Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3 New Navy Vessels for Irish Naval Service

• Registered Users Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭roadmaster

I know we will have some say you cant do this but any surpuls at the end of the year should be forward spent on Base infastructure, Ammo or down paymemts on Future equipment such as ships,Aircraft, Apcs or even Trucks and jeeps as some of our local councils do

• Registered Users Posts: 24,073 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Its not a matter of 'some say' its a matter of budgetary spending rules under national and EU procedures and also procurement requirements.

Budgets can be capitalised and redistributed, but only under strict conditions and high level permission.

So it can't in any way be done as you suggest.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Dohvolle

Any underspend is a failure of departmental accounting. When Defence got the increase, there should have been a clear plan for where the money was to go. unforeseen costs don't exist in public spending, so no such thing as "just in case" funds.

I presume any underspend would come from pay and pensions due to the continued reduction in staff numbers. If is gone its gone. Anything other than that requires greater scrutiny. Were capital contracts not fulfilled? As I see it everything in the equipment & building plan is on track. Its a huge property portfolio though and you can't expect to fix everything at once, there just isn't enough builders in the country.

Its not an accounting failure, its a management failure (sub/project management failure)

Mind you, thats endemic across the civil service.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭jonnybigwallet

I see the NS are observers in this initiative.....possible replacement for Roisin class some years down the line?

https://www.navalnews.com/naval-news/2023/10/launching-of-the-first-phase-of-the-european-patrol-corvette-project/

No.

In terms of outline design, they are already envisaged to be 33% heavier and 23% longer than our existing P60 class.

In terms of the proposed two (initial) variants, Combat and Ocean Going Patrol, they will boast state-of-the-art semi-autonomous combat management and fire control systems with SAMs, SSMs, anti-Submarine and counter-Submarine technology; comfortably out-gunning anything we currently have.

However, while they may not replace anything we have like-for-like, they would be perfect for a broadening Navy like Ireland's, serving as multi-purpose slimmed down frigates, in the general maritime security role and projecting our naval envelope out to the far reaches of our EEZ and beyond, to things like maritime peace protection and anti-piracy, which we have already dipped our toe into.

Thankfully the lessons of the FREMM frigate cooperative design already exist to inform the EPC and hopefully deliver it quickly and effectively.

Worth noting the design being used relating to this project is not the EPC. Its merely a Corvette type produced by one of the member nations. They have not started on the design stage yet. Good chance it will look more like the latest italian PPAs.

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭Tippman24

Warship Magazine has 2 Articals in its latest issue concerning the current state of the Irish Navy. Whilst it does slate the Government on the matter it also state that there is no huge will in the country regarding the fact that our Navy is basically banjaxed

• Registered Users Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭sparky42

It also doesn’t have much idea about what powers and capabilities the EU has in relation to defence which is limited at best.

But only in the new year, suppose at the rate we are going by then it won’t actually cost anything extra as there won’t be much patrols.

It'll keep those who remain until after christmas, at least, and hopefully, by Feb, they should see the difference on their payslips, which may encourage more to remain.

There are other retention issues too though, throughout the Defence Forces tat need to be dealt with. Hopefully CODF implementation will sort some of them.

Eh, no.

That's only fit for the cutting torch, the only question being where, and at who's expense.

Eh I am being sarcastic but don't worry the level of clowns we have elected in this country there is good chance it will be suggested.

You can guarantee some gobshite councillor or senator will suggest it, but only if Johnny the welder who also operates the local petrol pumps gets the contract to convert it.

Make a sweet target all the same. Drain her fluids and contaminants and take her off the continental shelf, then let the engineers, the ARW demolitions boys, the Air Corps and the Navy have a jamboree on her until she sinks in deep water. Ready made reef!

Just been listening to an Australian media piece about the future of the AUKUS agreement and the acquisition by the RAN of 3, and ultimately 5 Virginia-Class Nuclear Powered Attack Submarines.

The cost, even over 18 years...

€225,500,000,000, at today's prices.

To be clear, that IS the Euro figure (AUS$ 368 Billion)

What we are dealing with in this Country, is chicken feed. Even if we went to LoA3 tomorrow, we wouldn't spend €60 Billion in 20+ years, at today's prices, and thats on EVERYTHING!

We have no idea really. Certain elements will complain we spend too much on "war" without actually knowing how little Ireland spends on defence, regardless of whether we are involved in war or not.

As we all know, you may not be looking for war, but it may find you.

It's behind a paywall but in the times the are reporting one of the most important Irish Ships built is heading for the scrap yard by by Eithne

• Registered Users Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭Mav11

From the IT:

"The former flagship of the Naval Service is, along with two other vessels, to be sent abroad and taken apart for scrap after plans to convert it into a museum came to nothing.

LÉ Eithne, which was the Naval Service’s largest vessel and the last to be constructed in Ireland, was decommissioned last year at the same time as the smaller LÉ Ciara and LÉ Orla. The vessels were decommissioned partly due to their age and partly due to the manpower crisis impacting the service which has left it without enough sailors to crew all its ships. Two other vessels have since been tied up, leaving just two ships available for duty at any one time, with one more in reserve.

There has been much speculation about the fate of the ships. Cork County Council had expressed an interest in acquiring the Eithne and converting it into a floating maritime museum in Cork Harbour. Dublin Port later approached the Department of Defence about using the ship for a similar purpose in the capital.

It is understood that the Philippine naval service expressed a tentative interest in at least one of the ships, but these inquiries went nowhere.

A Department of Defence spokeswoman said “a number of organisations” had expressed interest in acquiring the Eithne as a museum piece or tourist attraction “but following, in some cases lengthy, discussions all these parties withdrew their interest in taking the ship”.

She said Minister for Defence Micheál Martin has decided the three ships “should be disposed of by recycling in an environmentally-sound manner”. A competitive tendering process is now under way for a ship-breakers yard to remove the vessels from Cork Harbour and recycle them “in line with the EU Ship Recycling Regulation and relevant national regulations”.

The ships recently underwent an inspection by interested shipyards and the department hopes to offload all three in the coming weeks, it said. The department has made around €130,000 available for the project.

The three ships have a combined service of more than a century. The Eithne was built in 1984 at the Verolme Dockyard in Cork Harbour, which went out of business shortly afterwards. In 1986 it became the first Irish Naval ship to cross the Atlantic. In 2006 it was the first Naval Service ship to visit South America. It was the first Irish ship to be deployed on Operation Pontus in 2015 in the Mediterranean Sea, where it helped save the lives of thousands of refugees before being deployed to Cork city in 2020 to assist the HSE during Covid-19.

The LÉ Orla and Ciara were commissioned in 1989 having been purchased a year earlier from the British royal navy with whom they saw service as patrol vessels HMS Swift and HMS Swallow in the waters off Hong Kong.

Two smaller inshore patrol vessels have been acquired from New Zealand to patrol the Irish Sea and are due to go into service next year, although there are concerns there will not be enough sailors to crew them.

The Government is also in the process of commissioning a much larger multi-role vessel to replace the Eithne as the Naval Service’s flagship in the coming years."

Eithne stopped being the largest ship the moment Samuel Beckett arrived.

Eithne was historic for the wrong reasons. The last ship built in the Irish state, was supposed to be the first of 2, but the government of the day, in the middle of a recession, having already funded the majority of Verolme Dockyard's output for many years before, was unwilling to continue supporting a dockyard that it's owners wanted to close. I was in primary school with the son of her OC Designate, and was kept up to date with plans for what she would be able to do, even back then. (Not much has changed in the 40 years since). I kept newspaper cuttings of defence forces news back then.

The fact some of it's workforce had gone on strike demanding pay far in excess of the average industrial wage of the day didn't help either. Her construction was delayed from keel laying, with equipment being installed the wrong way around to further delay the inevitable. On delivery, her twin Sea Rider Rigid hull inflatables were mounted high up atop the hangar, facing aft. Former crew tell that before launching, the boats had to be rotated on the cranes, a highly risky move almost 20 feet above the surface of the sea below. Over the years I worked with a few former Dockyard workers, and the "shenanigans" that went on during the build were a disgrace. When her keel was laid, the yard had a staff of about 1000, mostly local workers. Redundancies came in phases, as build milestones were passed, and appeals from local politicians to keep the yard open fell on deaf ears. Verolme's representative in Cork, Mr Van Der Puil, had a job to do, that was close the yard, and nothing would change that.

The day Eithne left Verolme for the last time, on her short delivery trip 1 mile downriver to Haulbowline, both her engines failed, and she had to be taken under tow. Her purpose as a helicopter patrol vessel also hit many snags, the most obvious being the absence of a helicopter. The Dauphins that were designed to operate with her arrived some years after Eithne entered service, and soon set to work doing VIP transport, Search and rescue, VIP Transport, Air Displays, VIP transport... anything but Navy Co-Op. The Cabins designated for Air Corps pilots and crew were never used by those they were intended for. The Dauphins were withdrawn from service in the early 2000s, and no naval capable helicopter replaced them. At some point her advanced sonar was removed, and her air defence radar, once used to monitor airspace on the shannon estuary during a VIP visit, became obsolete, and was never upgraded. As a Child in the 80s I visited her ops room, and there was a strict "no photos" policy. When I visited it again in 04 or 05, not only could you take all the photos you wanted, none of the sensor & comms equipment was still fitted. Around the same time her helideck was being modified to take armoured vehicles and stores to an overseas UN mission. CofG marks were made for parking APCs, and twistlock spots welded to the deck. No sooner was this work done, the trip was scrubbed.

During her service there was more than one tragic incident aboard, but I'd rather not discuss them, as I don't know the details, but if you google you'll find out more.

Later on in life she demonstrated again her usefulness during the operations in the med, rescuing those fleeing the various conflicts in Africa. If anything it demonstrated a concept in HADR promised by her proposed replacement, whenever that happens. She retained her unique to the NS Main armament, the Bofors 57mm, which was manually operated on a powered mount from within the fibreglass turret. Her secondary armament, the Rhine Metall RH202 was unique on delivery also, with the rest of the fleet using Oerlikon, and later GAMBO 20mm or 12.7mm HMG secondaries, until these were replaced with RH202 across the fleet. The time is up on this weapon also, and time will tell what replaces them.

Her final modifications came with mixed feelings. Her fibreglass Boarding boats were removed when their usefulness passed. Modern Caley davits, as found on the P50s were fitted with modern large sea riders port and starboard. An excellend enhancement, however one weakness was noted. The ship went from having 2 Boarding boats plus 2 Small sea riders, to having just 2 large sea riders, when the rest of the fleet had space for 3. 2 on caley davits, and a third mounted aft aligned P&S, at the end of an Effer crane. For the type of operations Eithne was involved in, the third Rhib was necessary, and the roof of the Hangar was no longer an option.

So a decision was made to bolt a large hydraulic crane on the front portside corner of the helideck, rendering it no longer useful as what its purpose was. A mobile rack could be attached to the deck which could carry either the standard RHIB in use, or a larger one for Navy Divers.

The final modification saw the permanent sealing of the honeycomb on the helideck, once used to secure visiting helicopters to the rolling deck while the crew made more permanent lashings. And so Naval Aviation in Ireland ended.

First Naval vessel to operate a helicopter, hopefully not the last.

First to visit the USA

First to Visit South America.

A vital asset in the search for wreckage of the Air India 747 that exploded off the SW coast after a Sikh terrorist bomb.

With her departure for the breakers, an interesting chapter in Irish Naval history closes.

Not sure the relevancy tbh, you want to look at comparisons stick with nations of similar size to us (ie Finland or Denmark or New Zealand) and their defence projects. I mean god knows even for those we are still doing feck all and there is plenty we could actually learn from them, but throwing in what a major G20 nation is doing/planning is not relevant.

Though I will say, that I'd put money that this Sub procurement will make their Collins saga look like the pinnacle of procurement before its over. It's going to be way late, over budget, mess with the USN/RN procurement and likely end up needing either a rebuild of the Collins or an interim sub buy.

I wonder what scared the Philippines navy off?

There is a good comedy video on YouTube about Australian defence and china

The cost of transport. They only wanted ours for parts, and both Panama and Suez are choked at present, so the cost of geting them there outweighs their usefulness.

That and the fact we did a lot of modernising of systems and equipment over the years that they don't share much any more with the Philippines Peacocks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭jonnybigwallet

I bet the Ukraine Navy would have them!

No they wouldn’t, they value their lives too much to put them into combat even if they could get them into the Black Sea.

To do what? The peacocks were built in 1984, intended for a quiet life in Hong Kong harbour, but instead ended up getting wallopped around the Irish coast in all weather. Their intented purpose was to ferry Marines around the harbour, with a big gun up front to scare any Junks that might be acting dodgy. otherwise it lacks any defensive sensor suite, doesn't loiter well on main engines, and has very little room to fit any serious offensive hardware. P31 is 40 years old in 2 weeks time. Whatever about the hammering the peacocks got, Eithne got it far worse, having been Over to the USA, south to Argentina, and spent her final days in service rescuing refugees in the Mediterranean. It barely resembles the ship that was delivered to the NS in 1984 has a helideck that can no longer be used, a manually operated main gun which was unique to us, and would be the same in Ukraine, and again, lacks any sort of defensive suite.

It's time is up, it served us well. It owes us nothing. Let it die in peace.