Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Almost 50% of drivers believe accompanied driver rule should be scrapped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,108 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Learner drivers aren't driving loud cars at all in general. It's the fastest way to attract attention from the guards.

Plenty of N drivers yes but learners no.

Learners are in by in large driving their parents car or a nearly new small car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭spiggotpaddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,108 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Ah I get ya. Tbf that relatively low level public order enforcement has always and it appears will always be non existent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭GSBellew

You are supposed to remove the L Plates when the learner is not driving, yes I know nobody bothers, but that is what is supposed to happen.

Whatever about complaining about waiting lists, there is an issue with allowing people to keep on renewing a learners permit an unlimited number of times, many without ever sitting a test at all.

If someone can not manage to pass a test in 10, 20 or even 30 years I am not sure if they deserve to be let drive, let alone drive unaccompanied.

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2023/10/02/revealed-tens-of-thousands-of-people-have-been-driving-for-years-without-ever-taking-test/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,777 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

so basically you've got nothing and are just noise. I get it.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭kirving

It doesn't actually mean that they have been driving though.

I know someone who got their Provisional years ago, before the mandatory EDT. They keep renewing it so they don't need to do the EDT (I know.....), but they never actually drive a car. Anecdote of course, but 1% of people who hold licenses are on their third provisional, and many don't actually drive on the road.

Similar to the figures published about uninsured vehicles. For a time, 2 cars outside my family home were taxed but uninsured, but that says much more about out nonsense tax system which forces people to over-tax their cars. The theory was that if a car was taxed, it was actively being used on the road, but that just isn't the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,579 ✭✭✭User1998

To be honest, I can’t see these drivers being much of a problem to society. They are all experienced drivers, as you say, some have up to 30 years driving experience. Its not like they are failing their driving test every time, I believe they just cancel the booking or don’t show up.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,922 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

They cancel because they are fairly sure they'd fail.

Otherwise they wouldn't need to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭kirving

Or don't even own a car, have no intention of driving one in the near future, but have retained the learners permit, "just in case" and to avoid redoing the EDT lessons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭csirl

There's a growing problem with drivers driving with no license. A lot of those who previously drove for years on constantly renewed provisional licenses stopped doing so when the learner permit was introduced. They just drive with no license. Never enforced as Gardai simply dont check licenses anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭Isthisthingon?

As mentioned by a previous poster, I don't understand the logic of a learner driver somehow being safer on the road with a licensed driver sitting beside them. I do take the point that a licensed driver can advise a driver to slow down or pay attention but the only possible thing they could do to stop a collision for argument sake would be to pull up the handbrake maybe. They cant wrestle the steering wheel off the driver or grab the keys.

Also what happens if the licensed driver has even worse habits than the learner?

' Should I indicate here? '

'Pfft indicators , Good one'

The dual control car or preferably driving taught as a subject in school in an enclosed area until proficiency is earned would be the better option.

And for context , I'm of a vintage that failed his first test, but was able to get a second learners permit and legally drive on my own on the learners permit for 2 years I think in which case I had to take another test. I think if you got a third learner you couldn't drive on your own. Driving test wait times were 15 months. Either way drove the length and breath of the country with no L plates up. Did a fair bit of motorway driving so it wasn't worth the hassle. Kept under the radar when driving and was never queried on it by a guard.

I passed by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

This would seem to be the way forward. People should be required to do a sim test before being allowed apply for the real one and those with licences should do a sim test every 10 years.

In a sim you could simulate something like a child running out, the driver in front braking suddenly etc and you could do night driving and snow as you say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭creedp

Next thing some people will be looking for prospective parents to take a sim test each time prior ro doing the dance for real😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Maybe don’t be logging on to your daddy’s account if you can’t handle an adult conversation.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

But if they are booking tests and not using them it is increasing the backlog, causing complaints about delays and leading to threads like this.

You say that you can't see them being much of a problem, but they may have never sat a test, so you have no way of knowing if they are good bad or indifferent and if they can not manage to pass a test in 30 years they should not be entertained a renewal of a learners permit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

The driving test is too basic and too easy to pass especially for younger people/lads who will know.and do all the right things on the day.

The bad driving is also passed down with crappy full licenced drivers helping their kid learn. Does anyone actually think that these people will pass on good driving behaviour.

These are the same people who don't abide by speed limits, sail through roundabouts and generally treat the road as though it's they're own to control.

Arrogant pr|cks. Imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭creedp

Who are the arrogant pr1cks again? Not sure if you're referring to those young lads who are well capable of passing the test or those who have proven in the past that they can pass the test and drive competently or... sorry Ive lost my train of thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭xtradel

I think it should be scrapped only because my Daughter is a learner and when I accompany her I'm fuckin petrified!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭Isthisthingon?

I wonder how many of us would fail the test if we sat it again.

Loads id imagine on technicalities and a plethora of minors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Most of us would fail due to the bad habits picked up over the years, even if we try to drive to the ROTR every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Arnout

I certainly had to surpress some when I did my BE (10 years after B).

I once had the opportunity to take part in a (shortened) mock theory test on a car show, several years after I got my driver's license. Only myself and maybe one other passed, of a "class" that consisted of about 20 people. Not all 20 people had a driver's license (there were children there too) but still.

I think it wouldn't hurt to have a mandatory refresher upon driver's license renewal. Also because rules change over the years.

Whichever profession people have, they keep up-to-date with developments over the years in their field. But the certificate that is their driver's license gets neglected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,257 ✭✭✭amacca

Some of what you should be doing or at least we're told to make sure to do for the test in the past was laughable and dangerous imo

The over exaggerated constant looking in mirrors every couple of seconds for certain testers etc

But I prefer to glance but keep my eyes on the road ahead!....nope rubber chicken neck at all mirrors repeatedly to make sure tweed jacket clipboard man knows you are observing etc...but that's more likely to cause an accident!......listen, do you want to pass or not.....ok fine, ill do the ridiculous dance and we can all go home thinking something was accomplished.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,347 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

I have yet to work out why so many Dutch people drive round Ireland declaring their nationality with 'NL' stuck in large red letters in the rear window of their car, obstructing their rear view.

Why is it acceptable for that to be allowed? Either the 'N' for someone who recently passed the test, or 'L' for someone with a learners permit and accompanied by a qualified licenced driver. Who are they trying to fool? Would a Garda be fooled into thinking anything other than this vehicle needs stopping and checking to see what it is all about. So why do they do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭mcburns07

Parents car used by children who have different licenses??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,347 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

That I doubt.

The L or N or both should be removed when not applying.

If the Gardai stopped and checked every unaccompanied L plate, and every Dutch NL declaration, it would cease to be a thing, never to be seen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

This needs to end. N and L plates should only be used when the actual driver is in that category.

That they do nothing about this shows that they are not serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Have we data on accidents and road deaths before and after this law was brought in

full licence or not involved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

It's more a symptom of our screwed up planning and transport system where having a car is almost a necessity. If somebody needs a car for work fair enough but maybe tighten restrictions at other times such as at night or adverse weather.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,141 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

Where are all the learner drivers out there smashing everyone to smithereens?

It's not that hard to drive, the initial steps should be done in a controlled environment, not on the open road, once some modicum of control is shown off with ya, similar to the ibt