Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings and threadbans - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭eggy81

Also tend to be very nice people in my experience with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭thinkabouit

Been waiting since last year for a C license Restest. Absolutely ridiculous how much money, time & effort it takes to get a license.

That’s why there’s a shortage of driver’s, the sheer hassle of getting a license and the time it takes. Complete over haul of that test needed.

There only bringing in Georgians because they think they’ll work for min wage and be exploited.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭20silkcut

They should be encouraged into employment. The war (s) is not going to end anytime soon. The guards , the building sector, the hospitality sector, the transport sector are all experiencing dramatic workforce collapse. These people or a section of them should be trained up and employed and contribute to society.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭Ahwell

According to the CSO, there were 14,804 Ukrainian refugees in active employment on August 28.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Its total madness. Steady talking about cutting Road deaths and accidents and the next sentence propose something like this. Totally out of touch rudderless government. Plain to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,998 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

Social welfare is not just dole, it's all the carers allowances, refugee payments, disability, state pension etc etc

If they appeal the order, yes, they can stay, otherwise they'd have to appeal from whatever country they are deported to, which would be silly

Would you have any idea how many times can you appeal.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,532 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Heard O Gorman on the radio saying people should not come here if other countries are an option, now you know things are bad when a guy who only a few years ago was promising every Tom Dick and Harry a house 4 months after showing up is now saying don't come here as there is no accommodation available.

He even admitted that those who do still arrive will be in tents, I think we are very near the time when the whole thing is going to crash and burn and it needs to happen to make those in power realise an open border policy is doomed to failure.

It didn't work in the rest of Europe so how did they think Ireland would be different.

You can appeal a recommendation by the IPO once but you could argue there's 4 subsequent ways to appeal. Realistically if the appeal to the IPO doesn't go your way none of the others will but the others are

A judicial review on the IPO appeal decision

A request to the minister to change his/her mind

A judicial review on the minister's decision

A new application if there's significant change to the circumstances

what solutions have you got? How do you see a unilateral irish government border shutdown working out????? Do you think we are a powerful independently wealthy country like Saudi Arabia that can shoot illegal migrants on sight or treat them in any which way we like take their passports work them like slaves etc etc ????? What happens if we start turning away migrants????? Just think about it for a few minutes. Just think about how much resources this country has and military power to assert ourselves to be able to tell the global order to go **** itself we are not taking any more refugees!!!!

The absolute **** would be sanctioned out of us . The country would be brought to its knees within days. This country is a weak as a kitten. We are totally dependent on the global economy . We have zero hard power and I absolutely emphasise zero hard power on the world stage to be able to take a decision to close our borders to refugees.

The refugee problem can only be solved at source. Russia and its proxies in Syria and North Africa and Ukraine are driving these refugees to our borders in their millions . Russia needs to be put back in its box and the refugee problem disappears. It started in 2015 when the Russians went in and destroyed Syria and drove millions into Europe. Then lukashenko imported refugees to his country and drove them to the polish border. Then Russia went into Ukraine fucked the place up and drove millions of refugees into Europe. Then the Wagner group went into North Africa and precipitated coups in the Sahel and drove hundreds of thousands ( potentially millions) more into Europe swamping lampedusa and southern Italy. Stop Russia and the refugee crisis disappears. They are absolute knuts of the highest order. And I really emphasis and underline knuts.

C. U. Next Tuesday’s . Parasitic interfering bastards Whatever your having yourself

of the utmost highest order.

They want us to destroy ourselves and tear ourselves apart over the refugee crisis .

This is what hybrid warfare looks like. Like the cyber attack on the HSE.

we are a neutral country but this war has been declared on us whether we like it or not.

They are playing us like a fiddle.

Post edited by 20silkcut on

• Registered Users Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

Eh maybe we just say no, we're full? How's about that? Too controversial for our politician masters to understand?

Apparently we have several billions allocated to migrants at the cost of HSE that could easily be spent safeguarding our borders, maybe just checking for a passport would be a start, should be covered already by immigration guards without any additional cost.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,390 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

More waffle than the Birds Eye factory from a Minister completely divorced from reality.

No indication of how he'll achieve anything except chasing his own tail.

Thorough screening of migrants entering the country.

No.identification No entry.

A proper deportation system put in place.

Immediate deportation for immigrants committing serious crimes and also reoffenders.

End of the appeal application farce.

Proper holding facilities instead of hotels and public buildings etc.

It's unbelievable that none of these were put in place.

saying we are full not going to work. We are not a powerful country that can isolate ourselves from the rest of the world and take decisions like that. Not even close. We have Zero hard power. Absolute zero. We have nothing that we can hold other countries over a barrel with. You’re living in Disneyland if you think we can. As I said Saudi Arabia can shoot refugees or work them to death on building sites. Because they have oil nobody says a word to them. Any country dependent on the global economy like ourselves has absolutely no choice and must conform to the consensus. If ye can’t accept or even acknowledge this reality on this thread then there is nothing more to be said. Yes we could pretend we are broke and can’t take them in that would work out well for us.

But I do 100% agree with you that much more should be done on screening those that show up at our borders. And 1000% agree that criminal offenders be immediately deported.

Post edited by 20silkcut on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭rgossip30

You make the appeals to stay if you are here 5 years then most likely leave to remain .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Oh

Money drying up ? Or is Ukraine yesterdays news ?

Just a simply staggering amount of money for the population & amount of people that can claim it.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

...not really, cause we dont live in a more stricter authoritarian like state, so very little, or even none of that will ever be implemented....

True, so with the Gardai numbers declining and our jail system nearly full to capacity, it wouldn't take a genius to know what the outcome is going to be.

How are alot of these immigrants ever going to be able to work or integrate into society when such a lot of jobs and social activities have Gardai vetting required.

Will exemptions be made???

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭rgossip30

There 800k with some form of disability in Ireland not all are claiming however .

• Registered Users Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭trashcan

You can’t appeal a DO, as such. What you can do is ask the Minister to revoke the Order. The Courts have ruled that any such request would have to be based on changed circumstances. The Department therefore has a lot of latitude in refusing these requests. You can of course challenge a DO in the High Court, which can take years. The Department can give undertakings not to deport while the case is going on, but they aren’t obliged to. If no undertaking is given the Deportee would have to bring injunction proceedings in the High Court to prevent deportation. Enforcement of DO’s is another matter of course. One line that I’ve seen put out regularly in this thread is “oh we just “ask” them to leave.” Again, not strictly true. The DO is an instruction, not a request, to leave the State, and to remain out of the State thereafter. Now you may say “what’s the difference if they don’t go anyway ?” which is a fair question, but still, it’s a little bit more than “asking nicely” which it’s often characterised as.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,839 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

It's not a question of money. They'll just continue to cut back in services and supports for the natives - although the piss poor response from Leo to the Cork flooding last week and the public spat with the head of the HSE over the budget allocations are making that harder to get away with.

It's more likely a combination of no more places they can put them with winter on the way, and a growing sense of frustration and resentment across all voter groups. It's not something they can dismiss as a handful of "far right agitators" anymore.

It's long overdue, but it's closing the door after the horse has long since bolted.

What’s that nearly 1 in every 5 or 6 people here is disabled? Something stinks about it.

Are we not asking them to leave. Seeing as we as a country dont do one thing to assist or see that the deportation is carried out or even bothering to check if a person has left.

Usually when an order is given there are consequences for not following an order. In these cases no consequences are to be had.

I still think I'm justified stating that if a person is found guilty of being in Ireland illegally, they are politely asked to leave.

And yes, its a total joke. Imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 426 ✭✭grumpyperson

Pretty much anyone countering this narrative is threadbanned. We've heard Russia is using its troops as meat missiles and using WW2 tanks and yet they control the world.

Let's ignore the USA armed Ukraine. The USA turned Libya into a failed state. The USA invaded Iraq. The USA gives billions each year to the apartheid Israeli state. The USA invaded Afghanistan. The USA armed rebels in Syria and some of those weapons ended up with Isis. And on and on and on. But but Russia, comrade. . tankie...

Take your head out of your arse.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭seenitall

Or maybe they know that the Palestinians will be incoming shortly, so they are trying to make more room and re-jig resources………

Bolloxollogy

Russia are going into these countries and driving the refugees into Europe. It doesn’t take any military tactical nous to create a refugee crisis. The Russians are good at that. The one thing they are good at. The Belarusians even import them from the Middle East and force them at gun point to the EU border. You most definitely need your head removed from your arse .

give out stink about Refugees and then express admiration for the bastards causing them to be here. Utter nonsense

• Registered Users Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭trashcan

You can argue that it’s semantics -asked/instructed - but technically it’s not asking. I wouldn’t disagree that enforcement is an issue. It’s a question of resources as far as I can see. There is more logistically involved in carrying out enforced deportations than you’d think.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭airy fairy

Ireland has a huge problem with enforcement. We can't even enforce traffic laws nevermind deporting someone. And if it's anything that'll rattle NGOs , then we run away and hide.