Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland Team 2023/24 [old thread]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Scrabbel

That's an ongoing problem for us. Shooting when you're clearly going to be blocked is a regular thing, like Ogbene there, should have turned back inside and then shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,853 ✭✭✭crushproof

The way it's gone so far we're sorely missing having Ferguson up front. Would have been a huge advantage having an in form striker to finish those chances

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭Seneca the Stoic

Robbie aside, I feel like it’s been forever thus for Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭DAngelo Bailey

I have to hold my hands up here McClean has been excellent we've been so brave here so far pressing the Dutch high up and winning it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,098 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

We're awfully frustrating... the game plan has us making plenty of chances - but ultimately if your lads at the sharp end of things have zero composure or awareness, what else can ya do. A team with the same chances, but better basic footballing ability and composure would have seen 3 by now. The Dutch having an absolute mare at the back.

What a difference a player like Ferguson would make. That's the difference between wins, and solid performances with disappointing results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,602 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Idah to Ferguson generally is the margins upon which his game has hinged. Ferguson up top and we're talking about a historic win already IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,778 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Doherty needs to cop on

Another stupid give-away by Doherty... really needs to just calm down and make sure of what he's doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Doherty getting a bit above himself there, lucky it didn't lead to anything.

More rubbish from the Dutch at the back. Good pressure

• Registered Users Posts: 9,623 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

The fans were on Van Dijk’s back for a bit. They need to keep that up. He looks rattled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

The Dutch are there for the taking but we always seem to make such hard work of a chance.

Thankfully mcclean has learned to cross tonight sowe look dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭sonic85

Doherty again giving the ball away really cheaply in the middle.

Knights been very good so far

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Knight has been phenomenal so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,227 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Dutch keeper really needs to stop flekken about with his passes.

Good stop Bazunu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Good save Gav

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,296 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Get McClean off at ht. So wasteful in possession, his corners have been good but Manning can cover that and offer better use of the ball. We're well in this up to now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,447 ✭✭✭secman

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭luckyboy

Good strong foot there by Gav

That was a very soft yellow card

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭luckyboy

Soft yellow there for Ogbene sadly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,573 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Very soft yellow for Ogbene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Ogbene unlucky to be booked there, can't remember it being totting up either.

Especially when you consider when he was hauled down by the same player who saw nothing.

Nobody making a run there when Browne had the ball - so effing frustrating. That's happened a few times now lads standing around looking at the man with the ball instead of showing for it

If we keep giving the ball away like that then there's only one outcome to this game. We need to be far better in possession.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,623 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

You must be joking. McClean has been excellent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭ratracer

its got all the signs of a lot of huff and puff before the inevitable heart break!!

• Registered Users Posts: 739 ✭✭✭athlone99

Game plan seems to be working well.

Serious lack of composure at times all over the pitch. Feel big Evan might have had one or 2 by now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,519 ✭✭✭✭noodler

His corners have been and he's done some good defensive work but he has played a couple of bad passes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭BlazingSaddler

Big credit to Ireland this half but surely the Dutch can’t be as bad after the break. De Jong getting more into it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Yup. If Duffy simply keeps line with his other centre backs, Dumfries is off.

Really good half that. Very positive. There's at least another goal in this for us if we can keep the pressure up and cut out the stupid errors. The only worry is as we start to tire well slack off and spaces will open up for the Dutch to exploit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,853 ✭✭✭crushproof

One thing to note in the Kenny In/Out endless argument is the obvious fact that the players are still playing for him and following his tactics. Absolutely no sign of downing tools to force a change in management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,609 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Think we definitely should have had a peno.

Interesting to see the replay.

And breathe.

Great half. As I said earlier it takes a high fitness level to maintain it. Hopefully the lads have that extra 10% in them.

Knight having a great game so far. Idah when called into action has done very little wrong also.

People won’t like this, but Matt Doherty makes such a difference to the team, especially going forward. Yes he’s had a couple of hairy moments but there is a clear difference in what we had in attack with him involved compared to what happened against France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,269 ✭✭✭✭briany

Ireland had a couple of other chances to score in that half that any properly good team is putting away all day. About as much cutting edge as a butter knife.

Doherty was bad for the goal - but christ the CBs were shocking too, just let Dumfries split them and run right through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,804 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

With the heat and high tempo of the game, there'll be some tired legs in the second half. The Dutch still have the quality to exploit any momentary slip. How Kenny uses the bench could very well determine whether we get a result or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,006 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Good 45mins there. McClean putting in some good deliveries. Browne, who gets a lot of unnecessary flack, and Knight are putting in good work in midfield. Worried though how long they can keep it up for having played the full 90 against France. Ferguson probably at home shouting at the telly thinking he'd have gotten himself a goal in that half.

All that being said watch the Dutch come out now and get a quick goal when the second half starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Subtle but important change in pattern in recent games that is quite apparent tonight: previously midfielders almost always shielded the ball by facing our goal when receiving it and then would default to playing it the way they were facing (backwards) - Browne and Knight are visibly willing to pivot when they receive the ball and it opens up the play a whole lot more and we look a more cohesive team in possession than in recent times. Am quite optimistic if we keep building on that we’ll be on a better path.

Cullen though is so frustrating when he gets the ball in opposition half, plays like a lad playing FIFA with a Playstation controller with a dodgy triangle button - doesn’t even attempt any through balls. Almost like he’s playing to optimise his Opta passes completed stats. Even a holding midfielder needs to be able to play some through balls when the opportunity arises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,006 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Good 45mins there. McClean putting in some good deliveries. Browne, who gets a lot of unnecessary flack, and Knight are putting in good work in midfield. Worried though how long they can keep it up for having played the full 90 against France. Ferguson probably at home shouting at the telly thinking he'd have gotten himself a goal in that half.

All that being said watch the Dutch come out now and get a quick goal when the second half starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,519 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Duffy solid as a rock but jesus hes so scared of pace. Just seen the pen, thats why you cant have a player like that, line needs to be held.

Thats the thing, a read one or 2 Kenny out lads say that, that in their opinion they had stopped playing for Kenny because the Greece game was so poor. That cant be said tonight anyway, i missed the France game.

There have been big gaps all through the middle of this competition because the CB's have been too far apart from each other. We are a poor team in possession though and if you keep giving the ball away the you will pay for it.

I think that sums up alot of Kennys reign, yes part of it have been very poor but some of the players took the chances it would look alot different.

Thats why Big Evan is the great white hope, he looks like the first one since Robbie that might stick away chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭jacool

I think they were caught out of position because of the quick turnaround in possession. It looked like we were on the front foot and next think we are caught out.

The referee is fairly s**t. Looks out of his depth and trying to boss the players. Idah in the book next half as they have had another debate at half-time.

The assistant referee, however, is angelic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,227 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

McClean adds much needed forward drive to this team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,947 ✭✭✭kksaints

Good performance so far, Dutch have cut through a few times but we've created enough chances with the high press. Ogbene is frustrating tonight, his decision making is just too slow. He needs to get the ball in quicker. Knight has been really good. Ref is one of those vulnerable to star player pressure types, Idah just has to look at Van Dijk and it's a Dutch free. Subs will be critical, would be very hard for the starting 11 to keep up the press for the full 90 minutes.

How has Idah not been fouled there??

Chap has been kicked about all night.