Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Johnny Glynn

• 03-09-2023 11:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭

Anyone see the incident that occurred today between Johnny Glynn and the number 2 in the Sarsfields and Ardrahan Galway club championship game? I don't know what Glynn was thinking but he could be in a bit of bother in the next few days. He almost strangled the no.2 in an off the ball incident. No place for MMA in a hurling game. I would imagine there will be more on this. It was nasty and no place for it on a hurling field.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

Johnny had built up such goodwill with the New York story and interviews over the last few years. Destroyed it all today in a moment of madness. Choking someone to the point of distress is chilling. A dark take might be, he's getting away with that on the American scene and forgot Tg4 had cameras at this game. Why would he do that to someone? There's no defending it. It was definitely a form of arm triangle - designed to cut off air flow. The corner back was in a panic. That can't be overlooked. Have heard County board and Galway selectors have been chatting to him but, Jesus, they can't over look that today...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

1. Phenomenal game

2. Shocking choke. Never ever seen the likes of it before.

3. Galway County board and getting things right..... Wouldn't hold my breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

The GAA as a whole trains and encourages players to go out and do whatever unsavoury shite they can get away with to their opponent.

Bit rich to complain when the players do what they are told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Totally agree

in any other sport that’s a definite red card, no discussion needed. It’s a violent attack off the ball !

Only in GAA could commentators be saying a yellow is enough, or yerra there were 2 of them at it. Change in mindset needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,426 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

It's shocking that your man is tapping out and Glynn keeps going. Whatever the longest ban possible should be given here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭brokenbad

Absolute scumbag behaviour from Glynn - if that happened on the street he would be looking at jail time, but he will get away with it because the Galway County Board will protect him from any major sanctions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

Glynn has gone down in my estimation and deserves a nice ban for that. I can tolerate plenty of messing on the pitch but choking is absolute cowardice and could go very badly wrong if lads get carried away.

A real shame too because he still had enough to be playing intercounty, if the rumours were to be believed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭fire_man

It was a shocking incident. Long ban now for Mr.Glynn.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭Motivator

A fairly shocking incident, but not exactly shocking to see who the culprit is. What would expect from a pig only a grunt? He’s been acting the bully boy long enough now and getting away with things, granted nothing any way as serious as what happened yesterday, for too long.

If the Galway Co. Board have any cop on they need to act, I wouldn’t hold my breath though. That was worse than any stroke pulled over the years to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭MfMan

What are you on about? What other incidents has he been involved in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Just saw the video now, that's as bizzare an incident as you'll see on a sports field - strange that it hasn't been picked up much by the media, bigger deals have been made of far lesser incidents. Hard to see there being any mitigating factors for something like that and assuming there's not, you'd hope he gets a sizeable ban

Galway County Board trying to keep a lid on it and sort the issue "in-house" i would imagine. Having an All-Ireland winner behaving in such a manner is not a good look for them, Be interesting to see how they deal with the situation.....

There's a few things to note here:

He isn't officially part of the intercounty setup yet. My understanding is he's still intending on staying in New York this year so he could we take a ban under the table and only miss a couple of championship matches as Ardrahan are safe and unlikely to go beyond a Quarter Final realistically. That's if the county board want matters to remain private.

In my own opinion they should make it as transparent as possible and set an example. We're never going to completely cut out acts of dirt but we have to draw a line at choking. There's probably more goodwill for the county board in the past couple of years than there has been in a couple of decades but something like this would paint them in an unflattering light.

It's a major headache for the County Board on how to deal with this.

A criminal conviction - if pursued could have major implications regarding his return to NYC.

Remember what happened Diarmuid Connolly with his visa "issues" which prevented him from travelling to USA a few years back......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭PeggyShippen

Terribke incident. He should get year. Funny thing about Glynn is he never really used his physical attributes. Terrible against Mike Casey in 2018. I always felt Glynn was a country bumpkin especially after his celebrated foul language on TV. And zero aggression really when it counted. This incident confirms all those misgivings for me. A bad attempt at choking a guy prone on the ground and defenceless. I wouldnt like my daughter bringing that bogman home

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭celt262

Sure what's going to happen as far as i can see a two game ban is the most that can be handed down under the rules as they stand.

Please correct me if i'm wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭CuriousCucumber

"We're never going to completely cut out acts of dirt but..."

Sorry, but what? This doesn't happen in other sports. Why is it accepted.

As a passing, fair weather fan of GAA, it seems to me, to accept absolute thuggery.

You see it so often, when teams run down the tunnel together, or when a sub comes on, and immediately leathers his marker.

There are loads of absolutely wonderful, skillful gaa players. The game should focus on them, and letting them shine. Not some brain dead thugs, who just want to use their physicality to try to level the playing field.

The only other sport that I am aware of, where this seems to be accepted, is Aussie Rules, and I dont know if that's still the case.

One good example - remember Tadhg Kennelly's pre-meditated and dangerous shoulder charge on Nicholas Murphy's head just seconds after throw in during the 2009 All Ireland Final between Cork and Kerry? He should have walked for that one but got away with it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭Seadin

Remember guys Paul Galvin got an eight week ban for hitting the book out of the referees hand and in fairness that was very mild and harmless compared to what Glynn did at the club game at the weekend. But again there is one rule for one man and nothing for the other as of yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,694 ✭✭✭Feisar

Didn't look like like an arm triangle, he just used his thumb and index/forefinger to cut of the air supply.

First they came for the socialists...

In my time playing the likes of soccer and rugby (at low amateur levels around the country) I've seen deliberate leg breakers, players getting jaws/noses/eye sockets broken, gouging and dozens of punch-ups. That's not to condone any of those acts but you're being deliberately obtuse if you think GAA is the only organisation in Ireland facing thuggery.

Were you slating a lad like Dominic Robertson McCoy when he deliberate stood on Josh van der Flier's head a few years back in the Sportsground for Connacht-Leinster, for example? Were you critical of the Columbia women's team when they kicked lumps out of our women's soccer team in a match that was eventually abandoned a few weeks back?

Once again, Glynn should get a long ban and I hate seeing this in any sport, but filth and thuggery happen in plenty of other sports. Singling this out as exclusive to GAA is a very head-in-the-sand argument.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

paul galvin got 6mths for knocking the book out of the refs hand... it was reduced to 3 on appeal.... he got 8wks for sticking his finger in eoin cadogans mouth..... why he got 8wks for that no one knows... a joke.. unfortunately his reputation at the time didnt help....

on Johnny glynn.... whatever about the choking incident.. what disappointed me more was the lack of help from the corner backs teammates.... glynn should have been smashed to pieces...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭MfMan

Oh for heaven's sake, now he's being judged on his comportment! He only F-bombed once on TV, like a good few have done since. What are you expecting all GAA players to conform to - Oxford post-grads or something? The 'bogman' moved to NY as a young man and through hard work has established his own successful business over there; would that not be a good prospect for your daughter? Why pick on a single match to make a point? Nothing wrong with his performances in 2015 v. Cork, 2018 replay v KK, 2018 replay v Clare in 2018 (all in Thurles), where he used his physique to good effect.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

Glynn is pushing the head up towards him to cut off airflow with the hurley/hand behind the head while choking with the other. He didn't have to work any complex position like a captain's hook because he is choking a someone who is not trained:

https://youtu.be/Y9lGwUUVKds?si=lS73IUKAW6Za_sFq&t=40

I missed the hurl/hand on my first view and put it down to a simple choke but you are right. I noted those he kept close, keeping chest pressure while applying although his hips are high. Suggesting some training but not a whole lot.

I say that they didn't know how serious it was until afterwards.

I mixed up the incidents with Galvin. You are spot on.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 dazza181

Is there any benefit of a thread like this? Seems just a platform for abuse. An awful act which I'm sure he regrets and the country board will deal with but I don't like to see an amateur sports player getting called all sorts online.

If it was an unknown down the town of a sat night it'd get the same exposure. Don't think a jersey should protect scummy behaviour.

Edit - maybe the GAA forum is the wrong place, there's a feral youths thread in current affairs that might suit this assault better.