Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2023 **No Ticket Sales / Requests ** - It'll be grand

• Registered Users Posts: 7,592 ✭✭✭Penfailed

I arrived on the Thursday evening after a long drive in the rain from the north west. Sun starting to shine just south of Dublin. Good omen!

Once I had the camper parked up and the bed set up and a couple of cans of Guinness down the neck, I ventured in to do a bit of exploring and get my bearings. I started off at the Salty Dog and headed to the bar in the corner. Quite pleased that they were selling cans of Murphy's! Not realising that there was also a bar at Survivor until nearly the end of the night, I found myself covering lots of unnecessary ground tramping back to the SD bar every time I finished a pint! Caught a wee bit of Mack Fleetwood and a wee bit of the Rolling Stones tribute in between my explorations. Nice chilled evening.

Friday started with a few cans at the van and then a bit of people watching from one of the 'thrones' near the Croí entrance. I wandered over to the SD and caught The Love Buzz which I quite enjoyed, a bit of the Stones tribute at Survivor, followed by Pale Blue Eyes back at SD which I enjoyed even more. Made my way to the Main Stage to see King Kong Company whom I've really enjoyed since catching them years ago at Vantastival and a few stand alone gigs in Belfast. I thought they might be a bit lost on the big stage and, to an extent, they were. I still thought they put on a class show but would've benefited from a later slot with darker skies. I wasn't sure about the reworking of some of their older tunes. If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Things started to get very busy for me then. Wet Leg in the EA were missing something and I think it was that the sound was 'off' where I was standing. Still, good show. From there it was Fishtown for Sun Mashene (pretty enjoyable), the 3 Stage for Viagra Boys (very enjoyable), Rankins for Young Fathers (didn't catch much but liked what I heard), Fishtown again for Pixie Cut Rhythm Orchestra (don't remember much...!) and then I wandered around until the SD secret act. Columbia Mills weren't doing anything for me so I headed back to the van for the night.

I think Saturday started with Julie on the 3 Stage...but I can't be sure now. Pretty sure I caught some of The Last Dinner Party at the same stage, then made my way over to SD for the Bootleg Beach Boys and the Boardies meet up. Saw the guys in the distance and wasn't sure whether to go over or not. Then I thought, fúck it, what've I got to lose! Lovely bunch! Then it was The Oozes in Fishtown (pretty enjoyable). Electric Arena next for one of my not to be missed acts of the weekend. Johnny Marr did not disappoint! Excellent stuff! I mooched around for a while afterwards whilst waiting for my next must see act of the weekend - IDLES! Had I known that the Doors tribute were on in between, I'd have been there - fúck you EP app! * shakes fist at sky * I really wanted to see Simple Kid but didn't want to risk missing any of IDLES so gave it a miss. IDLES though. Wow! Absolutely unreal. I didn't think they would be topped. Ended up quite close to the front bouncing about with the rest of the crowd. I was knackered then so made my way back to SD and sat on one of the boats at the back listening to RSAG. Couldn't see him from where I was sitting but enjoyed the noise being made. Then it was Overhead The Albatross on the same stage. I'd seen them earlier in the year at the Stendhal festival and thought they were class. Thought the same this time. I really wanted to see Thumper afterwards but just hadn't got the stamina!

Sunday was a lazy start. Wanted to see Gurriers but hadn't the get up and go to walk in from the van. Made it in for Darnell Cole on the SD stage. Pretty straight forward blues rock. Grand. Then it was a band that I'd missed at Stendhal but wanted to see so made a point of going across early to the 3 stage for Chalk. They made a lot of loud noise sound very very good. Great in fact. Lost a wee bit of momentum between songs but when they were going, it was full on! Time for a bit of chilling out so it was over to Croi for Remembering De Dannan. I must've caught them at the wrong time because there was a fella on stage rambling on and on and on about seemingly nothing. He kept losing his train of thought and I lost patience, so Rankins it was for The Mary Wallopers. The place was packed so I sat under a tree outside and listen for a while. Alright. Caught the tail end of Royel Otis on the 3 Stage, who sounded pretty good. Mooched around for ages then and eventually found myself back at SD for the second secret act. Having listened to them set up for what seemed like ages, and having been disappointed by the secret act the night before, I wandered towards Fishtown before they started...which is how I missed Rick Astley! Def Nettle were okay. Another of my not to be missed bands were on next so I was early to the 3 Stage for Amyl and the Sniffers. Right up there with IDLES for performance of the weekend for me. Amazing energy! I summoned whatever energy I had left to bounce around with the crowd for a while...and that was it for me. I couldn't physically manage any more. I wanted to see Sprints but they were on way too late and I was way too knackered. I'd already seen them earlier this year at Stendhal so didn't feel too hard done by.

WHAT A WEEKEND!

Fin.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

Mad, but to most kids the Smiths arrived a lifetime ago. Forty years ago when we were first listening to them had we looked back at a band from forty years prior we’d have been looking at the Glenn Miller Orchestra playing gigs midway through WWII.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

@Fanirish the killers got paid €500k in 2012! Still getting the same fee 11 years on?

This stuff about moving the festival date to suit a headliner is b#####x, FR’s biggest competitor has forced them into a corner and he’s saving face! This type of talk builds massive hype and expectation! (I stand to be corrected🤓)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,792 ✭✭✭Fanirish

I said on headliners for EP would be about €500k on average. Both Billie Eillish and the Killers were both going multiple shows for Festival Republic on that run with Reading and Leeds as well so the individual fee is not straight forward. Overall package fee.

honestly festival republic doesn’t have a real competitor in ireland when it comes to EP. ATN is not causing Melvin any sleepless nights. ATN is not expanding to compete with EP.

honestly moving the dates for an artist makes sense and being closer to mid august helps overall with bands in europe. EP was nearly always the last hurrah for festivals. Obviously it helps on logistics side as well being away from

Coldplay

• Registered Users Posts: 43 tippbiffo

Brilliant yet again Mucker and that Doors story is hilarious. Many good chats last weekend and thanks for being such great company.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,589 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Right I have photos and videos up but I had family from Scotland visiting on Wednesday so haven't had a chance yet to scribe bout this years event yet hopefully will have something for ye's before end of weekend.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭darzog

I wanted to wait until the dust had settled in order to put my thoughts in order about the most recent iteration. I also had pause for thought after reading @Stillill42's glowing review of EOTR and it did make me question exactly what I wanted from a festival. EOTR ticks many, many boxes. I have always been firmly of the belief that for me festivals = music and music only and this is why EOTR sounds so beguiling. However, this year’s EP shifted my perception slightly as it was much more than just the music, although that remains far and away my main driver.

Initial thought? This was the best Picnic I have had for years and years. Never underestimate the power of the weather to elevate the mood, however it was much more than that.

An early arrival at Red Car Park ensured that I got a great spot in Eco in Gangsta’s Row (aka Boardsies Corner) As @Kepler21 said, the company totally made the weekend. The bold boy Kepler himself, @desk tidy, @rubick, @Seathrun66 (and non-Boardsie pal) and @CoffeeImpala were tremendous craic and all made me feel so welcome on my first ever solo flight. Just a joy from beginning to end. On to the music. I was very impressed by what they have done with the new Survivor stage. A great addition and long may it stay. Sound quality at it was spot on. The Stones tribute act (with forays into The Who and Boomtown Rats!) on the Thursday were a great launchpad into the weekend.

Friday

The delayed opening of arena until 2ish on the Friday meant lunchtime cans and a natter. Not the worst outcome. An initial wander around the arena to soak it all in was followed by a return to Survivor for the Salty Dog No Stars perform Bowie’s Rise & Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars. They advertised it as mangled. Away with that…it was anything but. The album was performed with love and was a perfect opener to the day. Another wander before doing something I’ve never done before. I headed into the Global Green Village Hall for the set by Slightly Dishevelled, a 5-piece Dublin punk act (complete with sax and theremin) who blew my socks off. I said hello to the lads from the band around the arena a few times over the weekend and they were super-sound.

Wet Leg followed. I stayed for half the set, sound wasn’t great where I was standing and I mooched off in search of a sit-down! Wandered up to Jerry Fish for some r’n’r. The Ballyboyz with Scally were on but it wasn’t really my thing. Got sat down with a beer and enjoyed the sounds of the Murder Capital set in the 3 Tent across the production road. Stuck around for Sun Mahshene but was disappointed that it just didn’t grab me. Caught the first half of Viagra Boys before heading next door to Young Fathers (both very good). Then came a real treat. I wandered into to Freetown to see Groa, Icelandic punk band at Providencia. They were a bit late starting but I’m so glad that I stuck around. Bjork fronting the Slits with a bit of Can thrown in (yes really) is the closest I can come, but that still falls well short. At the beginning of their set, there was me and one another fella and by the end there weren’t that many more. It was a real shame because they deserved a better setting. There isn’t that much natural footfall past the Providencia stage, so potential passers-by being drawn in was minimised. Having said that, I reckon it wouldn’t have mattered if no one had turned up, you get the feeling that those girls would have put on exactly the same energy-filled, frenetic show to amuse themselves alone. The night had already taken a slightly surreal twist when a certain Mr. M. Benn wandered by just before they took the stage. Another wander into Freetown turned up the gem that was the Bubbles Mod, Ska & Northern Soul DJ booth. I spent so much time here over the weekend, as every time I walked past they were playing another stone cold classic. “Just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in!” To that crew, gracias por la musica.

Saturday

Saturday’s line-up was wall-to-wall good stuff. JULIE kicked off the day in 3 Tent and they seem to have taken a big dip into the Kevin Shields playbook. Good set. Maybe a little more light and shade would have elevated it for me, but hey…everyone’s a critic. Last Dinner Party were listened to rather than observed from a sun-bathing spot outside. I thought they sounded ok, but amongst my group there was a, ahem…huge difference of opinion on the quality of their set. Caught a bit of TCM at Survivor a bit earlier than originally billed which was an unexpected bonus. Welcome meet-up there with the gent that is @Mucker46. Thank you for the Clashfinder - that was a shift and a half you put in! I still owe you that beer :/

On to the Bootleg Beach Boys performing Pet Sounds for a massive nerd-out. Chef’s kiss. Testament to the boys that they pulled a large crowd, none of whom seemed to lose interest and wander off during the less well-known numbers. Also got to chat to @Penfailed and @Ghengis there. Great to meet you both in person...

Johnny effin’ Marr. Superlatives don’t even scratch the surface. The man. A meet up with a pal at Roadhouse Doors performing the Doors' debut LP (note perfect) was followed with Idles in the Electric Arena. What a set. So much love in the room coming to and from the stage. A definite highlight of the weekend. UNITY! (Yet) another trip to Survivor to hear a bit of the Macca songbook and I was done for the night. Pure wrecked…

Sunday

Lunchtime saw a good old wander around the arena in the blazing sunshine and a visit or two to the Stradbally Inn was very much in order. Murphy’s on draught. Nice. A rare visit to the Comedy Tent for a bit of respite before enjoying a great set from Gurriers. They have come a long, long way in the last 12 months and they will surely climb the bill in the coming years. Great job lads. 

Up to Fishtown for a bit of Sunday ska action with Pontious Pilate & the Naildrivers. Solid as always. Back down for another bit of cobweb clearing with Belfast noisy boys Chalk. Bit of Royel Otis followed. Decent, and were going down nicely with the crowd. A little bit on the lighter side for my tastes though. By then my foot was seizing up and the heat was catching up with me and so I mooched about in Freetown and Trenchtown for a bit before calling it a night at an ungodly early hour. Glad I did in the end as I was able to get my head down early and be up and away for 8:15 and so missed the horror show that was the traffic on the way back up the road.

Just realised that for the first time since I can remember I never saw an act at Trailer Park, didn’t set foot in Mindfield, didn’t darken The Haunt and I didn’t even catch so much of a glimpse of the Main Stage, such were the choices on offer elsewhere. Like I said at the top, best Picnic in years. Going into it, some fellow Boardsies (including me) were preparing to say bye bye to EP. That’s been kicked down the road a bit now and I’m now glad I bought my loyalty ticket as I cannot wait to see what next year brings.

Pros: Freetown blossoming; new Survivor stage; enough of an eclectic mix for there to be no blank spots for me; super super Eco camp; Stradbally Inn (great addition); and, better choice on the Thursday night.

Negs: The nonsense that is a 30% cut for FR on food vendors. Drives up prices, drives out the good-guys; Nothing worth watching (personally) at the Main Stage (I do miss a good Sunday afternoon legacy act in the suun-sheeine); The overflowing urinals…just, no; Not even going to mention a certain ‘record crowd-pulling’ band…; I completely echo @traco's point about the non-existent lighting between EA and Rankin’s Wood. Young wans bouncing off me along that stretch. Been grumbling away to myself about this for years.

‘Tomayto’ tomato though. Pros still (currently) outweighing the cons. Bring on 2024 and your big old superstar booking. If it's not the R-word or DM that's ok, I’ll most likely be over Salty Dog direction anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 333 ✭✭Prettyblack

it was good

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭Mucker46

I still owe you plenty of pints for previous years

Excellent review Darzog and spot on for all of it in terms of the acts I also caught. Between the crowd of us we really did get to see a hell of a lot of divergent stuff over the weekend. Same here re the main stage. In total I spent less than two hours there - 10 mins at the end of Rick Astley, 30 mins at KKC in case I was finally converted to them (I wasn’t) and just over an hour at Billie (more impressive than 2019 and what a brilliant role model she is for young women).

Thanks @darzog for all the chats across the weekend and hope to see you again in 2024. It was a blast.

Loving your longevity @Seathrun66 3024. Do you think Aphex or the R word will play that year

😄😄 Edited. Not for the first time.

And if they play the ghosts of myself and @bodhrandude will be at hand.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 dc14

Myself & oh had a fantastic weekend, thoroughly enjoyed it. Weather of course brings out the best in people & added to a great atmosphere. Apart from the main acts (loved Billie’s set despite her being under the weather), we wandered here & there to catch some new groups. Thought the Last Dinner Party were brilliant! Amazing atmosphere & they seemed to be having a ball…….Tom Odell on the other hand seemed to just be going through the motions until his final couple of songs! Came across Siomha & Susi Pascel too & really enjoyed both. I thought the Script were great too, enjoyed much more than I had expected. 

I thought the campsites seemed better than last year too. Again, the rain was probably a factor as last year, people put their tents up in the rain & didn’t pitch them properly, presumably because they just wanted to get in out of the rain. By the Saturday morning, there were tents falling down, abandoned soaking wet sleeping bags, clothes, etc. 

We were in the Eco Campsite, which was great, so well organised & managed, a total pleasure to sit back in the early afternoon & chill with a couple of tinnies! However, while there are loads of bins in Eco and in the Festival grounds itself, there are never enough in the main campsites. I really can’t understand this! No wonder the place is left a mess! My daughter was camping in Janis Joplin & went to the info desk to see if they had any recycling binbags (there were signs up in the main arena, telling people to do this), but the guys behind the desk asked her what she wanted a bin for! Seriously!?! They were stunned that someone might ask for a bin but they didn’t have any anyway. She had brought a couple but ran out as others around her hadn’t brought any. Also, just one big Panda bin beside all the food stalls at entrance from Red car park/Eco. Was full by afternoon each day & left to overflow until it was replaced overnight. There was a mountain of rubbish there at the end of each day, with at least as much on the ground around it as what was in the actual bin. Ridiculous! Just leave more bins & the whole place would benefit. They should bring back the Eco overflow site, the more Eco like sites, the better!

Re the crowds, I thought it was all fine until late Sunday night. I was in the stands as needed a seat due to arthritis. I was there for Gavin James, the Script & the Killers. The crowds obviously built a lot but during the break between the Script & the Killers I saw two very heated arguments about seats. The first anrgument involved people (in three different rows, different groups of people) that had been there for the Script & one of them went out for food/toilets during the break before the Killers. A guy (maybe late 50’s) came in & tried to take people’s seats in each row, despite being told that the husband was just gone to get food for the fam or one of the group had just gone to the loo. Each time he argued that ‘you couldn’t hold seats’ & was told that they had been there for the previous act & had just gone for food/loo & he argued & argued very aggressively. When he couldn’t get the seat, he would just climb over to the next row & start the same argument with another family. I thought there was going to be a punch thrown in the end. 

In another case, two people left after the Script & weren’t coming back for the Killers. A husband & wife started to walk in the row to take the now empty seats. Another woman pushed her way in between the husband & wife & then demanded that she get one of the seats. Stand-off & arguments began & went on for a good while until the wife managed to get past the woman & the couple sat down. Was insane! Surely people should know that you can’t just rock up 10 minutes before the final act & expect a seat? 🙄

Was really the only hassle I saw during an otherwise very smooth, very enjoyable weekend. I thought the queues for food/drink were shorter than last year & I actually thought the toilets (womens) were better than last year too. Loved the Survivor setup, the Croí stage & the Haunt. Have already bought our tickets for next year & looking forward to it already. 😁

• Registered Users Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭rubick

Right, I’ll keep this briefer than usual as a lot of points have already been made but here’s the 411.

THURSDAY – AQUAPLANING ALL THE WAY TO LAOIS

That was a hairy journey from Antrim, started raining as we hit south Down and got progressively worse until we crossed the Kildare/Laois border which we took as a great portent. We were pleasantly surprised to be directed straight into the Red Carpark and were able to park in the 4th row on Zone C by about 3.30pm. There was the usual f*cking about at 4pm and an already massive queue around the hedges of the field but we were funneled through wristband exchange and security and into Eco for about 5.30pm. Saved the walk from Green Carpark but still the same amount of time in terms of carpark-to-tent up. Definitely weren’t the first into Eco Woodlands this year.

Our first port of call was to head into the forest to check out the new Survivor stage, and with the Freetown entrance not open we made the trip around Warhol and Hendrix to enter the woods from that side. Security hadn’t been notified so whilst we could hear the glorious dub from Trenchtown no-one could get in! This was sorted within a reasonable delay and we were off to the match. I didn’t really think that much of Mack Fleetwood so we headed across to Revelation Soundsystem and had a bit of a dance there for a while and basically wandered between Salty Dog, Survivor Stage and Trenchtown for most of the night meeting and greeting.

FRIDAY – YOU WAIT 30-ODD YEARS THEN THREE JUNGLES COME ALONG AT ONCE

Friday saw us hanging around waiting for things to open and trying unsuccessfully not to start on the cans too early. When we finally headed in, the Main Stage area wasn’t open so no immediate Kinara Kitchen, raging. Settling for a Little Dumpling, our first act was The Bionic Rats on the Croí Main Stage. What a joy to see that space fully utilised across the weekend after a desolate few years, credit to Cian Finn for curating. The Rats were a great opener too. We headed back into the Salty Dog and must have just missed TCM but ran into @Mucker46 and @Seathrun66 before heading back to the Main Stage for King Kong Company. We’d never actually seen them before, so took the opportunity to take in an act on the big stage. They were alright, I wouldn’t rush back. Time for the highly anticipated Nia Archives in Rankins, who was one of my festival highlights. Her set comprised her DJing some fantastic old skool jungle/rave and singing a few of her own numbers. These veered toward the pop end of the spectrum for my tastes but she can fairly grab a crowds attention with those piano breakbeats and I utterly loved it. A quick cocktail later and we stayed in Rankins for Young Fathers who were solid as always, but we didn’t stay until the end of the set. We headed into Freetown for an exploratory mission to find the drum ‘n bass at Cerebral Fortress and I’m glad to say we did – and after a can run ended the night there at around 2.30am tired but extremely content.

SATURDAY – JONNY STILL WANTS HIS SHOE BACK LADS

Genuinely wanted to get in to see Montauk Hotel at 12.30pm on Trailer Park but again you couldn’t access the site from the Freetown Entrance which is baffling. Rather than walk through Warhol/Hendrix (and having already done that for breakfast – yikes) we waited a while and headed into the EP Banter Page Meetup, meeting literally 2 people we knew! Pretty sure TCM were on earlier than billed so we managed to maintain the annual tradition, catching them at the Survivor Stage before heading in to Bullet, a Little Dumpling splinter group. Sadly, and having given ourselves plenty of time, we missed Julie on the 3 for Music Stage because there was a balls-up on our order. We headed into Salty Dog to catch the Bootleg Beachboys where there was much merriment and extremely well-choreographed Boardsie photography. Next up was the ever-reliable iconic Jonny Marr who made a lot of people very happy. The man is simply amazing, what a set and great reception from the crowd. I was feeling a little tired at this point due to Late Club so went back to the tent for a while, but @ desk tidy flew the flag at Kila, and Freetown before I wised up and headed back in for RSAG on Salty Dog who was exceptionally good. We wandered through Trenchtown during the handover before catching Overhead, The Albatross who were fantastic. Will definitely be catching them at their own show as soon as scheduling allows. After that we headed into Trailer Park as Acid Granny were due to perform there, but as we’d seen one of them sleeping in The Haunt a few hours previously we didn’t hold our much hope they’d be around! Scustin were a decent stand, great danceable tunes, but as it was almost 3am we called in a night via the Cerebral Fortress.

SUNDAY – EVERY DAY SHOULD BE LIKE THIS

That was warm, wasn’t it? Eased into the afternoon with Mass with Fr. Damo before heading into the Electric Arena for The Lightning Seeds. The EA can look so empty when there’s no-one in it (science) but by the Seeds’ second tune it was filled rightly and the crowd were treated to all the hits, no waiting, and gave Mr. Broudie & Co. their heartfelt appreciation. Back round to Croí Main Stage for a change of pace in Remembering De Dannan with a squad of Boardsies – great to meet @Reded! Trad/folk wouldn’t normally be a draw for us but after Forest Fest I think our horizons have been broadened in that direction – I was actually surprised that I recognized quite a few numbers. We’d a great run at it until closing time with Confidence Man (ever reliable, supporting New Order next month in the 3Arena), TRYM (banging techno, Terminus veering towards the hardcore end this year), blk (amazing – fully deserves his 3Arena debut), then Amyl and the Sniffers (noisy, energentic, unmissable) then straight over to the Croí Cresent Earth Stage for Tamen then Executive Steve – but with one eye on the journey home I called it at 2.30am. I can’t express my delight at being able to dance to quality jungle at a big stage at EP. This was truly the best Picnic for years IMO. 

Thanks to everyone on Boardsies' Row in the Eco campsite for four days of great company and reassurance that we aren't ready for the bin quite yet (@Seathrun66 @Kepler21 @darzog @CoffeeImpala ), great to meet @bodhrandude , @Penfailed , @Reded and @Ghengis over the weekend - special shout to to @Mucker46 who seemed to have mastered the art of bilocation being everywhere at once - cheers for your efforts on the indispensable Clashfinder.

Fark! EP 2024 sold out!

Anyone got an official link to the new capacity? Many saying extra 5k, 75 k total for 24.

Edit:

• Registered Users Posts: 236 ✭✭Nugget89

It's a sign of just how good this picnic was that one of my biggest complaints this year is how the poor the music at the Silent Disco was. Just the same old bland shite that's played at every wedding. I still hopped around like an eejit for a bit, but I got bored of it very quickly.

And I'll echo what everyone else has said, The Last Dinner Party were absolutely superb.

• Registered Users Posts: 38 Da Neck

Hahahaha, I thought id given away which one I was ages ago but curious what the consensus was on which member of the band I am ?

In all seriousness thanks to anyone from here who came down, we had a mad summer playing all over Europe and was such a joy to come home and get such receptive crowds. Sunday was especially mental and we were shocked anyone showed up at all for us on sat. considering the clash with Idles.

See yas at the Grand Social on the 19th of next month... xo

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭DubLad69

Majorly p****d off with Pink Moon! They sent me a link a few days ago to see what was on offer. Looked through all of the options, and chose my tent.

Then only afterwards I see that they have actually taken everything out of the Under The Stars Campsite, only difference now between this and the Harvest Moon site is a free breakfast. Look at the screenshot from yesterday and the one from today after I purchased!

They removed the buggy service, the VIP access and the massage station. How really annoying! That’s after putting the price of their cheapest tent up by about €200.

Given the name Da Neck and the head bopping on the bass player that's my guess

• Registered Users Posts: 38 Da Neck

I like the logic but the username is actually from :55 here if people haven't seen this gem... we used to do this big 10 minute long techno / shoegaze jam and we'd play different samples over the middle section for the laugh and this was a favourite.

EDIT : should say for anyone who hasnt seen us live or isnt familiar with the music this was strictly during our early rehearsals during the peak of covid, we havent whipped the mcgregior samples out live ata gig.... yet

• Registered Users Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Stillill42

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭Himselfe

Still recovering from the weekend, up there with the best of them. Just wanted to post this here as we discovered a loophole with the potential for a major scam on tickets.

I arrived on Thursday into the campervan section, just rolled in and someone on the gate gave a cursory glance at the pass in the window. I had saved my ticket into my Google Wallet and went to get my wristband from the designated tent. A chap there scanned my ticket from the Google Wallet app and gave me a wristband. So far, so good. Off to Mac Fleetwood with me.

But the next day I noticed in the ticketmaster app that I could still transfer the ticket. I tested this out and sent it to a friend who I knew was coming the next day anyway with their own ticket. The app allowed me to transfer without issue. She got the email notification, logged into her account and accepted the ticket. I got an email from ticketmaster saying she had accepted the ticket. Crazy! Someone could have paid top dollar for a ticket that was already used yet the official Ticketmaster system was unaware.

On Friday morning she arrived on site and scanned the transferred ticket first. It was refused, thankfully, but there is a major gap there somewhere between the on site ticket scanners and the ticketmaster system that doesn't feed back with updates on used tickets.

Anyway, just something to be aware of, certainly has potential to trick people into thinking they've received a legitimate ticket on the day.

On a lighter note, what a weekend! Highlights in no particular order were:

The Last Dinner Party - not everyones cuppa but they know how to put on a show, gonna be huge, future mainstagers.

Mary Wallopers - took the roof off Rankins, just good fun.

The ceili caravan in trailer park - nice hidden gem in the back with great trad

Wet Leg - they must be sick of touring the same album for 2 years but the crowd were loving it and so were they

Getting lost in the nooks and crannies of Providencia

Dec Pierce Block Rockin Beats - a nice dance nostalgia buzz

Idles - Wow! What a performance. Absolutely epic gig.

Our Lady of the Consumption - again, nice hidden gem with trad

Lightening Seeds - perfect Sunday afternoon antidote to the madness of the previous 2 days

Rick Astley secret set on Salty Dog - Great fun, he seems a genuine dude just enjoying himself and not taking himself seriously one bit. Monkeysheet, graveldirt. You know what I'm talking about if you were there.

Sprints - Salty Dog at 3 in the morning, didn't know I had it in me!

Mother - always great vibes in there, just a fun place to be

Was disappointed by ‘Overmono’ they have this delish, mellow sunset track “good lies” but their EP performance was that hardcore cheap pill house stuff, where they stop the bass, turn off all lights then drop a beat bring up lights, repeat every 30 seconds!

• Registered Users Posts: 764 ✭✭✭princemuzzy

100% was sure you were the lead singer

Looking forward to next month

• Registered Users Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭rubick

They are absolute bobbins.

Can't quite believe the hype around them.

Superb @rubick , what great company you and @desk tidy were. Once more I’m impressed by all the diverse stuff people got to see whilst still crossing paths at various acts.

And can we please order some more sunshine for 2024. Pretty sure it’d have been a good weekend without it but the dryness and warmth after a poor Summer lifted everybody as hasn’t happened for a fair few years.

Sorry to be a grump but I just couldn’t hack The Last Dinner Party. And it seems like I’m alone on this. They were however very amiable and delighted to be there so the best of luck to them.

They deserve some good fortune after all the false accusations of being industry plants that were thrown at them. Always nice to see an act exited about being at the festival, and many more bands were last weekend.

Post edited by Seathrun66 on

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭CoffeeImpala

This will be more a collection of comments rather than a review. That might follow when I've had a chance to merge my notes with my timetable.

I'll start by saying this was my favourite of the five picnics I've been to. Things got off to a good start on Thursday with extra beers in my Ballykilcavan order and a return to a 2016/2018 level of ease of access.

I'd felt all along that each announcement had a better line-up than the same announcement last year. My feeling after the festival is that I definitely got more value from this year's line-up than last year's. I'd need to go back through each year's notes to be sure. One area that might have fallen short is post 1am but that's more down to my decisions rather than what the festival had to offer.

The crowd also played a large part in my enjoyment at all of the acts. I don't think I've seem as many artists seem genuinely surprised at the strength of the crowd's reaction/engagement. I think this is related to something I started noticing at the end of 2019 with bands that would draw a majority young crowd. The attendees would arrive early, find their position near the stage, and pretty much not more from that spot for the rest of the night. Certainly once the main act started playing the only people going to the bar were the 30+ year olds standing around the back of the venue. This has continued post-Covid with venues filling earlier and bigger crowds for support acts. The crowd are there for the music and not as an excuse to have a rake of pints and a chat with their friends.

Which indirectly leads me to my next point. Somehow they managed to improve the sound at any stage I visited over last year's already impressive levels. There was only one point during the weekend that I noticed poor quality sound and that seemed to be a balance issue as the sound was fine at the back and on the other side. I heard very little chat from the crowd. This is mostly due to people not talking but it was also, in part, down to the clarity of the sound. It was possible to talk to the person beside you without raising your voice significantly which meant people weren't talking over the band and each other. There were times where I could see people around me talking but I wasn't able to hear them.

In terms of criticism, I'll have to start with the already mentioned portaloos. I found myself using them a bit more this year than I might have in previous years. Even early in the day I found them to be in a poor state. This is down to the design of the bowl on most of the portaloos I was in. There is a slight lip on the bowl before the waste slot which catches small amounts of waste that build up into a blockage after a few uses. On the older models with a trapdoor eventually the slope of the trapdoor gets too big and the build up clears itself. The newer models need an attendant with a spatula checking them frequently or a lot of piss to stay clear. That being said my brother and sister thought any of the portaloos they used were in good condition so maybe I was just unlucky.

The other complaint I have is around communication from FR. In the run-up to the festival I thought some of the announcements were poorly written and had some obvious mistakes/inconsistencies, this continued with the app notifications once we were on site. Since the festival I've noticed some problems with the information section of the website. In particular the website lists 4 cans into the arena after 1am but the terms and conditions, that were being enforced by security on Sunday night (when the main bars had closed before midnight), list the time as 01:45. The issue that draws particular ire though is not communicating when there were delays opening the arena entrances.

I'll have to give special mention to @Mucker46 who, as the festival was drawing to a close, informed me of an opportunity to lighten my credit card by €100. Tickets for Night & Day are still available at that price. I think I might need to take a holiday next year after doing Body & Soul, Beyond the Pale, and Night & Day on consecutive weekends next year.