Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

General Premier League Thread 2023-24 Mod Note in op 27/6/23 And 21/05/24

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,268 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Could easily have been a penalty given away by Maguire,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,393 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Must have been worried about him getting a second yellow? He was stupid to react to Foden and got himself booked.

I think ye needed Ambarat to hit the ground running and he's taking a bit of time to settle so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,179 ✭✭✭Xander10

The Ref afraid to give a second penalty. that was more blatant

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Less of the ye🤣 I'm an Arsenal man.

But regardless of the yellow playing three 10s and a McTominay in midfield is a recipe for disaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,311 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

And everyone wonders why United fans want the Glazers out of the club. A mess and finally other people are catching on.

McGuire? It was actually way worse then the Hojund one but sure you couldn't expect consistentcy from var even in the same game

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,268 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Great chance for Rashford, but he fluffs it, have to take a chancw like that,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,489 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Worst

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭slumdogemillionaire

how many passes in that move, jesus

Ten Hagg is a goner. He's been found out this season.

Utd are an easy touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,729 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Like statues out there ManU

3-0 City allowed the freedom of the pich. United can't get close enough to even foul.

Hard to blame those United fans from leaving so early.

Foden not a million miles away from a cracker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,539 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Is there any chance of Ferandes ever getting dropped? The guy is septic

Too many players with sub standard performances who are deemed undroppable.

Cost Ole his job, it'll cost ETH too.

The guy is captain of Man Utd. Says it all about the state of that team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,197 ✭✭✭McFly85

As pedestrian a 3-0 as you’ll ever see. City really haven’t had to get out of first gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

A year in and no sign of what ETHs football is supposed to look like

Antony is a joke

Antony. That was ridiculous

Pure petulance by Antony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

Antony is some spanner....what was he at there!

Fernandes again. Such a snide.

And now Bruno.

Tough day at the office for United.

City were a level above them throughout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,694 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

The Glazers aren't to blame for the on field shambles. Utd have spent plenty and rattled through managers like the best of them. The problem is that they've spent their money poorly and lack any vision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,197 ✭✭✭McFly85

Fernandes is a terrible choice for captain. When things aren’t going well he’s not the type to drag the team into a game, just gets fairly petulant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,984 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I'd imagine Ten Hag's position is in jeopardy at this stage. Not having a great season and a bad loss to City puts the pressure on I'd imagine.

Yes because of the glazers, they have appointed people who have no clue how to run a football club and we have over spent massively on players that aren't at the level required constantly for seasons.

Woodwards. Arnold,. murtough that's all on them.

They have penny pinched then in areas like facilities and recruitment, money that if spent could have made huge differences for a fraction of the outlay spent on poor transfers.

Just shows then up for what they are clueless how to run a football club.

Also the debt the club has now has massively increased in there time and is not actually having an effect on our transfers, look at all the loan signings we have made the last few season.

They have run the club into the ground and you have to be fairly ignorant of the situation or willfully ignorant to miss all that. Plus this has all been said 100 times by posters other then me, so I'm guessing you are being more willfully ignorant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,409 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

That 2nd half was extremely one-sided. United are terrible. I can't see much improvement in them. They'll not be the finished article until Twenty-five Hag arrives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,295 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Table after 10 games

They're 100% to blame for the on field shambles.

Every single poor decision United have made has been because of them. The on field shambles is a direct result of their ownership.

Overpaid players who are not good enough at a club with zero standards and no accountability. Mason Mount signed for £60million who can't start in the biggest game of United's season. A 20 year old striker signed for £70million with massive pressure on his shoulders. 35 year old Jonny Evans signed because there was no more money to buy CB's ETH wanted. ETH allowed to sign Antony for £80million who is a petulant child. Harry Maguire starting today who the club wanted him gone 2 months ago but wouldn't leave because his wages are too high. Likewise with McTominay. Making Marcus Rashford the highest paid player in the league cause he's a local lad and is a flash in the pan.

There's a huge amount to blame from ETH to the players but the common denominator is that the club is a shambles overseen by negligent and reckless owners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,743 ✭✭✭giveitholly

But is ETH doing well to get a tune out of them? Onana,erikson,Amrabat,Hoiljund,Mount,Anthony are all his players and you wouldn't get one decent player out of the lot of them. The Glazers can't be blamed for not backing the manager with transfer funds. Anthony is only an expensive fidget spinner to be honest.

Anyone who makes Bruno captain needs to be questioned,he is supposed to be a leader but acts like a spoilt child. EtH won't drop Rashford. The way he handled the Maguire and Sancho incidents were poor. He should of waited until Maguire had signed for another club before saying he wasn't good enough for Utd.

Look everyone knows the Glazers are poor owners but utd supporters are too quick to blame them when things go wrong on the field each time.

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭bingobango12

No doubt Neville and United fans will blame the Glazers as usual but that was awful from Ten Hag.

Makes a poor substitution at half time to make United worse. Waits until 75min to make another sub and then brings on two forwards for a few minutes at 3 down.

Making Fernandez captain was criminal aswell. He spends more time moaning or try to kick people than playing football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,694 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Utd and Chelsea both seem to think they can out spend the likes of City for success but that's not going to cut it anymore. The only hope they have is to go back to basics, figure out what type of club they want to be and install leadership that match that vision then build from that base.

What made Utd great was having Sir Alex and a good bunch of local lads bought into a common goal. Not a bunch of mercenaries bought so that the fans can have their superstar signings. The Glazers were there during Fergusons reign and it didn't stop him from competing. He certainly wouldn't have given up after a soft penalty today and would have used it and Sir Bobby's departure to egg on the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

United really are a shambles, could do with tearing it all up and starting again. They're stuck in a bit of a vicious cycle, not as big an attraction for players to move there, stuck to paying over the odds and offering massive wages to entice players who aren't really arsed to be there. Fernandes must be the most uninspiring captain I've seen.

Oh, that old chestnut.

Utd have the most expensive squad ever assembled.

https://www.espn.com/soccer/story/_/id/38396650/manchester-united-most-expensive-squad-world

They are rudderless on the pitch. Who picks the team? That's the managers fault.

Who has he leading the players on the pitch? Fernandez. That tells you all you want to know about Ten Hagg.

He's a Dutch version of Brendan Rodgers imo. Maybe even worse.

Did you watch the match Neville didn't mention the glazers at all and had plenty to say about the players and the manager.

Read the united thread loads saying TH hasn't been good enough.

No doubt you are just making stuff up

No one is absolving ETH from the blame, today was a shambles and the subs were atrocious. Thing is, it's the same ole. As fans, we've seen this Ole, Mourinho, Moyes and LvG. It's literally the exact same merry go round just with different players and different managers.

The shambles that Chelsea are in, honestly. Is that Pochettino's fault (they were a shambles before he came in), the players fault (many of them are new) or Todd Boehly's fault (chaotic decisions, transfers, etc). Honest question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

He is a male Vera Pauw, arrogant Dutch who lives by the 'my way or no way' mantra

Pochettino only came in this summer so how many of those signing were his? I wouldn't compare the two situations at the moment because ETH has had the time to bring in more of the players he wanted. Now that's not to say Chelsea are a complete mess and if Poch gets in 3-4 of the players he wants and there is no improvement next season then yes I would be putting some of the blame at his feet

They are over spending because clubs know they can take advantage of them they are a soft touch in the transfer market, because the people running the club and the footballing side of things have no experience or clue what they are doing.

The anothy transfer was insane, once that fee was mentioned they should have walked but even after that he gets a wage of 200k a week coming from maybe 10k at most how the **** does that happen like, there was no competition for him, it just seems that because we paid so much for him we had to put him on huge wages boggles the mind.

Football has changed since Ferguson time and tbh the squad had been let rot under him (because of the glazers lack of spending the) he squeezed the last drop out of it with a league but it was a squad that needed a lot of work, we had a lot of older players who had no more to give after he left and an already non existant midfield.

I've had plenty to say about TH and the players today but when you look at it objectively they are all just symptoms of a poorly run club.

I'm not sure how you could say anything else. Tbh

Old chestnut what a great counter arguement to all the points I made. If you want to discuss how bad TH please come into the united thread you'd be in great company, but again it doesn't change the glazers are poor owners.

Poch has signed 12 players so far. Palmer IMO is the only who looks very good so far, but it's very early. If you can't blame Poch, who are you blaming for Chelsea not being title contenders this year having spent £1 billion in the past 18 months.

They're currently 11th and finished 12th last season.

How can a team who won the Champions League 2 years ago be such a mess now, your words?

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭bingobango12

You have literally blamed the Glazers a few posts ago.

I’m not disputing they have destroyed Manchester United. Everyone can see that. But Ten Hag has spent a lot of money on what looks like crap (bar Hojlund)

I was replying to a post about united fans questioning the glazers ownership,.so yes I talked about the glazers is that really surprising?

There is plenty of blame to go around and I've talked plenty about TH in the united thread.

Didn't realise Poch signed 12 players,that changes things alright,He should definitely be doing better and in fairness would be a more experienced manager than ETH.

I suppose just looking at it from the outside,Last season was a very good season for him and utd,win a trophy and secure champions league. You couldn't ask for much more than that. Now no one was expecting them to compete for the league this season but surely they should be consolidating and getting top 4 this season. It's more or less the same players with a few of his own new additions. He could turn things around yet and get top 4 and it could still turn into a decent season for Utd

But that doesn't answer my question re Chelsea. Why in your opinion are Chelsea such a shambles?

'I don't think ETH is the fundamental problem...................'

Thankfully, Kelly moves over to Carragher

Doesn't work......we're back to the usual rant

Obviously at the moment it's because of the owners but Poch is only there since the 1st of July so let's see where they are this time next season and if he has improved them