Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MV Matthew and shipping drugs

• Registered Users Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭techman1

why was it not possible for the guards/customs officers no able to board the ship from a boat

Have you ever seen the Irish border control program on Channel 5, where they are checking for green diesel and excise duties etc.

The typical customs officer is a middle aged slightly overweight man or woman. They are not the typical demographic for fast roping from a helicopter onto a massive bulk carrier on the high seas. That's why the army rangers are there and have proven why they are necessary and probably a need for more of them in the modern world of international drugs terrorism and migration.

From what I've heard they play alot bigger role in undercover counter terrorism activities here which for obvious reasons is top secret

• Registered Users Posts: 8,001 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

The Irish Rangers are internationally recognised as one of the top special ops teams in the world. Just a few days before boarding the drugs ship they again won an international competition in the Glen of Immal. They consistently win competitions held all over the world against the best in the world.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

• Registered Users Posts: 13,911 ✭✭✭✭josip

Why is this being reported as the largest seizure in the history of the state when in 2008 there was €440m worth of drugs seized due to diesel in the outboard petrol tank?

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/cocaine-trial-is-told-some-idiot-put-diesel-in-petrol-engine-of-boat-1.1216756

• Registered Users Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Largest by weight I think

• Registered Users Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

We all know sweet FA about boarding ship, leave it to the guys who knew what they are doing and did successfully did it without getting anybody killed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,700 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Looks like they found someting either on the trawler or dumped ,ILV Granuaile

has spent from 2pm yesterday until 7am this morning just off Cahore, a few miles from where the trawler is;

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,328 Mod ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Indeed, they are perennial winners of various Special Forces games, and are routine winners of the 'Best Sniper' games...

https://www.quora.com/How-is-the-Irish-Army-regarded-by-other-countries

My friend from Croatia previously worked on the sea and had to be escorted through the Somalian straight where pirates are well known to attack ships, they had American, English, french, German and many other soldiers come on board for 3–4 days at a time, however, He said the ones that really put fear Into them where the Irish rangers, “they have this look” he said, that would frighten any man, and they wouldn't talk to you, and they had 24 hour shifts and after 12 hours would switch to the other side of the deck, they wouldn't piss or **** and all they ate was one protein bar they had and drank their canteen water, he said all other soldiers from other countries would chat and move around, Irish soldiers wouldn't, they were fierce and showed no fear or even fatigue. They were like machines he said.

Some units, such as the elite Irish Army Ranger’s wing- are considered to the be the special operations force of the Irish army and recruit from the Irish Naval Service and Irish Air Corp among their members. Units such as this- are considered to be the creme de la creme of army units globally- and the Irish Army Rangers would have regular exercises with US and UK counterparts.

The Irish Army- in general- is held in very high regard- and the international view of the Irish army has only increased since the remit of the Irish army abroad has moved from peace keeping to peace enforcement missions (on behalf of the UN).

• Registered Users Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

They did said the trawler would be monitored, but they don’t think there are any drugs on it. The lads on the trawler hadn’t a clue what they were at and ran aground on the sand bank before they could rendezvous with MV Mathew.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭bigroad

So the two lads on the trawler must be free to go now unless they admit something.

Or was there communication between the two trawler and the ship.

Otherwise it's just two inexperienced lads that bought a fishing boat and got into trouble.

They have been charged and are due in court today.

In a further plot twist worthy of a movie The Irish Mirror has reported that 24 hours before the Rangers boarded, the captain of the cargo ship may have had the crap beaten out of him by some of the crew before he was airlifted to hospital with his little personal bag which when it was checked by Gardai at the hospital was found to contain 70 grand in euro's.

They also report that the Kinahan crime cartel are down about 50 million euro after financing the whole operation.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/kinahan-cartel-cocaine-irish-coast-31057190

• Registered Users Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The ship seems to have been flagged as suspicious activity well before it got into our waters.

Did any of the reports explain why we intercepted the ship and not e.g. the French or Spanish whose waters it was in before ours? Especially around the Canaries it seemed to be acting suspiciously also.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,328 Mod ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

If you stop it in the Canaries, you get a bigger load, but you only get 1 gang thats receiving it locally... let it continue along and do all its drop off's throughout Europe, and you potentially catch multiple gangs across multiple countries... Something obviously went wrong (the trawler running aground), and spooked the operation, so the decision was made to intercept there and then.. I'd hazard a guess that once it started going down here, a bust went down in Spain/Canary Islands at about the same time....

They'd be trying to track these guys as far as possible through the entire networks that they use for import, distribution etc.. If you just bust the ship as soon as it arrives across the Atlantic, you don't get the ones ordering the shipments, and you just end up with more ships coming...

There was probably never an intention to bust the ship in Irish waters, but because of the trawler it had to happen. The bust Ireland probably would have got out of this would have been at local level, and you'd have seen a few hundred kilos on display, a few arrests, and heard about international joint cooperation etc...

I'd also say there are a lot of pi$$ed off gangs down stream of this who were waiting for the ship to get to them after it's drop off here, and they've lost their investment because the few lads in the trawler didn't know what they were doing.... Those lads will need to disappear!!

Post edited by AndyBoBandy on

• Registered Users Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Thats what I suspected also ... follow the drops too.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭techman1

But there base is in the curragh camp, I think they were already on standby and in Waterford by last Sunday. I don't think they were picked up from the curragh immediately beforehand

Anyone can monitor on marinetraffic.org if ships transponder is on, it looks like the trawler that's aground had switched off, if indeed it had one.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,412 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Yes it didn't have one, it was a slightly less than 15m in length so legally doesn't have to, one thing they got right in selecting it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

Wexford this morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭tinytobe

That's not that confusing. Via NI to the UK for instance, or Dublin to Holyhead.

Also the authorities can't check every single truck using the ferry.

Drugs are highly profitable, if only one shipmet is discovered by the police out of god knows how many, it wouldn't be an issue for the drug barons.

Obviously they're making it into Europe, so they have to get there somehow.

However I doubt you like or understand that answer, if it's a "please tell me".

• Registered Users Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Russell Crowe is made for it...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,817 ✭✭✭billyhead

Not to downgrade the expertise and professionalism of the Rangers but those German, UK, French and American soldiers were probably just marines or comparable to Marines i.e I doubt the SAS were escorting the ship. On the other hand the only Irish troops in the area with any sort of training for the mission were the rangers.

The SAS are more suited to shooting unarmed civilians and trying to cover it up.

The Irish Rangers are the real McCoy and don't court publicity.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭Xander10

One of them has no fixed abode. I'm not buying that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭Allinall

I’d well believe it.

Some of these guys live on ships and just travel the world working.