Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PK@rte.ie (again). The All New (Patrick Kielty) Late Late Show Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

nothing has changed

more death and disease

who is actually running this show?

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Stoned_Rosie

I'd love to question Mick Lynch on Unions that stifle progress.

The HSE is unfixable due to Unions. You can't sack people. Same thing in RTE, cameramen earning mad money and won't help the cause at all.

I've seen it first hand in private sector. One company I worked for had electricians in a union. Any time there was work that could only be done outside normal hours, ALL electricians had to be offered the overtime. So it might have been a real simple job but if they wanted to do it they had to pay overtime to all their electricians, so they'd often just not do a job at all and improve things for employees.

Another example is the electricians wouldn't allow any vendor to touch their systems. So say an electrical vendor needed to shut off power, they couldn't do it, had to be one of the local electricians so often lads would be doing something else or be on lunch and jobs would be delayed and add cost.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭John arse

Yeah has she had bad surgery or loads of Botox???🤦

• Registered Users Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Alibaba

Very poor show tonight I thought.

Disappointed , as I had expected better than this.

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

Was he pro brexit? Since when and is he still pro Brexit?

• Registered Users Posts: 3 tupenny2

David Seaman anyone ?

What's with the seating set up?

Delaney looks like he's been pumped with steroids in comparison to Kielty.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shelga

I love Rob Delaney and Catastrophe. He’s been promoting this book for a long while though, must be very hard to talk about his deceased son so regularly :(

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Westernview

• Registered Users Posts: 28,476 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

LLS finally gets a Hollywood actor on after two weeks of canteen guests and only the LLS could make it depressing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,622 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Death and disease is part of the human condition and shouldn't be hidden away, but of course you don't have to wallow in the misery. The interview was overwhelmingly positive with Delaney coming across as a really decent person rather than a vaceous celebrity.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭1992ChainGang

I know this is "depressing" but it's not like Tub era trying to find misery in everything. It's a touching story told at the end of the show, the whole structure of the show is so much better than before

• Registered Users Posts: 4,129 ✭✭✭bigroad

Is that your dog,no it's my wife😳

• Registered Users Posts: 11,584 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Yes, and yes. Every one of those "reasons" were pie in the sky nonsense, and Brexit has only led to more Tory austerity and running roughshod over workers rights and living standards.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,476 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

True but it’s an entertainment show and there is an actor and his acting was barely mentioned. It was dominated by his son’s passing which of cours is tragic and sad and obviously a major event for him but a lot more could have been discussed with him.

• Registered Users Posts: 72,611 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Till next week's Country Special, folks!

Nos da, y'all! 😊

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭techman1

Yes, thats why even the left wingers know that the multinational workers can never go on strike because that is what is paying the public sector wages and the massive welfare bill. Maybe a better deal for workers relative to welfare might get more construction workers building houses. However the irish left wing is not focussed on workers but on welfare , there is a huge ideological shift between the left wing parties here and the labour movement in the UK

• Registered Users Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Since he's promoting the book, makes sense that it would be the focus. He's also currently only allowed to talk about acting he did in the UK. Anything US centric is subject to actor's strike rules.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shelga

Exactly- there’s a well known actor/comedian who’s published a book on the loss of his son and offers a touching and heartfelt perspective about the coexistence of life and death, of sadness and joy- and then there’s a poor non-famous person dragged up from Leitrim to discuss their repeated rapes at the hands of the Catholic Church, for seemingly no reason, while looking ashen-faced and deeply traumatised throughout.

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Westernview

Well said. There is a difference in the way unfortunate stories can be dealt with. Previously it seemed like whole shows were dedicated to sad cases. Once a balance is there the viewers aren't beaten down with bad news.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭archfi

I'm surprised some people are surprised Mick Lynch supported and campaigned to leave the EU.

It is a socialist position - don't mistake the modern (Blairite dominated) UK Labour party as a socialist party!

I'll be having a look at his clip over the weekend.

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

Kielty is ok, some things he does are quite annoying though.

• When a guest makes a "strong" statement and he goes "yeah" and nods and gives side eye to the audience to clap
    • The self RTE put downs are waring thin now at this stage. The agent and overpaying jokes are old topics now, move on.
    • His crumpled chin when telling a joke as if he's trying to stop himself laughing, very fake.
    • When he talks and fakes laughs at the same time.

I also find the show extremely structured. It's like everything is scripted to the last second.

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

Ireland has a very superficial understanding of the Eurosceptic currents in Britain. We’ve imbibed as fact the Fintan O’Toole pseudo-psychoanalytical thesis that it was motivated by nostalgia for empire.

I know I'll be slated for this, but it's what I feel.

I think the show is even slightly worse than under Tubridy. People will come to the conclusion when I make a statement like this that I'm pro Tubridy in every respect. I'm not. He cheated the tax payer. He's a brazen liar.

But to remove the personalities of PK and Tubridy from the show and look at the show objectively, PK's show is sending me to sleep a bit quicker than Tubridy. PK does nothing for me. Occasionally Tubridy had some thing of interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,570 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Morgan Freeman's sensible thoughts on Black History Month and racism in general 👍️...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

I like Patrick Kielty and Rob Delaney but did anyone get the feeling Kielty was faking his emotional ending of "you'll get to celebrate your birthday someday".

It seemed like acting to create a viral moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Sorolla

I believe PK was very genuine when he mentioned his dad.

i was water eyed myself when PK said it

• Registered Users Posts: 68,786 ✭✭✭✭L1011

He has appeared at Labour events in Liberty Hall. Likely got flack for it hence the evasion

• Registered Users Posts: 55,649 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Missed last night but no doubt Frampton wasn’t quizzed on his ties to Kinihan and MTK, while slating Barry about greed..