talk about niceties is bollox, don't be fooled. When it comes down to it its a case of reaping maximum profit for your animalistic side. The human part of it is the sweet outer icing on a cake of merciless instinctual and egoic drive. As per the song, Love is a battlefield.

Do the evolution.

Do you think that's how it works in reality or how people answer in box pops on YouTube and clickbait entertainment segments shot to look like interviews?

For example, in your relationship, do you see the "human part" of your relationship as a facade? And do you see your relationship as being about reaping maximum profit for your animalistic side? Nothing to do with the other person, just your animalistic side profiting as much as it can?

I don't think that the instinctual, visceral part of a relationship works in certain pre-determined ways, and that this self-interest forms the foundation and ground floor of all the other nice (but secondary) humanistic parts, I know it.

I know it because I can see it in action around me, and I've heard it from multiple agreeing diverse unconnected sources who are qualified in various ways, and its consistent in different scenarios across history, and it just makes logical sense too.

Your intimate relationship doesn't have to be a facade any more than your work relationship has to be a facade, but its the serious business that comes first. no puns. Thats what the friendliness and good natured human stuff is built on.

Try maintaining that cordiality and mutual concern while not living up to earlier mutually understood terms. In work responsibilities or intimacy responsibilities, see what happens to the warm mutual niceness.

OK. So I suppose the question is whay do you thikk are the visceral parts and which ate just the "human parts"?

The post you quoted suggested height and earnings. So how would a short poor guy ever have a partner and a family?

If I understand you, you're saying the unconscious stuff is basically the relationship, with the fluffy stuff like having fun together or having similar values, is all just a "Business wig".

I know there's an unconscious part to attraction. Research suggests one element is having complementary immune systems which is understood through smell and is all unconscious. But its far too simplistic to say all relationships are basically all about the unconscious stuff.

For a start, not all relationships have the same goal. Some relationships are just friendships. Are you trying to maximise profit from your friends? Some relationships are about children, some are about companionship and never intend children.

People are complex

To answer your first question: there is a pecking order. People mate within their own leagues, generally.

I agree modern humans intellectually value less primal traits in partners. I myself have done so. But my point is that initial attraction is very much primal, and has to be overcome at times.

hips? no 😂 is there such a thing as child bearing legs?

Anyway I have often rejected women who im attracted to by looks because of their personality so I can see past their child bearing traits.

Well I could put some thoughts to you regarding that:

1. You looked past them. Did you have a reasonable chance? Ie same league.

2. Are the other non-physical traits you desire also positive traits that would lead a woman to be a good mother ie caring, kind, responsible etc.

3. Are you suggesting that you are above the selfish gene and are not engaging in behaviours that promote reproduction? For example: do you not eat, sleep, exercise, socialise, work? Why do you think you do them?

1. They were the ones chasing me, so yes in the same league looks wise.
    2. I look for easy going above all else.
    3. yes I do but I exercise to keep a healthy body and mind, I dont do that to attract women, I do it for myself. same reason I work.

Women don't motivate me to do anything.

Interesting. You have no understanding of evolution. The single most important idea that man has ever come up with!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭chrissb8

One informs the other. Being a good, nice, honest person with a compatible personality is what allows comfortable intimacy. It's not a preamble it is very bit just as important as the physical demands of a relationship and for most, is the most important quality.

You can't always have sex, you can't always be intimate but you can have a relationship with good communication and support each other.

The way you're putting it is in some transactional way "watch me get angry because you won't give me what I want".

Intimacy in a relationship goes up and down, what saves it and reignites it is all the other stuff. You know, talking about your insecurities around intimacy, why it isn't there at the moment in a relationship, what they can do for each other to bring that back.

And since we're using observation as evidence I have seen the above in practice many times, friends relationships and my own relationships

So no. While intimacy is an essential component it is in no way at all a defining component.

You want to boil it down to that we're still animals. Yes man we are, but we also invented computers so we're far more complicated than a dog in heat.

never suggested there is no human component.

all the wonderful fluffy pillow talk happens with very specific people (hopefully). Thats the factual part which just gets dismissed as 'angry'.

We all filter out the general public down to a relatively few candidates and its those few candidates who you have the wonderful fulfilling understanding with, just basic observation will prove this. And all the science will say the same.

And then after all the science and basic observations and common sense says this we'll get nonsense platitudes and 'yes but's and talk of incels and red-pills.

I would say to those same people who go around calling everyone incels and getting caught up in politics and culture wars and all that baloney to just stop, take a breath, and actually have a look at the content which the bad guys are referring to. I mean is it true, ... well yes, turns out it is. Which is disappointing to the intellect, as we all like to think of a more fantastic conclusion, one where we're not just superficial and predictable like a nature documentary. But no, we largely are.

Have these facts been hijacked by douchebags, yes. Does that make them not true, no.

Theres no pillow talk primed for use on the too old, the too young, the too male/female, the too unattractive. etc etc. Your sweet nothings are strictly for a candidate who ticks the boxes, even though you could absolutely potentially have just as much of a human relationship with the local gammy hipped 80 year old. Their personalities and spirits are just as amazing as your partners. Probably even warmer and better in many ways. You could absolutely have that same deep connection with them. But no, sensors suggest old, ew.

When you go out there with a horn, you don't even see 90% of the population. But fall madly in love with someone who just so happens to have certain dimensions and indicators, just like fish or monkeys do. Strangely enough.

oh but noooo nooo, you're being superficial, edgelord, theres a deeper love you see. you're just being shallow minded, you don't understand human connection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,386 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

In fairness it was.

There's loads of people out there with fcuked up views on women. Everyone from the taliban to the catholic church. You don't need to be autistic to have a messed up view of women.

Yes for some reason, without providing any evidence, he's saying that incels are incels because they have autistic characteristics. he even went further and without any evidence, claimed that 40% of incels are autistic.

Yes I know about incels. So don't try and paint this as a lack of knowledge.

There's groups of men who believe that women owe them something. That women should be subservient and give into their wishes. That they're owed time, sex and loyalty just because they're a man. When women don't fawn over them they fall into a rabbit hole of inceldom. Some of them. the vast majority of guys like that are actually part of some organised religion because lets face it, there's plenty of misogyny in the worlds largest religions. Others are part of groups like the proudboys. And many are just ordinary guys with no allegiance to an organisation. They're just scumbags. Because really, when you get down to it, there's a fcuk load of guys out there who hate women.

Incels are guys who buy into the idea that there's a marketplace for partners. That women are ranked solely on looks but women rank men based on looks too. They call the guys women like "Chads". For some incels they also include money and prestige with it too. Basically women are selfish and don't care about who a guy actually is, just what they can get from them. This view is also quite popular on the far right.For incels women have no personalities or free will, they're just automaton programmed to go after certain traits in men based on what they can get from them.

It's a stupid but obvious conclusion to make. Our society and media really pushes attractive people on us. In your average TV show the girls are hot and the nerd guy even has a 6 pack.And everyone is getting laid constantly. So if they're not living up to that lifestyle, they believe they're failing. And obviously it's the womens fault. 🙄

The fact is that women don't like these guys because they're creeps. It's not because they're autistic and can't communicate. It's because they're dirtbags who expect women to automatically like them. And when they don't get the attraction and respect they deserve, they blame the women. They're aggressive and nasty and of course women avoid them. Can anyone blame women for not wanting guys who are creeps?

The one thing I'll concede is this. The term incel was coined by a woman to describe herself. It meant single when you don't want to be. And yes, that could describe some autists. It could describe a lot of people. But the modern usage of the word doesn't.

Me and my autistic friends are proof that's not true. You've probably watched the good doctor and thought that all autistic people are like that. Maybe you have issues with autistic people.

The fact is that autistic people come in all types. If there's one thing you should learn about autism, and it's the first proper thing I learned about it, it's that if you know an autistic person, all you know about autism is that you know an autistic person.

Here's some things you might not have realised. They're not true for every autistic person but they''re generalizations.

• Autistic people have loads of feelings but sometime have trouble identifying what they are actually feeling. Is that anger, fear, nervousness? It feels like all three. Plus they feel even more strongly than neurotypical people. They are really intense feelings.
    • Autistic people are generally more moral. They have extreme feelings about what is right or wrong. It means that they can be the most ethical people you meet.
    • People think that autistic people don't have empathy. People think autistic people don't care because they either don't pick up on social cues or they don't appear to show empathy. The reason they don't appear to is because although the feel something a neurotypical person doesn't pick up on it because the autistic person doesn't communicate it in a regular manner. The truth is that autistic people feel extreme empathy.

I actually asked you I'd you think 40% of incels being autistic is high or low. You didn't answer.

I asked that because it was the middle result of the 3 research papers I posted asking incels about themselves. It's disappointing you both misread my post and didn't see the evidence I posted. I don't expect these research papers are definitive but this is boards so I didn't expect anyone to read the evidence either. I was really just covering off the demand for evidence and the accusation of making claims without evidence. You can lead a horse to water...

Are you seriously saying that, as a group, autistic people don't have more challenges in forming and maintaining intimate relationships? I get that it's personal to you but be realistic. The research I posted suggested autistic people report roughly the same rate of wanting to be in a relationship and a higher rate of being single.

I understand autistic people cover a huge range of people, from non-verbal people who need residential care, to being successful in career, family and social status. And everything in between. But the nature of ASD makes it more difficult as a group to form and maintain relationships.

I was listening to this podcast recently. It's a bloke with autism who was in the special education class with a mate who went on to be an incel and commit murder by driving a van into a crowd in Toronto. It's not abut autism and Inceldom, but it explores the link because it's one important factor.

this podcast: Boys Like Me #boysLikeMe 

https://podcastaddict.com/podcast/boys-like-me/3715432 via @PodcastAddict

The lad telling his story is a sound man, has a career in media, getting on with his life. He tells how his ASD has made relationships more difficult because he didn't always get the social stuff.

I have a brother in residential care who is autistic amongst other things ( he’s not typical as he’s not high functioning ), autistic people have plenty of qualities but it’s patently untrue to claim that they are no more likely to struggle with forming romantic relationships

You might want to reread the bit where I said that if you know an autistic person all you know about autism is that you know an autistic person.

My job involves negotiating and solving interpersonal issues. To many people I would not appear autistic. I'm friendly, outgoing and get on great with people. I genuinely like people. But I'm still autistic. I still have difficulties but I managed to learn and mask my autistic tendencies (that can come with separate issues but that's besides the point).

Both your brother and I are autistic and we are very different. Saying autistic people are X or Y is very difficult. However, as someone has already posted, in general autistic form relationships. And their relationships are successful.

So saying autistic people are more likely to become incels is incredibly insulting. Especially when there's hundreds of millions of misogynistic men out there who are not autistic. It's picking a vulnerable minority and targeting them with a label that they do not deserve.

So, I've read the research papers.

https://www.cambridge.org/core/services/aop-cambridge-core/content/view/6A934637D21AEE4C1D90FAF5FB63D769/S2056467822000159a.pdf/incels_violence_and_mental_disorder_a_narrative_review_with_recommendations_for_best_practice_in_risk_assessment_and_clinical_intervention.pdf

The 40% in the first one references a study done by the ADL. I followed their link and there's no reference to autism. It does talk about mental health, anxiety and depression but no reference to autism. The paper itself also states that no research has been done to see irf incels experience psychosis, dysmorphia or personality disorders. Basically it makes one suggestion, doesn't provide a link to the study and comes to a conclusion.

The next study is worse. It quotes an article out of context. In the article itself it says.

The lead investigator of the latter study, Noah Sasson, was dismayed to learn from Spectrum that his research was being used to support what he calls a “misogynistic and sophomoric” ideology, and says his work was misinterpreted. The study applies to both men and women and is not about women’s feelings toward autistic men, says Sasson, a psychologist at the University of Texas at Dallas. In a follow-up study, he and his colleagues found that neurotypical people’s perceptions of an autistic adult depend heavily on whether they know that the adult is autistic, are familiar with autism and have met the autistic person in question. “What this means is that negative judgments about autistic adults are in no way absolute and uniform,” Sasson says. The Incel wiki makes no mention of this more nuanced report.

In other words, the notion that autistic people can't communicate and are therefore unable to form relationships is a myth. The data doesn't back it up.

The incels who reported being autistic were self diagnosing. They believed that autistic people can't form relationships and therefore they are autistic. Autism diagnosis can be tricky. I believe that if people think they are autistic they should act on it . An autism diagnosis for adults is very expensive so many people can't afford it. But if people see themselves as autistic and do research and manage to make their lives better, then that's great.

But in this case it's a group of people who aren't looking for help in making themselves better, they're people looking for an excuse.

You should read the article.

And remember that autistic people are far more likely to be at risk from violence the commit it. They're also far more likely to experience discrimination than commit it.

Are you sure you read the first one? Bottom right if the second page. It says 40% of the 650ish respondents reported autism. Now look at the bar chart at the bottom of the source document where 39.8% reported autism.

There's more about autism being a contributing factor in becoming an incel throughout the report, in the discussion and conclusion sections.

Instead of playing first year undergraduates looking for the flaws in the argument, can we acknowledge that there's a fairly well established link between autism and incels. Some of the common problems associated with autism are the kinds of problems that lead to people having difficulties in forming and maintaining intimate relationships and becoming incels.

Assume the caveats such as:

Not all autistic people are incels and not all incels are autistic

Not all autistic people have major problem reading social cues and socialising, though it is a common trait within autism. And so on.