Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there a Labour Party?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

It's very true that SF are far less visible and heard much less in the last several months. Whatever you say, say nothing .. seems to be the current party strategy.

Well it doesn't really matter about free houses and so on. The Border Poll is the first item on the agenda and pinned to the top. And feck the consequences.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,457 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

It's crazy but their online fanbase appears to have disappeared almost overnight.

They used to be mad at it on Twitter, Reddit and other platforms including this one.

They have been very very quiet the past year or so...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭jmcc

The Dail has not been sitting for the last few months. Things generally slow down during these over-generous holidays.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

It matters to their new support. Most youngsters are concerned about housing not a united ireland.

The Labour TDs were well-paid with salaries and pensions for their betrayal of those who voted for them. As I said earlier, most voters are not party supporters. Most of those who voted for Labour in 2011 were not Labour supporters.

Those votes shifted again in 2016. What happened to Labour was a disaster in two parts. The floating vote shifted. More importantly, the transfers on which Labour had always depended stayed within FF and FG. Without these transfers, the effect of 2016 was far greater on Labour. Its impending obliteration was glaringly obvious from the opinion polls and it was even possible to call the spread between the largest and the smallest of the Big Three parties before the GE. The media, with their rather clueless seat estimates were still waffling about Labour getting 15 seats or so. They thought that the 2.5 party model still applied despite what happened to Labour in the 2015 Local Elections. The 2015 LEs were an indicator that the Big Three political model (where no two parties had enough seats to form a government) was in effect. (I think that some of the media use the Big Three term now.)

In terms of transfers, the patterns for 2020 suggest that the electorate is beginning to consider FF and FG as the same party. That's going to be quite dangerous if FF and FG do not have a joint candidate selection strategy and electoral pact for the next GE. FF and FG candidates will end up knocking each other out in later rounds where there would be enough votes for a single FF or FG candidate to get elected. This Fratricide Effect happened in 2020 on a smaller scale.

A party needs to be consistently over 5% in the opinion polls to be considered a "national" party. Otherwise it is almost completely dependent on personal, rather than party votes to get TDs elected. Even though the usual caveats about opinion polls being First Preference polls apply, Labour is not really a "national" party with a brand. It is a group of political z-listers running for election.

Those students and their families who were let down by FG/Labour may have shifted their votes to SF. Both FF and FG seem to be bouncing around the 20% mark in opinion polls. Labour is bouncing around 2% to 6% in various polls. In the last GE, the SocDems won the same number of seats as Labour (6). PBP won 5. RTE and some of the print media still treated Labour as a major party in the run-up to the 2020 GE. There has been a distinct change away from Labour as the party of some of the media. The SocDems now seem to have moved into that space.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 18,704 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

But SF have a brand and crusade and they would never be done for 'over promising' like the way posters have said Labour was. It will be spun as just the beginning and how it will take time to fix the issues caused by previous governments.

SF will basically redo a past FF slogan 'a lot done, a lot more to do' etc.

I think the only way to fix Labour would be a charismatic relatively young, dynamic, vote friendly leader, to drag the rest of them along. But that is not going to happen lets be honest such people would be more likely to join the Greens these days. Never mind the other 'left' alternatives.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

I agree that Labour did ok in government and stood up in 2011 when the country needed a stable footing, Gilmore and especially Rabbitte were far more pragmatic politicians than the Aoidhain o Riordain professional woke progressives that dominate today

mad for SF , I don’t think the same will happen to them , they might well loose their newly found woke progressive supporters but they’ll drop them if they can steal the rural vote from FFG , SF are as cynical as they are ambitious

• Registered Users Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

I am not sure about that. If anything the electorate have shown that they have very little patience. Basically nobody considers the GFC, Covid or the Ukraine war as an excuse for FG. So SF with record low unemployment, high tax take and no external issue like Covid, they really have no excuse. The "don't look here, look over there strategy" will not work when in government, you own all the previous problems when in government.

For Labour, they have no real USP, or at least not a one in demand. To my mind, I see them as a party purely concerned with the public sector. So, for the same reason that I would not vote for a party primarily focused on banking workers or whatever, I don't see the point of them. Added to that they over promised the PS what could be achieved when they got into government and alienated the non-PS. To paraphrase the great philosopher Kirk Lazarus, you never go full public sector.

Your expectation that those voters would move to the Greens is about seven years too late. A lot of the water melon vote (Green on the outside and Labour on the inside) shifted to the Greens in 2020 but the drift had been apparent since 2016 when the obvious party for those voters imploded. There was even an attempted coup against Eamon Ryan to replace him with Catherine Martin. Many of these "issues" types Greens then went off and formed Green Left and haven't been heard from since. The water melons are quite different to the typical Green voter in that they would have been Labour-leaning pre-2020. The problem for Labour is that now the SocDems appear to be picking up a lot of that younger Middle Class demographics. This obviously has created a bit of panic within Labour and the idea that there should be a SocDems/Labour merger is being pushed by Labour and its supporters in the media. Ironically, the SocDems have a young, dynamic and most importantly, media-friendly, leader. Labour has Bacik.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

There are a few around fitting that role; Duncan Smith, Annie Hoey, Rebecca Moynihan, Marie Sherlock

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

In name only. The Labour Party was killed by the craven support they gave in their last involvements in collation. In fact not only did they cravenly support the austerity measures, but actively cheerleaded. I’m thinking in particular of pat rabbitte, Brendan howlin and Joan burton. Reprehensible inviduals .no amount of waffle from polical nobody ivanna bacik is going to reverse that.

That is true, but the trend noted above goes back a good many months. Take yer man Eoin OBroinn, he used be like a Rottweiler and on the TV or radio or whatever, every other day last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,691 ✭✭✭✭L1011

SF's two main media performers have been unlucky with health issues lately - O Broin had a suspected stroke. Mary Lou has been in and out of hospital.

Some of the other front benchers can't be let talk to the media unminded unless they say something very stupid

Nonsense, when did any of the above actively 'cheerlead austerity'.

I've no problem being critical of Labour, but the heaping of all the ills of the troika and bailout and God knows what else you want to lump in on them, is just nonsense. Part of the justification to cannibalise their vote and then keep it suppressed.

Well then they are in trouble, as a lot of the recent growth is I believe related to spin on both conventional and social media.

No great fan of Shane Ross, but as he reports in his book, project MaryLou has been long in the making.

oh sure l must be mistaken… sure doesn’t everyone love labour, as reflected in their great election results and their riding high in the polls. They betrayed the people they purported to represent, that hasn’t been forgotten, nor will it be.

They raised expectations of what they could do beyond what was deliverable. That is not betraying anyone.

Raising expectations before elections is 'food & drink' for every political party. They all do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Why worry about labour do much anyway? Ireland is not the UK where labour there is a major party due to the FPTP system.

In Ireland there is always another more principled left wing party coming along ( actual real socialists this time!) to step aboard when the current popular lefty party betrays its principles to go into government with right wingers like FF or FG.

Labour will keep ticking along with SIPTU etc helping.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,088 ✭✭✭✭flazio

They should merge with The Social Democrats and call themselves the Social Democratic Labour Party, or SDLP for short.

What's that?

The name's taken?

Well darn.

A three way merger would be sensible enough although the SDLP has some people who are really rather right wing. Some of them left to Aontu when the vaguest idea of the SDLP supporting abortion came up, and then crawled back when Aontu got obliterated in NI.

The Pat Rabbitte excuse for lying?

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Bland, beige, unappealing, centre-centre (not even centre-left anymore) with a waffler of a leader.

SF and the alphabet soup of leftie parties ate Labour's lunch years ago. Now it stands for nothing, other than making well-meaning woke noises.

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭Ronald Binge Redux

Last time neither Labour nor the Soc Dems ran in Donegal. I don't have much hope they'll run this time either.

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭csirl

Labour were the party of the virtue signalling upper middle classes. The Greens have now moved inti this space and are more fashionable due to climate change being a big issue.

You mean SF and the alphabet soup of leftie parties took good advantage of Labour's position after the 2011 election by building up a contrivance of exaggerations that continue to this day. There's no love lost between all the opposition to FF & FG, at each other's throats. But of course after the next election, we'll see SF spurn the rest and try and cosy up with FF. And if they succeed, they will be cannibalised in turn.

You’re very bitter Furze about Labours demise. They brought the house down on themselves. The smug self satisfied pat rabitte who could no longer get a shirt collar size to fit him off the peg. The horrendous Joan Burton , on air 24/7 for all the good it did her and her final confrontation with the great unwashed while barricaded in her car, and the great waffler himself, Brendan Howlin, patiently feathering his nest all these long years. “Lady Wicklow” Liz McManus who forgot her roots…..good riddance to the lot

• Registered Users Posts: 13,099 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Not sure of your point really in relation to my post which was correcting a mistake in your previous post about timing of strikes in the 1920s?

Liz McManus retired in 2011. Bar a brief period of Minister for Housing, during which time we actually built council houses before FF crashed that to promote buying off private developers, she was not in Government.

Can you at least try to remember dates and facts when doing this.