Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RWC 2023 Ireland v Tonga Match Thread: Group B - Sat 16th Sep 20:00 Nantes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,793 ✭✭✭irelandrover

Theres 2 or 3 posters you can set on ignore and then the thread is fine.

Looking good so far. Bonus point sorted before half time. Murray looking quick and Aki been great so far. He's been in scrums, in line outs and then doing his normal job quite well as well.

Barnes has been grand so far.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,484 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,140 ✭✭✭fitz

What was that penalty for? Was the ball in yet? If it was early shove, why not free kick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,127 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Giving away far too many penalties.

Ryan playing with fire with those upright tackles

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭CptMonkey

Barnes straight away with a bull call. Not balanced. What even is that call.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,976 ✭✭✭Soups123

When Barnes is in charge it’s all about him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,182 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Not a great start to the second half.

Need to get POM back on without conceding more points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭TheRona

I'm actually quite surprised how happy people are with Ireland only being up by 18 points at half time, especially with the worrying penalty count.

Lots to improve on before next week.

Post edited by TheRona on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Tongas worst enemy is themselves.....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

No surprise considering how little they actually play together

It's a shame Ringrose knocked that on, but it's encouraging to see us trying those 'onside' grubber kicks. It's sewing chaos into the Tonga defence.

I just want people to know that Hugo Keenan is the best fullback in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,793 ✭✭✭irelandrover

Who's captain now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

There's a few of the Tongans hanging off necks particularly when the Irish lads are picking and going.

I think Baird could do some damage when he gets launched.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,124 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Hilarious how the TMO is on the ball when we score.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

Good man Rob.

Fiji were pinged for that too so at least there's consistency in that regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭TheRona

He was miles short. It's not exactly controversial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Ah the TMO appears again!

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭CptMonkey

Feck off Barnes and tmo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,056 ✭✭✭jones

Need to score next here

Ref sees try, calls it, then asks for a replay. I just don't get it. If you know what you've seen, don't second guess yourself. If you're not sure, don't pretend you saw the try

• Registered Users Posts: 13,124 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Never said it was controversial, I said they were on the ball. Missed a fair bit when Tonga scored funnily enough.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users Posts: 464 ✭✭Iamabeliever

Game is opening up.

That Tongan defensive line has been miles offside all night they're just starting off a foot offside.

Its all getting very scrappy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,971 ✭✭✭randomname2005

No but where is the call against aki being held in the scrum? Lots of other things tmos have missed, not just this one.

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭MaddChris

Two pretty aimless kicks from Ross.

One down the middle and that one with Bierne the only one who could chase, but got away with that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,998 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Is it just me or has Ross Byrne done very little thus far?