Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

General Premier League Thread 2023-24 Mod Note in op 27/6/23 And 21/05/24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,041 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Some outlets call her his ex-wife, others his ex-girlfriend - though I see globo (the brazilian outlet) says ex-girlfriend, so would be inclined to go with that one since it's closer to home for them and probably better informed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Ex girlfriend maybe, the translations can usually be askew in these.

*just seen the above*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Post edited by Jinglejangle69 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,296 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

It is what Webb did in the MLS when he was there so he is trying to bring it now to the PL to show how the refs reach decisions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Who do you suggest as an independent person - media pundits, ex-managers, Tyrone from Coronation St? I'm being a little trite, but fundamentally I'd have thought it needs to be an expert in the rules - hence, a currently qualified referee.

My issue though is that they are only using EPL-list referees who have qualified up through the levels and proven themselves as able to control matches, have rapport with players, physically fit enough, not panic in games etc. Which is a good skill-set to have, but VAR requires a different skill-set.

So perhaps they shouldn't just limit it to the list of EPL referees but instead have VAR specialists - people who failed to make the step-up to EPL level but may be better with the technology, quick and concise analysis of events, ability to spot what angle needs to be looked at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

I'd even go further.

Bring in foreign referees who are VAR experts or like you say who have retired. The VAR station is remote anyway, so why not. It might prevent the likes of Dean covering for his mate when he makes a mistake. [Little Englanders won't do this in a million years though]

Also, communication between the VAR and refs should be transmitted live, why not - make it transparent at the time and not a polished version of it the following week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Or just ditch VAR and be no worse off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,875 ✭✭✭djan

VAR has IMO very little to do with the majority of referees skillsets which are man management and overall game control. For VAR they need to get high end analysts who specialise in quick and efficient decisions based on set rules. There are always cases when its 50/50 and for those calls it should be a voting system of 3/5 refs at possibly a remote location who will vote on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,197 ✭✭✭McFly85

Mike Deans interview was insightful because it shows that what we expect referees to do and what they actually do are completely different.

We expect referees to apply the rules of the game as they see it.

But they actually view themselves as part of the game, not outside of it. Wondering things like “If I make this decision what will that mean for the game?”. We see situations that back this up all the time, cards not given because a referee doesn’t want to affect the rest of the game. Same hesitation with penalties.

VAR as a concept isn’t the issue. The idea that having a process that gives referees more information to come to a correct decision is detrimental to the game is mental.

How games are being reffed in the first place seems fundamentally broken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,381 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

From where?

Barcelona and Madrid have filed complaints to the federation for refering incompetence already this season. You can look to Italy and Germany for poor decisions too.

The idea that it is only England or the PL where VAR is still making bad calls is just wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,381 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

a great example of this is players that are on a yellow card asking for a player to be booked - that is supposed to be an automatic yellow card but no refs wants to send someone off for it, so they don't give it. they are tying themselves up in knots with rules, they are being written and read to the letter, but not taking the feel of a game into account.

Handball is a clear example of this, or the offside rule on player interference. How Romero got away with the handball vs United is amazing to me, but you will see a much more suspect (closer/faster) one given. I remember an Arsenal player (i think) vs United (not this season) crawling along the ground and SCOOPING the ball away and it wasn't given - because arguably it was the arm supporting his body so not a handball!!

The Bruno/Rashford offside vs City - by the rules Rashford didn't stop anyone from getting to the ball or making a play on it - so its not offisde. But we all KNOW it should be, just as we know the City goal at the weekend should be offside.

Football fans, players, managers, refs etc - we all generally know what should or should not be given as handball, or offside, based on how the game is played and what is reasonable to expect of players, but the rules are getting too letigious, and that is as much down to fans demanding consistency as it is anything else.

All a bit of a farce.

At a rule level, at an application level, at a consistency level, at a transparency level, it’s all lacking.

The yellow card for asking for players to be booked is a good one. Black and white, inarguable. Referees may not give it thought because they might think it’s soft. But the rule is in place to stop players moaning - if it’s not applied they’re not going to stop!

As much as some referees like to think so, they’re not mates with the players. They’ll do anything they think you’ll let them away with.

What is and isn’t a penalty or a handball seems to change by the week. Pick a rule, stick with it and referee to that standard.

Ultimately I think the referee and VAR audio needs to be broadcast for refereeing to properly take a step forward. It keeps them honest, removes any talk of conspiracy and also provides a layer of distance between the referees and players.

The main argument against it seems to be the fear that referees or VAR will be caught out. But if that’s the big problem, it’s practically an admittance that referees just aren’t up to scratch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Getting married at a young age in Brazil is really common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,466 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Manchester United are cursed.

Players beating their wives/girlfriends like it's the mid 70's, parasitic owners who won't sell up and leave, stadium crumbling, every story related to the club is a negative one, massive clouds of misery over the place at all times.

The club is only short of getting wound up at this rate.

Glazers Out!

Not cursed, rather the culture is rotten.

Giggs and Ronaldo aee revered, and have both had serious allegations made against them, that while not proven out in a court of law (like Greenwood).... well it's clear the cases have merit.

If Giggs and Ronaldo are OK given their behavior, then why would Greenwood and Antony not be OK, because they are somewhat less talented? Antony is only there a year or so, due diligence should have weeded him out before he was signed, but it would appear there was a no look/no see attitude to him as with the others.

Im obviously no United fan, but nonetheless, their 'curse ' is more down to a poor culture and bad leadership than bad luck.

°°°°°

You seriously believe that the actions of individuals in their private lives boils down to the "culture" of the company they work for?

Like you said you're no United fan. What you're saying is that Manchester United actively encourage their players to engage in domestic violence.

I've seen some crap posted over the years but you're taking things to a whole new level. Absolutely pathetic.

Glazers Out!

Yea, nothing to see here 🙄

This is the fourth case in recent years, and the club has done little if anything to distance itself from the 3 players involved. Look at the efforts to reintegrate Greenwood, he'd be playing for them still it for the public outcry. There IS an issue with the leadership and culture there, is there any other club with similar problems in recent years?

Plenty of good people there I'm sure, but leadership badly lacking.

°°°°°

It's no secret that United are poorly run, but making the leap to that having an impact on what their employees do in their spare time is just a cheap shot to try and associate the behaviour in question with the club, in fact you've gone as far as to intimate that the club are in some way encouraging these things to happen.

Oddly you chose to cite Giggs an an example, he had been retired for years when those allegations were made he was in fact the Wales manager at that point, are the Welsh FA encouraging domestic violence?

You brought up Ronaldo also, who had played his last game for United before he went to Las Vegas where those allegations originated.

Let's be honest, you're just seeing an opportunity to stick the boot in and make out a club you hate are in some way encouraging their players to be bad people, but like you said the club is just badly run, there's no responsibility on the club for the behaviour of their players in their personal lives, no more than your employer is responsible for you posting waffle on the Internet.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

But Alex Ferguson, who was still a director at the club, gave a character reference for Ryan Giggs during his trial. He described him as a person with a 'fantastic temperament'. A few ex Man Utd players or board members did the same.

Nicky Butt was arrested a couple of times for domestic abuse. The last time was April 2019. He received a promotion at Man Utd in July 2019 to become Head of first team development. The case ended up being dropped and he accepted a caution for criminal damage but not domestic abuse.

Ronaldo obviously came back to the club after the allegations were placed against him. There was protests against his signing by some groups ahead of his first game back to the club. Those allegations and quotes etc were in the public domain, however they were acquired, but the club still pursued the transfer with full knowledge.

There was a plan in place for the re-introduction of Greenwood to the first team, even after all the public evidence shown against him. There was a big outcry forcing the club to change its mind. Or so we thought, they released a statement saying he wouldn't play for the first team and we assumed that be has been sacked. But he was loaned out instead. So there is still a chance that he could play next year. The club are giving him a platform to regrow his career and paying for his accomodation etc. He should be sacked.

I'm not sure how true it is but there are allegations that the Man Utd club doctor attended to Antony's ex girlfriend after she sustained the injuries she did. This is very worrying if true, and the club know about it, especially when the whole Greenwood thing was happening.

There's a lot to respect about Man Utd in what they do both on and off of the pitch and the way they have conducted themselves traditionally but there is a trend here that deserves a lot of criticism. There doesn't seem to be any accountability for their actions. And while the club cannot tell the players how to act, that's down to the individual, but they can tell them what to not do.

The allegations re:Ronaldo date back to 2009,which was before he re-signed in a blaze of glory.

If there are repeated cases happening, it of course reflects on the club, tge culture there, how it's run, and they have a responsibility up to a point. Ultimately it's th responsibility of the individuals concerned, but anyone would have to question the culture of the organization who this keeps happening to '.

Anyway, it's not my club and I should know better than engage with someone who will not see what's in front of them.

I'm out.

°°°°°

What you're saying is that Manchester United are actively encouraging players to break the law.

Should we say that Liverpool are an institutionally racist club because of how they handled the Suarez/Evra affair?

Wanna have a pop at United? Go for it but at least keep your narrative within the realms of reality instead of the wet dream of a rival fan type waffle you've posted on this topic.

You should know better than to post absolute nonsense.

I'll give you one thing, you've raised the bar for crackpot claptrap made up about a rival football club.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭davemckenna25

I didn't think Anthony had been charged or found guilty of anything?

I thought it was just an accusation of which he strongly denies.

Have we now gone away from the Innocent untill proven guilty or what is the story?

First there was the conspiracy theory that the Saudis were trying to destabilise Liverpool, now United are seemingly a bordello of wife beaters and scumbags.

Can't wait to hear whats next, probably will be Evertons turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,178 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

If United made the players wear t-shirts with Greenwood's face splashed on them then you could say it might be a culture issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,706 ✭✭✭OmegaGene

jesus folks there's some utter shite posting about united here

okay so the reason we are hearing so much about these cases is likely social media blowing everything up in our faces, footballers have messed up over the years big time and it was always covered up, young men with time on their hands and massive amounts of money to spend will make mistakes is it right - no but what can the clubs do bar lock them up for life

joey barton and woodgate i think were involved in a fight that was deemed a racist attack many years ago, print media went to town on them at the time and if that happened now social media reporters would have torn them a new arsehole

tony adams and the drink driving similar

george best and the many things he did

just my 2 cents

The internet isn’t for everyone

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,798 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

I would have gotten away with it if it wasn't for that pesky social media?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

I dislike united as much as anyone but to suggest there's a correlation between the club and the few absolute pieces of sh!te they've hired is pure nonsense.

Being offered £150m for Bruno would be horrible, just horrible...

Honestly, if the Saudis were doing that it would be one hell of an enticement to finish ahead of them every season. Finish ahead of Newcastle and they will offer you crazy amounts of money, it could end up more lucrative than qualifying for the CL.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Ya weird when you consider what some of their players have been accused and charged off. And yet still celebrated.

That's in no way defending actions of United lads. If guilty I want them out.

It’s naive to think that Newcastle aren’t factored in to PIFs transfer strategy for the Saudi teams.

Theyre not out to get any one team, just exploiting the situation they’ve setup. They can either buy a player for Newcastle, or they can buy a player without financial restrictions for the Saudi league.

If the Salah bid of £218 million is true it points to that. They probably could have gotten Salah for much less if they decided to go for him while Liverpool had the ability to replace him, and even late in the window the reporting was a verbal bid of around £100m. It’s not outrageous to say Liverpool without Salah(or a replacement until Jan at the earliest) is beneficial to Newcastle.

I don’t think it’s a conspiracy, just a completely absurd situation that should have never been allowed to happen in the first place.

Well it hasn't happened yet in any way shape or form, the only club who lost an important player was city.

No club actually has to sell players of course and if Saudi are going to wildly overpay for players then clubs will be thrilled or any club that values itself to do good transfer Business.

Salah wasnt sold, the way people are going on you'd imagine he was, plenty of transfer bids went in on deadline day and many were rejected it happens every year people need to relax.

Are the Saudis trying to destabilize psg too because they were linked or bid for half there team.

Just because something is possible doesn't mean it's probable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,178 ✭✭✭chicorytip

The area of player recruitment at Manchester United has been deemed unsuccessful under previous management but you wonder if Ten Hag is creating a rod to beat himself with some of his own signings. It is he alone who is directing transfer policy. Antony, Onana, Martinez, Casemiro, Malacia and Mount are all his own men, signed on his instructions. None of these could be deemed a success to date in the sense of being seamlessly integrated into the team and having an immediate galvanising effect.

Liverpool and Klopp have the happy knack of being able to do this.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,213 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Sorry, what? Martinez and Casemiro were two of Utds best players last season. Mount has played for the club twice. Onana 4 times and has looked good.

As to Liverpools 'happy knack'. Thiago? Keita? Oxlade-Chamberlain? €85m Nunez was a flop in his first season.

Stop talking rubbish.

United don't have a dof we don't really know what the structure is at the club tbh In terms of recruitment.

There was a big relief when Woodwards hands were pryed from the reigns as he couldn't do as worse job if he actually tried. The damage he done is still being felt and will be for a long time.

To blame ten hagg would be ludicrous tbh and we don't now exactly how much input he is having on the decision making or what targets he is getting. He sure a **** isn't doing the contract or fee negotiations.

Also your list of signings is wierd 2 would be considered a success so far, 2 are brand new, and malcia is a young left back that was signed as back up to shaw.

In this day and age a manager shouldn't be expected to do much towards players signings, scouting and fees aren't their department, if that's the case then that'd be a huge failure of the club more so the manager

The PSG comparison doesn’t work because they don’t own a team in the same league.

And while no team has to sell, the numbers being thrown around do cause headaches for clubs - headaches that Newcastle will no doubt avoid.

So based on your comment that something being possible not being probable, are you happy for Saudi Arabia to self-regulate in terms of their interests in their own league and the PL?

• Registered Users Posts: 707 ✭✭✭al87987

If ETH continues to buy mainly former players of his/Ajax products then surely he must be judged on the transfer policy.

Casemiro had a good enough season last year but he'll only get slower and already looks like he doesn't have the legs to play midfield anymore.

Martinez can't be trusted for me, he's way too rash and can only defend if he has no booking, as soon as he gets a yellow he must be subbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,617 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

Regarding the player allegations - I feel this is a topic we need to be very careful around.

While anyone who makes the allegation deserves to have their side of the story heard and a proper investigation into said incident. That is not the place of the public to make a judgment call.

Just as there can be players who done awful things and got away with it there can also be players who are innocent and are accused of things they never did.

I or anyone here would not want an accusation to potentially ruin our entire lives and we must afford that same chance to people in the public eye.

It's pretty disgusting to come in and read the joyful glee almost that some posters have over the potential of getting one over on a rival club from these situations.

Talk of a rotten culture - want to look a bit closer to home with that thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,617 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

Prime Kante couldn't cover the midfield space we were leaving in the first couple of games. Not on Casemiro.

Martinez has been our best defender anytime he's available. Start of this season has seen him left to cover too much space or runners from deep by our midfield as well.

It's a question of the setup and ETH rather than either of those players. I'd expect to see it tighten up a lot more after the break

That's my point psg aren't in the same league, yet they are still going after high profile players that would hurt them if they lost them. Out of any team in the world that could claim to be gone after it'd be then. But people like you are ignoring their crazy transfer Business as just crazy business when it doesn't fit the conspiracy narrative, like people who buy into conspiracys do.

You have no idea what will happen with Newcastle or not, if they were receiving huge bids for players not worth you'd be saying it's a conspiracy to load the club with money, like people were saying about st.m

When was it decided that Saudi Arabia would be regulating the premier league I must have missed that.

My whole point is that there’s a conflict of interest between PIF essentially running their own league while owning a team in a different one.

They will go after high level players from all leagues, nobody can stop them. Newcastle though will be exempt. They’re not going to poach their own players. The fact that they can look to buy players from teams around Newcastle is a huge bonus for them.

They will also have a mechanism to quickly get players off the books should the need arise. They’ll be able to slap huge transfer fees on average players because they’re essentially paying themselves.

Has any of this happened yet? No. But I wouldn’t be relying on Saudi Arabia to keep everything above board and honest.

Ya sure there could be a conflict of interest, we have no idea what there goal is yet. I'm not saying there isn't potential for that, but one bid for Salah doesn't mean they were sabotaging Liverpool which is the basis for all this conversation on thread.

If they are wildly over paying for players then as I said clubs should be happy enough, especially if it's older player past or near past there prime.

Look at Chelsea you had lads saying they were buying players to help there investment, if the bought from Newcastle itd be said its to help them beat fpp and if they don't buy from Newcastle it's to help them. But you can't have it both ways.

I wouldn't either but again that's a different conversation to the one taking place about sabotage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,189 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Man Utd top league of transfer losses with negative spend of more than £1bn in last decade

Manchester United have spent a record £1.19bn more on transfers over the past decade than they have recouped through player sales, according to a new study.

Since 2014 United have spent about £1.67bn on new players, and brought in about £481m, says Swiss-based research institute, CIES Football Observatory.

Chelsea are second with a negative net spend of £883m, followed by French side Paris St-Germain with £863m.

Arsenal (£745m) and Manchester City (£732m) complete the top five.

All that money spent by Man United and relatively little success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭jacool

Two points:

1. Congratulations on making yet another thread about Liverpool and Manchester United, neither of which will be winning the Premier League this season by the way, or anytime soon, while Pep is at the wheel.
    2. What would make the Newcastle stuff interesting would be if Salah or Bruno or Saka went to Saudi for megabucks, but were bought a year later by Newcastle for a pittance. Could that be investigated, if it happened?

• Site Banned Posts: 20,685 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Sheffield United is at least 50% owned by a Saudi too....

Yeah, Prince Abdullah actually owns them outright now.

The football ownership world is starting to become very small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I'm sure we've all read about the Roy Keane incident. The synic in me wonders why I haven't heard a peep from Arsenal about this. Usually when a fan in the stands throws a coin or makes a racist remark etc the club involved are very quick to make a statement and ban the fan for life. It wouldn't be because this fan has a high end hospitality season ticket? Apologies in advance if they have acted I just haven't seen it anywhere.

Since it was a personal assault, with the person immediately arrested, that might change the approach the club have to take. They released a statement alright, just saying; "We are aware of an incident that took place during our match against Manchester United on Sunday, the Metropolitan Police is conducting an investigation into the matter and we are fully co-operating with their enquiries."

Blows a lot of myths.

Most clubs would sell their soul for that amount of cash. 1.67 billion worth of new players in 10 seasons. Eye watering.

A lot of it was wasted on poor players, but that's another discussion.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭BenK

What myths does it blow exactly?

Everyone knows United have blown through stupid money on poor players over the last decade, that's not news.

They're starting to pay the consequences of that now though with the loan players they've had to sign: having to retain unwanted players on high wages; being weak in certain positions etc.

No-one is arguing they haven't spent vast sums of money on players. Very little money has been sent though on the stadium, training facilities, infrastructural works etc., the non-headline grabbing items. The owners have blown through any financial advantage United might have had.

I'm also not sure if I'd take the figures of the likes of Chelsea and City at face value either.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭pavb2

I think out of all the grounds I’ve been to given its history and success Old Trafford was the one I was most disappointed in, outside looked ok but inside was cramped and all the steelwork just seemed rusty. The Emirates, Newcastle, Spurs, West Ham, Anfield even the Etihad are much better.