Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings and threadbans - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users Posts: 3,168 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

We have a derogation, we don’t have to take any

• Registered Users Posts: 8,990 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

Government believe 60% of Ukranians will stay... I'll accept that that satisfies the "most" part of the argument but falls about 40% short of the "all" argument.

This government also believe there is no housing crisis and that they will win the next General Election and take what they think with an oversized pinch of salt

The reality is that nobody will know until after the war has ended how many will go back but that truth doesn't scare enough people on a headline

Scaremongering - Tactic of etc

• Registered Users Posts: 3,168 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

No one said all will stay and everyone including the government beieves theres a housing crisis. Wheres this "proof" you said most will go home?, and well done on on not using the racist word for once

• Registered Users Posts: 28,839 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

His "proof" that these people won't be here forever was that they're humans, and humans die so....

Honestly one of the most disingenuous and desperate responses I've ever read on this site.

Oh and racists, racists everywhere!

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

• Registered Users Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭batman_oh

• Registered Users Posts: 16,529 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Nick Henderson and Barry Andrews were on Drivetime basically saying what Varadkar said was wrong and instead of paying we should be taking the quota in.

What good old Nick (on nearly 80 k a year) and Barry didn't say was that for every one we would be taking x number of family members would be joining them at a later stage.

And this would be on top of the couple of hundred a week thats already coming at the moment.

Its looking like the whole thing will need to crash and burn before these people wake up to the reality of whats happening and I think 2024 will be the year.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

But sure when it does crash and burn old Nick, Barry and the rest will be well insulated from the inevitable fallout that's the problem

• Registered Users Posts: 8,990 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

It was mentioned more than once

Another classic racist tactic is trying to make people think they're wrong when they're right

You really need to stop throwing that word around. It's not the game-ender you think it is and you obviously don't understand how meaningless it is or what it means.

The reality is that the majority of new arrivals we've taken in will never go home - except maybe on holiday (this is something we've seen already). Why would they? We're putting them up for free, providing for their needs AND giving them several hundred euro a week as pocket money. Plus we're going to pay for them to go to college as well!

They're going nowhere, like many others before them, and just like those others any attempts to make them leave will be met by outrage and moral grandstanding in the press about how they're part of the community, school or whatever - and then once they've served their time (already 18 months in), McEntee will probably welcome them all as citizens anyway!

All of the above has happened numerous times already and there's no reason to expect any difference here, so in the end you'll get your wish that they'll continue to get all the "support" they want.

The problem that you refuse to acknowledge though is that this doesn't come without cost and that cost will be borne by the people who will have to compete with them for those college places, accommodation, access to a doctor etc etc.

Now you may not like it, but this second group (which I'm assuming you are a member of yourself) DO have more of a right to those things. That's a benefit of being a native and/or citizen and a fundamental part of the social contract - that in return for work and taxes and playing by the rules, the State in return will put your interests and needs first and provide access to supports when you need them.

FG and the others however have broken that fundamental core of our society and nation by putting the needs of random strangers with a sad story ahead of our problems, our issues, our needs and that is why so many are concerned and increasingly annoyed about it.

It's not about helping refugees. No one has a problem with that (within practical limits). It's about the undermining of that social contract, telling people that things can't be done but then miraculously making them happen for others, and spending our taxes and revenues not on fixing the problems in our society, but actively making them worse.

Your cries of racism are nonsense and damage whatever credibility your points might have. The only ones being discriminated against at this stage are the same people who are expected to pay for it and get back in line behind the new arrivals - ie : us!

Of course, I fully expect all of the above to be ignored or "responded" to with a one-liner, but for anyone else reading it's clear that the real problem isn't some ridiculous notion of "racism", it's a vocal minority cheering all of this on while the situation for EVERYONE gets worse by the week!

• Registered Users Posts: 24 damncyclist

But if they stay here forever we surely wouldn't be putting them up and giving them money forever, they'd probably just get jobs like every other immigrant population in human history.

Also, if the state was run correctly there wouldn't be such competition for accommodation, college places etc. I think the additional pressure they're adding is marginal in the grand scheme of **** ups in the country, and that the uproar around this issue is way over the top. Perhaps even verging into, (redacted).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

"If the state was run correctly"- that's a ridiculous rebuttal; is there any state in the world that could have coped with a huge unplanned influx in such a short timeframe? We have serious problems with infrastructure in Ireland right now but adding to our woes with unfettered immigration is not helping matters and is not something that most taxpayers would support, I'dimagine. I've said it here before but it bears repeating- as taxpayer of 30 years standing and a family of my own to support I feel abolutely zero obligation to assist individuals from far-flung corners of the world, who may decide to rock up here because of a very generous benefits system we are offering.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭thinkabouit

Are business’s still struggling to find staff when we have tens of thousands of people sitting in hotels or new modular homes collecting scratch?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,304 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

You just need to look at the unemployment numbers of certain demographics, there’s a big difference between someone coming to work and paying their own way and someone claiming asylum being housed and feed while passing through multiple safe countries from a country not even at war.

Then they just need to wait for amnesty and bring over family members (through family reunification) which will put them up in ‘need’ on the housing list. Why would they lose that for a minimum wage job? Look at the numbers of foreign nationals on the housing list, it’s over fifty percent in some places. The NGO class will be milking the tax payers all the way too.

The end result will be what we’ve seen in Europe, riots over a car thief being shot in France, Pakistani grooming gangs, mass casualty terrorist attacks and an increase in crime. The children won’t fully integrate and won’t do well in school due to language difficulties. The whole thing is inevitable.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

The state isn’t Santa Clause, why do leftist’s believe that the government can do anything and provide everything for anyone who wants it at will ?

have they a child’s mentality?

This is the most frustrating thing. All of this has happened before/already elsewhere and it'll happen here too - we are not special or unique (apart from the freebies we're offering!) and we are not immune to the same issues and security problems those other countries are already struggling with. We're just not as far down the path.. yet!

The problem is that - as has been the case sooo many times before - our leaders and decision makers are incapable of learning from the mistakes of others, or have to add an "Irish twist" to it so as to make it much worse. In this case by not imposing limits on numbers, ensuring only legitimate applicants made it past the border controls, and by offering (and advertising online!!!) a freebie package unrivalled anywhere else in Europe.

These problems we're experiencing now weren't just inevitable, they were predictable to anyone with half a brain or who took the time to look at the situation objectively - and they're unfortunately only the beginning. At this stage I think it's indeed past the tipping point. We've taken in too many people over not just the last few years but the last few decades where little to no effort has been made to integrate.

We've already seen serious problems in north/west Dublin and parts of Louth as well as the city centre. Not covering these in the mainstream media, or acknowledging them won't make them go away as some seem to think. It only emboldens the perpetrators and increases the resentment of the victims until you get to a place where REAL racism and divisions in society exist.

It didn't have to be this way. We're a small island nation with a population less than most major cities and our wealth is massively skewed by the impact of FDI and MMCs - yet our "leaders" continually take on and commit us to more than we can handle and have made the issues (healthcare, housing, costs of living, rural/urban divide etc) that have been around for decades all that much worse in the space of even the last 5-10 years. (Thank you FG! I've said it so many times before - they are actually WORSE than FF. We just haven't seen it as much historically as they are never elected on their own policies but as a protest vote.. and then remind us all why that is!)

In any case, the damage is now done. It won't be felt by the politicians or the heads of the numerous NGOs or those pontificating or stirring here and elsewhere online. It'll be felt by ordinary people who can't access services they are entitled to, whose children will grow up not in the generally easy-going, open, welcoming country we did .. but one divided, rife with REAL racial tensions and split by communities, and far more unstable politically and socially than what came before it.

This isn't scaremongering or conspiracy either - you only have to look to the UK or France for the evidence. We live in a country that has been sold off piece by piece to investment and special interest groups and run by politicians looking towards an even cushier job in the EU or the lobbying circuit, and where no one seems to be representing those who are dealing the fallout of all this.

I said it about a week or so back on this thread... if you want to see how REAL problems start in a country and political extremism (from both sides - we already have the left) takes root, just stay tuned! ☹️

• Registered Users Posts: 289 ✭✭Gamergurll

Judging by a certain reply here yesterday on the previous page calling it a child's mentality isn't too far wrong

• Registered Users Posts: 426 ✭✭grumpyperson

I think this is scaremongering. We've a huge immigrant population but do not have the racial division of other countries so far. We've a bigger foreign born population than Sweden and do not have the bombings. By and large most foreign people I meet are very nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Tourism sector struggling with the lack of available hotel accommodation. Mentioned several times as why the sector is facing difficulties but not once in the article does the Irish Times mention why there’s such a scarcity. That would be wrongspeak of course. Everyone just has to shut up and pretend they don’t see the enormous Elephant taking up the room. The hotel accommodation probably just drifted off into space.

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭highpressisbest

The death of George Nkencho showed up real racial divisions. Maybe you didn't see the videos of the gangs running wild through the Blanchardstown Centre in the aftermath? Except more of the same if the ultimate decision is not to prosecute any of the guards involved. Be assured that we will have the same problems as other countries that have gone down the route of multiculturalism. Why wouldn't we?

Again, there is a BIG difference between those that come here to work, pay their own way and those coming to live off the system that have no education, no willingness to work or integrate.

• Registered Users Posts: 426 ✭✭grumpyperson

Outside this thread, Irish people are generally quite welcoming and it seems to have rubbed off on our recent arrivals. I vaguely remember the blanchardstown protest, no exactly a Rodney King reaction.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Lol, it'll be grand because the non racist Irish are sound. That's definitely going to fix everything right up. Go tell Sweden they just needed to be more sound and non racist and it all would have been so different!

You might want to have another look. I clearly remember the thread on this forum with videos of large gangs marching through Blanch SC shouting and intimidating people, blocking and kicking buses, people barricaded inside a shop while the mob shouted outside, and a guy and his mother harassed and attacked at a petrol station.

Not exactly a great advertisement for integration and multiculturalism.

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Marcos

Cogently put, but self awareness isn't strong in some posters minds.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,529 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Well thats a handy way of dismissing what he said saying you vaguely remember it.

They were outside the shop shouting racial slurs about white Irish people and a group of them kicked the tar out of an innocent person who just happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Oh and lets not forget Nkenchos brother threatening to kill a member of the Gardai.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,474 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

We have been quite successful in fact at integrating non nationals and former refugees into our communities.

I was reading before that one of the main reasons successful integration happens is when you avoid ghettoes. The worst thing that you can do is have large numbers of the same ethnic grouping living in one area, but in very socially deprived circumstances - France is one country that has made a total mess of things on that score.

”Some 86% of Germans are worried about migration, up from 67% last year, according to a Civey survey, as authorities scramble to provide them housing and benefits.”

Sentiment has turned on this issue all over Europe. Those cheering this on only have themselves to blame for this.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭rgossip30

'' 32 per cent are unsure of their plans, and 24 per cent intend to return to Ukraine as soon as they can '' Logically those who are unsure and those who want to return will only do so if they can get some form of accommodation and welfare in Ukraine . You seem to be full sure that 58% will return . A number will return because they were looking for an opportunity here and find life is easier for them in Ukraine . The link is from a reputable source please explain how its racist to post it .