Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why don't rural pubs provide a night bus service?

• 02-10-2023 6:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,426 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

I was reading an article a while back about how something like 2,000 pubs have closed since 2005

Personally I think there's a whole heap of reasons for this, pubs changing ownership and being rebranded could count into the numbers. The authors of the article unfortunately didn't bother to explain their methodology

I think one major reason which has affected a lot of rural pubs is drink driving laws and a generally lower tolerance towards driving while under the influence

To be clear, I absolutely support those laws and don't for a second think they should be made more lenient

One thing I've always wondered about is why rural pubs in the same area (maybe a town) don't band together to organise a bus service for customers

It seems to always be left to the local taxi services, which might only have a few cars in some towns, if there even is one. So customers end up waiting ages for an expensive taxi, trying to organise a lift from someone sober, or just driving home drunk anyway

It seems more efficient to have a few minibuses doing the rounds of the local pubs and bringing people home. Could charge a few euros per head so the service breaks even, and if there's a few pubs in the area they could band together to share the startup costs

Now just to make sure there's no misunderstanding, I'm not suggesting this as a solution. There's enough smart pub owners out there who have probably thought about this and dismissed the idea, so presumably there's some barriers to providing it

I'm more interested if anyone has ever heard of it and what made it work/not work

I guess the view among pub owners is that it's an added cost but is unlikely to bring in a lot of extra customers, particularly in the current high cost of living environment

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,517 ✭✭✭Tork

At a guess, the cost of hiring a bus or a mini-bus wouldn't make it worth the effort. You're also assuming that everybody in the pub will want to come and go at the same time. That goes against the nature of going to the pub in the first place, and isn't what people in rural areas are used to. Don't forget that they've all had cars since they were young and they've lived their lives with the freedom that that entails. Having to get onto a bus at X time and taking the scenic route home with a feed of pints in them isn't for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,719 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

It was tried near here. Too expensive and a pain the #$£& sitting on a bus going all around the area, delayed at every stop by drunks too busy with BS to get off, before you get home. And you had to wait until the bus was going after closing time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,755 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Too costly. Robotaxis will be revolutionary for rural areas when they get here, probably in the next decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

My grandfather had one of those 80 years ago. Sat into the cart and the horse knew the way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭chosen1

We might see them within the decade in our urban areas, but I'd say it will take longer to roll out to rural areas that don't have the connectivity capacity to keep them driving.

In the meantime, I'd happily welcome Uber at this stage and recon this would drastically improve the chances of getting home at night in many a town or village throughout Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,873 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I hope he was able to unhitch the cart and take off the harness. There was a story in the locality where I grew up about a man who used to do that and leave the poor donkey outside the door until the morning. But one time he woke up from his stupor to find the donkey and cart standing at the end of his bed. It is probably an apocryphal tale, with versions like this one in circulation around the country:

"There was man living not far from us, he must be dead these 50 years now. As long as he was able he’d never miss half nine mass in Bartlemy of a Sunday morning - you could set the clock by him. He’d walk over to the Chapel leaving about nine and after a bit of colloguing outside the gate he’d be back before 11. The same man had a grand little donkey and cart for drawing sticks maybe a few bags of ration to fatten the pig.

Well one Sunday a few of the local fly boys arrived when he was just gone down the road. That time nobody locked the door and this man didn’t and hadn’t. The cafflers took the two wooden wheels off the donkey cart and then removed the axle from the frame. They then took the cart into the kitchen and put back on the axle and the wheels. Next they brought Neddy the donkey in from the field tackled him to the shafts of the cart with straddle and all the other bits of tackling. Across the road then to await the return of the devout Mass-goer. He wasn’t inside the door when they heard the roaring and screeching and cursing and swearing.

Well lads the poor man was out of his mind. All reasoning and reckoning was gone and he couldn’t for the life of him figure out how the donkey and car had got into the kitchen - on their own! He was about to take the sledge and knock the gable end wall to get animal and beast back out when one of ‘the boys’ morryah was passing the road, coming from Mass, and heard all the racket and commotion. The poor man explained his dilemma and the other man scratched his head several times before coming up with a solution.

“If we un-tackled the donkey and dismantled the cart and took it out bit by bit,”

“Well ‘tis you have the brains surely.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

No it wouldnt (uber) who wants to drop 1 man home 10 miles from a rural pub to his farm up a mountain at 1 am? no one thats who and then he will start fighting with you over the price more than likely.

If you worked for uber, you would be in the busy towns and cities not driving a pissed farmer home for 15 euro.

As for self driving cars in rural Ireland lol maybe in around 50 years if ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,892 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Shur why would a robot want to live in the schticks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

They’d also get sued left right and centre, unless it could be proved to a judge that the employees servants or contractors of the publicans , tucked the punters up in bed safely. You’d have the publican on the Hook for every broken leg , divorce, frolicking with the wrong person etc etc, So insurance would be prohibitive .

better for publicans to sub out the service to a bus or taxi man and subsidise charges with cash, but punters wouldn’t pay the real cost , which is on premium anti social hours for bus drivers in short supply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I actually expect to see them in rural areas first. There is high speed internet either FTTH or Wireless covering about 98% of the island nowadays.

A few pubs I know have done this service, but it rarely lasts long. I used to regularly get a lift home from a Dublin Landlord. He was special though. Thinking outside the box at a time when even Dublin pubs were closing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,215 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

This, punter falls on his face alighting from a cab or minibus laid on by the pub and its court and €€€€€

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Urban areas will be the last places in Europe to have autonomous vehicles. Rural areas will have them long before they are in cities.

You can get a local area hackney licence for €70. If no one is willing to spend €70 to get 100% of the fare there'll be feck all people willing to give up 20% of the fare to Uber. Then you have the same issue as the mini buses, people live too far apart for it to be viable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,303 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Sorry OP , but calling towns rural Ireland is nonsense. Rural Ireland is outside towns. In villages. To get a taxi people have to pay the fare to the village plus from the village home. My old landlord used to drop customers home . But for all the drinking now it wouldn't be worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

This is correct. Doesn’t bother me but I hear lads saying it would cost them € 32 ( taxi fare to and from pub ) to drink three pints costing € 14 .Does not compute.

Rural society is getting what a small number of people wanted- the closure of all rural pubs . Easier now to get cocaine than a pint of stout in some areas .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brokenbad

The owner of the local pub where i drink usually drops regulars (who live within a 5km radius) home. It's a good incentive to keep customers returning - knowing that their lift home is secured. Some nights he would be on the road until 3am by the time all the drops are done - he's not making any money out of it - just ensuring his regular customers are looked after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Mobius2021

It would be great in theory but probably not viable. I just checked Google Maps there, I live 2.3km from my local but it may as well be on the moon due to lack of taxis. Think I have been in it once since Covid - brother and I walked down on a nice summers evening and walked back around 11 or so with hi-vis jackets and lights - about 25 minutes each way. Road is decent enough and relatively straight but not very safe all the same - would be a little nervous to come across a drunk driver or a boy racer thinking he's in the WRC. Also not appealing on a wet winter's night.

With two young kids at home, the wife and I hardly never go to the local. When we do get someone to mind the kids we would prefer to head further afield into Limerick which is our closest urban area.

We do what many couples in rural Ireland do - get some off-licence beers or wine with some snacks and watch something on the TV. I justified getting a nice big screen OLED as I spend so little money in pubs these days.

I'm still p*ssed off and cynical about MUP - I think it was more about trying to protect publicans than trying to protect the public's health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,582 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

You need the interest first.

So I imagine its only semi viable in a rural town that has a population large enough.

As others said, people dont want to come and go at the same time and there is the cost plus insurance.

Robotaxis are decades away in rural areas and huge amount of lobbyists will do their irish thing to delay them.

Fair play to the landlord giving lifts though. This seems more viable, but how can 5 or 6 folks staying to closing be enough to sustain a pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,007 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

So you don't have any idea how Uber works, gotcha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,426 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

Yeah I think this plus the initial costs are the root of the problem

A lot of pubs in the middle of nowhere are probably kept open by the same dozen or so punters going there every night of the week

If they started offering a bus service it isn't like 200 people are going to start going there on a regular basis, it'll still be the same dozen lads, maybe one or two more

A landlord isn't going to invest in something unless it'll bring in more customers

I was talking to a guy from rural Galway lately and he told me his local pub offer a bus service and it works.

Whatever else about understanding how Uber works, it's become obvious over the years that their business model is crap

Back when it started the company would literally pay people to sign up as drivers and make themselves available for passengers, even if they didn't actually pick anyone up. Everything to get the driver numbers up to convince the investors the company was bigger than it was

The whole idea of people negotiating a price seems to have fallen totally apart, Uber doesn't seem to be any cheaper than a taxi service

The only real advantage is that they don't operate a licence service, so literally anyone can sign up. This was probably how it was so successful in the US where a lot of places didn't have any taxi services

I'm not sure the same is going to be true here. Even if Uber got deregulated, I don't see anyone signing up to be driver to pick a load of drunks up around 1am and drive them home while they stink the car up with Guinness farts

Certainly they'll be charging the same as a taxi at least, possibly more

That's cool, did he give any idea how it works? Like is it at a set time and it brings you home, it has set stops and you walk the rest of the way

I'm guessing the pub landlord must also own the minibus service and is generating some synergy (I think that's the correct business BS term 😁)

One thing I was wondering was in a town with a few pubs, why they don't band together to share the costs. Yeah I get that they're competitors and aren't in the habit of helping each other, but there is some logic here that they'd all benefit from it

The guy told me 1 publican said he would get a bus, asked the other publicans would they share the cost, they wouldnt but its going well for him.

Then some ejits used the bus but went to rival pubs but this was nipped in the bud by the publican, they were told if you use the bus you have to come to my pub.

I don't think Uber coming in will suddenly create a flood in the market, but it will open up a side hustle for lads who don't mind the side hustle or the smell of Guinness farts.

10 10 euro trips isn't going to make anyone retire at 35, but as a side gig, doing Uber eats as well and then a couple of early morning airport/bus runs without the overhead of a plate/radio/rank fees and being able to work your own schedule? I don't think you'd have a problem finding lads to do it.

A taxi is 7.40 before you get into it if you order through free now, Uber should easily be able to price themselves lower than that, plus it's prepaid so if you find yourself in drunken slumber you don't wake up to a 90 euro fare.

Yeah sounds about right, some clown always ruins it for everyone 🙄

And the other publicans being too tight to pay a share of the bus, that doesnt surprise me either.

Is the bus free or do you pay for it?

If it's paid then I'd actually say it's fair to use it for other pubs, in theory it should be making enough money to pay for itself

If it's free then it's definitely being scabby

Definitely shortsighted of the other pubs not to contribute, they might lose a few customers because of it

I think we still have way too many pubs though, it doesn't matter how many thousand were shut down, there was too many of them, my local town had 20 pubs at one stage, its only a small town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I heard of a good system over the weekend that's operated in a Kerry pub a friend of mine works a few shifts in. The pub owner provided a car, emblazoned it with advertising for the pub and offered his locals the opportunity to sign up for a lift-share system.

Members of the scheme volunteer to be the designated driver of the car once a month (or thereabouts) and can avail of free soft drinks in the bar that night and on the basis of being part of the scheme, they then have the right to be dropped home from the pub (or collected to be taken to the bar) for a fiver any other night of the roster. I'm sure there are rules around what counts as a local trip etc. but according to my mate it works very well for everyone involved.

charging money is against the law if you dont have an SPSV licence.

I'm not 100% on the technicalities of it, it's possible I have some of the details wrong, the story was relayed during a lenghty session tbh but I've seen the car so know the basics of my description of it are correct.

It's possible they've gotten legal advice and are using some legal loophole like making it a "club" whose members contribute subs towards covering the running costs of the car rather than a fiver per trip or so on but let's be honest: it's (semi) rural Kerry. Worrying about legalities isn't exactly a priority down there ime. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Exactly. You can't save every pub located in the backarse of nowhere. Many towns and villages had more pubs than all other sorts of businesses put together.

It was fine in the days when many adults were functioning alcos and worked just to earn enough for a skinful, spend it all and repeat.

Yeah I was going to ask if the pub was owned by any of the Haely Rae family. They seem to have a somewhat selective view of the law at times

I do have a vague memory there was a designated driver promotion going a few years ago, it was sponsored by coca cola or something. I think you were supposed to use your own car though and not charge money

There were always two problems with the designated driver idea. First, you tend to get sick of soft drinks after 2 or 3 even if they're free. Maybe if you got a discount on non alcoholic drinks that would be better

The second problem is that you're the sober one among your drunken friends. Nothing more head wrecking than being the sober one in my experience, so you'd probably just end up sitting in the car listening to a podcast or music until the lads are ready to go home

Yeah I absolutely agree, the vast majority of pubs aren't a viable business and haven't been for decades. The ones that shut down probably benefit the remaining ones since the same amount of customers is divided among a smaller group of pubs

Maybe it'll make the night bus idea more viable then, having more paying customers available in one spot 🤷‍♂️

Ah now, don't be like that, we still have plenty of functioning alcoholics 😏

The designated driver idea probably works best in larger groups. Being the sober one among the lads and spending half the evening dropping them to and fro is a lot more palatable if it's only once a month or so than if you're doing it as part of a group of 5...

I hadn't wanted to name the pub in case it was operating in a legal grey area but there's press articles about it and the schemes was created in conjunction with the VFI and Guinness so presumably their lawyers had the i's dotted and the t's crossed in how it operates:

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/this-will-get-rural-ireland-back-on-its-feet-kerry-community-launch-free-community-taxi-for-pub-goers/38777785.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Not wholly convinced that the demise of the rural pub is fully down to stricter drink driving rules (although it plays a big big part). I think that greater accessibility to streaming at home is probably having an impact now too. I remember in the 90's being in my local bar for Man Utd v Liverpool games on a Wednesday night. The place would be jammed as nobody (or very few) had Sky Sports at home. That never seems to be the case any more.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

The other thing is back then it was rare to have a big game on, now there's a big game every weekend, sometimes even more, between Friday nights, Saturday afternoon/evenings, Sunday morning/afternoon and Monday night there's loads of Premiership on, throw in Champions League Tuesdays & Wednesday's and Europe League on Thursday there's a "big" game on every night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,582 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

A clamp down on dodgy boxes will put pay to that!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

For me the rural pub is being impacted by a lot of things, getting home of course is a big issue, but the decline in people drinking out, younger people migrating to urban areas, the cost of drinking, drink driving the next day are all having a massive impact. A lot of rural pubs that are shut are shut because there's no-one to take them over and the money for the license is good at the moment.

I know of a local parish that used to have a local hackney that would bring people home from the pub, he was a tea-totaller who enjoyed heading to the pub, it was a nice little earner for him and suited him, everyone knew when he was working as he let everyone know in advance. Couple of other fellas saw it as a great money spinner and decided to do their own thing but didn't bother with the license or insurance, just a couple of euro cheaper that the original lad, the original lad got sick of people complaining that the other lads were cheaper so gave it up, the new lads didn't bother keeping it up and used to take nights off without telling anyone so the whole thing fell apart.

• Nothing worse than being in the company of drunks when sober, I don’t know how anyone works in a bar tbh.

Working behind the counter is great, you get to have all the buzz of being out for the night without any of the expense AND you get paid for it.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

Thats awful, and is the Guards and NTAs fault for not catching the illegal guys, also the customers who were too tight to pay the legit hackney, its good enough for them that they have no lift home now.

I do it, it depends what kind of drunks they are, you can have a bit of craic with them if they are sound and good fun but if they are ar$eholes its hell.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Pubs are becoming a thing of the past in Rural Ireland with Drug Dealers selling cocaine 24/7 replacing them.

The Closing of so many garda Stations brought in by Alan Shatter of Fine Gael in 2013 was the best thing ever for Drug dealers in Rural Ireland.

I can see some flaws there, main one being that I'm pretty sure most people wouldn't immediately jump to buying a bag of coke because they weren't able to head down to the local

Drugs in Ireland is a major problem, but I don't think it's having a significant knock on effect to pubs