Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fighter jets for the Air Corps?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭TheAnalyst_

Read an intersesting bit of history in the Fouga book. We were looking to get Hawks and had requested to begin negotiations with the manufacturers and were outright ignored or told no.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭sparky42

To the Supreme Court it goes then, the alternative is something the government just won’t accept.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭Dohvolle

They'd prefer the spend the cost of a squadron of jets on engaging the top barristers to drag it through the supreme court.

Was that a block by the British government? Can’t see why the manufacturer wouldn’t have wanted some extra sales?

That was what I thought based on the poliltical situation at the time.

I have not read the book, but it depends on the time referred to.

In 1975, when we bought the Fouga, the Hawk was not yet in active service, and the Gnat & Strikemaster (Jet Provost variant, but armed) were being phased out. If we waited we might have been able to follow Finlands example and get a Hawk 50. Thing is then we would have been moving from a force used to operating UK built ejector seat equipped Jet Aircraft. The economy was on its knees though, and buying anything new was not feasible. Our recent entry into the EEC had also shown how exposed our seas were, and the money went to the Navy for 3 ships (and maybe 3 more) instead. It may have been that at that point, the exchange rate between GB£ and IR£ wasn't competitive.

Time was up on the Fouga shortly before they entered service. We finally decided to get rid of them in the late 90s, at which point Shorts were producing the Tucano for the RAF in Belfast (the Meccano as techies called it), BAE were pushing the Hawk 100 then, which was an advanced armed trainer.. EVERYONE within earshot of bal was hearing Alpha Jets Alpha Jet, Alpha jet. They visited so often there probably ramp crew already qualified to do preflight checks on them.

Problem we had was our basic trainer, the Warrior was also due for replacement, and one of many external consultants reports had recommended replacing 2 types with one, when it came to fixed and rotary wing training.

The hawk was, and still is too much to do basic flying training on. Same I guess with Alpha Jet. Great advanced trainers, both. Unsuitable for rookie flying.

Apologies correct. It was the jet provost.

This was 1974. They were offered fougas for 1.5 mil punts which wasn't much money even back then.

Not surprising. We replaced a 1st Generation twin seat single engine jet trainer with a 1st Generation Tandem Seat twin engine jet trainer. The JP would have been a slight improvement, but most went to the UK allies in the gulf states. Interestingly, we would have used its propellor predecessor the Percival Provost during the 1960s and 1970s, until being repaced by the SF260W.

There may have been an institutional reluctance to continue receiving UK hand me downs in the Air Corps, hence the move to US made Maritime patrol, French helicopters and utility aircraft and a combination of Italian and French trainers. By the late 70s the only UK built aircraft in service was the "Government Jet" the HS125-700, compared to an air corps that up to the 1960s had used almost exclusively UK made aircraft.

The Italian MB326 sounded like it was the preferred option but they couldnt justify the extra price at the time. Shame, as they were pretty much scammed by the Fouga manufacturers.

I remember hearing about when a flight of Fouga flew a cross formation with the Aer Lingus 747 when Pope John Paul II visited in 1979, the 747 had to extend as much flaps as possible to get slow enough so the Fougas could keep up.

Given what was available at the time it was hard to get the logic behind the selection, particularly given as how Irish Soldiers in the Congo had been subjected to persistent attacks from the type 10 years earlier.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭jonnybigwallet

It was an absolutely tiny machine. I sat in one once. T'wasnt like sitting in a cockpit at all, it was more like putting on your jacket! Cheap and cheerful.

I still love them, play it all the time in MSFS. I'm actually thinking of buying a real one in the next few years.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭100gSoma

Right lads, someone on here knows what the craic with this. https://www.oceanfm.ie/2023/10/12/defence-forces-allays-concerns-after-army-jets-spotted-over-sligo/

This 'news story' about "army jets" is clearly missing so much information and makes zero sense.

Several users on twitter reported "fighter jets" over sligo. It's disappointing that there is a huge fear to acknowledge any sort of cooperation with any "imperialist" nation who might tarnish our "neutrality"(if such a thing exists in 2023) by bringing their "war machines" to our sovereign lands. sigh

It's like Fr Ted.

edit: actually my mind is racing now :) a eurofighter can land in 500-700m. The runway at Strandhill is 1000m long. Hardly doing a touch and go?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,173 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

It was 2 x PC-12 light transport aircraft, single engine, turboprop, not a jet in sight. They deliver the mail.

Clearly not much excitement in Sligo normally.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭100gSoma

Oh man... if journalists and the public identify pc12s as 'fighter jets' with one person on twitter commenting "I thought a plane was coming down"... it doesn't really bode well for actually acquiring jets... People would have a breakdown. lol

"grunt...big iron bird try to eat me. me tell friend. friend work for ... raaay er... Dioo... friend say no look at sky any more in case iron bird come back"

Sure remember a certain Dublin TD screaming about how terrified everyone was when a USAF C 17 came into Baldonnel…

"I tell ye Joe, growen men was weepin so dey was. Terry fyin!"

• Registered Users Posts: 16,795 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Poland are seemingly intent on buying more fighters. The local press is calling for superlative air-air performance and in particular performance capable of counter-air in the face of Sukhoi Su35.

In that category, “realistically, only two options are available on the market,” Tomasz Smura, program director at the Warsaw-based Casimir Pulaski Foundation, told Defense News. He was referring to the Eurofighter Typhoon, manufactured by a European consortium jointly run by Airbus, BAE Systems UK and Italy’s Leonardo, and the F-15EX Eagle II, made by Boeing.”

Oddly, the article attached seems to think that capability only exists in 2 current airframes. The f15-EX and the Eurofighter. On a top trumps basis, that does appear true, but? In reality apart from outright speed and ceiling the Rafale and Gripen are also well able for the role and can do it with far greater range thanks to Metor BVR.

One crucial factor to consider for anyone buying airframes to counter Russian aircraft? Is that despite them all being large and hugely visible on radar, they carry missile systems that can likely hit western aircraft outside of current max AIM120 range, well at least 120C.

R37 is now carried by Su35 as well as the MiG31, its very long range is a threat. A bigger threat is the R77 which outranges most common AIM120 versions. Meaning Western fighters would have to enter well within Russian missile range to fire anything below an AIM120-C8.

Now the reason I write about this on the "Fighter jets for Ireland Thread", is that as more and more western countries reassess their own defence needs? There will be a tighter than ever supply of new and 2nd hand airframes for Ireland to consider.

The current supply of F16-MLU that were becoming available as NATO members moved to new airframes? Well between Ukraine and the recently arranged deal for Argentina to take over 24 Danish F16s means years are again being added to any possible Irish acquisitions.

Of course, its a time of very disturbed global security and the distinct possibility of some manner of global level conflict breaking out on many and varied fronts, conventionally at least.

But the fact is, there are no Irish acquisitions, likely or even possible, such is the absence of the capability to operate them. Each of the three services has been allowed to dwindle to scarcely existing, so if we got a dozen or 18 F16s dropped off tomorrow at Baldonnell, they'd be some fancy paper weights for at least 5 years, assuming some effort was begun to assimilate them on Day 1, which in itself is unlikely.

And so the fast moving market in new and second hand fighter planes, among our European partners and NATO acquaintances, is entirely irrelevant to Ireland and will be for the foreseeable future.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,795 ✭✭✭✭banie01

True that there are no plans even apparently long term for Irish acquisitions. I see no issue though in highlighting both the changes in aircraft availability due to a dramatic change in geopolitical circumstances and the rapidly diminishing supply of even 2nd airframes.

Not to rehash the conversation that was had after the publication of the commission report, but I'm sure most of us regular (ish) posters on this sub-forum would agree that the report itself became outdated as soon as Russia invaded Ukraine. We are no longer in a world where saying LOA2 is acceptable as a realistic defence posture.

The UK has a small but high end Air combat capability that is far too small for them to be able to support high tempo, high threat operations in face of a near peer adversary. We have to accept that as NATO and UK in particular refocus on threats in the East, that the UK's capacity and indeed willingness to fly Typhoons along with the necessary tankers out west to police Ireland's air defence/policing gap is decreasing.

“There was a consensus amongst our witnesses, including the MoD, that the ability of the UK’s combat air fleet to deter aggression and to gain air superiority in a warfighting context had taken on a new significance as the prospect of conflict with a peer or near-peer adversary had drawn closer.”

RAF is now smaller than France, Germany, Italy and approaching parity with Spain, those Services are all actively expanding whilst the RAF is still cutting. Their F35 joint force that was planned as 138 aircraft? May yet stall out at 72. Where other countries have committed to more Eurofighters, Spain & Italy, the RAF is still not even committed to a like for like replacement of their retired tranche 1s.

We in Ireland are in the unenviable position of relying solely on the RAF to pick up our slack, when the RAF is running out of capacity to ensure it can manage its current commitments at home and overseas.

Watching the recent TV series on the RAF didn't fill me with confidence in their abilities to protect our skies. Typhoon on QRA in the Baltic goes U/S during a shout, meaning pilot has to abort even leaving the shed, and they have to borrow a spare from the UK, leaving the other QRA aircraft to go it alone.

Crew so short of qualified pilots that the station commander has to put on the G suit and get current on the type again.

WO wandering around the base doing the job of RAF Police, making sure everyone is wearing their ID.

I think we need to be having conversations with the French. At least the French Navy are sticking with CATOBAR, so their carrier could operate Rafales off the west coast..And not be like the rest of europe grounding their F35 because it needs a software upgrade.

This is true.

In fact, if today, for example, there were three flights of Russian Bombers, off Donegal, Aberdeen and East Anglia, the RAF could not give equal attention to all three and the Donegal 'bandits' would likely go unmolested, or at best be left to land and sea based forces to track.

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭goodlad_ourvlad

Doubtful... there would be Norwegian assets tracking, and Northsea has Danish and German assets to call on too...

NATO would prob stick a few tankers up and cover the lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭roadmaster

As it is the RAF only escort aircraft as far as irish airspace of Malin Head and then head home. The russian aircraft fly down the west coast in peace before the french meet them as they leave irish airspace in the south

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭mupper2

When you outsource security you leave yourself vulnerable to other peoples own failings....and with no way to fix those yourself.

they've tracked Bears from the outer Hebridies (after taking over from Norwegian QRA aircraft), round the west and south coast of Ireland to just off Cornwall before.

NATO had an AWACS over Ireland in 2015 (?) tracking them before.

If you just leave them, as was suggested, you need to close Irish and Oceanic airspace, as you have an untrackable entity going through controlled airspace. Ireland's lack of primary radar coverage also feeds into a potential clusterfuck of a situation that would be too.

Considering European NATO members have just committed even more airborne patrol squadrons of all types to the Baltic and tankerage to support them, I'd have serious doubts about that.

They have had units in Eastern Europe operating almost to a wartime level of operations or nearly two years now. We know that these tankers are relatively few and many quite old.

My point is, when are some of these scarce and aged assets going to have to be withdrawn for major overhaul and where is the capacity coming from to replace them?

My theory is, that the Western European coast is not nearly as well protected, in depth, as NATO might like.

You need a visit to Mildenhall, Prestwick and Aldergrove acquaint yourself with the amount of tanker support available within 1 hr fly time from the west coast of Ireland on any given day

edit:anywhere between 10-15 Kc-135's at Mildenhall... Brize has at least 3-4 Voyagers... if it's drogue refeulled aircraft, the MC-130's from Mildenhall can be used also... not to mention French tankers and support from German based USAF tanked (another 15), lastly, the Multiforce tankers in Eindhoven.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭roadmaster

Looks like Johnnys Favourite jet will be offered to the state this week.