Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2023 **No Ticket Sales / Requests ** - It'll be grand

• Registered Users Posts: 12,809 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭Kepler21

There aren't codes, as far as I know, its a notification on the ticketmaster App that takes you into the page.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭rubick

Personal Taste Alert; I cannot be having Pendulum. Can't stand those wailing, screeching clownstep samples combined with tinny guitars and jorts with massive keychains on them. See also The Prodigy's output post-Jilted Generation.

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭dav09

Yeah not everyone's cup of tea, and The Prodigy probably more universally appealing too, I love all of The Prodigy's catalog pretty much from early to their last album, but yeah that's the way electronic music/ electronic rock has seemingly evolved for the most part over the past 20 years for better or worse, you could say the same about a lot of bands.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,792 ✭✭✭Fanirish

No EP act gets €2-€3m. The whole booking budget for the festival is about €5m. €500,000 ish roughly average for headliner. €150,000- €300,000 for subheadliner.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

With you on Pendulum. Not so for The Fat of the Land. C’mon man, that was loaded with bangers. 😄

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Wooderson

That ultra grim about family camping. I give out yards (unreasonably?) about the line up for EP but the family camping set up is wonderful.

I also can’t see that amount being spent on an individual act but they’ll certainly go beyond the €500k limit in 2024. With increased revenue on food and a minimum of €2m income (top price tickets, food, drink) with the extra 5k attendees there’s a lot more cash to play about with.

FR are not only thinking of 2024 but the following decade and major headliners on the 20th anniversary sends a message to ‘upstart’ festivals. I believe they’ll attract some back from ATN next Year. Which of the two would you rather have been at this Summer?

My money is on Radiohead with DM close behind. But like @Genghis I’m also prepared for something appalling.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Genghis

Ah okay @Fanirish, I was muddled with the figures, what I mean is that they can always find 6 heads/subs in their usual price bracket and keep the established date.

If a €300k/500k target act is not available early Sept, no problem, call the next one and maybe see you some other year.

To have enough clout to shift the entire festival probably also means the fee to have said act will be a tier up from normal.

Lankum likely to appear next year also (I’ll get to the 2024 thread soon enough) and surely a fair chance they’ll do so as Mercury winners. The exact sort of quirky unexpected winner the judges regularly favour. We’ll know in eight hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

not that you can believe a word out of Benns mouth but he said there was nothing planned for 20th

Yep, even the lovely Michael Eavis lies all the time. 😄

But if he’s actually moved EP 2024 for a major act then that’s already something special for next year. He’s pushing the 20th anniversary in interviews and FR will be throughout the run up to the festival n advance of 2025 sales.

But yeah, my expectations are tempered. One great headliner from three would satisfy me, the odd other decent top or middle tier acts and then the great fringe stuff we had this year. And more sunshine. That’ll do me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭rubick

They hold a very special place in my heart (first proper gig/rave in 1994, Ulster Hall along with The 4th Dimension and a squad of DJs, 1st album a timeless classic) but I just didn't like FOTL.

I was firmly ensconced in the progressive house scene by then and Roni Size had just released New Forms so I guess I just moved on.

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭dav09

To be honest they shouldn't be paying sub headliners too much, particularly not Irish ones. In Glastonbury, it's a pleasure to be asked to play, usually demanding a much lower fee than usual where as when an Irish headliner is asked it seems to be more about the money from what I hear. If they didn't have to have middle of the road Irish headliners each year then maybe they could get away with it but that's been their strategy so far, have one who really wants to play for less money it. I doubt many people will be swayed towards buying a ticket due to Niall Horan or The Script anyway when they play here a lot for much less thank 285 per ticket. Would like to see Muse and RATM or maybe Foo Fighters, imagine those 3 as headliners, but no it won't happen. Gorillaz might be a good shout, really enjoyed them live.

I'm afraid they'll do Calvin Harris some year as the dance headliner, if some of you think The prodigy, Pendulum, Chemical Bros are bad then you don't know what you're in for if someone like that plays. I seen him headline Primevera this year (very briefly) and one of the worst things I've ever seen, not one bit of DJ'ing either it looks everything in perfect sync with lighting, visuals and hands in the air jumping around. I fear too they'll go for someone miles passed it like Fatboy Slim or Tiesto. Maybe that act they've been trying to get for years is Aphex Twin, no don't fool ourselves again!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,792 ✭✭✭Fanirish

i’m sure the fee is the higher than a normal headliner or similar ballpark to the killers or Billie but EP grabbing a Rolling Stones or equivalent just isn’t going to happen. Too much money difference between a headline show for them and EP.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Cannot BELIEVE the R-word is being thrown around here again with gay abandon!! And by veterans! Shame on all of you! In fairness, all of us talk about how little the headliners/main stage mean to our festival but a real cracker, a Depeche Mode or something would really give the thing a boost. I'll be keeping a close eye on the whole thing. How did Eco work out this year lads? Rammed?

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭mcdonut

Long time lurker here. Thanks to all the regular contributors for their enthusiasm and helpful information posted here. Had a ball this year, mostly hanging out at the smaller stages and the sunshine was a big help too .

Inspired by the fun, picked up some tier 2 early bird tickets for 2024.

Thanks all

• Registered Users Posts: 391 ✭✭Paddy2012

Aphex Twin headlining the EA opposite Ed Sheeran or someone would be a pretty inspired booking I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭Phishwax

Been told Lankum won’t be playing EP next year. They are selective with festivals and have no interest in EP. B&S more likely

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭SachaJ

Would Justice be big enough? They are touring next year apparently

Can we please have Brown Paper Bag in Rankins Wood sometime?

Caught him at Notting Hill Carnival around the time of New Forms. What a buzz.

Post edited by Seathrun66 on

Less busy than last year from my impression, there seemed to be much more space around the tents. Others may have had different experiences but we were pretty cosy in our wee Boardsies ghetto.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Just remembered an overheard conversation from the weekend;

Where do i know Johnny Marr from? What did he sing?

He was in The Smiths.

Smiths? The eighties band?

Yep.

He must be 90 now! And he's still playing?

Yep.

🤣😲🙄

Big on the all mouth and trousers scene

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭Mucker46

Its a long review but enjoyed it so much couldnt leave anything out

Friday

So after much giving out about the acts appearing this year (and justified giving out in many ways) I headed for EP23 with a list (on a Clashfinder that nearly did my patience in before I got here) of over 50 acts that I would be happy to see and a condensed list of 30+ I was hoping I would get to.  Arrived on site about 2:30 and headed to the Salty Dog.  While listening to Racoon Jane in the background I undertook some research on costs and got myself a can of Orchard Thieves.  At €6 was pleasantly surprised as was thinking it would be more, turns out at every other bar it was €6.50 a can.  Think it was around this time I met my first Boardsie running into @Keplar.  Had a walk around reacquainting myself with the site and checking out the Survivor stage, really impressive set up there with the plane in the tree and ended up there a few times, more later.  First band I took in properly was the Bionic Rats in Croi, I was delighted to see that it was more like its old self than it was last year.  The Bionic Rats with their old school ska really set the tone for me for the weekend as it was joyous and had me bopping along (as were @rubick and @desktidy), so much so that when talking to the missus later she said our family locator app had said I was running at 16:15 (she assumed it was a mistake).  Got chatting to a guy there that was clearly a huge fan.  Told me he had never seen them live before and that he and his Dad had said they would see them together but his Dad refused to come to EP.  Asked him if he had been at EP before to which he responded Nah sure was only born in 2005 so this is the first one I am old enough for, tell you I felt my age in that moment.  From there back to Salty for a bit of The Love Buzz who were grand and then first proper visit to Survivor for the Rolling Stones tribute act who were quite good and had people singing along.  Back to Salty for Pale Blue Eyes who I thought were excellent, really good sound and while I know someone on here questioned the singers ability I thought his voice suited their sound really well.  Lads were in great form playing EP for the first time and having just released their album that day.  Went to the main stage to see King Kong Company, I suspected that the main stage in the brightness would not work for them and that is exactly how it felt when I was there so only lasted 15 minutes.  Over to the Electric Arena for Wet Leg who I was really looking forward to but for me the sound on the vocals was very poor and as a result found it a bit flat, but clearly others around me didn’t feel the same as there was a great atmosphere.  Caught the end of the Murder Capital and regretted not leaving Wet Leg earlier as they sounded great, a band that has really grown on me over the years.  Off then to Fishtown for Sun Mashene who I thought sounded good on Spotify but were pretty awful and boring live.  Headed over to Viagra Boys, they were brilliant.  Have not seen them before as had always felt they would be boring after a few songs and there was always clashes but really enjoyed the gig, as did the rest of the tent.  Grabbed a bite to eat from Wok and Roll, to bring with me to see the only headliner I had any interest in seeing, Billie Eilish.  Stood back near the Ferris Wheel behind a huge crowd eating my grub.  Billie blew me away in 2019 and while her second album did not grab me as much as the first it was pretty decent so expected a lot from her.  It was clear she was under the weather yet I think she put on a great show and for one so young she had the crowd in the palm of her hand.  Big shout out to the crowd that far back who were great during the gig in terms of not having chats through the songs.  Caught a bit of Meltybrains? at Croi and thought they were very interesting live.  Headed to Salty Dog for special guests Columbia Mills, who I have seen many times and like a lot, but they were very disappointing and they are going backwards for me.  Ended day one at that stage having had a great day.  I met a number of Boardsies across the day and had great chats with them and got to share some gigs with like-minded people, which was great.

Saturday

Early start Saturday as wanted to see Cat Dowling as really liked her last album.  She has a lovely voice but the gig was a bit mellow to the point that @coffeeimpala left as not lively enough for him, it got lively as soon as he left, pity he didn’t go earlier.  Hung around Fishtown for Scattered Ashes who I had enjoyed last year and were even better this year.  With a bit of a gap I went to Trailer Park to see The Pearly Whites, a feel good cover band.  The sun was beaming, the area was packed, the tunes were cheesy and the atmosphere was brilliant.  There were smiles all round, a number of Congo lines and even a bit of Christmas music, 141 days to go apparently. Left with a large grin on my face.  Headed to the Survivor stage for a bit of Rum Sodomy and the Lash by the Outcast Crew.  Was a bit early and some of the band were out tuning up and I thought they look familiar but I didn’t think I had ever seen the Outcast Crew before.  When the guitarist came out I copped it was These Charming Men who had been switched to avoid the clash with Johnny Marr I presume.  Having heard mixed reviews from the night before about the new Morrissey I was keen to hear him.  Not sure what happened the night before but he was brilliant if clearly nervous, said it was only his second gig.  He has all the moves and for the most part has the voice and they put on a great show, he needs to think about his between song banter as very un Mozzy like.  Over to the Bootleg Beach Boys where I met many Boardsies really enjoying the music while it was clear most of the rest of the crowd wanted California Girls, Surfin’ USA etc.  @Darzog and @Seathrun’s knowledge of the music, right down to the running order was mind blowing.  Took a break for a bite to eat and a wander around before going to see the legend that is Johnny Marr.  He was outstanding and the best I have ever seen him.  It was great to see such a mixed age of a crowd all singing along and all lost in the joy of a brilliant performance and performer.  Left the tent thinking that is my gig of the weekend sorted.  Caught the last two songs of Tom Odell, a guilty pleasure but think he is some piano player.  Last song was Another Love, which was beautiful and lapped up by the crowd.  Back to Survivor for the Roadhouse Doors who were brilliant and the crowd were loving them.  Got chatting to a guy who told me he regularly stuck the Doors on at night when going to bed he loved them that much and that because of this his wife hates them which is why he was on his own. He said he only knew they were on as they had self announced and they were not on the EP app, another reason to hate the app.  Told him about the Led Zeppelin band that were on Sunday at which point he disappeared before returning with a can for me as apparently I had made his weekend with that news.  Then came the moment I had been dreading where two of my must sees were clashing Simple Kid and Idles.  Decided to watch a few from Simple Kid and then head to Idles in the hope that Simple Kid will play Ireland again soon.  He was so good for a man that has not performed live for so long.  Sang a new song about his kids, who were in the audience, and explained the background to it.  Surprisingly he gave no background to the next song Drugs.  Myself and @Seathrun left for Idles and I am so glad I did.  They were immense, brilliant, class, I cannot think of enough words to describe how good I thought they were and Danny Nedelko live will stick with me for a long time.  I realised then that Johnny was now number two for the weekend.  Headed over to the main stage for a bit of Fred Again who I had caught a bit of last year and thought was quite good, however he did not do it for me this year so left after 15 minutes.  Headed up to Salty to catch a bit of RSAG and suffered severe disappointment when informed that they were out of cider, clearly everyone had worked out they were cheaper there.  Off then to Trailer Park for the Onion Boys who for me are always good for a few songs but get a bit samey and too much after that so only stayed a while.  Finished the night at Salty for Overhead the Albatross who I had never seen before and enjoyed.  Legs were too tired to hang around for Thumper.

Sunday

Thankfully had a bit of a lie in on Sunday with first gig being Gurriers at 2:30.  Thought they were really good, great sound and good energy.  Bit of a discussion amongst the Boardsies as to which one of them is the Boardsie.  Couple of songs by Scullion before heading for my first bit of nostalgia with the Lightning Seeds who were really enjoyable and still have the voice and sound.  Crowd were in good form and the day trippers easy to spot with their cleanliness and energy.  Then for something different to the Seeds with Chalk in the 3 Tent.  Really enjoyed this gig, think they have a great sound and a good frontman.  Time again for more nostalgia with Rick Astley.  A very happy crowd on a lovely sunny day made for a great gig.  While it is a long time since the height of his singing days he still has a very powerful voice and is the consummate showman.  The singalong for Never Gonna Give You Up was very uplifting and I left with a smile on my face.  Who I saw next was largely driven by making sure is was as far away as possible from the Wolfe Tones who do nothing for me, having seen the pictures it appears that only 4 other people had the same idea as me. I spent some time in Salty listening to the Deadlians, didn’t do much for me but better than the Wolfe Tones.  Headed down to Electric Arena for another old school Irish band in the Saw Doctors.  Again, the tent was heaving and the lads put on a good show though I left early to catch Ethel Cain.  The crowd in the tent did not surprise me but the fact that so many seemed to know all the words did surprise me.  She has a lovely voice and some great songs.  Got a heads up that Risk Astley was appearing on Salty so headed up for that.  This was one of the best gigs of the weekend with Rick under the influence, in great form and unusually not in a suit.  He did some great covers from Kylie to Foo Fighters and much in between and his backing singers had some voices.  Don’t think anyone could have left the place without a beaming grin on their faces.  Caught some of the Def Nettle set in Fishtown which was enjoyable without being anything brilliant.  Back then to the 3 stage for Amyl and the Sniffers who were really good and watching the mosh pit grow from a few lads to over 50% of the tent was so energising.  The lead singer has some level of fitness as she jumped around the stage for the whole show but still delivered the vocals.  With the festival drawing towards a close my legs were really starting to struggle so I had a sit down in the Salty Dog with a few cans to listen to The Eskies and a bit of Sello.  My festival finished with Sprints who felt a bit flat to me, could have been my tiredness or theirs as they had only just arrived having been in Amsterdam.  They were doing their best to make it lively and the crowd surfing dinghy with one passenger was certainly interesting.  I finally left the site at the end of EP23 at a bit after 3 with a big smile and sunburn on my face and some great memories.

Outside of the music the things I found great at the festival were: meeting old and new Boardsies; the weather; the return of the mosh pit; Survivor stage; the general good vibe.  Only complaint the toilets were a disaster worst I have ever seen at EP.

Roll on the giving out about the 2024 headliners

• Registered Users Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

The 2024 headliner is clearly going to be a reformed Spacemen 3. Melvin throwing stupid money at them to do one more gig. In fact he'll probably give over the EA to the various spinoffs for the whole day before the big finale on the main stage. Around 12.30 Saturday night, amongst a barrage of strobes and droning feedback, the immortal words will be uttered, "Thanks for coming".

Or else it's Neil Young.

Probably be CMAT.

Big on the all mouth and trousers scene

• Registered Users Posts: 5,003 ✭✭✭endainoz

If anyone has any loyalty codes there not using I'll take them

• Registered Users Posts: 7,592 ✭✭✭Penfailed

We were at so many of the same bands over the weekend! I must get a write up done...

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭Mucker46

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭snor

My teens at EP this year and enjoyed. Can I get early bird tickets femoral 2024 now? How do I do this? Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 764 ✭✭✭princemuzzy

Friday - Headed in on my lonesome to catch the love buzz on salty at 5, great fun.

Joined by the rest of the crew shortly after including my 18 year old his 1st picnic as an adult.

We went for a ramble The son and his cousin headed to jazzy in electric arena we stood outside chatting to friend me met for a few mins. By jesus Jazzy was shite😁 i have a funny feeling the 2 young lads didn't go for the music though.

The adults of the group went on to these charming men, decent crowd at Salty dog and they were as good as always.

We left a smidge early to get a good spot for the murder capital. they were brilliant not as good as Dublin earlier in the year but class all the same.

Headed to Steve lacy at the request of my kid he was ok if a bit Meh but the crowd seemed to love him. Kanye was rumoured to be there with him.

Caught the last 30 mins of the very enjoyable Viagra Boys.

Majority of the group went to Billie but she wasnt for me so me and the brother in law headed to Survivor stage to check out Scustin doing Californication. Great stage and set from the lads, they told everyone they were the secret act for the salty dog so headed there next and really enjoyed their own stuff too. Caught some of the Tan and sober gents then but was so tired headed for bed

31000 steps and 6 bands ive had worse Fridays

Saturday - Caught a bit of Pa sheey on the main stage and had another mosey around, really felt despite the extra crowds there were more places to chillout this year

Had intended to head to the last dinner party but time got away as we sat on the grass out side Rankins having a few beers and missed them. Some guy called Jamie Webster was on inside not my thing but served as background music.

Headed into Rankins for Ham Sandwich my wife's favorite, great energy and a bit of fun ideal for the tiring mind. wife got a drum stick and a setlist made her day.

Sat outside Electric Area having a few pints for the academic, they get a bit of hate on here but i have a soft spot for them ideal for a few pints in the sun. all bars of that side of the site lost signal and closed for around 15 mins while i was in the q. Disgustingly saw them throwing away some pints from the bar counter as they couldn't sell them.

Into Ea up close for Mr. Marr once the Academic crowd kicked out. He was outstanding seemed to be loving it. referenced the last time and was easily my gig of the weekend.

Came out on an absolute buzz, went to meet the rest of the crowd who had gone to see tom odell. and the debate started Simple Kid vs Idles oh and Gurriers are also on at 10 said my kid to throw us all off. We settled on a few simple kid tunes one or 2 gurriers and then onto idles for the 2nd half of their set. Simple kid simply brilliant hope he plays again soon. Gurriers sounded great enough to make me decide i had to be in for 2.30 for their sunday set. Had an incident with some **** eejit and my kid and completely missed Idles. absolutely gutted but hey you win some you loose some

Headed out to chill out and calm down and came back in my the full crew for Fred again. I have to say i thought he was really good.

Headed out to Artlot to catch a DJ my wife recommended he was excellent DJ Sharpson, me and the missus had a great boogie to some 90s, 00s dance classics. Headed to Salty then and caught majority of thumper before tiredness won again.

27000 steps and despite the idiot giving my kid some hassle a great Saturday in the end

Sunday - great intentions of heading in for gurriers but i was wrecked and got a few hours day sleep.

headed to a cool shady electric arena Caught the end of Lightning seeds who sounded excellent and the start of Fight Like Apes who have sounded better in my opinion.

Over to Mary wallopers and they had a great set left half way through as the wife wanted to see Rick, despite me assuring her he would be the secret act on the Salty dog at 9 Rankins was rammed for the Mary Wallopers should have been in EA

Back to the main stage lovely sun and sing along with Rick. The main is a great showman and acts like him will always be welcome in my eyes.

wanted a good spot for the saw doctors so decided to sit outside Electric Arena for The wolfe tones and go in when it emptied, dont think anyone could have seen what happened with the size of the crowd. they are not for me but people getting worked up about all the younger generation going for a sing song must be oblivious to what goes on in their local pub at least once a month. Miraculously the q for the bar at EA During them was grand despite the size of the crowd

I will say the Lack of any decent competition on the same time as them had to contribute to the crowd.

Took a while for the crowd to disperse but got a decent spot in EA for the saw Docs a massive guilty pleasure of mine but they are a wonderful live act who i would see anywhere, and they didn't disappoint. My brother in law was shocked by the size of the crowd and the amount of songs he knew😁

Headed to Salty Dog and got a great spot for Rick. he was in Flying form a real Picnic moment and i loved every minute of it. Monkey Sheeet and Gravel Dirrrt 😉

Back over to main stage for a very enjoyable set from the killers you cant argue with their catalogue and Mike Scott got a massive cheer from me, would have loved a johnny Marr appearance too but great overall.

Over to Trailer Park main stage for Scustin, absolutely top class and majorly enjoyed it again.

Decided to head to rave in the woods but they q... **** that into arlot and Jerry fish for the last few drinks. Myself and the wife last 2 standing we even outlasted the kids Lasted for a tiny bit of sprints on salty Dog but i was on empty and they didnt see up for it.

29000 steps and one of the most enjoyable sundays ive had at the picnic.

I really think this would be in my top 5 picnic ever having done all bar 2 or 3. 99% of the crowd were lovely young and old. Definitely having my young lad around was a major bonus along with the sun of course

Is it ever going to be the lovely little festival we went to again? no but with the right amount of variation can be something for everyone. i think they have done a great job in developing freetown fishtown and that whole area .

Food was crazy money. but hey its not like you cant eat when your there and they know this. as beer prices go in Ireland in general and at gigs ive been too thought it was reasonable