Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Children stabbed in Dublin city centre **Read OP before posting**

• Registered Users Posts: 19,228 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

We don't have "open borders" in this country. There's a process of immigration to be observed.

And I'll say this to all you lot who want to try and make your petty political speeches on this matter. There's a wee girl fighting for her life at the moment in a hospital.

This isn't the time for your soapboxing.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,105 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

That they weren't rioting over those issues .

It's bullsxxx by some trying to make out that this is a reaction to immigration or pressures within society because of immigrants getting housing or benefits etc .

It's not anything except the fact that they have been allowed do whatever they want all their lives and especially rule North Dublin inner city for the last few years since Covid . Nobody around and less police . It has become an increasingly difficult area and age group to manage and shopkeepers and city workers gave been complaining about it for the last two years especially.

The Gov and McEntee haven't helped much with the hands off approach , and the Gardaí are tied up in knots with GSOC and tribunals etc .

Nothing cerebral going on there. Just feral gangs getting away with whatever they think they can get away with .

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭hymenelectra

Again, I would never point to a fire engulfing a house and call it opportunistic, or misbehaved, or a scumbag, or what have you. No, you'd be an imbecile to do such.

The fire is the result of many precisely identified factors.

If one ignores all of those factors, you can bet its going to happen again. The murders, the riots, every last thing is connected.

It does/does not surprise me in equal parts that a large number of people have simply abandoned all notion of the knife rampage and are all about "those scumbags". It says an awful, awful lot about some.

Some saying that those rioting are as bad as the person who murdered a child. No exaggeration. Holy sweet jaysus the lackey mentality is stomach churning.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,873 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I totally agree. They're just scumbags looking for an excuse to act like the vile pieces of excrement that they are.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,317 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Looks like a full Luas tram has been completely destroyed….buses completely destroyed too.

you are probably talking across the night over a million euros worth of damage….

when politicians don’t respect democracy, when they prioritise the welfare, wellbeing and success of others over those who elect and pay them, you can’t guarantee citizens will not respond, they are…their our voices are being 100% ignored, só actions are replacing words, not justifying it but it’s an explanation..

politicians need to give themselves a shake…. They are losing the country and ultimately people damaging property while abhorrent… it’s not impossible that that if this escalates someone might get killed be it a Garda or whomever….

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭1wizards sleeve

Wtf are you on about???? Political. Did you read the first line i wrote

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Registered Users Posts: 19,228 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The hoodie scumbags that were rioting tonight don't and didn't pay any heed to any "factors". They were just looking to cause trouble wherever they could find it. The events this afternoon were simply an excuse, in their heads, to indulge in such and they did so without any real consideration for what happened or any real sense or care or consequence of their own actions.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

Way more than a million.

Luas trams, buses, Garda cars, overtime paid to Gardai. That's our money. We earned it.

They wasted it.

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭holliehobbie

Didn’t those buses cost €500000 each? Way more than a million euro worth of damage done. Not to mention no one will be coming into town for Christmas shopping or Christmas night outs after this.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,340 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I actually did see plenty of Guards. Capel Street Bridge was closed off by them and while I was there I saw about twenty of them in riot gear running down Temple Bar. Didn’t see who or what they were running towards but they looked like they meant business.

From there I went to next bridge west heading towards Christchurch and walked right into about fifty guys masked up who I stood aside from until they passed. That’s when I bumped into the guy on phone on his own and ashamed to say I was pretty pissed off at this stage and gave him a bit of abuse. Another bunch of Guards in full gear there - one of which shouted at me to walk away which I did. I definitely wasn’t helping the situation in hindsight.

Lots of Guards in the city centre- some seemed to be on an offensive and others holding a line - can only presume they were trying to corral or defuse.

Again, just what I saw/did and not getting into any politics or criticisms..

And of course no tourists will be coming to Dublin anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 Meet_Yur_Maker

So you prove exactly what im writing- At what point did I say nothing was wrong? I described it quite clearly, and in depth, at what point did you not get it before you got inflamed and started with abuse?? The first line? one word? maybeeee aaaaa Immigrants??? 👀

But im the one to ‘stop talking shite’…… yep. okay. You sounded all tough with your opening.. does that make you feel better? Have a good night

I get the sentiment of what you’re saying but this is a line that always bothers me. The city and policing should be run for the people who live and work there. **** the tourists.

I was walking all over OCS, Abbey St, the Quays, OC Bridge, College Green, Grafton St, etc from 7pm to at least 8pm and saw no police, except by Parnell SQ.

Maybe they retreated and regrouped cos they weren't expecting it.

By 9pm the riot police were there and in control and moving people down the Quays.

The gangs of lads in masks and balaclavas were intimidating as hell.

It was exhilarating in a way. I've never seen a riot or looting before.

Smell of weed everywhere. You'd think they'd be more chill.

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭Astartes

The trap RTE and the politicians are about to fall into tomorrow by focusing on the protests tonight saying they were worse than the stabbing of little children..

I hope the text lines are open.

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭OrangeBadger

I also mentioned shoppers and people going on nights out won’t be coming into town after this. I, myself, live less than 3 miles from the GPO and work in the city centre a couple of days a week. Town has been scary for a number of years but post lockdown it’s menacing.

Was about 9 when I saw all this. Probably should have mentioned it in my original post. Different timelines.

They're both wrong.

No point in comparing them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

Yes I lived in Dublin all my life in my 30s now and I have worked and socialised around the O'Connell street radius for over a decade and I never felt the area in the afternoon as grim as earlier this week before today's awful events happened, but sure if the FG/FF politicians/Helen McEntee/Drew Harris couldn't see what's actually happening on the ground outside of their affluent constituencies then what do us plebs know heh

• Registered Users Posts: 25,317 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Just saw a thing on tiktok… Gardai in Store St had barricaded themselves in the station. Outside a patrol car is damaged or maybe even destroyed and missiles hurled….. it’s basically anarchy…

how does this get deescalated ? Not tonight but in the big picture… this is thought out anger… until Leo and co. stop, this might not stop…

kids, Irish kids are being fücked headfirst under the bus, here is their reaction….

I think ultimately theirs no justice in this country. People committing murder going to jail for 10 years with final 2 years suspended etc. Hard working people struggling to get by while too many are getting hand outs with no questions asked, Irish and non Irish, they’ll have their Xmas bonus to look forward to soon. People that set fire to buses and Luas don’t need to use them to go to work tomorrow because clearly they have feck all else to do with themselves. That clip of fire truck being attacked, looked like young men. The intelligence of these people is staggering.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭NSAman

Drew Harris with his hypocrisy needs to step down.

I feel sorry for the Gardai on the ground this evening. They had to deal with this crap, their boss saying stupid stuff about “far right” …who does this describe? In stead of labelling groups of people and enraging them, what ever happened to firm and non-inflammatory (excuse the pun) language.

Those poor people who were stabbed didn’t deserve that.

The Gardai didn’t deserve what happened.

Those trying to get to work didn’t deserve what WILL happen to them tomorrow.

ALL caused by idiots … an idiot who stabbed innocents… and idiots who can’t think of any other way to protest except loot burn and violence.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,157 ✭✭✭Be right back

They're complete morons.

I'd like to understand them more rather than just labelling.

I've heard before that it's an expression of self-loathing to act out like that. I'm not sure how true that is.

We own those trams, buses, Garda cars. We paid for them.

They'll have to replaced and that money could've been spent on teachers or doctors.

I'm in town quite a bit and have noticed it's buzzing lately. I mentioned this to someone else the other day and they said they noticed the same thing.

Walk along all the main streets in the evening and every pub, cafe, restaurant is busy. Streets busy too.

I think the population of Dublin has increased nearly 150,000 in 6 years.