Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jozef Puska guilty of murder of Ashling Murphy (Mod notes and threadbans in op)

• Registered Users Posts: 38,321 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

That monster could be a considered good looking guy 'right swipe' and text his way

• Registered Users Posts: 4,651 ✭✭✭standardg60

Are you having a laugh, be careful about what, my opinion?

What motivation do you think he might have had for dragging or forcing her into overgrowth at knifepoint?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭almostover

Same as going into a night club with the intention of using physical attraction to lure someone into a situation where they can be attacked. Going on dating apps carries a minute risk of being targeted, same as meeting someone in a pub / club. You're way off the mark here, not even on the same continent. This sort of thing went on long before dating apps, have a read about how Jeffrey Dahmer targeted his victims, he went out 'On the Pull' as you so eloquently put it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,640 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I don't think it's victim blaming, I think it's common sense. I have a daughter who is 8 and as a parent I will be teaching her about the dangers in this world same as I would if I had a son. Even a fella there are places I won't go and when I am out I am aware of what is around me as my parents thought me. Even with taking precautions there is still a chance of being in the wrong place at the wrong time. It would be great if everyone could go out and go anywhere they wanted and not have to worry about someone wanting to attack, kill or maim them but unfortunately that is not the world we live and therefore must take precautions and educate ourselves and our kids on the dangers in this world.

Ya sorry. Overstepped the mark on that one. It's a reasonable hypothesis.

True but none of the glamourishing Netflix shite is helping

Many a convinced killer/rapist'/sex offender is getting fan mail in prison cause of this

Sadly Netflix will be all over a series about this

• Registered Users Posts: 23,544 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Sounds like it could be

Photoshop a picture etc

• Registered Users Posts: 25,323 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

well then he’s talking out of both sides of his mouth as if he is criticising the defendant and the manner he defended himself, he’s saying in another breath “ even people like this are entitled to make a defence such as this “ …His defence was obviously being enabled by his defence team… so criticism falls on them by proxy

• Registered Users Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

On the Rte website report today it said something like "Gardai close to the case don't believe the motive was sexual in nature", but I can't find it now.

Edit: found it thanks to someone below.

"Ashling was not sexually assaulted. And some gardaí involved in the case do not believe the motive for the attack was sexual."

Often when men are emasculated, their response is violence on women.

Examples of emasculation are losing a job, bankruptcy, financial problems, divorce, losing kids, relationship ending etc.

Maybe that was the motive.

I read somewhere else he was spotted on CCTV in a casino earlier in January but it wasn't admissible in court.

Post edited by orangerhyme on

Ah god will you shtap! Killers got fan mail long before Netflix too. There will be no Netflix series about this, there is nothing about this story that is remotely mysterious or usable material for a Netflix show. Josef Puska was the only credible suspect, confessed to the murder and changed his story for the trial. A trial where the evidence was clearly overwhelming as to his guilt, given the jury only needed 2 hours of deliberation to reach a unanimous verdict.

You're verging on 'Old Man Yells at Cloud' territory now.

I suppose he could have been on a dating app and maybe he was and maybe he has form and maybe there have been previous attempts to murder and maybe a million possibilities.

What is relevant now is that justice has been done and he will be spending a long time in prison.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

5 bedroom house

5 children’s allowance payments a month

1 unemployment payment a week for the wife

1 disability pension (33 years of age) per week for himself

2 million to keep him in jail for the next 20 years

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,968 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

I watched the Prime Time piece tonight. An interview with Ashling's parents and family formed part of it. Her dad talked about having a cup of tea after his dinner on a Saturday, and hearing music from the front room, as he sat in the kitchen. I think maybe she taught music at weekends.

And now that's all gone he said.

A simple, stark reminder of their terrible loss. None of us here should know anything about this family. A nice, ordinary family, just living their lives, like the rest of us. Ashling's murder has thrust them into the spotlight, in the most horrific way.

We can argue and discuss and ponder here until the cows come home, as we are well entitled to do.

But at the end of it all, let's spare a thought for Ashling, and for her devastated family and friends.

And the gentle happiness of a dad listening to music coming from the front room, on a Saturday. And now that's all gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,157 ✭✭✭Be right back

Have it recorded. Must watch it. Really awful for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

That quote from the father about not hearing the music again really hit home for me, such a simple sum up of the devastation and future ahead of them.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 23,285 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

• Registered Users Posts: 11,824 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

with this and the sligo case I would prefer if there was someone in charge in finding out how it all came about post-conviction

Do you mean what drove the killers to murder?

Like a psychological assessment.

There seems to be some premeditation with Puska as he left his phone at home and carried a knife with him. He was seen on CCTV checking the knife.

He said he left his phone at home cos it needed charging, which sounds like another fib.

If my phone was out of battery, I'd bring my charger with me and charge it wherever I'm going.

But why go to the precaution of leaving your phone at home and then get spotted on dozens of cameras and commit a crime in broad daylight on a busy path.

Nothing makes sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭Tork

If this story didn't have such a terrible ending to it, it'd be almost laughable. He seems to be somebody who broadly concocts a lie, then trips himself up with the finer details. Unless he had a cheap old phone it'd charge up in no time at home. And if he was planning on meeting his brother, leaving his phone at home sounds like madness. I've never heard of somebody needing a sharp knife for a bicycle chain either. The phone and knife angles stink to the high heavens.

From the way some of the court journalists describe him, he sounds like an arrogant jerk who isn't half as clever as he thinks he is. I think he underestimated the number of CCTV cameras around Tullamore and didn't put any great thought into how he'd cover his tracks. Then he started drawing attention to himself by the way he was acting, almost as if he didn't have any great plan on what to do next. Even when he did get around to attacking poor Ashling, it was hopelessly inept. Sadly for her, he wasn't inept enough but he really was stupid on so many levels.

It's not like he was in a rush out the door and couldn't charge his phone. He was cycling slowly around Tullamore for hours. People with 5 kids would always bring their phone with them also in case of emergency. Maybe he had his phone with him and it's just another lie, otherwise it's clear premeditation.

No normal person carries a knife with them also. You might bring a screwdriver for your bike, maybe. That knife is at the bottom of the canal I think. I can't remember if scuba divers searched it.

Part of me still thinks it was a mugging gone wrong. He set out to snatch a phone or two.

In January lots of people are strapped for cash.

Maybe he was stalking the other women waiting for them to take their phones out but it didn't happen. Cycle slowly behind a woman until she takes her phone out, then cycle past and grab it and you're gone.

Maybe Ashling had her phone out and he tried to snatch it but she'd a strong grip from hurling. It escalated from there. He only meant to threaten her with the knife but panicked or lost his temper in rage.

Phone snatching by bicycle is still a common crime in Dublin, particularly on women.

That's the only motive that makes sense to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,315 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

What frustrated me about the case was how quickly the media jumped on this to 'make a point', and have little to no care for Ms Murphy's family or friends. Assumptions were made, ridiculous statements were made to the media or the radio. We had presenters 'crying' on their shows over this senseless act. And that was before Mr Puska was found and charged, then suddenly the media went very, very quiet.

On the news this evening, her brother pleaded with the media to give them privacy at this time. I remember last year, how the family had little to no privacy to try come to terms with her murder (as much as one could ever make sense of something like this). The cameras were there at almost every opportunity. I've lost family members to illness, old age and so forth. I would be in a horrible mental state if I was followed around by cameras, journalists and the like whilst I was mourning a loved one. When you take into account the circumstances of her death, I cannot fathom the absolute hell that was compounded upon the nightmare they were already suffering. But the media were out to 'make a point'.

Even today, with the verdict reached, they were still showing clips of the vigils, and the 'this is a watershed moment'... yet nothing about the family. It really compounded my opinion that media outlets had little to no regard for her family, her boyfriend, and her loved ones. It was sickening.

She was a person, who's life was taken in a barbaric act of violence. She was not an agenda.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,413 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

His story seemed like the most ridiculous defense I've ever heard. A pure coward not owning up to his actions.

Not to mention putting her family through a trial.

It makes you wonder was this his first ever crime when you see how he prowled for a victim. Deserves to rot in jail.

• Registered Users Posts: 604 ✭✭✭mykrodot

sorry, I know its a huge generalisation and I am wrong for that. But the lies in the last week about Puska trying to help Aisling must have put those parents through hell, can you imagine if it was your daughter? This is a new kind of murder....a random woman , in broad daylight in a busy area... it is very rare here.

Its something women are going to have to be alert to in the future in this country where you no longer know the people around you. And I won't take that back. This was Co Offaly on a popular walking route in the afternoon, not the capital city . This is a newer brazen kind of attack, not someone being followed home after a night out.

Are we going to have to get used to these kind of random attacks in Ireland from now on with an ever increasing population of people who have different views on women, who are not used to seeing women in the kind of clothes we see as normal, for sports, for going out, who see them as available to randomly attack as they go for a run

Post edited by mykrodot on