Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin dail protests - read OP before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Abusing a TD from Kerry and shoving his young American female assistant and stealing her phone isn't a cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,352 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

I think you'll find they would have been the same sort dribbling out the same scutter against the Polish 20 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,419 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Its the same crowd from the water charges protests, same crowd from the "your trying to turn my child gay" protests, abusing library staff etc.

These people haven't the faintest idea about immigration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,132 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Can we do one for one swaps, third world country gets a criminal from a multi generational welfare family, we get a lucky survivor who is desperate for an opportunity at prosperity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,824 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

What isn't far right?

We had a group of trans activists shouting down a public speaking engagement on Saturday just gone waving these flags and placards around...

This narrative that the far right (who can barely tie their own shoelaces) are responsible for anything unsavoury in Ireland is a little tired at this stage.

We do have an issue with extremists, there are some who are far right, but there's a vastly greater number who are far left.

I asked you to express an opinion on those flags and signs on another thread and you ignored the question, I'm assuming you endorse that flavour of extremism?

As pointed out earlier, none of these displays of public disorder exist in a vaccum, you can't excuse one set of clowns and condemn the other.

Glazers Out!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,486 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

If anyone has a concern about something , standing in the street screaming , assaulting people , mugging people and throwing piss at people is NOT the way to get everyone else to listen to your concerns.

So , until they can behave like human beings , I don't really give a sh!t what they are worried about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

This Gardas face sums up the whole thing.

Attention seekers everywhere. Victims of an algorithm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭tomcosgrave

Shouting down speakers is counter protest 101 and has happened since time immemorial in democracies all across the world. Nothing to see there. So they had icon of Lenin and a hammer and sickle with them on their protest. Silly and very naive in my view, but no more than that.

Now ask yourself the following -

Were they outside Leinster House?

Did that trans counter protest have a gallows with them?

Did the trans activists threaten TDs and their staff and the public servants working in Leinster House?

Did they throw bottles of urine around?

The answer is no they didn't.

Come back to me when they start doing that. Until then, give the whataboutery a rest and have a look at what happened outside the Dail yesterday, look at how it will probably impact on any group in the future who might want to protest about political or social issues outside our national parliament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,011 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I hope not

Our government are sh!te and getting worse but wouldn't wish that on anyone

Anyways aren't most of the TDs away in NY enjoying themselves

Looks how stupid and bewildered these people are.

Pushing Gardai. Pity they didnt get a baton over the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭KevMayo88

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,643 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I've no connection to the far left or trans rights or any of that stuff, but that was literally just a normal protest (probably involving student types and the likes).

What we saw yesterday was out and out thuggery, heading more into National Front territory.

It's a funny thing that the far left are allowed to propagate their insanity and bile in protests without any issue or criticism from the media, but whenever the other side protest, its suddenly some kind of 'threat to democracy' that must be eradicated.

°°°°°

So it's all innocent when it's a left wing group?

Shouting down people isn't 101 anything.

You're acting as an apologist for the type of behaviour that breeds what happened outside the Dail yesterday.

I don't want to see the type of stupidity I saw outside the Dail yesterday, I also don't want to see people getting shouted down by idiots who idolise one of the most murderous regimes in history, which you seem happy to excuse off hand.

Let's face it if there had been a swastika on display yesterday you would have latched onto it so why excuse the hammer and sickle?

You accuse me of whataboutery and you can't see how these groups influence each others actions. There's a ramping up of bad behaviour that all groups involved in protest have to take responsibility for.

If you want to ignore that and focus on one group you've got your head in the sand.

Don't condescend to me like that again please, your own lack of respect for differing opinions is a prime example of the mentality that informs the type of behaviour we see played out on our streets.

Glazers Out!

Yeah. The same crew. Always the same. Algorithm victims. Losers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I was in Dublin yesterday, could have walked past this madness for a laugh. Have done so at protests before.

This felt different so I avoided it

Says it all that you support effective calls for murder.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Utter rubbish. I support free speech, no matter how distasteful it may be.

Thats not free speech. Its calls for violence and threats to democracy.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,590 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

There were marked differences in how both protests behaved. What we saw yesterday was in a totally different league and had the potential to get very violent.

You have literally just asked me why I support free speech? My goodness.

Master of the Universe

There's 'free speech' and there's actually threatening people. Bringing a gallows to a protest with photos of people on it can clearly be seen as a threat against them.

Does your idea of 'free speech' allow folks to go around threatening other people with murder?

So let me see if I have you right, some people who want to protest or counter protest a particular issue they see as legitimate should just stay home and be quiet?

I didn't excuse any murderous regime, if you read back over what I wrote, I said they were stupid and naive to bring icons of that regime along. Obviously I don't agree with the use of a hammer and sickle or a picture of Lenin.

As I said - when trans activists start bringing gallows to protests, throwing bottles of piss around and threatening people, come back to me. That kind of activity at a protest is not a case of differing opinions, it is a case of being anti-democratic and engaging in criminal behaviour. There can be no respect given for protestors who do that, and if trans activists do it, I'll condemn them for it as well.

Cop yourself on and stop saying that it only happened because of others protesting. It didn't. It might have provoked them into protesting, that much is true. But the stuff that crowd engaged in yesterday outside the Dáil? That's not the fault of any other group of activists. That's entirely on them. Cop yourself on.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

So you support violence and calls for elected representatives in a democracy to be murdered.

How very fascist of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,964 ✭✭✭growleaves

Would it be okay to murder them if they weren't 'elected representatives in a democracy'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Can anyone explain to me why the knacker in the tracksuit wasn't immediately removed and brought to custody? There were enough AGS there to do so.

A danger there would've been a full scale riot I suppose. The priority was to get Healy Rae out of there safely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭TokTik

I’m a Dub. Well, North County Dub. So I wear jeans and t-shirt sometimes, not always trackies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,900 ✭✭✭thomas 123

Im super curious about what Lenin and trans have got to do with one another? Once we cover that what does the Soviet flag and trans have to do with one another?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Fair enough. It does come across as though he can just do whatever he wants though. Besides I doubt even his family would give a **** if he got locked up.

°°°°°

Be honest, if you saw a swastika at a protest you wouldn't excuse it away by saying its use was naive or stupid, you'd be making a big deal out of it and rightly so.

We need to call out all extremism, not cherry pick who and what we find offensive.

You contradicted yourself in addressing the fact that all these demonstrations influence each other, of course they do.

Can you make a point without being insulting and condescending? You told me to cop myself on twice in one paragraph. There's no need to be so aggressive.

As for what the trans activists should or shouldn't have done, they should allow people to have their say just as they are allowed to. Shouting over people and making a nuisance of yourself just because you disagree with people is childish in the extreme. Doing so while waving communist iconography shows their extremist beliefs, not their naivety.

The point that all this type of public disorder is a kind of social feedback loop seems lost on you. We don't even have any visibility of any organisation in particular being behind yesterday's scenes but we have activists on this site saying its the far right who ignore the misdeeds of their precious far left.

We need to stamp out all of these lunatics, not just the ones we find personally most offensive. If you're making excuses for one group of extremists, you're probably an extremist yourself.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

It was very silly of MHR to exit Leinster House through a clearly hostile crowd. Yes, I know he should be able to, but it's generally more advisable to choose the safer option.

Maybe his schtick is not an act after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Become Death

D'you know the way that anyone can be labelled far right if they attend one of these protests?

Does that mean that the placards saying "smash the far right" are incitement to violence?

They obviously aren't the same as the gallows thing (which I thought was awful), but you know, I'm just trying to find people's line where incitement starts and what is acceptable.

Like the whole "punch a nazi". Well, if you are being called a nazi for attending a "let women speak" event, surely that is incitement to violence too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭US3

The trans-siberean express to the gulag is what Lenin would have done with those very people waving those flags. Clowns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭martco

Guardian article published just today about interesting research on voting patterns across the wider EU, worth a scan if you have couple mins to spare...

Revealed: one in three Europeans now vote anti-establishment

"Almost one-third of Europeans now vote for populist, far-right or far-left parties, research shows, with wide support for anti-establishment politics surging across the continent in an increasingly problematic challenge to the mainstream"

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2023/sep/21/revealed-one-in-three-europeans-now-votes-anti-establishment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I presume SF would have been considered anti establishment for that research which is probably not accurate as they are quite mainstream now.

Master of the Universe

I think the 'smash the far right' is more to do with the ideology of the far right than actual people.

I do agree with you on the 'punch a nazi', shouldn't be acceptable at all tbh.

°°°°°

Incitement to violence is only problematic in specific situations. Those situations are defined by the left as they see fit.

It's a pity we can't ship all the far right and far left people somewhere else and let them have at it while we live our lives.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭mazdamiatamx5

Well, that's not what the law says in this country. Very few countries have completely unlimited freedom of speech.

You are of course entitled to argue for changes in the law, or even to stand for election on the basis of a free speech platform. I wish you good luck with that.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,603 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

You and better explain it, because your version is very far from what is actually a right to free speach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭BagofWeed

The politicians have brought this on themselves.

The irony for the aggressive protestors though is that they have played into the hands of the people they are protesting against ! You see the carry on of yesterday tarnishes the idea of protesting itself. Lots of aggrieved citizens will not attend protests if they know the same type of idiots are going to be in attendance.

This is the worst government the country has had in my time, economic growth and almost full employment yet,

housing crisis,

no reform of planning,

no planning for increased population,

infrastructure severely lacking,

HSE uselessness,

crime; random street violence,

opioid problem,

useless inefficient public transport,

increased racism,(which will lead to increased division in society)

The above are issues that should have us all out on the street

As for my comment about them brining it on themselves, political decision making has increasingly over the years been passed on to supranational organisations, unelected NGO's etc so the politicians have become in a sense no better than show ponies. Global corporations and especially banking have as much influence on our lives than the fools in DÉ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭TokTik

I wonder where Lynn Boylans retweet of “Terf Cutter” would lie.

On your first point, fair enough, I would be kicking off it if it a swastika had been on display. But I'd still say they are naive and foolish and nothing more, given that Lenin and USSR were no friends to anyone in the LGBT community.

Counter protest has been a thing for years in all democracies, you appear to be saying it shouldn't happen. I can't agree with that. If you think it's childish that's fair enough, but calling it out on a thread about people who bring gallows to protests, who threaten people and throw bottles of piss around is equivocating the two, which is completely ridiculous and that is why I think you need to cop on. The crowd yesterday were way, way, way out there in terms of their extremism.

On your final point, it's telling that you think trans rights activists are lunatics. They're not, the same way that lesbian, gay and bisexual activsts are not lunatics.

What went on yesterday is not part of a social feedback loop beyond coming out to protest after seeing another protest, I can see your point in that one small aspect.

But the actions on display yesterday are not - nobody protests like that outside a national parliament in this country, I have spent a fair bit of time there, seen a lot of protests there, but never anything like that. And they are nothing like trans rights protestors, or any other protestors - not anti-abortion protestors, not anti-austerity protestors of any description - not anything. Trying to equivocate their behaviour is ridiculous, hence the need to cop yourself on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭yagan

I took part in a good few marches and protests over the years in Dublin and there'd sometimes be a bunch joining in at the back looking for for a bit of mischief, the usual suspects, but there'd always be enough protest marshals that could separate away any trouble makers.

Last night it just looked like the only coherent message was menace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,946 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

My thoughts exactly. a bit of pushing and shoving, bad language, bad manners yes.

And resulting in a few arrests. (Rightly so if they broke the law).

It’s not exactly the Jan 6th riots is it.

Master of the Universe

In exactly the same boat as 'Punch a Nazi'.

Anyone tweeting or going around with placards inciting violence on other people really needs to take a long hard look at themselves.