Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"I started a joke, that started the whole world ......" | Ireland v New Zealand.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,053 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Were Ireland cocky or the fans and the media cocky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,657 ✭✭✭StevenToast

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,364 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Gallant defeat. Something we specialise in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Tileman

Going through a divorce at moment and the only thing keeping me going was the rugby. **** devasted. What curse is on us

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Dont Be at It

Ah we were well off our best. 3 scrum penalties. How many lineout penalties. Sexton missing that gimme penalty. Very nervy opening 20. I know we nearly did but overturning a 13 point deficit is so rare, so the damage was done.

It also didn't help that it's the best that new Zealand have Played in god knows how long. But that's what the pedigree teams do I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,118 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Yes, we've been concentrating on Ireland naturally enough but the ABs can be proud of themselves. They showed up on the night, played to their max and had tremendous character and resolve, even when things were going against them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,708 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭downtheroad

Bit they did beat us. In a world cup 1/4 final. Where it matters.

We harp on about winning in Chicago, winning a test in NZ, games that don't matter in the grand scheme of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,699 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Its elite level sport. We played again 14 men for 20 mins. In an attritional game thats massive. We didnt seem to have the intelligence or leadership to exploit that.

We can all come on here and cheer lead for the lads but they wont wakt that and we wont get anywhere gping forward without some real honest criticism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,922 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Well if all Irish teams fell at the Q/F then they are equal in that and it's the other things they done that would be the tie breaker.

Are they the best ever ? I think thats subjective but losing today doesn't disqualify them from the argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,605 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

We're not good enough. Shocking line out. POC didn't get it done. Back row outplayed.

Typical qf loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,182 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

McCarthy and JOB added a bit of impact when we were starting to flag. Hopefully they'll have a part to play in the years to come.

Ringrose and Keenan were magnificent, as was Aki.

I can't. Every Irish team that has gone to a world cup has achieved the same result. We can't celebrate this, it is failure. But there will probably be a bus down O'Connell St for these quarter finalists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,424 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Here it is my 2c:

Hugo Keenan - very good game. Kicked well. Ran great lines. 8/10

James Lowe - solid performance but couldn't really create anything. 7/10

Mack Hansen - started well, looked lively but the injury may have hampered him. 7/10

Jimmy O'Brien - first game of WC and didn't put a foot wrong. Probably should have started instead of Hansen. 8/10

Garry Ringrose - non stop defence all game. His attacking prowess was stifled by NZ. Should have influenced game more. 7/10

Bundee Aki - continued his great run of form. Always made yards. Always threatening. Bizarre that the shoulder to the head in first half was deemed ok by TMO. Pity that his age is against him for next WC. 9/10

Jonny Sexton - led from the front and never eased up. But looked to be carrying an injury. Might have been better to get Crowley on for last 10mins. Will we see a player of his quality in green again anytime soon? 8/10

Jamison Gibson Park - took try very well but was hampered by clever NZ play at rucks. Ball was slowed well by them. Ruck time was longer than we're accustomed to. Didn't impact the game as much as usual. 7/10

Conor Murray - stupid, needless, penalty conceded during his short cameo. I'm still bulling over it. 5/10

Caelan Doris - unfortunate knock on. Carried frequently but was outplayed by his opposite number. 6/10

Peter O'Mahony - another forward who was eclipsed by his opponent. 6/10

Josh van der Flier - wasn't surprised to see him subbed. It didn't go his way today. 6/10

Jack Conan - strong cameo. Most of it done with one boot. 7/10

Iain Henderson - looked gassed very early on. Lots of effort. Little reward. 6/10

Tadgh Beirne - very lively all game. But gassed at the end. Took ball during last few phases and stood still. 7/10

Joe McCarthy - one for the future. Didn't really impact game today though. 6/10

Andrew Porter - can't ignore those scrums. Very good in the loose though. A great tournament but didn't peak today. 7/10

Dan Sheehan - NZ kept him quiet. Didn't see any spectacular loose play. 6/10

Rónan Kelleher - very unlucky not to get a pen when Barnes gave a knock on against him. Threw well and, possibly, was the better Irish hooker today. 7/10

Tadgh Furlong - hasn't been at his peak for a while. Great effort today and got around the pitch to secure plenty of ball. Doesn't have as much explosive power as before. 6/10

Findlay Bealham - very short cameo. A much improved player, in general. 6/10

Dave Kilcoyne - always gives 100%. But at a level lower than we need for a replacement front row. 6/10

We didn't sh*t the bed. But we didn't perform at 100%. Kearney thinks we were at 75% - I agree. NZ pressure was what made us under perform.

I humbly await everyone's outrage at my synopsis!

• Administrators Posts: 54,065 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Who gives a crap? No harm but who genuinely cares?

Yet again we are beaten when it really counts. We are mentally weak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭joseywhales

The bad news Zealand team that are southern hemisphere champs for four years running.

• Registered Users Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Irlandczyk

The level of pathetic you need to be to post this kind of thing multiple times 😂 I actually feel a little better now.

What else have they done that is the tie breaker?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Dreadful by us today. Once again the opportunity was there and we blew it. There is no ifs or buts about it, we bottled it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,952 ✭✭✭ebbsy

All those knock ons and lost lineouts........NZ were much tidier in those aspects.

And Beauden Barrett......the difference.

Ans still we nearly won.

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭trevezel

momentum is the yellow card for taylor, at this time, you must score, its unbelievable...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,053 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Well the 2nd line is your own fault never bet if you don't have the money to lose

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,140 ✭✭✭fitz

Really exceptional performance from NZ, to be fair.

This one hurts in a different way to previous QF exits. We were good, few key moments go the other way and we win that game, despite being a bit off our best.

That's sport I guess, but jaysus this is tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Stanley Goodspeed I'll do my best.

John Mason Your "best"! Losers always whine about their best. Winners go home and **** the prom queen.

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭Tommysocks11

Get rid of o connell and hire a new line out and scrum coach, can we put to bed finally that our front row is 'world class', we concede numerous scrum penalties and rarely win one and why the hell didn't we contest the new Zealand line outs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,657 ✭✭✭StevenToast

The series win in NZ is seriously devalued after this....back to back QF losses to NZ...

Thats what matters....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,708 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I would hope ther is no hollow silly celebration bus tour , the players and Sezton would not want that, but they put up the best performance in a Quarter since 1991 , which was in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,699 ✭✭✭Gusser09

You always felt thought that as close as we got NZ could always pull away again.

I still cant believe sexton misses that penalty. Puts us within a DG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,321 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Argentina reached their third semi final at a RWC today. Ireland have never got to that stage. And the wait goes on.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Did NZ knock the ball on once in the game? The deliberate knock on aside. They kept it really simple and executed throughout.

Ireland threw speculative passes, kicked away good possession and made mistakes in defence. We choked. Just a couple of per cent off but we did choke.