Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin dail protests - read OP before posting

• Registered Users Posts: 33,360 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Said it before, saying it again: civil disobedience. It takes a bit of creativity and a LOT of solidarity, but it's the only way you're going to see change.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

There's no comparison between what occurred at the dail the other day and someone killing the politician Jo Cox. That was murder/manslaughter pure and simple.

The 'protest' at the dail is a small number of troublemakers. I can accept people protesting in a reasonable manner as is their right but I don't agree with bottles of liquid being thrown, pictures of politicians being hanged, etc.

Maybe whoever is encouraging these people needs to be investigated.

Politicians making themselves out to be victims isn't helping though.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,753 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Well, I consider FG and FF to be different, which therefore makes your claim untrue. They are both very very different to Sinn Fein.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,753 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Our political system is one of the least corrupt in the world.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,628 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I think people were saying that it could easily end up like the Jo Cox murder when someone who is easily led is fed a load of crap about how their problems are because of the government, etc. It wouldn't take much to influence someone who already is feeling sidelined.

Politicians making themselves out to be victims isn't helping though.

Which politicians are making themselves out to be a victim?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭TokTik

Many? I’ve seen it reported that one bottle was thrown and it was suspected to contain urine.

I remember when our fearless leader has a cup of cold coffee, no milkshake, no tea thrown in his face and it turned out to be tap water.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,546 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I've seen videos of politicians being harangued outside Westminster, but never anything as bad as this. There, you might see three or four protesters following an MP down a street and shouting abuse at him while he receives a police escort, but the Dáil on Wednesday was on a different scale : about 40 or 50 people in pursuit of Healy Rae and a feeling that it could erupt into physical violence at any moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,994 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

The protesters keep alluding that something big is coming any idea what that is ?

They do? Where? They got a Twitter account?

(Not disbelieveing you - just honestly curious)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,796 ✭✭✭Augme

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭Hodger

Id condemn the person who threw the bottle of piss in the same manner as Id condemn someone throwing a milkshake, as happened and started a few years ago this whole its ok to throw things at people with political views we don,t like.

Your post is quite silly but I'll answer it, I'm talking about many many many many twitter accounts with the common denominator being poor spelling, tri colours, and the threat that something big is coming

Again, not saying I disbelieve you - I don't have Twitter - I just want to know what they're taking about (although I believe them to be full of ****).

The ones who got arrested are going to have the book throw at them as an example to others.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,628 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

How many bottles of piss being thrown is ok?

Deflecting to Varadkar doesn't absolve your apparent condoning of this disgusting act

• Registered Users Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭lmao10

If there were no guards there I think Healy Rae could have been killed by that mob.

Arrests are sure to follow for what happened there. It's already been said that the guards are investigating and expect to make arrests at some point in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭L.Ball

In many ways this was our Jan 6th

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭Cal4567

Apart from the sight of politicians playing up victim status, what is equally amusing is the regular left wing posters desperate to capitalise. On the most flimsiest. You'll grab onto anything to bolster your argument.

'Healy could have been killed' FFS.

It is no wonder the Left never gets into power in this country. Entertainment for the rest of us though, all this pearl clutching. Thanks for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭circadian

Many of these people hang out in telegram groups that peddle lies under the guise of truth and answers as to why they're struggling or why the world isn't what they expect. The thing is most people ARE struggling in many different ways, we just don't take the charlatans at face value and blame everyone else for the world being an abject **** how.

I'm not saying they don't have valid misgivings, but they're looking to the wrong places for answers.

The guy who keeps getting in the way of the gardai (basically assault) should have been arrested, isn't obstruction of a cop a crime ?

He got in the way at least 3 times proving his intent

• Registered Users Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Was the airport stabbing our 9-11 by the same comparison?

Edit: more like piss bottle gate

• Registered Users Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭prunudo

Not sure how they can claim MHR is a far left politician. A businessman who has his finger in many pies.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Throwing things at them has been an occasional/rare way for protestors to frighten & humiliate politicians or other public figures for a very long time. It used to be more obviously unthreatening things like eggs, pies (Micheal O'Leary was attacked like that recently) or flour bombs.

I don't think it was ever viewed as "ok", or is seen that way now either (although I suppose people who hated the figures in question approved of it.)

We may be in insecure times, certainly in the UK and perhaps increasingly here too, and acts like that take on a more threatening aspect. Some unidentified liquid tossed from a container which could be water, a milkshake, piss or something worse is an escalation anyway, and I think most people would condemn it as a clear assault.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,836 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

My point being that the difference between Ireland and other Western European countries is so miniscule on a global scale it's meaningless.

It's like saying 'my train is late, damn this second world country'. You're so ignorant of how bad situations can get that you've no comprehension of how similar western societies actually are.

And just FYI, South Africa is considered first world. So make of that what you will.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,836 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

has it happened? Let me know when it actually does and stop posting clickbait nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭some1gr8

Closing eyes like a pigeon (brushing it under the carpet, typical irish way of dealing with a problem) does not make the problem go away,

Its majority of people with sane mind, that choosed to ignore the issue and pretend it does not exist,is the reason for the incident like yesterday.

There is another issue in news which highlight the same issue, (https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/family-of-girl-snubbed-at-medal-ceremony-want-public-apology-from-gymnastics-ireland/a726462541.html)

Again many people are calling it "a mistake", what is a probability that out 11/10 girls, only one black child was singled out and did not receive her medal. there is a video of it as well. simple fact that, such a blatant racism incident was not even in the news for 18 months, shows this reality.

Unfortunately, while majority of Irish are welcoming and friendly towards other nationalities, there is significant number that are not. the way issues of racism are dealt with is through WRC/Labour court (ex-Union rep as judge 🙄), where the whole purpose is to hide it and brush

it under the carpet.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭circadian

That's my point, this dirge is getting posted and reposted in Irish focused conspiracy/anti establishment telegram channels.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,850 ✭✭✭nachouser

"I've had it up to here (raises hand above head) with this government extracting the urine from its working people."

Decants himself into a bottle.

You can see how it could happen, in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

There was no way anyone was going to kill Healy Ray.

This man thrives on over-the-top soundbites and loves the publicity imo.

Again I totally disagree with this type of protest. These schmucks are troublemakers and some are probably hired mouths.

Their behaviour gives the politicians and gardai the opportunity to try and restrict peaceful protests.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,899 ✭✭✭✭elperello

You can forget the murder/manslaughter obfuscation.

Jo Cox was murdered end of story.

Her murderer is serving a whole life sentence.

The people actually carrying out the acts need to be investigated.

Politicians along with others were the victims.